Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Covers & Bands
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black

Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black

Rating:
3.458 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
3
13 out of 23(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Review 1 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 28, 2014
from georgia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This product is great for me. I love that it closes and u still see information from the phone. Also you can access certain apps from the phone cover.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect for the S5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 25, 2014
from Cleveland, OH, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I got one of these and it fits better than a gel or sturdy case.
It does not thicken you phone,it is still waterproof and protects your screen.
Simply perfect for my needs!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great accessory for the S5.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 15, 2014
from Cambridge, MA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This cover protects the screen from getting cracked *when* you drop it. The cover has put an end to pocket dialing incidents! The inductive charging goes with the water-proof device because it eliminates the daily wear-and-tear on the charging port seal.
When I ordered it I thought the "window" would just be a hole, but it's clear plastic I can touch the screen through. Very nice.
At first the cover was stiff and didn't stay closed, but now that it's worn-in that issue has gone away.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Elegance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 18, 2014
from Bloomington, IN, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This cover takes the GS5 to the next level with its clean profile and elegant look. The S-Screen that built in makes your phone readily accessible without having to fumble with any bulky devices. Another awesome Samsung product, good job folks!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

adding keyboard on flip case

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 24, 2014
from NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Lightweight
i just want to give an opinion about s-view flip case, why don't you build a keyboard on flip case directly so we can easily make phone call or reply text message without flipping the phone. my suggestion is to create a keyboard ( not qwerty) bellow the flip case screen so its identical like old phone. so i can easily reply my chat or make phone call easily without flipping the case like the old phone did. i think it's more interesting to create something like this. thank you very much for your attention and consideration.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
12of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love the sleek look of my Galaxy S 5 S-View Flip Cover

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 28, 2014
from Little Rock, AR
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am able to view who's calling me without ever opening the cover! I can either answer or decline the call if I so choose. It's totally awesome!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very comfortable and convenient

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 17, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Couldn't resist to try it out. Really like this one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

it's durable and stielish

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 2, 2014
from Chicago
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I've had it for a fue days now and I get complements on how good it look and. It lether wich make it much better.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice case

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 6, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: volume adjustment
Only downfall so far is you can not adjust volume with case closed even though the plus and minus signs are there. Love the feel, slim, not bulky and lightweight.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So worth it

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 9, 2014
from Alabama
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, practical
I have had many cases and love this one the most. Just the front open window alone makes it great. I love how u can customize your screen to make it have what u need personally. Only wish I would have seen the one that also has the pocket other than that I would recommend it to anyone.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

useful

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 5, 2014
from Oregon
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
For the most part, it's a great cover, but it doesn't stay closed, and I wish I could access more of the phone without opening the cover,, but other than that it's great
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

doesn't stay closed

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 24, 2014
from NC - FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: stays open
Maybe it will take some time to stay closed when flat. Still brand new it flips open when laying flat. Does the job though.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Flip Cover Needs Improvement

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2014
from SD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, doesn't remain closed, muffle speakers, can't remove camera from view window, limited wallpaper views, limited items viewed through view window
The flip cover remains open. Must place face down to keep it closed. When phone falls the flip cover falls off and the phone battery falls off.
When you carry or hold the phone the camera is activated when thumb touches the camera icon through the view window.
When you use apps with sound on phone with flip cover open the speakers are muffled.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice Try But Has Problems

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onAugust 29, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I love the case for it's sleek, professional look and the window that allows you to see a few key items. However, I note many of the same problems that others have mentioned.
1. People have commented that the front cover doesn't stay closed. I've found that when it's new, that is the case, but once it has been worn in a bit, the cover will stay closed.
2. When the cover is folded back for use, it blocks the speaker and you get very little sound.
3. The squared off design doesn't allow the phone to work with any of the docking stations that are available.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

cute but offers poor screen protection

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 15, 2014
from Myrtle Beach, SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, design - doesn't stay closed
This would be a perfect case if it didn't flip open if you accidentally drop phone. Ended up having to do an insurance replacement the first week I had my phone. This case needs a magnetic strap closure or something and it would be perfect. S view window is great feature.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great design and protection but not a perfect.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 30, 2014
from NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, great look
Cons: not closed
For the most part, it's a great cover, but it doesn't stay closed, and I wish I could access more of the phone without opening the cover,, but other than that it's great.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not that good but expensive

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMay 8, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations, will not close
Nice add on but the problem is it will not close when laying flat and also if you drop it the first thing that will happen is the cover will fly open and the first thing to brake is the screen
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Flip open and closing failure

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 26, 2014
from An island in the Pacific
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor engineering, expensive
If one opens this cover like a book and folds the front cover anywhere behind the phone, and I mean just bent back a short distance, not level with the phone, when you close it, it will not stay closed!
The phone has to be laid face down to "flatten" the cover closed.
Way to expensive. The phone cannot be started by touching the covers' screen, the cover must be lifted. So much for seeing your weather and pedometer on the fly.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Back comes off easy

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 21, 2014
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, not protective
I got this because of the slim design and nice fake leather feel. First time I dropped the phone, about 3 feet off the ground, it hit the ground and the back popped off, leaving an exposed back of the phone. I will be bringing back today..
I was also not thrilled by the flip cover, especially when taking pictures, had to keep making sure the cover did not get in the way.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Huge disappointment

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 9, 2014
from Virginia, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: can't customize
It is cool that there is some quick view functionality, but it is geared toward one user type and one only. I couldn't care less about having quick access to the music player since I never use it, but would like to check or preview emails. You can't change the quick apps (or whatever they're called) and so far I haven't found a way to disable the music player.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great feature but poor design

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onMay 22, 2014
from Springfield, VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: very handy, protects phone, s-view window
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, poor design, doesn't blend well with the phone, poor surface finish, lack of attention to details
I upgraded my phone from S4 to S5 and so did with the flip cover. I was so happy & impressed with the S4 flip cover that I had no second thoughts to buy S5 case. And it looked great to begin with.
Once I had the flip case, I realized that the design of S5 flip case is pretty bad. Could not believe Samsung even offers such a product. It seriously lacks attention to the details.
The S4 flip case blended so nicely with the phone. And the finish was so great. In fact it well complemented the beauty of the phone.
On the other hand, S5 case does not blend well with the phone. The phone edges are curved while the case is sharp 90 deg cuts. The surface finish of the case looks sub standard. It hides the beauty of the phone instead of enhancing it.
I've stopped using the case. There aren't any other better alternatives either!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Does not protect phone from damage

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2014
from Worcester, MA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: does not protect
This case is expensive and it does not protect your phone. I dropped my phone 3 feet. My screen cracked and no longer works. The purpose of a case is to protect your phone. This product does not protect your phone.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poorly designed

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 7, 2014
from cape cod ma
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The purpose of a case is to protect your phone, so I think this case defeats the purpose since it doesn't stay closed.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Galaxy S® 5 S-View® Flip Cover, Black
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Won't stay closed.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 31, 2014
from Brazil
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
It's great looking and the S View feature is nice. But unfortunately the leather is a little bit too stiff and tight, and the magnets in the cover are too weak too keep it closed.
If it softens up after using it for some more time maybe I will like it more, but until then, it's a somewhat disapointing accessory.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.