Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop DVD Players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for HD Upconversion DVD Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

HD Upconversion DVD Player

Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 10(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HD Upconversion DVD Player
Review 1 for HD Upconversion DVD Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Affordable and sure it does serve your need!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByImmortalSoul
onJune 22, 2012
from Santa Cruz, CA
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Of course it is outdated DVD player since it came out looooong time ago.
It was priced at reasonable price back then when I purchased it. (Now I've been using BLUERAY players, not this DVD player.)
The best part of it is that... It still works perfect whenever I run DVD at guest room.
Overall, it was definately worth the money and it still works great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Series 9 13.3" Laptop
4.4 out of 5(25)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HD Upconversion DVD Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great upconverting dvd player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bywattkisson
onFebruary 11, 2012
from NC - USA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Upconvert quality is fantastic. Links to and works seamlessly with Samsung tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HD Upconversion DVD Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little player

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByIW2WTL
onOctober 11, 2011
from Wisconsin
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, beautiful design
I've had this for two years and it's worked perfectly. Just purchased 40-inch flat-screen Samsung Smart TV and the dvds are very clear and sharp. I LOVE the design. A shiny little flying saucer. Fits in a bookcase slot perfectly below the tv. Sadly, just this week, it's begun being a bit noisy after the dvd is inserted. And I tried playing a double-sided dvd from a well-known tv series and it wouldn't show up on the screen. Tested one of my dvds and it was fine. ???
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HD Upconversion DVD Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Design Plus Performance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrickyrr
onSeptember 30, 2011
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, design, performance
It works and it actually looks good. I definitely recommend.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HD Upconversion DVD Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHD54
onDecember 30, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Made a huge difference in movie quality and enjoyment. Needs a better remote, to hard to see/read the buttons.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HD Upconversion DVD Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byamfr
onMay 7, 2010
from Montgomery, AL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Most of my household electronics are Samsung so when in search for new products I tend to always come home with a one. I didn't really do any research before purchasing this DVD player. The look and specs on the box were appealing and it had more features to offer than any other DVD player I had seen. It was simple to add to my TV, cable box etc.... I was also impressed with the all the different playback formats. The picture is crystal clear along with the surround sound. In all I love this DVD player. I was very happy the first time I used the player and 1 year later I am still very satisfied.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HD Upconversion DVD Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byilaz
onMarch 22, 2010
from IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I spent one month searching for a DVD player with the features and the price I wanted and at last I found this one. I read several reviews of this product on different websites and at last I decided to buy it.
Now I see that it really has all I wanted. It played any formats that I tried .avi,etc. It even played the DVDs which were burnt in Data format. The USB port is almost the best part of it.
I recommended it to all of my friends who were searching for a DVD player.
I think it is the best in this price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HD Upconversion DVD Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My Take On DVD-H1080

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBmac132
onOctober 23, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, compact
Nice and compact and it does just what it is suppose to do. But I the fact that it is so compact.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HD Upconversion DVD Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

problems upgrading

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bymucklepucky
onOctober 28, 2009
from Greenfield IN.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This dvd player has some nice options. The only problems I had was upgrading from the file provided by Samsung. The dvd player would not accept the file on a cd or dvd after copying file and burning. But it has a USB port on the back. If you copy the file to a flash drive and plug it into the usb port on the back it will take the file and complete the upgrade. The same goes for the DIVX VOD. You must also download the file from DIVX onto the flashdrive. It will then register your dvd player for DIVX VOD. Took me 2 months to figure this out. I can now play DIVX format dvd's on the player.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
18of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HD Upconversion DVD Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very Stylish Poor Performance

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BySeattleSamsung
onNovember 7, 2011
from Seattle, Wa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, not durable, skips dvds, short life
I received this DVD player as a gift and loved the sleek design and touch features on the player. It is a beautiful DVD player that I enjoyed having on display. After only two months, the DVD player will barely play DVDs. I thought it may have been skipping on some older DVDs and tried to play a brand new, just opened one with the same problem. I am extremely disappointed in this product and would not recommend it to anyone. I have owned several other Samsung products with no problems, I think this was just a poor oversight and does not uphold the Samsung brand.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.