Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AppstoreApps
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.75 out of 5
4.545 out of 5
4.476 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Skype

Skype

Enjoy widescreen video calls from the comfort of your living room with Skype. With Skype on your Samsung HD TV, gather the whole family on the couch, plug in a Freetalk TV camera, and you're ready to talk face-to-face to loved ones, wherever they are in the world. And because it's free Skype-to-Skype, you can call as often and long as you like. Plus - did you know that you can also call landlines and cell phones from Skype at great rates? Find out more about Skype on skype.com This application is only for Samsung LED7000, 8000 series models
Rating:
2.067 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
7
4 out of 13(31%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Skype
Review 1 for Skype
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Usage on 51D8000 Plasma Smart TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTonyC69
onFebruary 27, 2012
from Long Island, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I find the skype app very useful. I have two items I will report to support in hope of programming upgrade.
1. When using a receiver as output audio device via optical audio out, the skype phone does NOT ring. It simply posts a text box on screen. It would be useful to have phone ring as it does when using TV audio output.
2. It would also be useful to have text ability when on skype phone as offered in skype PC app.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Skype
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I agree with Surya.....

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onApril 8, 2011
from Maricopa, AZ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
SKYPE is awesome, but, It is a shame that we cannot access this app through our internet-connected Blu-Ray players. Is there an update or a fix coming soon that will change that? I have a BD-D6500 with a 51PD490. Upgrading (again) can't possibly be the only way?
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Skype
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not sure why.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bymfwagner
onOctober 21, 2012
from Gilroy, CA
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Why make an app that does not work on all your tv's, especially if you are going to label them smart .
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Skype
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Seriously?

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByCDinTX
onDecember 25, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I would recommend it to a friend if it had Skype capability. Criminy. We have a very expensive 3D TV with internet capability. I can stream movies, play games, check my yahoo, facebook, etc...but not Skype??? Booooo. I think a software update is in order.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Skype
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

No SKYPE for the Samsung LED TV Mdl UN46D6420UF?

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byfblarracas
onSeptember 20, 2011
from cocoa, florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I just purchased a 46" Samsung LED Smart TV. The sales rep at Best Buy in Melbourne Florida told us that Skype can be installed on the TV but we'll have to buy a separate hd webcam for it. I bought the webcam. Now, I'm finding out that Skype will work on my TV!!!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Skype
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

app upgrades

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJune 13, 2011
from Virginia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
just purchased the LED 40" 6000 - was told by the Best Buy sales guy it would work with Skype (he was wrong) and I was wrong for not confirming.....
Does anyone know when / if the app store with have a version of Skype that is compatible with 6000 series?
BH
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Skype
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Software Update Needed .... Like Yesterday

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByHeadoftheclass
onDecember 6, 2012
from Houston
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The program works fine if your just talking to one person, but it is in need of a software update badly... I'm surprised that they don't have an option for checking for updates on the current apps you've installed on the television. Serious let down on this app just do the limitations. No group video call capability or adding contacts to a group....really samsung/skype....Really!!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Skype
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very disappointed

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byoblaka
onFebruary 2, 2012
I am from Bulgaria and buy UE40D6000.When i enter in Smart Hub i see the Skype is missing.I read the specification of the tv and see the skype is not allowed of this model.Please make version of skype for this tv model
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Skype
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do Something Samsung - upgrade the TVS to work.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byhatesamsungappstore
onJanuary 2, 2012
from USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
My view of Samsung has been ruined based on the fact that the 6420 is not compatible with the Skype App. Just provide the firmware update for folks to upgrade and use the app. This TV is too expensive not to be compatabile with a software app. Send out the upgrade SW or firmware Samsung so you can save your cusotmer satisfication reputation!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Skype
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

VERY DISSAPOINTED

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byblahblah22
onDecember 2, 2011
We just purchased this TV and bought the camera as well and to find out that SKYPE does not even exist in the app store is ridiculously disappointing. We have UN46D6003 model, is there any other apps that will work for us to use this camera that I bought?
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Skype
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Real background/PIP mode would be nice

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByOKeez
onNovember 4, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I have a Series 7000, which comes with Skype pre-installed. I thought I'd be using it a lot, because it's one of my main tools on my desktop computer. However, since it doesn't really run in background/PIP mode, I've hardly used it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Skype
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

What ? Not available for 9000 series ???

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BySPCHP
onMay 2, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Cons: not available for my fancy tv
Like others I am very surprised to find that the most common internet phone app is not available for the 9000 series. This is very disappointing for a 'flagship' product !!! I would hope that it is possible to address this asap ??
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Skype
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Skype Disappointed Blu-Ray 3D C5900 player

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BySurya
onMarch 14, 2011
from Bellevue, WA, USA
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I have the Samsung Blu-Ray 3D C5900 player connected to a Samsung 40 inch LED HD TV UN40C5000QFXZA. It is suprising that I cant use the Skype application using my Blu-Ray player which has the Internet@TV facility though my TV does not have that feature. The app interface cant be programmed with any Internet@TV device ?! Really ?!!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Skype
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unfortunate

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BySamsungfanboi
onFebruary 1, 2011
from Lex, KY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Though Skype capability is listed in the product literature for the 9000 series TVs (and still is on several authorized dealer sites), this app maintains incompatibility with the most premium TV Samsung sells. This oversight will only make buyers more cautious when purchasing bleeding-edge technology from Samsung in the future.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Skype
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not compatible with LED 9000 series

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BySkylightUSA
onJanuary 31, 2011
from Virginia Beach, VA
The most expensive TV available in the market today by Samsung and I just can't believe this application is not compatible with the LED 3D 9000 series. what a disappointment!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.