Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Covers & Bands
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black

OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black

Rating:
4.579 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 out of 19(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Review 1 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Otterbox

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 21, 2014
from Atlanta, GA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: needs a removable clip like body gloves cases
One improvement needed... is a removable belt clip, not one permanently mounted. Then you change the belt clip to the kickstand. After repeated use, the plastic lock on kickstand will wear out on the permanently mounted belt clip thus rendering the kickstand useless.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid as a rock and will take every knock...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 14, 2014
from US
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Too big
Have had my S5 living in one of these since obtaining it and I couldn't be more stoked with it. It is hard on the outside and soft enough on the inside to insulate the S5 from any impacts. If you're hard on your gear, get one of these for your S5!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Protection

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 8, 2014
from Alpharetta, GA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
I am dropper. Not for medicine, but phones. Has not been long since I purchased my Galaxy5, before I put the Otter to the test. Works great!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Durability

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 28, 2014
from Plattsburgh, NY, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
My otter box defender series works great with my phone. I feel confident in knowing my phone is protected and it looks great. I also like the clip on for my belt. Worthy investment.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great protection

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 26, 2014
from Medford, OR, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, rugged
Love this case. Adds rugged & much improved grip to a very slim & slippery phone! Protection in case of a dropped phone is most important feature, plus added water protection.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great protection

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 21, 2014
from TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, looks great!, everything about is just great
a great case for a super great phone! it'll take an awful lot to beat this one. I've got a whole lot of iPhone people switching now! they will not be sorry. I got the hot pink one
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Protection. Only slightly bulky.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 18, 2014
from Bellevue, NE, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Great protective case. Have the same model on my Galaxy Tablet as well. I generally do not use the top cover when traveling for extra protection, but the phone stays pretty safe with just the lower case. Not as bulky as I expected it would be, only slightly bigger than the phone (which is already BIG). Good protection and easy to grip (naked phone is pretty slick and easy to drop).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent product.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 9, 2014
from NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, full access to controls, not bulky
Very protective case or cover. Not to expensive. Simple and easy to use. Full access to all controls. I was initially worried about this case adding too much bulk to the phone but not to worry because it didn't. It really didn't add much bulk at all, i was impressed at how little it added to the phones size. Plus it comes with a belt clip. I feel much better about my phone being protected now; this is an expensive phone and it is a tuff phone to being with especially now with its water resistance (as was my galaxy s2) but with this cover it is now very robust and I have almost no worries about damage or durability. This case is well worth investing in.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best case for any phone

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 18, 2014
from oregon
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Cons: none
The outer box defender series is the best cover for any phone. Strong and reliable and comfortable in your hand. The rubber sides makes this cover slip resistance and easy to hold on to. When I have to remove the cover for cleaning purposes my phone still looks brand new. If you don't have one... Get one now.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Also comes in silver...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Check your local Sprint stores. Rugged w/great impact absorption.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 18, 2014
from Az
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
Cons: none
I have own this product since feburary and this product is very durable
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Durable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 14, 2014
from Union County, NJ
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Too big
Since I work in construction, this is a great case to have.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Phone COver

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 18, 2014
from St. Paul, MN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This thing looks tough, because it is tough. Otterbox makes great phone cases and this one is no exception. It fits perfectly and it was easy to put on.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great case

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 17, 2014
from Independence Ky
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Great design, love it. All functions of the phone still work.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Buy

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 16, 2014
from Crescent City, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Durable, looks good, strong protection
Cons: need a kickstand, can't be snapped in face up with out forcing it.
I like this Case I Feel Safe with My GS5 in it I Do wish it had a Kickstand I think that would be the icing on the cake also would be nice to snap it in Face up or Down.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Protection for Smart Phone

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 30, 2014
from Mn
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
Cons: Too big
The Otter Box is a great way to protect your valuable smart phone from the everyday not so smart operator (Me) from damaging the phone. It will make the phone last longer.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall Great protector

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 13, 2014
from Arizona
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Cons: Too big
When installed correctly you can tell this thing gets a watertight seal. Along with the thick padding and case I would take this over the "life proof" any day. Not just because of price difference but when comparing the two (a friends has the i phone 5 with it) There really wasnt to big a difference And if your prone to dropping your phone all the time like me then this is a great choice for you. If you buy your phone and defender in store i suggest you pay attention as the rep puts it on as there are some very small tricks to getting it to line up and seal properly. Other than that my biggest complaint is it goes too far forward to protect the screen. Which is a good thing but sometimes the lip around it gets in the way. Also adds quite a bit of bulk but im sure you already knew that. If the same applies to you theres a step down model. Cant remember the name of it but its a decent amount thinner but not too thin. I havent tested the belt clip yet but it does lock the phone in nice and tight. all in all outstanding.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

almost a great product

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 10, 2014
from Memphis
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Realistic color
Cons: car charger will not plug in ...as is..
I like the defender otter box product except for ONE big flaw. On the S5 the otter box will not allow the "car charger" supplied with the s5 to plug in....unless you force it and deform the cutout, it appears to be formed backwards. This product did not have this flaw on the S4....???
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for OtterBox Defender Series Cover for Galaxy S® 5, Black
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Microphone covered

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 5, 2014
from 28117
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I don't know that the microphone is covered, however when I talk to people they say they can't hear me. I took the Defender off the phone and there was no complaints of not being able to hear me. This is the only thing I can say negative about this product.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.