Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop DVD Players
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player

Rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
15 out of 20(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Review 1 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJolorel
onFebruary 3, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
I am very pleased with this product, it has great sound great features and it is a great value pricewise. Sometimes it pays to listen to the store associates, sepecially when it come to electronics thesedays.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTVaddict23
onJanuary 16, 2012
from Paris, MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: easy to use
This DVD/VCR combo that samsung has made is perfect for our home. I does what we program and ask it to do without any problems so far. Though the product is "EZ to record," registering this product was difficult. This product is a combo, though I had to register it under DVD. Then it said that the serial number I was giving it was wrong. I had to remove the last letter on the S/N to have it register.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is the "Best" on the market!!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysilversand
onJanuary 3, 2012
from New Orleans, La.
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
This is the best DVD combo I have found. It has full HD picture quality and the Up-Scaling is like having a Blu-Ray. I love movies, old and new. I "Love" old Saturday matinees: like Godzilla, Ultraman, Bruce Lee ect. Many are on VHS: This combo brings out the great details on the tapes. It's "Amazing" for VHS so you know the DVDs are even better. "Blu-Ray"!!!
Thanks Samsung. Great job!!!
.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

dubbing very good

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByWelder
onMarch 5, 2011
from Ohio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Only bad thing is the clock light is to dim, even with set on bright.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Work GREAT!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByVideoGuy
onJanuary 7, 2011
from Scotch Grove, IA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: display brightness is low
I wanted a VCR/DVD recorder combo to copy my family VCR tapes to DVD. This machine has the simple dubbing feature where you just load media, select dubbing direction and hit go. It does the rest. I'm getting beautiful DVD's from 30 year old VCR tapes. I would recommend this unit.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEryloon
onOctober 13, 2010
So far the product does exactly what it is supposed to do, you get no complaints.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Has Done It Again

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySubaruBuddy
onMay 27, 2010
from Stockton, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
well after nearly three months I just love everything of this unit. Style performance everything. I've recorded a few DVDs with this nifty little machine and things cannot be any more simpler than this. Thanks once again Samsung for great products.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
17of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded expectations

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymbatek85
onApril 21, 2010
from Denver, CO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This DVDR and VCR player recorder can output all video and sound through the HDMI cable which makes hookup that much easier. The only difference I would want to see is the video input have at least a component video input.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Experience

By1sttimeuser
onApril 20, 2010
from San Jose, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
Okay, so I'm not very technical but yet I was able to hook it up by myself and actually was able to convert my home video VHS format to a DVD the first time out.
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy for dummies

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byfapa1
onDecember 2, 2009
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Easy hook up and set up for those people who have trouble with this step. Real easy to read instructions. I have tapes to convert to DVD's and the instructions are easy to follow. I would recommend this product, specially for those people who want to take the hassle out of setting up and operating your DVD player.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+41points
58of 75voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More than Functional Product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRicRicRic
onJanuary 4, 2013
from Chicago, Il
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: easy to use
Easy and quick to use product. I bought this to copy my collection of Old home VHS tapes to DVD and it works flawlessly!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product seems to be great.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByGEMINI69
onJuly 24, 2011
from Palm Springs, Calif
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
I have only had this for two days, but so far I like it very much. There is one problem that has nothing to do with the quality of the product. It is a refurbished unit. Which is fine. But, whoever puts the stamp, "REFURBISHED" on it, needss to find some common sense and DO NOT put the stamp over the S/N and M/C numbers. Black ink over the numbers and you cannot read them and cannot get it off without destroying the lettering. This has happened before, but with a different company. That is the only complaint that I have. The quality of the picture is great, even on some very old VHS tapes. And I likke the feature that, when you insert a tape, it automaticaly does the tracking and the sound quality is great.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good product with some quirks

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byjoejoe53
onJune 29, 2011
from babylon, ny
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I like this unit. I am still trying to figure out dvd recording off the TV and it is frustrating that I can't watch another channel while recording.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Reliable VCR for Your Video Tape Collection

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByUberGeekxor
onMay 22, 2011
Pros: vcr
Bought this device since it features a VCR and I still have a sizable collection of video tapes. Samsung electronics have never let me down. This is a replacement for a previous Samsung VCR that I had used for over 20 years. The VCR is a little noisier than I would like during playback but it gets the job done.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value, great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMeister
onFebruary 2, 2011
from Thompson, CT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, many new advanced features, menus are easy to navigate, recording on dvd is faster than others
Cons: trouble recording on previously used dvd-rws, some recorded dvds won't play on other players
This was one of the cheapest, which had all the features I was looking for and then some. It can change the cable box on it's own when doing a timer recording, which I have not tried yet, but have needed that feature in the past. I like that you can view your pictures and music together. I bought this about three weeks ago and have only used it's basic features. I wll need to do more than skim the manual for some of the more advanced stuff. Having a few minor issues recording on some DVDs. Spent only a little time trying to resolve them, but haven't found the answers yet. Overall satisfied with it's performance
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDrew43esp
onJanuary 24, 2011
from St Louis
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, cross recording
This unit is easy to set up and use. I have read other reviews on this unit and must disagree. The only issue is setting the remote to operate other devices, which really nwas not important to me.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

HAS COOL FEATURES BUT DOES HAVE SOME ANNOYING PROBLEMS

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bycoolkid
onJanuary 1, 2011
from Oswego,IL
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: no tuner
I Like it because of the no tuner option because i got satellite receiver also it's very easy to program
and you don't have to turn off the unit for it to start
The 2 problems are below
Says some shows are copy protected - on Local Satellite Channels - Happens once in a while
if you press record button to long it goes to quick timer record the problem is it not displayed on the screen
instead it only display on the LCD layout
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This product is bad news

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByJim2Shop
onAugust 20, 2011
from Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
This is one of the most complicated systems I’ve every dealt with. The manual doesn’t give a good description of the equipment, and it is very difficult to operate. Sorry I purchased this equipment.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Takes forever to open dvd tray on initial power on.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByDE88
onNovember 11, 2010
from Birmingham, AL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I bought this product to play std. dvd's on hdtv. I honestly don't see any difference from my old dvd player. The dvd recording is a good feature but it takes ten minuites or more for the dvd tray to open if unit has been off for awhile. Once it does open, as long as unit is still on, it works fine except for in 16 x 9 mode, it displays with grey bars top and bottom of screen on HD channels but displays STD channels full screen. There are other irritating quirks and I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I purchased one of these three years ago.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByJPPloof
onJanuary 24, 2014
from Arizona
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I had the unit for less than two months and sent it in for repairs. It continually ejected VHS tapes and after repair, it was a little better. But it was necessary to push the tape into the unit to prevent ejection. The fast rewind cycle is exceptionally slow during the last 30 min of rewind. Also, for some reason it is not able to sense the end of the rewind and continues to attempt a rewind until stop is hit. Without a tuner one must have a cable box or satellite in order to record. Finally it will no longer play VHS tapes and I am replacing it with another unit.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

VCR Quit

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bymtnmagic1998
onOctober 26, 2012
from Asheville, NC
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, decent price
Cons: Did not meet expectations, vcr stopped working 2 months after warranty lapsed
I originally loved this because it was purchased to record from both the VCR and from the DVD. Two months after the warranty ran out (had it one year and 2 months) the VCR quit recording AND playing videos! Just can't recommend something that breaks right after the warranty runs out. And, no damage was done to it by me or anyone else. It was put in it's position near the tv and never moved after that. Was also cleaned regularly. I have other Samsung products that I absolutely love so this was a huge disappointment for me and I no longer get to record my old VHS tapes to DVD which is why I bought it to begin with.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
Samsung Captivate™ Android Smartphone
4.1 out of 5(1,985)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible recording

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByTennisgal
onAugust 16, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality
Recording is undependzable. It indicates that it is recording and does not.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for HD Upconversion DVD/VCR Combo Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worse than the player/recorder we replaced

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bysevenoften1
onAugust 28, 2011
from Millington, Tn
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, doesn't work well, won't record on most listed dvd types
Bought this to replace a player/recorder that was older and would only record on 2x dvds which were hard to find. Now we have one that won't record on most of the dvds we try(no matter the brand or type) and when it does work it will only rewrite a couple of times before it bombs out. Very frustrating when you want to record a show or two during the week and very expensive buying new dvds all the time.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.