Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Bluray Players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)

Rating:
3.852 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
16 out of 26(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Review 1 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THIS PRODUCT GREAT FOR KIDS

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 15, 2012
from elizabeth nj
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
LOVE THIS PRODUCT IS REALLY GREAT FOR KIDS TO WATCH MOVIES ON NETFLIX MY SON LOVE ITS REALLY A GREAT CHOCIE #1
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Portable 3D Blu-Ray Player!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 15, 2012
from Chaska, MN
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, quality of product, large screen
Cons: built in speakers could be louder, wish more apps were available
I've owned a number of portable DVD players over the years but this is my first 3D Blu-Ray player. I can't imagine any other manufacturer coming out with one that can match the features or quality of picture & construction as this model. I use it mainly for regular Blu-Rays (just purchased my first couple 3D Blu-Ray discs in the last week) and for streaming videos (Netflix in particular). Despite accidently dropping this device a couple of times off my bed, there isn't a single thing wrong with it after more than a year of moderate to heavy use! I love the fact that it has a 10" screen as well as the sound quality when using my Bose headphones! It's the ideal travel companion!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thanks for the Awesomeness!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 14, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Love this portable network blu-ray player! Great functional design asthetics. Easy to set up and enjoy right away. Can't wait to travel with it and utilize the Wi-Fi.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

woow

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2011
from orlando florida
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
As soon as I took it out of the box it delivered the best picture I ve seen in a portable dvd player. Awesome gift!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great DVD player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 15, 2011
from New York
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
This is awesome for my daughter. In addition to being able to play blu ray and 3D movies, it turns her tv into a SMART tv by allowing her access to Samsung apps.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow What A Player!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 1, 2011
from Kentucky
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, doubles as an entertainment center, is state of the art in looks
Cons: no volume on remote, only three hours in battery life
I have had many portable DVD players in my time but this player blows them all away, the picture is so life like you think you can reach into the screen and touch the people in the movie, the sound is better with speakers attached and the remote could use a volume control on it,one other drawback is the three hour battery life, maybe down the line they will sell a longer life battery for the unit, that said this is not just a Blue-Ray 2D 3D player because with it's added apps it turns this player into an Entertainment center, bottom line...if you want a player that doubles as an entertainment center and looks as state of the art as they come then this is the player for you, but if you just want a run of the mill player then look elsewhere because this player has every other player on the market beat hands down, "Thanks Samsung" you did it again!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy Tab™ 7.0" (AT&T)
4.2 out of 5(102)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Portable Blu-Ray Disk Player Review

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 5, 2011
from Indiana
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: does not play most dvds well.
I searched the market well before deciding to purchase the Samsung BD-C8000. It has more desirable
features and a larger screen than any other that I found.
It plays Blu-Ray disks very well. I gave it 4 stars on
performance because, of the regular DVDs I own, it will
only play 1/3 to 1/2 of a DVD before "dropping out". This may be different for
others that have newer DVDs with more recent playback
codes. Irregardless, I consider this Blu-Ray player to be
the best on the market at this time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung still has the best quality picture screen

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 19, 2011
from Weslaco, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, great design.
Cons: bluetooth please.
I've owned a portable DVD players 7 years ago never lost the quality of the picture. This new model has succeded my expectation. Wish it could have a Bluetooth capability to hook up to a wireless bluetooth speaker. Maybe next model.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Blu-Ray Player (BD-C8000)

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 6, 2011
from Arizona - Oregon
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This device set up very easily and has been working quite well so far. I haven't used it a great deal, but the internet connection functions nicely, the picture quality is excellent and look forward to taking this device on my travels.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extrordinary Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2011
from Wells, Maine
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, excellent value, many features
Cons: a little heavy
For the price, this is an extrodinary product. Ease of operation, portablity, screen resolution, and extra features, (like internet connectivity and 3D capability), are but a few of the reasons this player is such a deal. The only minor drawback is the weight, but this becomes insignificant when considering the overall package. I would recommend this player to anyone looking for value in a featured-packed portable unit. Unbeatable....period.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best picture quality in a portable blueray player. Lots of functions yet easy to use.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2010
from not to far
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a top notch blueray player with lots of feature. The best that I have seen in a portable player. Has all the apps that is needed to watch on the go and be played on tv at home. I love the wifi for the fact that it connects to where ever you are when wifi is reachable. Everybody has there own opinion but for me samsung has open the door for others to follow.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PORTABLE WONDER

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 1, 2010
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: speakers too small, battery pack lasts only three hours average
I WAS IMPRESSED BY THE SIMPLICITY OF THE FUNCTIONS AND ALSO ABOUT THE WIRELESS CONNECTION, WHICH MAKES THE UNIT QUITE USEFUL WHILE TRAVELING.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything in a portable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 12, 2010
from San Francisco, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight, correct features
Cons: still a little expensive
This is done right all the features of a stand alone in the handiness of a portable player. the screen quality really stands out and the HDMI output make it versatile enough to view anywhere. This is really a portable that will set the standard for the rest to follow.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
P2 (8GB Blk)
4.4 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Portable Blu-ray Player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 20, 2010
from Denver, CO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, well designed controls, excellent resolution, easy setup, excellent quality
Cons: latching mechanism, weak speaker volume
This player's LCD screen is the best I have seen for a portable DVD and Blu-ray player. For me, screen resolution is everything. I only compared this player against one other Blu-ray player and the LCD screen, at 1024x600 is excellent, much better than the other Blu-ray player. I also compared this player with three other DVD players and again, this player's screen is tops. I think a true 1080p, 10.1 inch screen is not available at this time but at 10.1 inches and a resolution of 1024x600 you are really viewing a crystal clear image.
The player was a breeze to set up for the Internet. The Internet@TV feature is really fun and a new way to experience what the Internet has to offer.
The player can play 3D Blu-ray disks, but you will need a 3D TV and 3D glasses to view the 3D content. I do not own a 3D TV or 3D glasses so I was unable to rate this feature.
Sound is a little weak on the built in speakers, but for ear buds or headphones it is sufficient. If you wish to use external speakers, I would recommend powered speakers like thoses used for a personal computer.
The latch mechanism that engages, when closing the Blu-ray/DVD lid, tends to keep the lid from closing unless you press down a little off-center. This is just a minor inconvenience.
The player is molded of glossy black plastic so it can be a finger print magnet. I would have preferred a textured outer case.
The player comes with a really nice slip cover to protect the player from scratches and handling. I am very pleased with this player.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great product, when it works

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, nice finish
Cons: Poor quality, breaks
I've had my player for 8 months, and it is headed to the service center for the third time. It keeps having issues playing discs of any sort. When it works, it's great. The unit has great picture quality, great apps. It looks the best of all the portable blu ray players I've seen. Just doesn't work consistently, even after being serviced.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Had its problums

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2012
from New Haven Indiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: see above
after trading my damaged new player for a new one, the new one wouldnt play cd's or dvd's. sent for repair. picture great on blu ray, runs bit Hot. loud on loading and a bit noisy while playing . WiFi works fine.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great features but...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2011
from Queens, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: unreliable performance
This product is very portable and is one of the very few on the market today that plays blu-ray discs. However, after a few weeks for some reason it stopped recognizing dvd's. This is very frustrating because I intended to use it to watch dvd's during my office lunch breaks.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A step up from old dvd players

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 11, 2010
Pros: blue-ray
Cons: speakers poor
Play back good. Streaming like netflix, good feature. I have watched one movie so far on netflix. The dvd player turned off twice. I had to restart the movie. Speakers are poor, You need to add speakers to understand the movie. I think still has a few bugs to work out. I have been waiting for a portable blu-ray player. I'm so excited to finally have one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not the greatest

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 12, 2012
from Mountain Top, PA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, nice controls, 3d output to tv
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, flaky network operation, gets too hot, short battery runtime, long blu-ray load delays, not very reliable or rugged for a portable device
I liked this unit at first, but it seems to be fraught with problems. The first one lasted only a few months & stopped playing DVDs because the read head failed (still played blurays). I've had the same results with THREE of these units, ruling out most of the possibility of a 'defective' player... It was replaced by the store for an identical unit... while it plays dvd & blurays OK, has a nice screen and wonderful controls, there are glaring issues: Blu-ray discs take a long time to load, and sometimes it hangs while loading, requiring a restart, the wi-fi and network communication is flaky, often disconnecting, losing connectivity, or just refusing to detect access points... making the "portable online" features a bit useless. The unit gets extremely hot after only a short time, and is capable of overheating to the point it stops reading discs. Battery life is only fair to middling, and has a fairly lengthy charge time. Overall, I'm pretty disappointed in this product.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
BD-D5500
 
 
 
BD-C5500C
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Made in China

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 31, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: touch panel
Cons: Did not meet expectations, Too big
Pro:
Nice portable BD design w/ 3D
Con:
Need to lose some weight of body size (MacAir thin)
Thin the LCD screen
Increase the battery life
Poor quality of remote control, hard to operate
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Mediocre For Samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Frequently has difficulty reading discs (new player, new discs). Love that this player has an HDMI output, USB input, Internet@TV and naturally communicates with other Samsung devices but performance has been mediocre, I expect better from Samsung. Has trouble connecting to my network even though it says the signal is "Very Good", on occasion says my player is not set up for BD-Live Network connections even though it is. Like I said, mediocre!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Had a hard time playing DVDs

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 16, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
this player is a great item except it has a hard time playing some DVDs mostly the older ones. Blue rays where fine, but some of the older DVDs it would not play it would just spin around and stop and then spin again and make this weird sound. sent it back to be repaired and when I got it back it played the older DVDs for maybe 4 times and then it started to mess up again. So I sent it back and got my money back. Its a great item if you only play blue rays.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Nice player, but ...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 6, 2011
from Brockton, MA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, easy to set up
Cons: poor ergonomic design, buggy
This is a nice little blu-ray/DVD player, but it's spoiled by the extra features that just plain don't work. I've never been able to log in to my Samsung account with it, let alone my YouTube account (although, strangely, I can get in to my Facebook account just fine with it). Logging in to other accounts is not helped by the truly baroque password entry method (would it really have been so hard to implement a virtual keyboard, rather than pretend that the remote is a telephone keypad?) It's also awkward to use the remote while the player is sitting in my lap, which is where I would imagine many people would want to use it: you need to hold the remote near the front edge of the player to get it to work. Actually, it would have been better if the design was such that there were little need to use the remote at all.
In the "nice to have" category, the carrying case could do with a separate pouch to hold the remote.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Makes me want to throw it against the wall!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 19, 2011
from Dresden Germany
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: nice picture, hdmi output
Cons: Poor quality, lacking support, has problems playing dvd's
I bought this product because of the Blue Ray capability. We moved from the US to Germany and I wanted a portable player that would play Blue Ray as well as DVD movies because I didn't want to bring my home system. It plays Blue Ray no problem and our kids cheap Scoobie Doo and Word World disks but when my wife and I want to watch any of our DVD movies it always stalls about the same point into the DVD. It usually takes me 10 to 20min to get it to recognize the disk at the point where it stalled. By this point I am ready to throw it against the wall. If it wasn't for our kids I probably would have by now. I have seen several reviews stating similar results. I would have expected Samsung to come out with new firmware to fix this.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

If I could go back in time I woudn't buy it.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 23, 2012
from Mechanicsburg
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Poor quality
I purchased this item for the trips to the beach. It woudn't play any of the 10 dvd's I had with me. Runs very hot. Don't buy this product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

BD-C8000

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 31, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, no volume control on remote control
I am very disappointed in this product. Upon arrival, product would not read regular DVDs even though it had the latest firmware updates. I returned it for repair. When I received it back, it read the dvds. Never put another dvd into it until this week (7 mos later), and I'm having the same problem again. I am about to return it again for repair. Also, the player pauses and skips while playing blu-ray disc even while running on A/C power. And it overheats. I would not recommend purchasing this player to anyone. It is clear that Samsung released this player with design flaws that haven't been corrected yet.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Portable Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C8000)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wish I hadn't bothered

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 8, 2011
from Latrobe,PA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, expensive, freezes constantly, heavy, heats up very quickly
I had to replace this player after only a few months, and the second one isn't much better. It freezes constantly and my husband insists that we return it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.