Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Bluray Players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player

BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player

Rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
33 out of 46(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung rocks

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 13, 2014
from Round Rock, TX, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
I had read some negative reviews about this player, but all those issues have been resolved by updates. Player works great, boots up quickly, no long waits for dvd staging.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this blue ray is great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 9, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
very easy to use and great picture. works very good and is cost effective
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best blu-Ray player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2014
from Reno nv
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: no con
I like it I like it a lot I will buy one more for my room
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

lovely product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2014
from Denver, CO, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
is an amazing item with lovely features design and price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to install and a variety of app's

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 1, 2014
from Houston, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
This was easy to connect and by upgrading, you get the latest app's available on this model. You can get Amazon. The menu system is easy to understand.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

blue ray player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 26, 2014
from orlando florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
awesome performance and apps plus wifi access is perfect for doing everything in one place
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

works very well with my TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 13, 2014
from Florida, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Easy to use and also Blu-ray with 3-D. I did not have to take a course in school to use the player. Great job by samsumg.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is well worth the price.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 12, 2014
from Wisconsin, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is a great product and I love the internet access it has.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wences

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 20, 2014
from Metairie, LA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
The best blue ray that I have use it
It is integrate with my samsung TV
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2014
from Wichita Falls, TX, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: wi-fi
This Blue-Ray player is amazing. We do not have a smart TV and this device gave us the ability to feel like the smart TV experience. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a Blue-Ray player.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 17, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Excellent product, small size, easy to use, quality construction
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Too many features to list

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2014
from Lincoln, NE
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to use, easy to set up
This blu ray player has too many features to list. It has the ability to play DVD, as well as blu ray discs. This player streams Netflix, You Tube, Pandora and more. It also gives you the ability to screen mirror feom other devices. I would highly recommend this blu ray player.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very easy to set up.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 28, 2014
from Delaware, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
All I needed to do was plug it in and the player walked me through the setup. I now get onto Netflix,etc. with ease. I'm very pleased with this model.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great 3D blu ray player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 19, 2014
from NorCal
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Awesome player. Works well with my Samsung HDTV 75 inch 7150.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 16, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
The menu options are great and the picture quality is awesome. Buy it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Small unit big results

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 2, 2014
from NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I had a Samsung blue ray player already, but I purchased this one for the 3D feature. I also figured that it was better to pair a new player with a new Samsung Smart TV - they work great together.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Happy with purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 1, 2014
from Fairhaven MA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: none i found
This is a great unit. I put it in my sons room. He used the smart hub for Netflix. All in all you will be very happy with this purchase
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy to use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2014
from Erie,Pa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
This product has all the features needed to enjoy movies and the media .
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great all around

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Pride,La
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Its fast plays great and i like how when i turn it on it changes to HDMI2 by itself.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BD-H5900/ZA Top Notch 3D Blu-Ray player and Hub.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 13, 2014
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, low profile, quite, does not get hot
Cons: top located function buttons
The Samsung H5900/ZA 3D player is another great Samsung product. The player is easy to use and has very fast WiFi connection speeds for a wireless hub device. The online services available are fast and easy to start as is expected from Smart Hub devices. The setup and connection was simple and straight forward and the unit shows great stability with connection, I have had no problems with streaming content being choppy or losing connection once established. The only thing I would change about this series is the location of the manual controls. I would prefer front access to the buttons, in my case my entertainment cabinet has very little space above the components and front access is just a little more convenient. I have memorized the control functions positions so seeing them is not critical, just a little inconvenient. I still rate this as a 5 Star device with excellent picture quality and hub access.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT VALUE AND GREAT FEATURES

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2014
from CHICAGO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: no clock
GREAT VALUE AND GREAT PRICE FOR A 3D PLAYER. WOULD RECOMMEND
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HELP

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 27, 2014
from Tucson, AZ, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am having a hard time getting the system to work through my system, who can I call for help?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: design is a little peculiar.
The Samsung BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player works well with the Samsung TV that I have. When I turn on the BD player, it instantly changes the input to the Blu-Ray player. The player also has a smart net type of menu that allows going from the BD player to sites such as Netflix. Of course, the buttons on the BD player also control the TV power and volume without any further setup other than the standard initial setup. This BD player plays 3D very well and the picture is phenomenal. It is an extremely good price and of excellent value. I really like the player though the design - specifically the ring for the buttons - is a little odd and not one I like well for manual operation of the player.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Would highly recommend this product save for......

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 1, 2014
from Chapel Hill, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, see above re:tv remote difficulties
This player works well but it cannot be synched with the Samsung TV remote we have to allow us to use the remote as a universal device. Every time I try to add the player to the TV source list it knocks off the TV or the cable set top box or both from the source list, forcing me to go back and re install them. Furthermore when I search the BR player model number on the TV look up menu to add it to the source list the model number is not included on the list. Very frustrating to say the least.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Blue ray player - Awesome

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 14, 2014
from O fallon,MO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, screen mirroing too good, you tube is good, easy configuration
Cons: you tube search become difficult, chrome or ie not exists
This Blue ray player is good and able to see netflix, youtube , screen mirroing are good. It's working fine. Only thing is IE or Chrome is missing - this will help us to browse and see my e-mails.
My kids are enjoying seeing the Netflix with out connecting to Laptop.
Screen mirroing help us to see the photos / running videos from my smart phone.
Overall I am impressed with BD-H5900 smart player.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Really good quality.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 6, 2014
from Il
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers
This product was made well. It was easy to understand manual.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Bluray Player

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 6, 2014
from Riverside, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
This player is very simple to setup. I have had no problems at all so far. Great Picture quality! I would give it 5 stars if it were not for the control buttons on top of the unit. You cannot see them, due to them being the same color as the unit and being on top of the unit. But, you can do everything with the remote control. It has all the app you need, including Amazon video. Overall, great Bluray player.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

THE LITTLE 3-D BLUE RAY THAT COULD!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 17, 2014
from California, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy connections, simple to operate
SOO SIMPLE BUT YET SOO MANY GREAT FEATURES (APPS) IN ONE LITTLE NEW DESIGN BOX,, ALL YOU NEED IS EITHER HDMI OR COAXIAL CABLES FOR THE SOUND/PIC,, AN ETHERNET CABLE..BUT IS WIFI READY SO YOU MAY NOT NEED THIS LAST ONE.
COMES WITH VUDU, NETFLIX, AMAZON, HULU PLUS, TARGET,,ETC..
FULL HD 3D, SCREEN MIRRORING, ENERGY STAR ETC,,,,,
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Product term average quality

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 17, 2014
from Ecuador
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
It would be good that they do updates from time to time, we will integrate agregen or a web browser.
Watch Out, this product has no browser to surf the web, only comes with a few applications, navigate to certain websites,
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprised but happy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 4, 2014
from Coloado Springs, Colorado
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is my first BluRay player and It's great. I bought a TV and got this so it makes my TV "smart" It has lots of features (that I didn't even know about) and it is just wonderful Blu ray discs are Great, DVDs look better, and CDs sound great with my new system. I have had a couple of Samsung products in the past and have always been very happy with them and the prices which are better than most.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 21, 2014
from Kannapolis, NC, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This DVD is good if your just wanting a DVD player but I was looking for one that had the feature where you could hook up your lap top to it and view the internet on your tv screen. SO I can see it better.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Some software hiccups

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Chicago
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: instructions weak
Software has had several updates and once froze requiring a re-boot after disconnecting the power. Unusual for a blue ray player. 90% of the time it works well.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy Setup, Easy to Use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 9, 2014
from Fairfax, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This Samsung BD Player was out of the box and playing a movie in under 10 minutes. Easy connections and easy to follow menus, made this a breeze to install. Hard to tell whether it's live TV or Blu Ray playing and the 3rd movies are amazing.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Machine

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 8, 2014
from Loris SC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I've had this BlueRay Player for about 2 months, although I don't use it very much, when I do use it is fast, easy to use, very reliable with no issues during playback, I don't use the smart hub, my Samsung UN60F7100 handles all my apps with ease. Overall I would recommend this player to a friend or family mamber.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I really Like Samsung, But...

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 16, 2014
from Tucson, AZ, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
On the whole this product is a good performer, what disappointed me was the lack of Amazon Instant Video and the lack of an optical audio output.
In ALL other ways this player excels and is sure to please. In fact, if the above to items are not a must for you, then buy it. It matches spec-for-spec the F59000 (even though if you do a product comparison it would appear otherwise).
Samsung did not list the apps this player came with. But who doesn't ship with Amazon or Netflix anymore? And, the images of this product both here and on the Amazon web site, at the time I purchased, showed that it had optical out. When it arrived I found it to have coaxial digital out instead. Fortunately I'm a cable hoarder and I could adapt.
The experience left a bad taste and a strong sense of disappointment that I had not felt towards Samsung until now. Once burned, twice shy - I just don't have the confidence I once had for Samsung.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Where are the Apps?

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 14, 2014
from Salisbury, NC, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, good wireless reception
Cons: Did not meet expectations, very few apps available
I purchased this player for its ability to stream content over the internet. With the exception of Netflix and Youtube apps, there are few apps available at this time. You can shop something called the Opera TV Store and find several things suitable for a five year-old child. I checked the Samsung website to see which apps were available and this model number isn't even listed. As I already had a Bluray player, I'm wishing I had purchased a ROKU streaming device.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Off to a bad start

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 13, 2014
from Weston, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, limited wifi apps
I purchased this model to replace the BDF 5900 that stopped working after three months. I bought it primarily to stream media. My issues are similar to the other reviewers. This model has a very limited app selection and there does not appear to even be a way to add apps through the on-screen menus. I will soon attempt through the USB port if that's possible. Right now any attempt to use any app freezes the unit so there appears to be a connectivity problem. That said, I'm writing this review from my hp laptop which is connected wirelessly within 10 feet of where my Blue Ray player is plugged in. The design of the unit is attractive and I did play a Blue-Ray disc to test it and the playback was terrific so no complaints there.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
50" Plasma Display
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Expected better

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 12, 2014
from Amherst, MA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I have owned the player for about 2 weeks and have encountered glitches with the apps (including Netflix and Pandora). Connection to the app is inconsistent. Several times the sound and picture have not been in sync. The internet connection is strong (often I am the only one home). I will continue to seek advice, and "troubleshoot" these difficulties. Eventually, if unresolved, I will have to use it as a disc player, only. The frustration will be too overwhelming, otherwise.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Appears to be rushed to market/wifi /update issue,etc.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 6, 2014
from Louisiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: plays dvd and blu-ray good
Cons: Did not meet expectations, my unit did not detect 5ghz wifi band, not amazon instant video app pre-installed, unit didn't connect to internet during update, tier two customer support no answers to wifi
The unit is supposed to be dual band WIFI capable per the box, but the unit will not detect my 5GHZ band. I only have two other devices in my home connected to this band, two IPads, and they work fine. I called customer support on the issue and was forwarded to tier two customer support and they attempted to suggest the problem was with my network (absurd and insulting to my knowledge level). They have since said they would have product design contact me. Second issue, the unit fails to connect to the internet, even though it is connected and can stream, during an attempt to update firmware. Customer support also did not offer a explaination or suggestion regarding the unit's inability to connect to the internet during an update attempt. Even if the firmware is current, it should be capable of connecting. Third issue, no Amazon instant video app loaded. I will have to check the apps online and see if one is available for download. Play back quality for both DVD and blu-Ray is very good. I will most likely have to return the unit to the store for refund unless somone at Samsung can provide fixes to these issues. Note, I am a first time purchaser of a Samsung Blu-Ray player and this experience hasn't been a positive one.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lacking some app support

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 20, 2014
from Utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: plays most any video format
Cons: no amazon or mlb.tv app
I got the Blu Ray player mainly for playing video files from my computer which it does flawlessly. It handles every type of video file I've thrown at it. Very happy about that. The thing I don't like is that at the time of this review there is no Amazon app for streaming video from Amazon. There is also no MLB.tv app for the same purpose. I was told that they would likely appear in the store in the future but when that might be no one seems to know.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I expected

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This unit is not what I expected. It is difficult to use if it's in a rack environment. I'm not able to get the "replay" to work with blu ray discs, one of the mundane features that I use constantly. While I will play both blu ray and standard DVDs, I think it could have been better designed. I would not recommend this to someone who is looking for the latest features.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Inaccurate Description

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 23, 2014
from PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I submitted an earlier review but Samsung has chosen not to post it because it "does not comply" with their guidelines.
I purchased the BD-H5900 Blu-ray Disc Player to replace a DVD component of my Home Theater System. My complaint is simply that this product does not do what it is advertised to do. Nowhere does it say that the software (AllShare) required to access files on my PC is not compatible with Windows 8.1. That information I was given by a live chat with a Samsung Tech Rep. Even the user manual makes no mention of this problem.
I trust Samsung will post this review and perhaps another potential buyer will make another selection if they happen to be on the most current Windows software level.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Remote only works with Samsung TV's,

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 23, 2014
from California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Remote only works with Samsung TV's, you need to have two in your hand to control your TV.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 4, 2014
from Utah
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no amazon instant, no plex, no redbox streaming
All I have to say is, where are all the apps that we're promised? I bought this model because I thought it would have more apps than a cheape/olderr model... Wrong! Missing Amazon Instant and Plex amongst others. Crossing my fingers a future update brings these.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth the frustration

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 13, 2014
from Utah, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, waste of money
I bought this two weeks ago to replace a very old frustratingly slow blu-ray player only to discover one that was worse. It plays blu-rays OK if you don't mind the wait. The buttons on the unit seem to only be suggestions or possibly just decorations. It literally took me ten minutes to get it to eject a disk today. I would push the eject button, the display would say open although the tray wasn't, then it would open the tray then suck it back in before I could get the disk out. I finally grabbed the tray and held it to remove the disk.
Netflix wouldn't work until I upgraded the firmware. Now it works occasionally, as long as there is no disk in the machine. Sometimes it gets into an endless loop of Netflix saying it can't connect and to check the settings while the network menu say it's connected. I even replaced my router to no avail. This is going back to the store!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No good

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 1, 2014
from Sacramento, CA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, does not work
This is the worst product I have ever had the misfortune to purchase . Constantly shuts off, constantly disconnects form the WiFi, you can't watch a movie on Netflix or any other app that it offers cause it always stops working and shuts off. Do not buy this product, it's not worth the money or the problems.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not worth it

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 20, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, does not play my blu-ray disk
I just got this 3d blu-ray couple weeks ago on my vacation and it started to skip and not play any of my blue ray disk. I'm very frustrated how poor quality that samsung is selling their product. I would expect more from the company.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for BD-H5900 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

NO WEB BROWSER

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMay 8, 2014
from San Francisco, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Why bother with a wi-fi, internet streaming enabled device that can't access the web? What would have been the problem with adding a normal web browser, like Google Chrome. It could sync with my phone/tablet. Also, Samsung tablet could be linked to use as bluetooth keyboard, but nooooo!
Returning it.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.