Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Dryers
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer

Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
11 out of 15(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Review 1 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMancyn
onAugust 4, 2013
from Pomona
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: normal noise
We have owned this product for about 4 years now :) no problems... Goes great with the washer, beautiful design . The only problem is it is a little noisy, well normal washer / dryer.... I did expect it to be a little quieter.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Dryer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysbowman
onMay 23, 2011
from Union, Ky
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
We love our matching Washer/Dryer Combo from Samsung, They really did an awesome job engineering these models. they have everything and then some we need from a set.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byadacondo
onFebruary 19, 2011
from Ada Michigan
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
The drier controls are easy to understand and use. It needs the stand to bring the door up to a comfortable level.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Dryer ever used

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 8, 2010
from Las Vegas, NV
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, feature rich
Cons: a bit expensive
Whenever talking about Samsung, we are talking about quality....
This Dryer could be the best one I have ever owned so far.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cavernous Capacity

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPatrickRobb
onMay 17, 2010
from Denver, Colorado USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This Dryer is HUGE... but very quiet, too! My wife is very pleased with it's speed and the quality of drying, but she has found that drying King Sized Sheets & Comforters requires periodic off-loading & 'fluffing' to ge these larger items completely dry. Our 448 Washer and 448 Gas Dryer have been operating for about a month now. This is an AWESOME Combination of Washing & Drying Capability. Our old units were down for about 2+ months while I shopped for new replacements, so, when there were delivered, there was a mountain of Dirty Clothing, Towels and Bedding to be washed. This pair plowed through that mountain like a red hot knife through room temperature butter!! Wash Cycles are quick and Drying Times are short. The Steam function is Very Cool and it WORKS!! I do not care what they cost... they are worth EVERY PENNY! I'm 6'2" tall and the Optional Pedestals are very nice for elevating the Washer & Dryer so that my back does not take a pounding. The Control Panel is SIMPLE to understand & operate. I would have no problem recommending this Dryer... or the Pair, for that matter... to anyone. Very Efficient on both Electricity and Gas. Good Looking, Too! My wife, who is NOT into housework or gagetry, has been showing these off to all of her friends, the neighbors and even the crew thast maintains our lawn!! Now THAT is ASTONISHING!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great dryer with room to improve

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bype14
onNovember 29, 2012
from Baltimore
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, quiet
Cons: controls hard to read, dryness sensors inaccurate
I love the dryer and have the matching washer also. The steam feature is fantastic and great for touch up, freshening or wrinkle removal. I love all the settings so you can adjust for the specific clothes.
I have two major dislikes. I dry nearly everything on the timer setting because none of the specific settings will actually dry the clothes. Even with dryness adjustments, they all stop well before the clothes are completely dry. The second dislike is the control panel is difficult to read. This is mainly because I have the two machines stacked but I am 5' 9" and the lighting and angle of the screen makes it very hard to read.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This Product is one of the best

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMalayalees
onNovember 25, 2012
from Northville, MI
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Had this product for more than an year. going good and very happy with it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a great product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLoner
onSeptember 7, 2012
from Plymouth,MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
This is a top of the line dryer; the only issue that at times is annoying is the fact that it updates drying time constantly and you are never sure how long it will take to dry a load of clothes. However, the load is always dry when finished.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product has easy to use features.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAussie3
onAugust 29, 2011
from Pennsylvania
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This product is easy to use and has great features. I would recomend this product
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Efficient Dryer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGoodDealGirl
onJune 6, 2011
from GoodDealGirl
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Realistic color
All the specific choices for drying are available and if the load is not quite dry, you can always time dry it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Dryer Ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByElaine
onApril 14, 2010
from Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is a new purchase and we are loving it. I did have a problem with the first load of towels not drying completely and had to redry them. Since then have changed my setting. Love how quiet it is. Also absolutely love the shoe rack - great for drying wet tennis shoes.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Dryer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTPierson
onNovember 29, 2009
from las vegas, nv
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
My electric and gas bill have dropped 20% because of these machines. The only complaint I have is about the dryer sensor it sometimes does not get everything dry. Especially if there is only one item in the machine.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good dryer, EXCELLENT WASHER

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByLuvMyShihTzus
onOctober 14, 2009
from Haverhill, IA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
On another website there are a few negatives about the drying sensor not working well. First of all I have never had "wet" clothes when the dryer shut off. If that were the case then it's obvious there is a malfunction. Sometimes I do pull out heavy work jeans that are just a bit damp around the waist etc. and my king sized comforter may end up damp in the middle but I would rather have to rearrange it so the dampness is on the outside than pay for the electricity it would take to get the middle completely dry if I just left it alone. Same with sheets, a quick rearrange, which btw is not ALWAYS necessary, will result in sheets that are dry in no time. It is not that big of an issue with me because when I was looking for a set, vibration was my #1 priority and I am still amazed that I found a front loading washer that does not vibrate all over the place (I will write a review on the washing machine later). The outstanding performance of the washing machine more than makes up for the minor inconvenience with the dryer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not a very good dryer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byridinak
onJune 1, 2012
I have used this product for:2-5 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
sheets and blankets ball up within minutes of putting it in.
there are not enough sensors in the dryer, so I just use time dry now, to ensure clothes are dry
and if you are doing several loads of laundry, you have to turn it off, then turn it back on every load, to change settings
on the positive, it is a nice looking dryer
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Average dryer for the price, terrible with bedding

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySoCalEric
onJune 14, 2011
from Southern California
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: clothes, stackable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, bedding
I purchased the matching 448-series washer and dryer about six months ago and have been very happy with the washer's performance. This dryer on the other hand works okay at best and very bad at worst, especially considering the retail price. It has a large capacity which is nice and the shoe drying rack has come in handy for delicate items. I've used the steam feature a couple times but since it just injects a small stream of water before a short heat cycle you could replicate it by spraying your clothes with an inexpensive water bottle prior to a drying cycle. I definitely won't look for this feature in my next purchase of a dryer.
After using countless different dryers over the years there is nothing really special. The sensor dry settings work okay but for the most part I have to use the time drying setting to ensure a high level of dryness. What really lets this dryer down is when you need to dry any type of bedding such as sheets and comforters. It has the capacity, but it appears to tumble the drum too fast which keeps everything mid-air and spins the outside of the bedding mass too fast which results in a balled up mess that won't dry. I've tried all the suggestions in the Samsung FAQ to include adding other items to the load and it doesn't help. There is nothing more infuriating that having to come back to your dryer every five minutes (literally) to untangle and rearrange bedding. If you're lucky you can sometime get it to not wad everything up for a little longer but this is very seldom.
Without this issue I'd rate this dryer much higher. If I would have known how bad the tumble issue was I probably would have skipped this set which is a shame as the washer is very good and has great capacity and features. For most clothing the dryer works well, no better than a conventional thirty year old dryer, nevertheless it works. But when you have a large household and it comes time to dry any type of bedding you'll be cursing at having to walk to the laundry room every few minutes trying to get everything to dry.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great dryer except for sheets.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMimi5
onMarch 21, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This dryer works very well, except when drying sheets. Sheets roll into a log, with the middle being wet and the outside dry. Samsung, you need to redesign to remedy this problem.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Squeaking Loud! 2 Dryers of this model

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByGrandVista
onJanuary 19, 2012
from Woodland Hills, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: squeaks loud after a year, model may be defective
I first purchased this dryer and it immediately squeaked loud while spinning. Lowes replaced it with another new one.
The 2nd dryer was fine for almost a year and then it started squeaking loudly!!!!
I'm waiting for a Samsung service tech to come and either fix it or tell me if this model has a defect.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 7.4 cu. ft. Steam Gas Dryer
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.