Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Chargers
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger

Keep your Epic close at hand while charging with SAMSUNG's Galaxy S Desktop Dock. Your phone remains fully functional and you can download the Desk Home application from the Android Market to enhance the docking experience. Watch movies, listen to music, or enjoy a slide show that you created. Careful, you may never want to leave the office.
Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
6
1 out of 10(10%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Review 1 for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

charger

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2012
from New York, NY
holds the phone sideways while it charges so you can watch movies
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my dock!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 12, 2012
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
For how I use my Epic, this is the best device ever made! I have two. One at work and one at home. I never have to pick up my phone. It sits at the perfect angle to text, talk and charge all at the same time. I couldn't live without mine! No downside that I have noticed. Had them for over a year. HIGHLY recommend!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good Idea - Poor Execution

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2010
from Dallas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
You all know about the volume issue. I can deal with that, however, I cant deal with how slooooowww it charges. This was a good concecpt, but poorly executed on Samsung's part.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Was not thought all the way through

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 16, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, can't use it if you have a case on your phone
Negative:
1. If your Epic is in a case, you CAN NOT use this product. You must remove case.
2. The volume options have a mind of their own when you plug it.
Positive:
3. It is simple, if you don't have a case and only want to doc it... this is a great product.
4. It charges the phone.
5. It gives to the option to connect it to speakers.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Dock charger

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 7, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Works well as a dock charger. Using with Epic 4g phone, familiar with many of it's features and settings after owning phone for 6 weeks. Using Desktop Dock for 1 day. When inserting the phone in dock, the volume rocker rest on the inside frame support turning volume level off and/or down. Using phone with dock and recommended applications Desktop Home Samsung and Car Home Samsung, unfortunately, it was a disappointment. Home Screens will NOT landscape after installing Samsung recommended apps to use with dock. Only the Samsung Dock Screens will landscape and are not customizable, no menu options, and unable add or remove preferred icons. It does switch to Samsung Desktop/Car home screen (as specified) when placed in dock at first. If you create a "dock home screen" of your own after installing and/or uninstalling Car Home/Desktop Home Samsung apps, still unable to landscape home screens with phone via handheld or dock. Unfortunately, investment in dock has made phone inconvenient to use in dock without landscape functionality available with other home screens. Phone will no longer landscape any home screens in hand with keyboard in closed position. Only fix I've discovered (after adjusting alternate display and keyboard settings) is to open slider when in dock to obtain landscape, works well on the desk but not in car. Operating Software guide states 3.5mm audio output jack will work with release of Android 2.2 on Galaxy S. It does take up less space on a desk using Desktop Dock and primarily for desktop use (not optimal for car dock). For now, I would suggest not using recommended apps with this dock and customizing your own home screen (1 out of the 7 home screens available on Galaxy S Epic 4g) to maintain landscape feature on home screens.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Nifty Display Case... that's it.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 23, 2011
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, unusable features
Ditto to all the other reviewers. I've had an Epic for 8 months and read these reviews and decided not to get the dock. Love the phone so I bought one for my wife; but she didn't research this dock and bought two, so I decided to give it a try. I echo every issue stated by other reviewers: a) volume control b) audio out does not work c) you must remove your case to use it. Lame. It makes a nice overly priced display case if you only intend to use it as a stand. Functionally... it's lame. Great phone, lame accessory.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

It would be great, if it worked.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 16, 2011
from Texas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, does not function as advertised
I loved the concept of the device and had planned on using it as a bedside music player/clock. However it is completely useless for anything except a slow charge.
1. You have to remove any case on the phone before you can place it in the dock.
2. It has a very slow charge time taking several hours to charge from dead to full.
3. If the phone is completely dead, you have to wait for it to charge up approximately 15-20 minutes before it has enough juice to turn back on ..... even if its plugged in.
4. The Volume randomly turns off when plugging in or adjusting the phone in the cradle. At first I thought it was the volume rocker being touchy but several times now the volume has turned off without any physical between the rocker and the cradle.
They added touchscreen volume controls to the player app with the 2.2 Froyo update, however, when the connection decides to turn down the volume, its constantly trying to do so undoing any volume adjustments you make onscreen.
5. The audio jack which was supposed to be activated with the long delayed 2.2 Froyo update still does not appear to work. I am using a standard 2.1 pc speaker system on the 3.5mm jack. I have tested the speaker system on multiple devices include the actual 3.5mm jack on the epic itself. Works fine everywhere except with the dock.
6. So when you have managed to get it into the dock and charged, displays this huge message covering about a 3rd of the screen that doesn't go away telling you to unplug the charger. It interrupts any music you have playing and of course for obvious reasons, removing the phone from the dock and replacing it does not solve the problem and likely has you fussing with the volume controls all over again. (Oh and since the phone is nearly fully charged, after a few minutes the unplug message returns.)
Admittedly that particular issue is with the phone itself spamming the message, but I would have hoped that this could have been disabled or at least controlled to some degree by the app.
I have ended up using the default supplied charger with the phone and have plugged the speakers directly into the phone jack itself. The home desk app works perfectly fine like this putting all of the issues I have experienced onto the cradle itself.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Overpriced plastic

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 14, 2011
from Cheyenne, WY
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: none
Cons: expensive, os upgrade dependent
Lets see nothing good to say. Covers volume button, audio not available until, yup you guessed it, Android 2.2. Should have just developed a hard case with a lil flip stand.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can't use as a bedside clock

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 3, 2011
from San Antonio, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
In addition to the already mentioned volume rocker problem, the LED charging light is too bright to allow it to be used as a nighttime bedside clock. I had to tape a piece of cardboard over it in order to sleep. That works for awhile -- until the battery is fully charged and the room is bathed in light from the "battery fully charged" notice, which stays until you get up and dismiss it. So much for charging overnight and starting the day with a fully charged battery.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Screen Burn In

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 22, 2010
from Minneapolis
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor design, too expensive, caused damage to phone
In addition to the problems already mentioned by the other reviewers, I'm now seeing screen burn in from the clock and buttons on the desktop home screen. I'm hoping Sprint will repair/replace my phone.
Anyway, I did find a work-around to the volume rocker issue - a little rubber or felt pad between the charger & the phone will prevent the volume rocker from getting pressed.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy S d700 Desktop Dock & Wall Charger
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wait to purchase D700 Desktop Dock

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 7, 2010
from Ft Knox, KY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: interferes with phone volume, no hdmi interphase, 3.5mm speaker jack not working yet, won't accomidate phone hard case
This pertains to the Epic 4g phone & D700 Desktop Dock.
1. The Docking should have a separate volume control. Problem is with the volume control on the bottom of the phone itself, you will have to undock every time you desire to control the volume of what you’re watching or listening to.
2. If you play with the phone while in dock and your listening to something, the volume controls on the phone, located on the bottom, will rub against the dock and turn your volume down, if not off. So you may have to be gentle with how you handle your apps.
3. I would have been nice if the power connector was adjustable to accommodate phones with a hard but sleek case. At least be able to move forward/backwards to position it correctly/ If you have any case on the phone, it must come off the bottom half in order to dock. If not the power connector will not line up
4. We pay more for this model phone then the EVO. The EVO had HDMI connections. This dock could have accommodated at least 1 HDMI connection if the phone can’t have one.
5. As they noted the 3.5 mm Port (will be active after Froyo phone software update). Until then, this dock is a propped up phone charger only. Hopefully when it does work, the volume isn’t controlled separately from the phone volume.
6. Pricey for a stand up charger.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+26points
27of 28voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.