Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Color Multifunction Laser Printers
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer

Rating:
3.732 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
3
23 out of 34(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Review 1 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysamsung4life212
onDecember 30, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
We love this - setup was a breeze, and very easy to use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best laser for the dollar

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 30, 2012
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
It does all the I want and more. Clear crisp copies and pictures.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great step up to laser

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBigSpender
onOctober 12, 2012
from Mesquite, TX
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: long cartridge life
Cons: config menus not intuitive
My family and I were tired of replacing small inkjet cartridges every other week (it seemed that frequent.) The expense was significant as I have a teenage daughter that prints quite a bit for school research and projects. The cartridge cost is similar, but the quality and longevity of the laser cartridges far outweigh the cons we were experiencing with our old inkjet printer. The old unit was getting to be old as peripherals go (6 to 8 years.) I would prefer the menu driven config display to be a bit more intuitive, but the options are more than usable. The network interface was a new feature for us that is very welcome so we can share the printer with all the devices on our home network.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (White)
4.5 out of 5(229)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Laser Wonder

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTee2Shop
onJune 5, 2012
from USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, print fast
I like this printer because of it smart network connectivity and also the print quality. I would surely recommend this to my family and friends- !
Yes and it is a power saver too ! (keep this in mind also)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Nice All In One Laser

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDaddyDude
onApril 6, 2012
from Milwaukee, WI
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: compact, not an eye sore, multi function, fairly quiet
Purchased this printer for a small office business. Has performed very well with the exeption of one glitch and had to call a tech. I normally solve probs meself. However, this particular day I had no time. Turns out it was a Networking communication problem. The tech apparently reinstalled the program and got me up and running in a flash. The most reliable setup of any network printer is to have it directly plugged into the router itself. Mine is set up wirelessly. Never had a prob since. Was it a software update of some sort causing my prob? Printer? No matter, this printer has served its purpose very well in an harsh environment. Tone is a bit expensive. But I have found, if you search the internet a bit, you can fined great deals.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Multifunction color laser printer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGershon
onFebruary 22, 2012
from Cincinatti
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
After a long wait I finally bought this printer and now I'm sorry I didn't buy it sooner. It is a well designed and performs great.
I especially like being able to log on to its internal website to check toner level and settings. The wireless feature is very useful for a family with many notebooks and smartphones. I would definitely recommend this printer. The only thing I would improve would be to add a backlight to the display.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great printer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bywwmcwwm
onFebruary 3, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I received my printer today, and so far it is working great. Color is vibrant, print speed fast, and overall I am very pleased.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wow

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytonyjd
onFebruary 1, 2012
from PA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Durable, Realistic color
amazing printer. colors are so real. great design.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The prints are excelent very sharp colors

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byweb1
onJanuary 29, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
it's a nice printer its very nice to have this printer
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTHipp
onOctober 22, 2011
from NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Great machine, fast, great quality and most of all the Tech Support was outstanding. Not being a computer savvy, I needed help, and that was the best service anyone could have asked for. Customer Service was awesome!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybobokitty
onOctober 14, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
When printing cards the ink splattered all over cards smearing the colors. I called tech support they walked me through going into software preferences selected card stock then it printed fine. very bright colors. Tech support is one of the best I ever came in contact with. Good knowledge from support.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the best printer you could ever get from the best brand name

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytechpro
onOctober 13, 2011
from MINNEAPOLIS, MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
had this printer working at a light speed. no issues. color printing looks soo natural. I print more than 1000 papers in ma printing shop a month and have not had any issue with it. there is no need to look around for something else if you want a good printer that's also affordable. GO GET IT NOW!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
BlackJack II™ (SGH-i617)
4.2 out of 5(30)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far so good

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTimelessMD
onAugust 22, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Just fired it up. Looks great! Easy to hook up and run...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My favorite printer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChoicePlumbing
onAugust 19, 2011
Pros: Durable, Realistic color
I absolutely love my printer! This printer is amazing. The quality of my pages is amazing. The price was very reasonable. I would highly recommend this printer to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great machine

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byluv2tinker
onJuly 14, 2011
from bay saint louis, ms
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
I like everything about it. Easy to use, and I like the features. For a laser it is lightweight
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
TV Digital
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great All in One Laser Printer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGizmoFreak
onJanuary 8, 2013
from Jersey City,J
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
This All in One is excellent value for money. The performance is great. The only annoying thing is that it does tend to lose network connection from time to time requiring the re-installation of the printer software.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

neat and nice

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySmiletoo
onJune 6, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Too big
Easy and good way to print in different ways like scan, email or print.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best printer I've used accept for 2 things...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDez0000
onMay 30, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, reliable, easy to use
Cons: some components are designed to wear out.
I use this printer at work and it gets used very often for large quantities of prints. Overall this has been the easiest printer to learn all of it's functions and has given me the least amount of those random annoying printer issues like most do. But I've had 2 issues.. For one this printer does seem to drink Ink like water when doing a lot of color printing like I do and it will just stop and force you to change the ink cartridge, you can't print when they run out.. that's a bit annoying. And here is a big issue I had.. for some reason in the Imaging Unit Drum, Samsung added this little electrical chip that all it does it allow a signal too loop through it and as long as the signal can loop through it the drum works fine.. but they added a weak capacitor into the loop that in my opinion was designed to burn out so you must buy a new Imaging Unit.. which is half the cost of the printer.. well since I work for a company that builds electronic equipment we soldered in a stronger capacitor and now the thing runs like a champ!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Printer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byvallarta
onApril 3, 2012
from Tomball, Tx
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Select this printer for the futures so far has been performance as expected....
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Laser Printer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byscoobydoo43
onFebruary 18, 2012
from Columbus,Ohio
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Realistic color
This is a great printer not as fast as I would like but over all a GREAT Printer.The wireless is a pain as I have to always search the network for the printer. It keeps losing it's IP.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

CLX-3185W, nice, easy to use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymokuti
onFebruary 1, 2012
I have like this printer, however there was a problem with one of the rollers when I first used it. Samsung did replace it at no cost, for which I was grateful. I do have a slight issue once in a while with a paper mismatch, or so the error tells me. The wireless function works great. Overall, I woudl give it a 4
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Could be better

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJanuary 6, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, easy to use
Cons: not wireless
This replaced an inkjet printer, and I am happy with all but the fact that it cannot be set up wireless. It doesn't have a fax, but that I don't need on this machine.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great MultiFunction Printer, Terrible Mac Software

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bydhbuckley
onOctober 4, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, fast, good size
Cons: bad mac software
My wife, a schoolteacher, and I really like this machine--fast, good print quality, fits nicely on desk, etc.. However, the Mac software provided really doesn't work--the various pieces conflict with each other, install is problematic and un-Maclike, there are NO instructions for installing and little intelligible instructions for using the software and so we cannot use many good features.
Thank goodness for Image Capture which allows this to be used on the Mac with no additional software.
Please, fix your Mac software and I'll give 5 stars!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Economy for Home Office

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byartgraf
onJune 12, 2011
from SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: not known yet
I was satisfying with this first color lazer multifunction.
I have had at least five inkjet printers, but the cartridge inks cost a lots and still have problem about noze clogging, even I always used same brand name original ink of printer.
It's time to switch to lazer printer, so far no problem at this time :-)
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product serves the purpose of my purchase

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMultiUser
onApril 6, 2011
from Malaysia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Overall it is a good multi-function unit. Software setting is relatively easy to setup and use but the process can be made more easily, intelligently, and without too many keying in by user. There is a difficulty in setting up the printer to accept faxes when the unit is used via a keyphone environment. This specific instruction on how to set up the machine as a fax machine in a keyphone environment should be given clearly.
Otherwise, I totally recommend it to others!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Small Footprint, Very nice printer AIO

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onFebruary 2, 2011
from Austin TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I've only used this printer for a few weeks. So far, it performs as expected and other than being a bit louder than I expected during startup/warmup, is a great addition to my workspace.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

TINY paper tray - weak apps

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bydev1854
onDecember 9, 2012
from chicago
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: small paper tray
The software apps can't find printer unless directly connected, which is lame for a wi-fi device.
The prnting is good and the document feeder is nice,
but seriously - why can't printer vendors make a 500-sheet paper tray?? Anything less requires the user to maintain partial paper reams - ugh.
Also - the paper tray is flimsy.
The small plastic flap to prevent printed paper from curling, is too flimsy.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

print a lot of copies

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Byrenatopo
onJuly 22, 2012
I am having trouble from the start when I try to print a lot of copies and the paper starts to hang after the third and fourth copies. If I make multiple copies individually, repeating the process several times, it works well. I do not understand.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good product

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMay 22, 2012
Print quality still smear on glossy paper .. need more work on that ..
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This printer hogs electricity

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByHomeuser64
onJanuary 17, 2012
from illinois
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, electricity hog
The printer takes a lot of electricity periodically during the heating cycle. Enough to make the lights blink on a 20amp service. Some say peak is 7 amps. Otherwise it works well. Setup is a little glitchy on OSX.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

make sure you read carefully before you buy

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByLowly1
onDecember 15, 2011
from MidWest
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
It functions well enough for a home office but not a small business. Read carefully. I thought I was buying a wifi adapted CLX-3185 but mine required hard wire connection and is completely unsuitable for my needs. Quality of printing is acceptable but not outstanding.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Quick Installation Guide

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByUSA4now
onNovember 2, 2011
from United State of America
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: material should be in english
Quick note....If this item is going to be sold in the United States of America then it should include a Quick Installation Guide that is written in ENGLISH not some other foreign language. This turned me off to this product right away.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Below average printer for home office use

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byaka2002
onSeptember 17, 2011
from Austin, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, low output tray capacity, face-up/down not clear on loading tray, bright blue leds - dont dim down
Quiet printer, now that is one of the best things you can say about this printer. The surprising thing about this printer is that it is networked/WiFi capable but the scan to computer feature works only with computers running XP --- wow! that is ancient. The second idiotic/annoying thing about the printer is the output tray - holds about 12 sheets in a flimsy pull out tray. The last thing is the bright blue LED lights around the
"ring selector" and the "status" -- now that cannot be low power! Haven't seen these lights dont dim down or turn off when the printer is in "sleep" state. Don't get me started on the fax/scan program included with the printer -- terribly unintuitive....when you start the program, you have to choose the printer every single time and select "Quick Scan" to start loading the TWAIN drivers - wouldnt it be great to start there with the last selection and let the user change the printer (assuming he has more than one) from a drop-down?. Overall, disappointed with the printer...wish I had looked harder for reviews before purchasing on the strength of the brand and store recommendations.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
9of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great all around - poor execution of technology

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMay 30, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, price to advertised features
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, advertised features very limited abilities, no limitations listed anywhere
Purchased printer in order to test for home office/small office application. Print cost is pretty low. Printer cost acceptable. Advertised feature list sounds great but Wireless card does not support more than 54Mbps with TKIP. Unable to scan to email (as advertised) - will not authenticate to basic email server (hotmail, yahoo, gmail, powweb). Scanning fails to pick up document shading (picks up less than 10% gamma while on the glass or through the automatic feeder.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Jack of all trades, master of none...so far

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByGadgetFan
onApril 22, 2012
from New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: compact nice design!
Cons: difficult to set up!
I don't know how to make this thing work with my Mac or my network. I usually don't spend too much time with any gadget I have. There seems to be an understanding between me and machines. This one is different. It's just way too cumbersome to set up and work with a Mac. I can't speak for a Windows machine since I don't have one. Since this is not for busy people, better look for another one, if you are. One of these days, when I have the time or the chance or the patience to tinker with this thing, I'll set it up again. In the meanwhile it's not useful. It's like a space occupying lesion around the house despite its small footprint... Must be the frustration of not being able to make it work right out of the box.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

setup poor supported

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bylenovostandards
onSeptember 26, 2011
from germany
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
does not work nor print after set up an reading of docs, no display if USB works or not
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bycaped212
onJune 6, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations, unfriendly to mac
I was assured by the salesperson that the printer was completely compatible with my new MacBook Pro. He did mention that the disk which shipped with the product was for Windows only, and that I would have to download the file from online. That proved to be easier than said. The file proved to be three files. Getting those files to work was not easy. Even when I did get them up and running, scan still did not work. The printing function went in and out of wireless.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
5of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByTTTbuyer
onApril 22, 2011
from Singapore
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Only certain peper can be use.???????????????????
??????????????????????????
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
1of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

is not a reliable wireless printer

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymiamiflorida
onMay 30, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, have many features
Cons: Too big, Did not meet expectations, wireless connection is unresponsive, top tray is flimsy
will connect to router easily, however once it goes into saving mode it will become unresponsive, I literally had to run the installation cd several times in order to gain control of the printer again, because there's no option to reset it or factory reset it. This should have a mayor driver revision, a person with little knowledge of networking will literally throw this heavy (30+lbs) thing out the window out of frustration.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can anyone say PAPERJAM?

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byhuemeister
onFebruary 13, 2012
from Allentown, PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, eats paper for breakfast, eats paper for lunch, eats paper for dinner
I've had this a few months, it was a Christmas present. What a waste of money!!! I've had printers that lasted for ten years; in this short amount of time, I've had more paper jams than in ten years with my brand I can't name printer. This MFP was fairly cheap; now I know why. Most of the paper jams, I could just pull out. This last time, the fuser ate it and won't give it back; I am dead in the water. I have a Samsung warranty and an extended warranty, but I have a feeling I should just cut my losses; at this rate, it will be in the shop more than it will actually work.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for CLX-3185FW Color Multifunction Printer
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor QA

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByGlennMC
onJuly 21, 2011
from Martinsburg, WV
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Bought one unit. Printing had either a color or black band across the page. Called X-Wty people. Recommended cleaning drum and wiping toner cartridges with lint free cloth. Did both, no improvement. Returned to Office Max. Second unit would not connect to a wired network. Kept printing pages with "Device Status?" and "Device Capabilities". Returned to store and replaced with CLX-3170 series ($200 less, slower speeds, less expensive cartridges). 3170 seems to be running fine.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.