Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop DVD Players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player

Rating:
3.844 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
4
22 out of 29(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Review 1 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 29, 2011
from kennesaw,georgia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
good for those that require this for thier stuff,neat products
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is of good quality.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 31, 2011
I found this product what you were looking for, simple, quality and modern. Strong structure, good design, I'm using in a Sylvania 32-inch and it looks very good.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 16, 2011
from MIAMI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
GREAT PRODUCT EASY TO USED GREAT QUALITY PRODUCT TKS
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXACTLY WHAT I NEEDED AND WANTED

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 24, 2011
from HUTCHINSON, KS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
JUST WHAT I NEEDED FOR THE PRICE GREAT VALUE AND TURNS OUT JUST WHAT I WANTED AND MORE COULD NOT BE MORE SATISFIED
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Had a little trouble to start

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 14, 2011
from Bullhead City,Az
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Had to add a RF/ Modulater in line . Works good now.
Like all the features on this machine
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 13, 2010
from KC,MO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: it does not have a built in tuner.
Good overall product. It is a good player at a good price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loving my samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 13, 2010
have had this for only a few days but loving it the set up was a snap playing dvd or vhs with this unit is real easy the remote can control all the functions very easy to ues once you learn all the bottons picture quality is great with the hdmi hookup even the vhs tapes have great pictures
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2010
from Traverse City, MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable
This is a very good machine that has ease of operation.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

DVD-V9800 Outstanding Value / Performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 6, 2010
from Tampa, Florida
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
I've owned this DVD-V9800 for about a year. Quality / Value / Performance all exceeded my expectations. You can't go wrong with Samsung Products !
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product for the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 29, 2010
from Plainfield, Ill
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Features are great and easy to understand during the installation. Love the TV on/off controls etc. on remote, thus only needing one to operate.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clear images and easy to use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 31, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Provides outdtanding image quality with much easier to use procedures than using multiple units for DVD's and VCR's. Easy to install with cable and TV. Very simple user interface for DVD/VCR player and TV operations. Good quality design resulting in excellent manufactured product. Good installation and operations information provided in accompaninying manual. Good product warranty terms. Good technical support procedures from Samsung and good local technical support from Best Buy for quickly needed actions. Good competive pricing for player and upgrades ensuring future growth capabilities.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 18, 2010
I have had this product over 1 year with no problems at all. I like it so much that yesterday I purchased a 2nd one for another room. Great value for the money!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better Than Expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 25, 2010
from Stockton, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
ok so i bought this unit because I needed an extra VCR and DVD player. i was a little iffy because i had read horrible reviews on it so with that said i decided to give it a chance. alas it has met my expectations just like every Samsung product i own (over 11 including a Samsung VCR from 1987 that still works to this day). clear picture from both decks and excellent sound too. i'm very satisfied with this product. thanks Samsung for great quality products you make.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good buy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 15, 2009
The style is real nice, easy to set up, and the price was excellent. I would highly recommend this product to everyone I know who is looking for a replacement player.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2008
from Portland, OR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I bought this sleek DVD-VCR combo. This is a reliable and high performing product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2012
from Louisville,KY
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable
The anynet is nice when hooked to a Samsung television.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works fine

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 16, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Except for the fact the I am electronically challenged, and had to call the support # to get this going, it now works fine for both the VCR and DVD
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good choice

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 10, 2010
from NW GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
For a combination player this is a very good product; was easy to set up and easy to use. Good quality as far as I can tell.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great DVD/VCR combo

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 6, 2010
from Michigan
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I've only had this DVD/VCR combo for about a month, but I'm very pleased with it. It is user-friendly.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Outdated feature set

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onNovember 28, 2011
from Mesa AZ
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Any VCR without a built-in HD tuner is very limiting.
On this machine, VCR output is limited to AV composite.
Component output is restricted to DVD only.
If you still want a VCR, get one with a tuner and for DVD, you may as well get a Blu-Ray.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

dvd-combo

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 18, 2011
from Winston, OR
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
We loved this dvd-vcr combo when we first started using it, but lately we have had issues with getting it to read some dvds. I don't know if it is an internal hardware or software issue, but it is quite frustrating. looks like it's time for an upgrade.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Samsung DVD-V9800

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 10, 2010
from central kansas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: needed coaxial cable connects for older (90's) tv
Samsung is assuming each of their customers has already purchased a new tv. The connections do not include a coaxial cable for older tvs (from the late 90's). Thus I had to hire Direct TV to come out and put on a converter box using coaxial converting to Samsung type of plug. Thus far I am happy with the purchase and the price paid. I will be upconverting to a HDTV at xmas.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good with one exception

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 21, 2010
from California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
There is a design flaw in the clock. At times the menu clock does not match the screen clock. The unit is am/pm vs military 24 hour clock, but when changing from 11:59am to 12:00pm it still says am on the menu. At certain times the screen shows am and the menu shows pm. This can make programming difficult unless you know the problem. Other than that the unit is fine. I like that the programming does not erase durring short term power failure.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Problem with DVD Drawer Belt

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 21, 2010
This is the third Samsung DVD-V9800 we have purchased. We love the price, the design, the ease of connection and use, plus the features. However, it has one quirk that needs to be addressed: The drawer belt disintegrates and/or breaks after only a few months of use. Samsung is quick to authorize repairs, but it necessitates packing up the unit and shipping it to their authorized repair dealer in another state, a long wait and the possibility that the unit can get damaged in transit.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor quality

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2012
from AZ
DVD player stopped working in less than 2 years making it useless
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

dvd player

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 29, 2012
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, dvd quit working
Had this dvd combo for six months and the dvd quit working.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Warning: Limited Product

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 8, 2011
from Colorado
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Too big, Did not meet expectations, lack of digital tuner, lack of tech support, lack of hd plug in
We purchased this on the recommendation of Best Buy and quickly discovered there were issues. 1. Comcast said they could not provide numbers for integrating with HD Digital Tv.
2. Samsung did not have any numbers to integrate with a Vizio HD TV. 3. When tech support was asked about running existing VCR tapes and editing to DVD the comment was "well, if you can not get an image then you probably can not edit it." Needless to say, this went back to the store.
We are now searching through the digital tuner models for something dependable. Interestingly, most of the salespeople are recommending that those with 4 head VCR units (the most common since 1990) keep them and hook them up to the HD TV(if you can find the codes and run as a component or auxilary) and then add an HD DVD recorder due to the high return rate on combo units. Ironically, we have Signature 2000 VCR units that still function from Montgomery Wards but manufactured by Gemstar and both Samsung and Comcast were able to tell us where to fine the codes.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst purchase ever

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 7, 2010
from cape coral,fl.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Had poor run after 3 months,some dvd's &vhs would play others not . Do not purchase this product!!!!!!!!!!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

BAD PRODUCT

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 6, 2009
from Bloomington, IN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I have purchased 2 Samsung DVD -V9800 dvd/vcr combos and neither one lasted more than six months of low usage. The first one quit in 6 months with a bad laser. The warranty is useless as they want $40 to fix it after 90 days. The second one, I purchased a warranty to fix or reimburse. This one went out after two uses. I have several other Samsung TV's and DVD's Do not waste your money on this player. Be smart and upgrade as the 9800 is junk.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+69points
72of 75voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Broke Fast

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 16, 2009
from New York State
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The DVD player function stopped working after less than 3 months. The VCR still worked fine but it has to go in for service because of the DVD. No DVD player should stop working after that short a time. I used it probably for about an hour or two a day, on average. Very disappointed. Always heard good things about Samsung but this makes me leery.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Rating: 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Features 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.