Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Chargers
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger

Keep your Vibrant close at hand while charging with SAMSUNG's Galaxy S Desktop Dock. Your phone remains fully functional and you can download the Desk Home application from the Android Market to enhance the docking experience. Watch movies, listen to music, or enjoy a slide show that you created. Careful, you may never want to leave the office.
Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 11(55%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Review 1 for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byctb9641
onNovember 2, 2011
I have a Vibrant and a Galaxy S 4G through T-Mobile and I will tell you that this dock is amazing, it fits both phones and the dock has an aux port!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It works! it's just very tricky to setup...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFanDeLaU
onApril 1, 2011
from Pasadena, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: nice design
Cons: still asks you to unplug when charged
It works! However, I never would have done it without the Samsung technician. Here are the steps:
1. Uninstall the Desk Home app. Download the Desk Home For Samsung Vibrant 2 (or whatever your Galaxy flavor is). Make sure that in the description it says something along the lines of "this version was upgraded to work with Froyo 2.2"
2. Set the USB to either "Mass Storage" or "Media Player" (Settings / Applications / USB Settings / Mass Storage or Media Player), it works either way. I personally left it in "Mass Storage".
3. Plug the phone to the dock, and the Desk Home app comes up. You'll see the Samsung default Music Player icon in the screen. THIS IS KEY!!! Before you click the Music Player icon, in the screen you'll see an icon that resembles a speaker with waves coming from both sides. Thats the toggle between the phone's speaker and the line out, so make sure IT IS CROSSED OUT! Click on the Music Player, and play some music.
4. Enjoy!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

steves7

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySteves7
onOctober 1, 2010
from Virginia Beach, Va.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display
Very handy device. Works great with the DeskHome app.
Only problem is with the "Battery Fully Charged" pop up that blocks out the screen when the phone reaches full charged.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent handy charging & media station

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByGizmoZar
onSeptember 16, 2010
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, elegant
Solid and sturdy design makes this stand a breeze to use and keeps my thirsty Vibrant battery charged. One issue, until Froyo update, the TouchWiz/Eclair interface does not flip horizontal when docked in this base. However, most open apps do flip horizontal. Another issue is a message saying "battery is fully charged, please remove from charger" appears periodically.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

MUST HAVE WORKS GREAT!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKELLYBOY70
onFebruary 22, 2012
from Atlanta, Georgia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
I WOULD NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO WITHOUT MY DESKTOP DOCK AND WALL CHARGER!!! MAKES LIFE A LITTLE EASIER VERY CONVENIENT TO HAVE AROUND.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Useful but could be much better

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJuly 28, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The concept of this docking station is solid and useful. I like having a place to put my phone and have a spare battery together. And I certainly can see an advantage when traveling with it.
What I do not like about it is that you can't change the apps that load from the phone once it is in the dock. This aspect moved it from a 5 to a 3. I don't need or use voice search, for example, but it takes up valuable real estate. I use internet radio, but I can't use that from the docking station either (just Samsung Music). Similar with Daily Briefing...I don't use it and now that it is forced down my throat, I don't want to. When I bought this I thought I could customize these items.
Otherwise, great idea.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

does the job but could use a lot of improvement

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByGhosstRyda
onMarch 20, 2011
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: looks great
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor function design, software not user friendly, doesn't link to samsung's pc studio
Theres a lot of room for improvement on both the software side and hardware.
1. The Vibrant fits on the cradle just fine. However, it does not secure the phone onto the dock. It feels as if you are going to break the phone from the jack it is attached if you move the phone incorrectly while docked. The phone feels like it's going to fall off the dock if you move the dock without holding onto the phone itself. Samsungs design engineer could have designed this dock to hold the phone securely so its not teetering when you move the dock.
2. There's no way to adjust the volume once the phone is docked! If there is a way, the option isn't easily accessed. You would have to pull the phone off to use the volume controls on the side and then dock it again.
3. The 3.5mm jack is not accessible while docked. Samsung should have left it accessible so that it could be utilized.
4. Once the phone is docked, the home dock software lacks the ability for you to change the options shown. Users are stuck with useless buttons that are there for nothing.
5. The dock does not work with Samsung's PC Studio. If theres a way to do this, Samsung, again, has made it hard to figure out.
I could not find this product at any brick and mortar stores. Not sure if I would have bought this if I would have had a chance to play with it at a store front or had the opportunity to return it. I hope that Samsung can make some major improvements to this product and correct the shortcomings. Its a great idea which was executed poorly ending up with a barely mediocre product.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByStaySTAINED
onJanuary 19, 2011
from MN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
I knew that it won't work for pc connection but it is great for charging the phone and I like that the clock pops up just like a regular alarm clock
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

charging dock

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByCruzinSD
onOctober 8, 2010
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, doesn't fit with phone cover, phone rests on volume button
Okay when I saw this dock at the store I was very excited about it. When I took it to work with me and set it up I was disappointed as when I connected my phone the volume button is down on the dock. So when my phone is plugged in, the phone is laying on the volume button, so the volume is turned down. Can't listen to music when it is docked if the volume is down. Also the phone doesn't fit into dock with cover on it, so that has to be removed. I am bummed, because I really liked the idea of the dock to charge my phone. Oh, well.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

They should have called it a Charging Dock

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByJefferyS
onOctober 1, 2010
from Tomball Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: it does what the description says it does
Cons: Did not meet expectations, cannot connect to computer, can't use external cover on phone won't fit dock
I unfortunately bought this thinking that it would connect to my computer, Should have read the description more carefully. If you want a charging dock with a head phone out jack you will probably like it. A bit expensive though for a charging dock.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy S t959 Desktop Dock & Wall Carger
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Sleek look

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByTBird
onSeptember 21, 2010
from Huntington Beach, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations, speaker out does not work, cost vs non functional features
I bought this under the assumption that the speaker out jack
would work. but apparently that is not the case. Also this can not be used to sync to the PC via USB.
Other than that it's pretty nice.
Would I buy it again? No.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.