Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Point-and-Shoot
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera

Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
19 out of 25(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Review 1 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great camera

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 21, 2013
from Wenatchee Wa
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The camera has all the features you need. Beautiful photos and its easy to use.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone wants to know what camera did I use.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 21, 2011
from West Jordan, UT
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
The best thing about it are the compliments you get when showing pictures to friends and family.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A+ Value in a small package

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 24, 2011
from San Jose, Costa Rica
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, easy to use features
This is my 4th Samsung Camera.
The 1st one was an old point & shoot 35 mm, many years ago. Then came the obvious digital leap, with a pocket unit.
The previous camera was a Digimax Pro-815.
I loved that camera and went all over the world with it.
The reason for upgrading to this one was the difference in weight.
I did the customary research and came back to Samsung again.
I like the weight of the HZ50W.
One of the best features of all is its optical image stabilization.
It was lacking in the Pro-815 and that makes all the difference to me.
The camera is so full of options, that I finally printed the manual to study it in detail.
I am discovering amazing built in editing tools that actually help getting great images.
It is like a photo studio in your hand.
I suggest you invest in an additional battery and external charger, easily available on evilBay for little money.
I think I will keep it for 5 or 6 years like that Digimax PRO-815.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Take beautiful pictures with superb colors and detail

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I receive it as a chritsmas present from my wife and when
i first use this camera i was amazed at the beautiful pictures
it takes.The detail and colors are amazing . If you want to
upgrade from a simple point and shoot camera to a more profesional like DSLR style with lot of features ,look no further , this camera is for you.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2011
from WI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, good battery life
Bought this camera as a present for myself. We own other cameras of all types from cheap point & shoot to a DSLR. I find the pictures and ease of use better than all the others. Love the zoom, takes great pictures even in dark situations. Plus I didn't notice the wide angle until I framed the same scene with two cameras, it is so nice to get the whole crowd in the picture without backing up. Love this camera.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
great value, takes excellant pictures and video. has good battery life.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ZOOM

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2011
from Liverpool, NY
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: external flash
I Got this camera a few days now, and is loving the features. The one this replaces was a 6.1 Mp with 10 X zoom Z650.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Received for early Christamas present.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2010
from Philadelphia, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, superb macro, great value
Love this camera. I was ready to step up from my other brand small compact.,and wanted a camera that could grow with me. Smart Auto takes great pictures, while I am learning how to take manual shots. This camera had everthing on my wish list...Mega-zoom, 14 mp, rechargable lithium ion batteries with long life, lcd and electronic viewfinder, image stablization, and it's easy to learn and operate controls.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MY VERY BEST FRIEND ; )

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2010
from NEW YORK
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
THIS IS LIKE MY BEST FRIEND SINCE I BOUGHT IT ITS BEEN WITH ME 24/7 MAKING MY LIFE FULL OF MEMORIES......
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Too many features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 21, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I really like this camera. Still figuring out all the options.
Takes great pictures.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Camera

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 15, 2010
from Manitou Springs, Colorado
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, user friendly
Cons: where can we get cases??
So far, so very nice, and very user friendly. Look around for the best price...it is out there waitng for you to find it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a buy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 23, 2010
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have owned many cameras. This one is so feature loaded yet simple to use....what can I say except..... WOW!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tremendeous bang for the few bucks.....

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 22, 2010
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, long list of features
Cons: small form
Incredible value. Long long list of pro DSLR features. Above average to very good image quality (when shooting RAW). Small form a bit difficult for large hands but still a GREAT camera. Install CD contains Samsung RAW converter but you won't need it if you use Adobe Photoshop (CS4-5). I would give "performance" 5-Stars but I have not tested this camera enough to stick my neck out quite that far (yet). So far I am VERY impressed and HIGHLY optimistic that this wee wonder will indeed... deliver the goods.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Camera

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 25, 2010
from NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: no external battery charger
It's a good camera I have to say that. If your gonna choose between this one and the Olympus 30x I suggest this one, it may be a little bigger and slightly heavier but it delivers what you would want in a Point and shoot as well in a mini-DSLR.
But there is one thing I have to say about it. The battery charger is a direct plug-in to the camera and not external so Im just a little annoyed about it but I still love it.
Pictures Uploaded are samples taken with Macro and Just plain Smart Auto.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New Photog

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 21, 2012
from Indiana
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
Love my new camera. Still learning all the features but I am having a blast.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

LOTS FOR THE MONEY

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 22, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Well, other on-line reviews were positive so I took a chance on this and have not been disappointed. The round tilting arrow /OK button is cheap plastic and sticks on my camera; they could take a clue from other brands here. However this camera takes excellent fotos right out of the box and all the steps are logical even for a novice user. This is a LOT of camera for the price. Integral charging circuit is a bonus.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Camera helps Engineering department

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 9, 2010
from Lititz, Pa.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
We were looking for a replacement Digital Camera with good zoom and maro capability. The high resolution isn't always needed but it's great to have available when needed.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All my expectations were exceeded

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2010
from TX
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I searched the internet for reviews and videos but found only a few for this product.
It exceeded all my expectations; having read all the reviews. It's value and features are the main selling points of this camera. It's very light so it won't strain your neck.
I would recommend this product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good camera between PS and DSLR

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 29, 2010
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, lots of features
Cons: video is not as good as thought, takes a while to get use to
I have had this camera for a month now. It takes great pictures in daylight. The smart mode is great and easily takes accurate/sharp pictures. There are so many functions and and adjustments it makes you feel like its a DSLR. Well it basically is a Mini-DSLR without the lens. Love the fact it uses raw and video quality is good, not great. The LCD is fantastic that I can say. Video play back and picture review look amazing. Macro and super macro mode is also great. I would definitely recommend for the casual picture taker who wants to step it up from a normal P&S.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Camerea has electronical problems

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 18, 2011
from NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, major electronical glitch
I am so disappointed with samsung ,,, this is my second camera of this model type and it broke down after a month of little usage. And it is exactly the same glitch as with the first one I had . Somewhere in during normal operation it just "froze" and you couldn`t do anything . It just gets stuck in the menu. You would think that taking out the battery would restart it , but it just went dead. I really thought this camera with all those fancy features and killing zoom would be a hit ,,, but unfortunately it isn`t as good as it look like . And I`m stuck with it , I can`t return a replacement ....oh
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Camera that comes up a little short!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2010
from Cheyenne, WY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no panoramic feature
Really good camera that has lots of features but comes up short. If it has the ability to stitch together pictures in a panoramic feature it would be a great camera! You can do this on the Olympus SP800UZ! It's a feature you won't use very often but is a great option. It's better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Flimsy feeling

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 10, 2010
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, well laid out
Cons: too noisy to use audio in video recording
While I think the photos are nice and the basic design of the camera is convenient and smartly laid out, there are certain aspects of this camera that are off-putting.
Video shot with this camera has a noisy clickity-clickity sound which, I think, is the auto focus constantly adjusting during shooting. It makes any audio recording on videos annoying and hard to listen to without frustration. The camera is also a bit sluggish to respond with auto focus making it less-than-desirable for anything but landscapes, still-lifes and people sitting still.
Also, the lens has "loose" feeling - if I zoom out and move the camera up and down I can hear the lens components rattling against each other.
One last thing: i experience broad purple color bars in my video if there's a bright light or highlight (see attached screen cap of a video).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor picture quality

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 24, 2010
from Jacksonville, Illinois
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Most photos are overexposed, out of focus, and grainy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Samsung HZ50W is not ready for the market yet

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onOctober 10, 2010
from Bellevue, WA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I am a hiker and want to carry a light high-end digital camera. I used to use Olympus cameras since zoom range was wide. I gave up buying the latest Olympus camera, SP-800UZ, since they removed all the external control buttons. Initially, I liked HZ50W since it is light and have all the external control buttons. However, I noticed that green was yellowish. I adjusted the white balance and everything I could but it was still yellowish. When I took pictures of a full moon with maximum zoom I also noticed that craters were blur as you can see in the pic I uploaded. They were clear when I took a full moon with Olympus SP-590UZ. I am not sure if it is because HZ50W has poor JPEG compression or other problems. I did not try to take the moon in raw image. The major flaw of the camera was not the quality. HZ50W locks up occasionally. When it did, I could not change any settings nor turn off the camera. I had to remove the battery and then insert it back to start again. In three months of use, I had to remove the battery about 9 times to reset the camera. I was happy with all the Samsung products I bought so far except HZ50W. It is not ready for the market yet.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Camera Ever! Frustrating

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 12, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, won't focus!!, start up slow due to scene selection, takes too long to process photos, self-timer not reliable, slow shutter speed
I've had several digital cameras now. Bought this because it was on sale and because of the long zoom. This was inspite of mixed reviews but I assume that was responsible for the price being so low. This camera frustrates me every time I use it. More important, I can't trust it to get a shot. Mostly it fails to focus correctly. I had the perfect Xmas card shot the other night of a house with lights in foreground and the moonlight mirrored in the water behind it. Bet I took more than 20 photos and not a single one was in focus. This is common with this camera. The self timer only works part of the time. The camera is light but that is because it is shoddy. The lens almost seems to wobble. Basically, there is nothing I really like about it except the long lens. I am selling it and will get a Canon or Nikon with a long lens.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
21 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
4.3 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 14 Megapixel 26x Zoom Digital Camera
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I should have been told that this camera would not work on a 64-bit Vista computer!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 11, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations, does not work on 64-bit vista computer!ot
I should have been told that this camera would not work on a 64-bit Vista computer!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.