Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop AppstoreApps
Choose a Category
Top-Rated Products
4.75 out of 5
4.545 out of 5
4.456 out of 5

Customer Reviews for Blockbuster

Blockbuster

Blockbuster On Demand is a digital movie rental service that allows you to instantly watch thousands of movies in stunning HD and full Surround Sound. This free app gives you the ability to enjoy movies directly on your Samsung device. Blockbuster On Demand features: • Thousands of hit movies and new releases – rent and watch instantly or save to your Watchlist and view later • Tons of movies you love – hand-selected titles with the highest ratings from Rotten Tomatoes® • Stream Instantly — mobile, tablet, laptop, Samsung Smart TV, Roku, and more • Amazing sound and video – stunning HD movies in full Surround Sound • Easy shopping and viewing – prime movie watching experience • No subscription or late fees – pay only for what you watch Ask Developer : support@blockbusternow.com <mailto:support@blockbusternow.com>
Rating:
2.461 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
11
10 out of 24(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Blockbuster
Review 1 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Revamped Product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2013
from San Francisco
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I haven't used Blockbuster in awhile but have recently noticed an improvement in the quality of the videos and the app overall. Very good movie catalog (although would love it if there were more new releases) and thoroughly enjoy having the convenience of watching movies everywhere and anywhere I go.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great App

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 24, 2013
The video and sound is excellent, and the app is easy to use. Love it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

want blockbuster

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 28, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no blockbuster
i am unhappy that blockbuster is no longer on my devices. i only rent new releases and now i can not get many choices. Samsung should bring them back on their products. i want to know why they took Blockbuster off of some of their products. i do like samsung but to me having a smart tv doesn't mean nothing if they don't allow their products to keep the apps they start with.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice app but gets expensive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 26, 2012
from Athol, MA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: good library of new titles
Cons: expensive
They should have free streaming content like Netflix. They do off pretty new titles however where Netflix streaming does not. All In all Netflix with Blockbuster give a wealth of entertainment
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works great for me.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 6, 2010
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
My wife and I use Blockbuster app to watch newer movie titles. The quality is great and I have never had a problem (unlike some of these other reveiwers). This app is great and one of the reasons I purchased a second Samsung Blu-Ray player for my Den.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

worked great!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2011
from central time zone
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, no monthly contract
Activated with no problem, I like being able to rent just what I want to watch without a monthly contract. The picture started immediately and quality was great. Also, the movie I wanted to watch (green hornet) was only available as dvd by mail from netflix and with blockbuster I was able to watch it now. No waiting :) A solid app
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bad Blockbuster App

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2010
from Roseville, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The application worked for 3 days and now it's just an error message without opening the app. tried everything to reset it but still doesn't work; sent an email to Samsung explaining the problem and requesting advise, and 3 weeks later I still have NO answer.
Advise: Stick to Netflix. Works great and have no problems.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Samsung support

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 20, 2013
from Beavercreek, Ohio
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor customer support.
I am really disappointed in performance of the WEB browser on my SmartTV. I upgraded all my internet equipment hoping for better performance but it is still so slow it is unusable.
I am also disappointed in Samsung dropping the Blockbuster streaming app for my TV. They had one when we first bought the TV. I would not recommend anyone purchasing a Samsung product.
They seem to be happy dropping customers after a product is a couple years old.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Movie Pass

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 14, 2012
I wish it could run Movie Pass from Dish. There are tons of free places to rent movies.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Blackbuster

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2011
from bronx,NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
well i love this app to search for some old movies you cant find in the store
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

hard to navigate

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 22, 2011
from portland OR
I like the vudu interface better. blockbuster has more current titles than netflix.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

What's up??

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2013
from Santa Rosa CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: blockbuster taken away
I only purchased my Blu Ray player because it had Blockbuster on it. Now it has been taken away. What's up with that?
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Beware!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 12, 2013
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Blu-Ray owners beware...the Blockbuster app can be removed from your device without notice at any time. My 3D BD player had BB on it. The player is less than 2 years old and the app was removed. I was told that, if I wanted to keep it, I'd have to buy a NEWER player. Nice going. Fortunately, the player still has Vudu, Netflix, etc. But the BB app is not trustworthy. Thanks Samsung and BB..
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Why Blockbuster? Going to miss the app./.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 3, 2013
from Columbus, GA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Realistic color, good selection
Cons: Poor quality, did not stream hd video
The Blockbuster On Demand app was recently removed from the Samsung Blu-ray BD-D5700 for "quality" reasons. I hope the newer Samsung devices have the enjoyment of using a fully-updated app. I'll miss it; though, streaming never really worked out for me with the one video I did rent. Hopefully, newer Samsung users will have a different experience!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

CONTROLLER

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 17, 2011
from MINNESOTA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality
WHEN I GO TO YPE IN MY EMAIL ON THE NUMBER KEY PAD ,IT WONT LET ME PASS THE LETTER TO GET TO THE RIGHT LETTER I NEED TO PUT IN IS THERE A SOLUTION ?
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disappointed in Blockbuster

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 22, 2013
We bought a new Samsung tv and Samsung Blu-Ray player about 6 months ago. I had been able to download movies from Blockbuster and watch them. Now, with the new upgrade, my Blu-Ray player is not supported.
If you are going to upgrade, at least let some of the older models be supported.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor Business Ethics

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 12, 2013
Cons: Did not meet expectations
When I purchased my BD-D5500, BlockBuster was one of the services that was advertised. Then all of a sudden, the app disappeared from my device. Now their new "BlockBuster On Demand" does not support the BD-D5500 product.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It simply doesn't play movies.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 7, 2012
from Tampa, FL
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality
Every time I try to play a movie using the Blockbuster app on my TV, I get either an error 1006 (connection timeout) or an error 1007(movie is already playing on another device). Every single time. But, the movies play without a problem on my laptop.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Doesn't work

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 10, 2012
Doesn't work on my Samsung. Seems like a very narrow set of TV's will run this app. Be sure to test before signing up for Blockbuster.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor...

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 1, 2012
from NYC
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Limited availability. Needs improvement to be able to compete with similar apps.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Waste of time!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 3, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have spent a lot of time trying to get the Blockbuster app to work with no success. Do not waste your time on this one! I like my blu-ray player, but some of the apps are not usable or user friendly.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Blockbuster has never worked

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 24, 2011
from Idaho
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I just bought it last week and the app never worked. That is one reason I bought the blueray player. The player itself is good. I have had problem getting to the app site with the player. Most of the time it doesn't work. I have a problem with the web site too. I went on the register my blue ray and it showed up but it still saids I need to register to get the Apps to work. If the picture wasn't so go I would take it back. I just want them to fix the problems.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't waste your time

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 16, 2011
from Broomfield, Colo
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I couldn't even connect to the Blockbuster service. I spent hours trying to connect I get an error that says Can't connect to service.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Dosen't work for me

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2011
from Illinois
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: would be great if it worked
Cons: it dosen't work
I can't even connect to the Blockbuster service on my Blu Ray player. All my other apps work fine but when I try to connect to Blockbuster I get an error that says "Can't connect to service or server, try again later". I get this error everytime I try to use the app.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

locked up BD Player

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 29, 2010
from Tennessee
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This app never loaded completely. Had shut everything off. Locked up BD Player and never did see what it was about or could do.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Blockbuster
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

BLOCKBUSTER

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 21, 2010
from Montgomery Alabama
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
BLOCKBUSTER WORKED FOR 1 WEEK THEN STOPED ON MY DVD BLUERAY MOVIE ON DEMAND, NETFLIX, VUDU,CINEMANOW WORK GREAT
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.