Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Keyboards
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)

This comfortable, soft touch keyboard makes maximizing the features of the Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 a breeze. Increase productivity, communicate faster and more conveniently, all while your Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 is securely stationed in the weighted, integrated charging and media dock. The Android hot keys give you one touch access to key features like internet, e-mail, music and video controls.
Rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Review 1 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SAMSUNG 4eVeR!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 27, 2012
from Cleveland, Ohio
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
I, I mean, we (my hubby and me) love this product so much. It is absolutely beautiful!
Here's a word of advice for couples: Be SMART don't buy just one! I bought two and I am so glad I did. I take this everywhere with me, as it is small enough to fit in Hobo bag or purse.
Pages load quickly, graphics are stunning, the apps are delish! All I have to say is, "I Pad...who?!"
Faithful Samsunger!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
25of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Keyboard for Galaxy Tab

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 9, 2012
from Caldwell Id
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I got this to go with my Galaxy tab and I just love it. It makes it so much easier to navigate. It has great short cut keys to make it easy to get where you want.
I only wish it would charge the Galaxy Tax, but I still enjoy using this item. I would recommend it to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
19of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 3, 2012
from anywhere usa
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I use this keyboard daily, it is easy and functional, it has all the necessary keying functions you would use on the tablet, without having to fight with a stylus or finger and hit the wrong option. Very helpful when the field you want to command is tiny!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Addition to the Tab 10.1 if you type a lot.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 9, 2011
Pros: android quick keys, good build quility
Have been using this now for a few weeks. Was a life saver when traveling - email and web so much easier to navigate and use with the traditional keyboard.
Also the keyboard has several native Android/Tab functions built into it - quick keys, etc.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
29of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2011
the only thing that would make this keyboard worth it is if it had usb and it added battery life to your tablet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent device

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 2, 2011
from Apex, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, functional
I bought this keyboard dock when I got my Galaxy Tab 10.1. It works great, has a fantastic touch and has a great set of function keys that make working with the Tab very easy
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can't believe it doesn't come with a USB port

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 21, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
For the money you'd think it would have a USB port. Just one would have been nice. Other then that highly recommended.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great keyboard for Tab, still buggy integration issues with Android soft KBs

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 28, 2011
from Arlington, VA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
The integration with the Galaxy Tab itself is excellent. It has all of the features to fully utilize the tablet capabilities, holds the device at the right angle, and has Android smart keys built in. I am very impressed with it in general.
However, part of the reason I am on this site tonight was to get troubleshooting support on the challenges I am having with the default Android browser and apps and the soft KBs built into the Android OS and Galaxy Tab. When the Galaxy Tab is inserted into the hard KB platform, the soft KBs should be turned off, and I should never see them. Howver, I continue to get sporadic presentation of the soft KBs when I click on a blank in a form or a web page.
Also web page navigation could be made smoother. The Tab, Return, and arrow keys, while convenient do not allow a keyboard based flow through a web form. So the user had to touch the screen, then go back to the keyboard.
All in all...I love it for writing longer comments...blog entries, emails, documents, etc...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice, but missing a few things.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 22, 2011
from Oklahoma City, OK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight, extra shortcut keys, great feel, lots of feature buttons
Cons: on screen keyboard pop-up, lack of sd card slot, no hdmi port, typing lag, missed and stuck key presses
Overall this keyboard gives the Galaxy Tab 10.1 a huge upgrade - making it feel more powerful like a netbook or small laptop - yet still having the portability and flexibility of a tablet.
It has many quick access feature keys like brightness, volume control, and music controls to name a few. It definately makes using a tablet worthwhile.
One of the largest annoyances, however, is that any time a text field is selected onscreen with the tablet docked, the onscreen keyboard still pops up taking half the screen. Fortunately there is a keyboard show/hide button, but this is still highly annoying and will hopefully be resolved with a software update. The other issue here is that it requires that you have the Samsung onscreen keyboard enabled in order to use the keyboard. I find this unacceptable as I prefer to use "thumb keyboard" when I am not docked and do not want to have to change keyboards every time I dock the tablet.
I will also tell you that I see a small bit of lag as well as a missed key press while typing. The latter issue is less frequent, but is there none-the-less. I also occasionaly havvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee an issue where a key "sticks" even though it is noooooooooooooooot being pressed. (I did not correct this sentence so that you could actually see a demonstration of what I am talking about. This is a legitimate error above, I did not do that myself.) It may be that I have a defective keyboard, but I am just reporting *my* experience with this unit - so please take it with a grain of salt as it may not be the case with all units. I will be exchanging this one to be sure.
Now if it were a perfect world, I would like to have seen an HDMI port and a micro SD card slot built in to this keyboard - especially since the tablet has neither. I know that an adapter will be coming, but how nice would it have been to see perhaps a second version of this keyboard that included these features for a small bit more.
Overall, I would say it is a good purchase, and definately makes the tablet more versatile. I would like to have seen a few additional features and less glitches, but that would be a perfect world.
*It should also be noted that I typed this entire review using the keyboard dock.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

overrated

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 23, 2012
from new york ny
i think this device is overrated the keyboard feature is nice but again any tablet have keyboard capabilities
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

quite useful

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 24, 2011
It is quite useful if you are using tablet for everything.
But so far, I used table for just reading, occasional quick email/web surfing.
But wish price was bit lower.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Fair

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2011
from Minneapolis, MN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
It fits well and probably a good buy as a dock. however, it periodically stops working when being used as a keyboard and that could be frustrating.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor design

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onNovember 20, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Every time i try to use the keyboard i have to force my tablet into the dock, so much so that it feel like im going to break one of the two. If this is not done, The keyboard does not recognize its connected to the tablet.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Causes my tablet to crash

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 26, 2012
from San Francisco
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, causes tablet to crash
The keyboard dock consistently causes my tablet to crash. It appears to crash when they keyboard is plugged in to recharge and the tablet tries to enter sleep mode. I've looked around the web, and it appears to be a common problem with no solutions offered by samsung.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Galaxy Tab™ 10.1 Keyboard Dock (Full-Size)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Doesnt work!!!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 22, 2011
Cons: doesnt work!, wont sync up!
Imagine my surprise when I get it home, dock the 10.1, and find the keyboard to be completely unrecognized, despite the fact that the tablet is up-to-date and running Android 3.1.
According to the instructions:
"To use the keyboard dock, the mobile tablet needs to have the input method set to Samsung keypad. On inserting the mobile tablet, you will be asked to change to Samsung keypad if it's not already set. Press the OK button to accept this change."
The 10.1 was already set to "Samsung Keypad," and none of this happened when I docked the tablet. Instead, it automatically launched the clock that shows up when the device is docked. Pressing the button specifically for hiding/showing the Time/Date and Application indicator did nothing. As a matter of fact, pressing ANY the keys on the keyboard had no effect.
I could still interact with the touchscreen, but the dimmed full-screen clock app never went away, and got in the way of the homescreen.
I removed and reinserted the tablet a dozen times, I rebooted it, I checked all settings and running processes to see what was getting in the way, I tried plugged in versus unplugged. Nothing made it work and I started to think Samsung had launched a terrible product.
This struck me as a magnificent shame because design-wise, the Galaxy Tab 10.1 keyboard dock is exceptional. With comfortably-sized chiclet keys, a dozen Honeycomb-specific navigation keys, and a body that feels sturdy without feeling heavy. Using email or productivity apps like Quickoffice Pro HD (which I have increasingly grown fond of) could really benefit from having a nice quality full-sized keyboard to go along with it.
Then, despite all I had done, it randomly started to work after I had put it aside for a little while, and it hasn't stopped yet. As I had hoped, the full-sized keyboard allows for completely natural, fast text entry, while also taking advantage of Honeycomb's multitasking capabilities. What you're reading right now was written on the Galaxy Tab Keyboard Dock as a testament to its quality.
As always, your mileage may vary.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
8of 21voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.