Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Wi-Fi
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)

Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Review 1 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent camera, so-so support

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 26, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, optical zoom
Cons: minor update issues
The camera is awesome! Excellent picture quality and great features. Updating the firmware doesn't work the way Samsung says it should however. They say unplug from the PC and push the shutter (OK) button. This camera has 1 of each and pushing either one does nothing. Then the camera is suppoosed to turn itself off. Mine stayed on till the battery ran down. However, when I attached the power cable and turned it on, it updated.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1 MONTH, THUMBS UP !!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 28, 2012
from Sacramento, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: features vs. price its hard to beat!
Cons: none i am still trying to find one.
I was upgrading my camera I bought 3 years ago. With the cameras out there today, I believe the WB850 met my needs; what seem like unlimted features, WiFi, use as a remote, speed, geo tag (GPS), small enough to fit in a shirt pocket. YET, it is very powerful to cover all indoor and outdoor scenes. With the 23mm Schnelder/Kreuznach lens and a 21X optical, the features it has, makes it a good value.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just purchased

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 12, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I just picked this up from the store last night and have not had a chance to spend much time but so far I love all the features, especially the smart capabilities. The pop-up flash may be hard to remember to use, but aside from that so far so good.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great camera

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 20, 2012
from North Redington Beach, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, loaded with extra features
Cons: so so battery life
This is a really great camera. It is a perfect size, not so small that it is lost in your hand when you shoot a photo but small enough to fit in a jacket pocket. One star off for the battery life. The new firmware update is a must. Still plan on keeping a second battery close by as you snap photos and try all of the other options this camera is possible of. The best in its class highly recommend.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT FEATURES

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Awsome ca\mera that takes great pictures. The features are crazy. Love it....
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 18, 2012
from anaheim CA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
you can take great pictures with this camera and sharing is very easy you can see your pictures in your tv or send them to your phone without a computer
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
UN55ES8000G
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent camera..

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 25, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
An excellent camera that's compact to carry, takes great pictures.. after this I hardly see the need to use DSLR..
Only con I can say is the placement of Flash.. but thats not that big a deal.. when it comes it portability with my samsung wifi tv and S2.. this camera is out of this world...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great pictures

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 23, 2012
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Realistic color
I take great pictures with this camera I'm happy with my buy
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Long Zoom camera

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 14, 2012
from San Francisco
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, great optic range 23mm to x21 zoom
Here a short review of my latest gadget the Samsung WB850f Long zoom Camera:
Purchased at my local Fry's store on sale, I decided to test this camera out.
Looking at the competitors in the Long Zoom cameras, I thought that the Samsung definitely had lots of great features to add to the plate.
Such features as, better GPS (including key landmarks- works great by the way, finding its position within 30 seconds or so in directly view to the sky), great Wifi possibilities (now with synch to skydrive mode fixed, thanks for the regular updates Samsung!).
Not to mention that the quality of pics both outside and inside are just great!
Did I forget to also mention that the camera also has the best focal magnitude in its class , going from 23mm up to a zoom of 21x ! all optical - I usually never use any of the digital zoom as I can do better on any digital imaging program)
If you are looking for a megazoom compact camera and are able to get a price like I did, DO NOT HESITATE Grab one !
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WB850F - A Great Camera!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 23, 2012
from United States
Pros: Bright display, Durable
What's to like about this camera? EVERYTHING!
1. 21x Zoom
2. Built-In Wi-Fi
3. A gorgeous OLED screen
4. 1080i HD video
5. 16.2 mega pixel camera
Just a few days ago i went down to Malibu to take some shots with the camera. The results were fantastic.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good camera

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 17, 2013
from Phoenix,AZ
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: software issues
The Camera is a great camera. But they lacked in a few features. Like, making it work with 64 bit OS and there is an issue with connecting to the galaxy S3 with remote viewfinder, which they should have caught before releasing the camera.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Everything wanted in a camera

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 8, 2013
from Jersey City,J
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
This camera has excellent features. The performance is amazing. The only disappointment is that AllShare Play does not seem to be fully implemented - a partial implementation allows connection with compatible TVs. However I am hoping that firmware updates will remedy this situation.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Product but very weak battery

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 30, 2012
from chicago, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, amazing features, tons of apps, manual controls
Cons: battery life
I love all the features in this camera the only problem would be the battery is not enough to support all the functionality of the phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

small product and light weight

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 13, 2012
from Chester, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Nothing at this time.
Shipping was very fast. I got it the next day after I order it in the Internet.
Thanks..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect size,great zoom and features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2012
from Victoria, B.C., Canada
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight, wifi gps
This camera is just the perfect size for a 16 megapixel and 21X optical zoom unit. The pictures are sharp and colorful using the programmed mode alone. Once I become familiar with the aperture, shutter and manual features, the potential for truly spectacular pictures is unlimited. The WIFI feature is great, and I believe the GPS feature will be awesome once I learn how to uste it. I highly recommend this camera for all it's great features and compct size.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice camera

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 17, 2012
from Orangevale, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
This camera is great. I got an awesome price. The only thing I would like to see it is a quick burst mode where it would shoot a bunch of pix rapidly. Also the hand placement points could be better, its a little awkward.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good hardware but poor firmware

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 29, 2012
from Israel, Midrakh Oz
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: gps wi fi
I purchased a camera before a long trip. I took nearly 1000 photos. Very good photo quality (for such camera), good photography capabilities, but the all features of WI FI or GPS, or not enough good or in some cases not work at all. Start time of GPS from 10 minutes to "not working". Incorrect locations. WI FI can not work with a big images. In my opinion, a company must change (ajust) Firmware and urgent, or anyone who needs GPS features need keep away from this camera.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great camera

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 12, 2012
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I just received this camera and I think its great. The features are amazing. The picture quality is great outdoors but indoors sometimes I got a blurry pic. Although could be user error as I am still playing around with all the features. I would definitely recommend this camera to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung Only Remote Viewfinder

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 3, 2012
from Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Interesting combination of features. At last check Remote Viewfinder DOES NOT work with "any Droid" as advertised. Forced to buy a Samsung tablet to get Remote Viewfinder functionality needed for a project. Having trouble getting GPS Direction information from camera even though it seems to be in the camera.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of Features, Some are interesting

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2012
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Pros: Lightweight
Good camera, wifi is limited and GPS is wonkey. The remote viewfinder for smartphones is intriguing; have set the camera on my birdfeeder and taken closeups of birds using my Samsung Galaxy smartphone as a remote viewfinder and shutter release.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Shutter doesn't close.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 18, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, battery life, shutter doesn't close
Received this camera for Christmas as a replacement for another Samsung camera. Have had a problem getting the battery to hold a charge. Now the shutter doesn't close completely when the camera is turned off.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for WB850F 16.2MP SMART Camera Wi-Fi (Black)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

truly disappointed!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 25, 2012
from Laguna Beach, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: no mac os support
why just 1 star? The wonderful features, the beautiful photos, the ease of use and the sturdy construction makes this camera a dream! BUT here we are in the 21st century and Samsung decided not to support Mac OS for it's maps (necessary for GPS to function). the individual who made that decision should be fired at the demand of the stock holders like myself. I have reluctantly returned the camera to my retailer. I must say that tech support went out of their way to find solutions to the gaps left by my using Mac, so Kudos to them!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
4of 12voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.