Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Bluray Players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player

BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player

Rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best Blu-ray I ever own.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 16, 2014
from Katy, TX, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, easy to install
This is so far the best Blu-ray player l own. Easy to install and the quality of image is standing. For the price is a great buy. Great product, great quality at great price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WiFi 3D Blu Ray Rules

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 15, 2014
from Celina, TX, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
I never thought I would care to have a WiFi Blu Ray player but I can't believe I never had one before! It is so awesome to access the web and playing 3D movies at home beats the crowds and cost less than going to the movies!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent choice in Bluray

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2014
from SF Bay Area, California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight, built-in digital hdtv tuner, supports 4k content, supports 3d
Cons: could use more audio-out options
I am very happy with this attractive little unit. It's ready for 4k content whenever that becomes available. It supports 3D, whenever I get around to purchasing a 3D tv. The settings menu is easy to navigate, and the remote has all the features you will ever need. I did have a brief struggle matching the color space to my HDTV, but that was easy enough to configure in the settings. I do wish this model had more audio-out options, but a digital audio cable is easy to come by, so I'll have to go that route. Overall performance is excellent, you won't be sorry.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Overall Great Product--Excellent Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 30, 2014
from Amissville, VA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, excellent value
Cons: missing means to eject tray from the remote
Recently received the BD-H6500 as a gift (after I did a lot a research and left hints as to what devices I wanted for my (eventual) home theater set-up. I'm acquiring items piece by piece).
The device is well-packaged and protected in shipment, compact, with a better-than-most (detailed) but easy-to-understand instruction manual. The device itself is attractive and extremely functional, with setup exceptionally easy--including that of firmware updates, which does require a external USB thumb drive (not provided).
Initially, I had trouble getting the device to wirelessly connect to my Netgear WNDR 4500 router--but that turned out to be an issue with the latest firmware from Netgear. It had nothing to do with the bluray player. If you possess that router, and you have difficulty adding new devices (any new device), do yourself a favor and revert to a previous version of the router firmware. As soon as I did that, I had no trouble connecting the device.
Using the device is simple and straightforward. It simply works as one would imagine it would (and should).
I do have 2 complaints as to the design--and in fact, these complaints were observed in other reviews I encountered elsewhere (during my own research). It turns out those statements were accurate. The 2 issues are: a) the inability to eject the tray via remote, and b) the on-board controls placed on the top right hand corner of the unit.
If you place the bluray player in a cabinet (like I did), and if it sits on top of a stack of other components, make certain you've left enough space to reach in to operate the on-board controls (primarily the aforementioned lack of means of ejecting the disk because there is no button on the remote to do so). Because the on-board controls don't sit very "proud" of the unit's surface (meaning they don't stick out very far at all--they are almost imperceptible to feel, in fact--but they are quite sensitive). Because my unit is on top of a stack that completely fills the cabinet space, I have to actually grasp the unit and pull it far enough out to "see" the on-board controls so I hit the right one. If I don't do this, I will invariably hit the wrong control and usually (and inadvertently) turn the unit off instead of ejecting the tray.
Samsung should have created an eject button on the remote. Perhaps a future firmware change might, somehow, allow two keys pressed at the same time on the remote to open the tray--failing that of having a dedicated button.
Because of this issue, I gave the design only 4-stars. Otherwise, this unit would have gotten 5-stars for everything.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 3D Blu-Ray Player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2014
from Riceville, TN 37370, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, easy to use
I replaced a Samsung "Home Theater in a Box" with a component system, using this Samsung BR player. It is, by far, the best BR player I have had. it set up quickly and easily, connects to the Internet efficiently, and plays all CD, DVD and Blu-Ray media flawlessly. The price was extremely good for the qualities built in to the product. I recommend this player to anyone looking for a quality piece of equipment at a decent price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SAMSUNG BD-H6500-GREAT PRODUCT

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 12, 2014
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Very good product.Iam very happy with my unit.It is the best on the market .
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Product has lots to offer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 27, 2014
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, seamless connectivity with other devices
This product exceeds my expectations. The features of this product allows me to maximize the potential my other electronic devices.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nearly Perfect ...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 15, 2014
from Florida, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight, fit and finish very good, can eject disk w/remote, easy set-up, clear menues
Cons: remote not programmable to non-samsung tvs, on-unit controls in bad position poorly labeled
Packaging was very good; set-up was easy. There are no interface cables included (e.g., HDMI) , so be sure to purchase separately whatever cabling you need to connect it to your particular TV.
Not sure what some other reviewers were talking about regarding "no disk eject button on the remote" because its right there, immediately under the POWER button. Works with streaming (Netflix, Amazon Prime Video) well, but did run into some hiccups with Netflix the very first time after account set-up. My advice - if you have properly created a new account or logged into your existing account with a streaming service and the service does not work, WAIT! Leave the unit powered up, but come back in an hour. I suspect there is some background firmware updates taking place. Everything worked like a charm after an hour.
The unit runs flawlessly. BR and DVD playback is quick. Upscaling seems to work well. No skipping, chatter or clicking. The unit runs very quietly. There is little to no heat issue, either. you can set the brightness (or turn off) front panel control LEDs in the set-up menu.
Downside - just two. First, that stylish but stupidly designed control surface on the top right front corner of the unit. As described by others, it is very sensitive but you'll need a flashlight and a magnifying glass to read any markings. Whatever minimal markings that are there are small and faint - no contrasting paint to make it easy to read. Also, if you stack your components, remember - your remote is your friend. Don't lose or break it.
Second, the remote is designed to be used with Samsung other components. So, if you have a non-Samsung TV, don't bother trying to program the Bluray player's remote to power on or off you TV - you can't.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Bluray player for live streaming and many more

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 6, 2014
from Hyderabad, Telangana, India
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, live streaming through wifi internet
Cons: typing through remote keys a little harder
I wanted to use TV as a streaming device to watch any program which is live streaming on internet and i can do it through my samsung player.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What you expect from a 3D Blue ray player!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 30, 2014
from junction city, kansas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
This is an excellent player. Fast compared to others I have owned. The only exception is that my TV plays more file types from an external hard drive, player only has a few compatible file types. Would like it to play all file types because the upscaling is amazing!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Brilliant picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 28, 2014
from Westfield, NJ, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: easy to set up
Works as advertised and with my Samsung TV, picture is magnificent.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So far, so fair to good.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 20, 2014
from Moorpark, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no blue-tooth!, plastic case?, no ethernet over hdmi!
My biggest gripe after one day is that it's ironic that an H-series Blu-Ray disk player hasn't been designed to support a Blue-Tooth keyboard. The latest crop of H-series HDTVs do! How difficult would it have been to include a Blue-Tooth ASIC on the player's motherboard so I could use the Blue-Tooth keyboard that came with my Samsung HDTV. Really?
Another possible gripe is possible functionality issues with using the TV remote to control the player. Still trying to get it to work. Hard to believe that it wouldn't between tow Samsung products from the same model year.
3 Stars for features for not including Blu-Tooth for an otherwise internet ready DVD player.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

BD 6500 model

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 16, 2014
from florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, limied smart hub
Basic DVD operation. Smart Hub disappointment. Limited in what it can do. GOLF app prominent & cannot delete due to manufacturer. need ability to change apps to my preference not manufacturer.
Unable to download Xfinity app in system due to samsung restriction. Only reason I bought DVD in first place.
Freezes. Distorted sound.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Smart DVD Player Overview

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 21, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Good overall performance and good value. We have it connected to a wired internet connection and the speed of the system seems pretty good. Also boot time is short. My only complaints are that the remote should be bigger so that Samsung can add some easy to find primary buttons like Hub, NetFlex, Play, stop, pause etc. Everything is just too compact. We use this player in our bedroom so it is dark and the remote is difficult to use even though the remote is backlit. I also would like to see the ability to customize the app screen more than Samsung gives the ability for. In short you can't put your favorite apps on the Home screen. You can only move them around on the secondary screen causing extra button presses.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Web browsing is awful

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2014
from San Francisco
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
The web browsing feature of this product is just awful. The product was okay otherwise - some issues, but passable - but including a feature that is so awful is reason to avoid this product like the plague. Samsung should learn to not include a feature if it going to create anger with their customers - better to have fewer features than a customer who will never buy a Samsung product again and will tell everyone they can to do the same.
I selected this product - and paid more - so I could use the browser and access things like hulu in addition to the apps included. Do NOT make the same mistake.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BD-H6500 Blu-ray Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

terrible browser and keytype set

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onAugust 10, 2014
from PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Poor quality
I was told that this had the WWE app loaded on it and it was not there. When I tried logging on to their website it was impossible to differentiate between the screen and the type key box. Terrible browser design. I own s5 galaxy and Samsung Galaxy 3 but this one is going back to best buy. after this experience I may not buy the Samsung 4k TV. I wanted to integrate my phone as a advanced remote but at this point I am not going to even try.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.