Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop TV Cameras
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera

Your favorite TV show: your own family and friends – thanks to the Smart TV™ Camera. You don’t need a computer to enjoy video conversations when your HDTV is equipped with the CY-STC1100 Smart TV™ Camera. Adjust the tilt neck to put yourself comfortably in the frame, then relax at home with family and friends – even if they’re a world away. You’ll see them in HD-quality 720p; they’ll hear you with equal clarity, thanks to four microphones that pick up ambient sound. It’s the closest thing to being close by. Mounts on your Samsung SKYPE TV with no hardware or tools required. Key Specs • Skype™-certified • 720p HD • Auto Focus camera • 4 microphones • Tilt neck • Dimensions: 9.0" (W) x 3.1" (H) x 8.0" (D) • Weight: 0.3 lbs
Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Review 1 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

smart TV skype camera stc1100

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 12, 2013
from GA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Too big
The camera has good speakers, good design and the sound quality is great. I would recommend surely
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Camera

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 9, 2013
from Montreal, Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
The camera is pretty great for those people use SKYPE.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
3D Blu-ray Disc® Player With Built-in WiFi (BD-E5900)
4.4 out of 5(276)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

cool for skype

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 23, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, 4 mics
At first I said this was too much,after mulling it over ,when back and purchased it and boy am i happy.This camera is amazing and there was another one i looked at .GLAD I GOT THIS ONE.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compact design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 20, 2011
from AL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
camera has wonderful picture quality and is easy to install
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Camera

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 27, 2011
from St. Louis, MO
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
The camera is matched with a UN55D8000YF Smart TV and blends well with the system, fully adjustable and a very wide angle. Setup was a little sketchy, as the was no manual with the camera, but it truly is a plug and play device and works well. The skype display on 55 inch TV is awesome.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great way of being at home while you travel

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 19, 2011
from Montevideo, Uruguay
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic color, easy to install, geat audio
Cons: Not high def
I'm a consultant so I travel a lot.
The only way that I have to be at home while I travel it's by telepresence (it's not the same, but its better than nothing trust me).
Great audio, image, focusing, does all great without the need of configuring anything.
Anyone can make a call very easily with skype.
It's almost like being there.
I must say for this one, thank you Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The "only" camera for Skype

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 3, 2011
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
Other cameras will work, but this one is made for the Samsung TV, is unobtrusive and has four speakers. Highly recommended!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
16of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung TV Skype Camera

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 8, 2011
from La Jolla, California
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
The Samsung CY-STC1100ZA Skype Camera works very well. Family members report excellent sound and picture quality that is broadcast from our system. The four microphone and auto focus features make this camera a stand alone system. As a side note, one erroneous review that was posted on the internet stated that the Samsung Skype Camera would not work on 55" LED Samsung UN55C8000 3D models. The camera DOES work on this model just fine. Here are the simple steps you take to install the camera that are NOT in the instruction manual: 1. Make sure to plug the USB cable into the connector marked "HDD USB 1." 2. Turn on the TV and IF the small blue LED light on the camera does not come on use your remote control and select "Menu." Next scroll down to the "?" mark which is the "SUPPORT" section and select "SOFTWARE UPDATE." For 2010 Tv's this update is required and may or may not apply to 2011 units. I hope this post helps anyone that might be interested in purchasing the camera or anyone that is having a problem. Thank you again Samsung for another quality product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Download the Skype app!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 23, 2011
from Roswell, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight, simple to install
After installing the camera and downloading the app in the smart hub search... The camera works great. The TV would not see the camera until I downloaded the Skype app. It would have been nice if the manual stated this.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 19, 2011
Doesn't work yet but it looks good. I can't say too much
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-13points
1of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Skype on the big screen!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 11, 2011
from Central Florida, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
We use one of these at work and it is a great alternative to more expensive teleconferencing systems.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good TV camera to use with Skype

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2011
from Dallas, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: retail price too high
The design of this TV camera is well done and its fits very well on top of the LED TV. Good picture quality.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has great features.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 2, 2011
from Florida
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: does not support all smart tvs
I wish this would work on all Samsung SMART TVs, but unfortunately it does not. You need to check your TV specs to see if it is supported.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works well on 2010 series TV too

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onNovember 13, 2011
from Indianapolis, IN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I was concerned that this product would not work with my 2010 C series TV (55unc800) but it works fine if you have latest firmware in the device *and* tv.
Picture quality is fine, not great. I suspect it works better on 2011 D series.
It is expensive, but I am impressed by the sound pickup. Although it is operating in a large room, the people on the other side of Skype seem to have no problem understanding. I think this is was you are paying for.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2011
from NY
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Does not have a wide view from camera.Rest fo the things-ok.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Excellent BUT sound @ other end= Chipmunk voices

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 6, 2012
from San Diego
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Excellent concept and nice design. However, the sound at the other end is Chimpunk voices... makes it unusable.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Only supports certain models!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 2, 2012
Expertise:novice
Cons: Did not meet expectations
When I bought a Samsung LED TV and I didn't realize that most of the accessories only support limited models, one of them is this skype cam. I was told it only supports certain models and this information is not stated in Samsung web site! You need to spend some efforts to find out this.
Overall, I'm disappointed for not able to utilize the accessories..
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Smart TV™ SKYPE Camera
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Doesn't work!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 17, 2011
from Dallas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Bought the TV and the TV camera today and it doesn't work... No blue led light on, setup is straight forward. I googled the problem and I'm not the only one!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-11points
0of 11voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.