Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Desktop Docks
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub

Smart Dock Multimedia Hub

Compatibility: Galaxy Note II, Galaxy S4, and Galaxy Mega Your smartphone just got smarter. Introducing the new Samsung Galaxy Note II & Galaxy S4 Smart Dock, the revolutionary new way to convert your mobile phone into a mobile office. Connect an HD monitor via the HDMI port and share a presentation with a client, or just watch a favorite video in your hotel room. Tired of typing on a tiny virtual keyboard? With three built-in USB ports you can connect a full-sized keyboard, USB mouse and an external storage drive – all at the same time – and convert your Galaxy in to a mini desktop computer. You can even connect your Samsung Galaxy Note II & Galaxy S4 to your home theater via the 3.5mm stereo connector for an immersive audio experience.
Rating:
3.737 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
11 out of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Review 1 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Product is extremely useful

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Irving, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, beautifully simple
This product allows you to charge your device while still being able to maintain an elegant productivity.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The perfect companion

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 13, 2014
from Guayama, PR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, exceded expectations
This product does what it says it does , I watch videos in my big hd screen tv , I can listen oudio either with the factory samsung earphones or plug it in to my console and use the sorroud system, I have the Galaxy S III and fits perfectly, the male port swivel and I can insert the phone with the cover and charges quicker than the factory phone charger charger, with the USB ports (3) I can attached to my pc and view files and trasfer videos to the phone , all and more just in the dock... talking about convinience
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All in one

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 12, 2013
from Gaffney, SC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: can't dock with my otterbox cover on.
I love this product. When docked I can use my phone like a projector through my 60 inch LED.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unleashes the power of your smartphone!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2013
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Durable, liberating capabilities
Cons: little expensive, no black or other colors
Yes, this media hub/dock works with the Galaxy S4 inside a slim case. I use the Diztronic matte black flexible TPU case and it fits perfectly with this dock. That is also the case to use with the Qi wireless back plate and Samsung charging pad. At any rate, this media hub/dock basically turns your N-II, N-III, S4 in to a desktop or media center PC! Just remember, NTFS formatted external USB storage drives connected to the Android devices or docks may not be seen without third party enhancements. Generic FAT32 storage is the way to go.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Note 2 Smart Dock works with the Note 3

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2013
from North York, Canada
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Just a quick post to say that this smart dock does exactly what it promises. Great product and it even works with the Note 3 (see details in the youtube link provided).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Video(s)
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect Design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 18, 2013
from Illinois
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I purchased this at the initial purchase of my Note 2 wondering if I would use it to it's potential. I have it hooked up in my bedroom so that I use it for my alarm clock dock, have a long HDMI cable connecting to my TV so that I can watch Google TV/Movie purchases on the big screen and transfer files back through USB. I have had a USB keyboard and mouse hooked to play with initially, but have not attached them since.
The only thing that would make this any better would be USB3 support.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
23of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Galaxy note 2

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 25, 2013
from Pittsburgh
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, over all just a great looking phone., great battery life.
This is by far the best phone I've ever owned.. Just when I think I've found all the features, another one pops up.. I don't see how they could make it any better. I reallty is just simply amazing. I'm sure they could up the ppi and give it stereo speakers, but it is just really a great phone. To own one is to love one..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-22points
12of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I think the pink is pretty glamorous

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2013
from columbia, tn
I love mine, thank you samsung for always providing superior quality
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-29points
8of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Perfect Companion for the Samsung Galaxy Note II

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 19, 2012
from Atlanta, GA.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, hdmi output, 3 usb inputs, 3.5 mm stereo
I bought the Smart Dock to compliment my Potent Samsung Galaxy Note II because of the capability of connecting my (1) Samsung Smart Wireless Keyboard {VGKBD1500} via 1 of 3 Usb inputs (2) Portability and Connectivity to Projectors and non AllShare HDTV’s/ Monitors via HDMI during Presentations (3) Easy connection of the 3.5 Stereo Out mini jack to any Non WiFi or Non AllShare Stereo devices and speakers. I am very Pleased with my purchase of the Smart Dock and especially proud of My Galaxy Note II. I always find myself Bragging and Showing off My Samsung Galaxy Note II and its capabilities and technological innovations.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
Galaxy Note™ II Protective Cover +, WHITE
5 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
Galaxy Note™ II Flip Cover, MARBLE WHITE
4.4 out of 5(8)
 
 
 
 
 
+31points
39of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Product .. but

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 15, 2014
from Virginia, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight, portable, usb ports
Cons: aux port
This is a great dock to quickly charge your phone and the best feature is the additional USB ports and HDMI outout.
Was able to display to Monitor at work to view the WC games. Good performance. Only issue has been with the Aux port to connect external speakers. When you use the dock no sound comes out; however if you connect it directly to the phone it works fine.
Works well with USB keyboard and wireless mouse with adapter.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good first version and with a few improvements will make a great product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 10, 2014
from Austin, TX, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: can't live without it
Cons: first version needs improvement.
Generally performs as advertised. Misses the mark on HDMI support. The HDMI port is video only and you must connect audio separately via headphone jack. Many devices do not recognize audio from other ports when HDMI is connected which leaves you with no audio. Shouldn't be a hard fix to correct this on the next version. Also need to improve throughput. So far I've never connected about 30Hz which causes the video to suffer.
Improvements to make this an "excellent" device and not just a "good" device:
-- Add a multimedia card slot, or at least an multi-size SD slot to make transferring data easier from other devices, extra storage, and to avoid extra cables and adapters when traveling. This is one improvement that would really help move this device from good to excellent.
--Make the USB ports all 3.1.
--Add an Ethernet port. Sometimes (especially while traveling or at a client location) a wired connection is required. A USB to Ethernet cable would substitute but adding the port avoids carrying a specialty cable.
--Add audio to the HDMI port, improve video throughput (currently only 30Hz) and provide an app to adjust resolution and aspect ratio. Usually works great but several times I have been unable to connect to a HD video source or the resolution or aspect ratio was significantly off and I was unable to adjust.
--This makes a good travel device but it is bulky. I would also like the device to be a little more compact (thinner) with a tougher exterior case.
--The device is so light that if you hook up any USB accessories like a keyboard or mouse it gets pulled around or falls over. It sounds counter-intuitive but it would be great if it was just a little heavier (a tougher case might add enough weight) to make it more stable. I don't like moving my small travel keyboard a little and having my phone fall to the hotel room floor. Adding a non-skid or rubber pad to the entire bottom would also help make it more stable.
--Add a black & chrome or black & stainless steel version. To match my black phone, I'm partial to this color scheme, and I think it looks more professional at client sites when doing presentations.
Once someone uses this device it would make it hard for many to ever upgrade to a phone that did not have a similar accessory. If Samsung would add just a little more of their design magic to this device and improve the overall quality once the word gets out many business users, road warriors, teenagers (all three of mine are hooked), video users, won't buy a phone that is not compatible with it. It will be a phone purchase choice deciding factor for many. It is that useful.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

this little box is awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 14, 2013
from Hillsdale, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, makes phone so much more useful
Cons: only comes in white?, not able to use landscape mode
my first thought of this little box of awesome is, "this is going to make my phone a bit more useful" but in reality this thing is almost a must have ( i was using it on an galaxy s 3, i'm guessing it would be more suited for the note, due to the bigger screen).
Home Theater:
this thing is pretty sweet, you can hook it up to your home theater (if it has an hdmi input, if not you can get a 3.5mm to rca cord and use headphone jack to back of home theater) and use it for sound, OR you can hook it up to your tv (if you have an open hdmi port and a hdmi cord at home) and watch all your movies from your phone to tv.. or anything else you're doing on your phone, it puts whatever's on your phone onto your tv.. it's pretty cool.
Computer:
this is where i thought it really shines, you can hook up a wireless mouse and keyboard, run an hdmi to your tv or any monitor with an hdmi input and BAM now you have a desktop computer (almost). you can edit documents you have saved on your phone or your samsung account (your free 2gb of storage they give you) from your phone with ease using the mouse and keyboard.. it's pretty cool.
the only way this product could be any better is if there was a way to have this hold your phone up in landscape mode. it's build to hold your phone upright, if they could have put something on it like a pull out kickstand so if you wanted landscape mode (like if you don't have a screen to hook up to but wanted to use mouse and keyboard) then i'd give it 5 stars.. but in my book this was well worth the money, why such an awesome phone like the s3 (or the note2) and not use it to it's full awesomeness?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+33points
38of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Only two things missing

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 3, 2012
from Anchorage, Alaska
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: wonderful way to turn a phone into a desktop
Cons: no physical ethernet ports, no antenna port
This is a wonderful companion to my Note II, which is a fantastic product. The only things missing on this docking station are an antenna port and two actual Ethernet ports. Yes, the phone can HotSpot, and it can Tether via wireless... but there are locations were it is essential to get an actual cabled Ethernet in to tether from, and another to include a wired device in the hotspot collection. It would also be nice if it had an external antenna connector on the base so that I can put an antenna on my roof in a weak signal area.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-16points
13of 42voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 19, 2014
Device works fine, bring us a lot of features to big screen with my n7100 but unfortunetly it brings only 30hz on the video output so you can forget about playing games smothly or waching a movie, it's laggy as ..... Thats the main reason I would not recommend it
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

where can i change screen resolution

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 2, 2013
from Ljubljana, Slovenia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, screen resolution can not be changed
I am missing settings for screen resolution... Otherwise it's ok... not perfect because i can not use as i thought i would... still need a PC :(
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-28points
3of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Current software / hardware doesn't appear to work on any of my displays.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 19, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, clearly note display requirements please!, support 720p and 1080i monitors please!
Tried this dock with my Verizon Galaxy Note II, none of the displays I use around my home work with it. I have a 2011 1080P Panasonic HDTV, "no signal detected". Using known good cables and TV inputs. I have 2 monitors that support DVI connections and I used a known good HDMI -> DVI cable, "no signal detected". Also tried an older projector with a DVI connection, also received no signal . There may be displays that work with this dock, but I don't have any currently. This was one of the big features of the dock, and avoided me buying a MHL cable to get HDMI output. The dock is detected and the USB ports work, but for some reason the HDMI out is not working for me.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-24points
7of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

HDMI is video only - no audio

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 23, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Beware, the HDMI cable feeds only video. So in order to watch a movie on the hotel TV (as described in product overview) both an HDMI and an audio cord must be attached. This doesn't work with most devices, including my home theater (also as described in product overview). Most devices expect video & audio on the HDMI port when connected and disable other audio ports. Overall I'm very disappointed. If all you need is to attach a big screen OR audio then it works great yet is overpriced for 1/2 the equation.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

2nd dock and it does not work either

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 15, 2013
from wisconsin
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, does not stand up to use, warranty replacement no good either
I just recieved a replacement dock from Samsung. The first dock failed after about 3 weeks. All 3 USB ports stopped working on the first dock. Sent back under warranty and Samsung replaced with different dock. The replacement dock lasted only 6 days then the USB ports stopped working as well. Would I buy another Samsung accessory, NO. I have a large amount of Samsung equiptment ( phones, tablets, accessories, appliances, electronics, exc) I always recommend Samsung to others I can't no more.
Would I buy this dock again, NO.
Can I recommend it to any one, No.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Smart Dock Multimedia Hub
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

no apps to help with screen

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 26, 2013
from NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
no apps to help fit mirror image on tv. Doesn't automatically fit the image on the TV
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-18points
10of 38voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.