Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Covers & Bands
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black

Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black

Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Review 1 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Case and Charger

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2014
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: none
Bought the charger case and charger pad, love them both. Case fits in my pocket. I like the how they up-dated my phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Case DOES FIT over charging cover!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2014
from Orlando, FL, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, matches stock back cover
Cons: none
I had a charging cover on my S-4 and was disappointed reading the other reviews because I need a protective case over my S-5. I almost didn't by this charging cover because of the negative review comments about it being too thick to utilize protective cases. I took a chance and finally got the cover after twice being postponed by out-of-stock notices.
I am so glad I did. The cover works perfectly with my clear plastic Tech21 protective case (model T21-4008). I am able to use the charging base unit from my S-4 with absolutely no problem charging through the Tech21 protective case. The case has a tight and effective fit to the S-5, and has saved the phone from several impacts.
Don't listen to the nay-sayers. This charging back is a pleasant and convenient addition to an exceptional phone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I was waiting for

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 21, 2014
from Neenah, WI USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
While it does add to the thickness, a bit, I'm not planning on putting it into a case so that is not an issue for me. I do very much like being able to put it down on the charging pad and not having to keep popping out the USB cover. I think that after a while, that would cause water resistant issues. I synch wirelessly, so I am very happy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wireless Charging Battery Cover

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 9, 2014
from Baltimore, MD, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, user friendly, samsung official product, phone look better
Cons: slightly bigger size than the original
Outstanding product, Works fine, – I have used this product about week. I am using with Wireless Charging Pad Mini (EP-PG900IBUSTA). I am rating 4 stars for its Design because I can’t find a fitting case in the market with this Wireless Charging Battery Cover EP-CG900IBUSTA. Otherwise I would rate this product with 5 starts.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 22, 2014
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: no cables/wireless
Cons: Too big, good luck finding a case for it, kind of pricy
Love the fact that I don't have to open the waterproof door to charge my phone anymore. It does beep once with my charger with a pop-up screen but I've not seen it come up multiple times like others have said.
It does charge slower and heats up a bit.
It's a little bit bigger...making it just that much bigger that if you want to put it in a case (outside the flip case offered by Samsung) good luck finding that fits....you tell me I've to find one. But the wireless charging option is better over the option of the case for me.
Pricing is a little over the pricier side....had a gift card at the store for me otherwise I was still the fence to it due the price. Personally I think Samsung should make it standard. At this point the price of the phone is high enough anyway.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Idea, execution falls short...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 4, 2014
from Utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I installed the charging cover on my new s5. The cover works as advertised, other than adding a little bulk to the phone. The problem arises when you place the phone on the charging base, you get a message on the screen stating the phone is connected to a wireless charger - still good. The message disappears, but periodically reappears during the charging process along with an annoying notification beep. The charge is a bit slower than using the supplied USB cable. The convenience is great, the erratic screen notification and annoying beep is NOT worth the extra cost.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Does it's job

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 19, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: larger then stock back.
Only had it a short time and works as designed. Still water resistant and well charges wireless. Heads up on the new back, it is larger then the stock back. I thought I could slid it back in its case... Nope it broke..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Makes Charging Easy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 19, 2014
from Round Rock, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, nice feel, easier charging
Cons: added thickness, not case friendly
The most important factor for me was making charging simpler. Having to pull back the pin cover in order to plug a charger in was a hassle and also prevented me from using it with a dock. While it doesn't solve the dock problem, it does make charging more convenient.
This back cover adds a little more thickness than the versions for the S4 and Note 3. The added thickness will likely cause issues with most cases. I've tested the Otterbox Symmetry and the Samsung Clear Protective Cover and neither will fit over the phone with this charging cover on. Covers might have caused issues with the inductive charging, but not being able to use a case might be a problem for some users. The back is just a little higher than the camera surround with the charging cover on. Instead of the slope up to the camera, there is a very slight downward slope.
The texture of the cover is the same as the original so it feels really nice in your hand. Like those for previous models, there is only the Samsung stamp on the cover. The model stamp is not there.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product is great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 4, 2014
from WISCONSIN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: feels like leathery
Cons: Too big, does not fit with cases.
I recently purchased this product and have been using it for a while and it is great. It is a bit thick and does add a bit of thickness to the phone but it is still light weight.
Only problem that I have with this is because it adds some thickness to the device, it won't fit with any cases.
If one thing disappoints or changes I would like to see is the additional colors like the electric blue.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Works well but why only Black or White?

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 8, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: no color choices
This charging cover works well to charge my phone without having to deal with opening the tiny port to plug it in. It does not make it that much thicker, not enough to bother me.
BUT I bought an Electric Blue Galaxy S5 because I wanted the Blue phone, and these charging backs only come in Black or White, so this leaves me very dissatisfied.
You can purchase the little QI stickers now to make your phone wireless charging, but those then cause you to lose the watertight feature.
If Samsung wants this wireless charging feature to catch on , I think they need to add some more personal choices for people. Not everyone wants a black phone.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good but impossible to find a cover

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 7, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Too big
it works perfectly... It increases the size of the phone drastically. It's size and weight is not a problem but being unable to find a cover to protect the phone drives me crazy
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The extra thickness makes it hard to find a case

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 12, 2014
from Los Angeles, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: it charges
Cons: Too big, Did not meet expectations
The extra thickness makes it hard to find a case. There aren't any cases out there yet that support the extra bulkiness from the wireless back.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

What was Samsung Thinking???

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 18, 2014
from NC
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: interfaces wireless charger with phone
Cons: Did not meet expectations, makes phone too big to fit protective cases
I won't buy this item because according to the reviews herein the charging back is too big to allow the phone to fit into any protective hard case.
I really *love* my Galaxy S-5 - Voice, Screen, Data, Texts, Sensors, Camera, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Apps: All great.
I took care to protect my S-5 with a hard case and matching belt holster but Samsung seems to have ignored the practical popularity of hard cases when designing the back that allows for wireless charging. This, after promising 'Wireless Charging'. I wouldn't be complaining so loudly if Samsung had at least produced a serviceable case and belt holster that fits the new form.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Galaxy S® 5 Wireless Charging Cover, Black
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

black wireless charger cover

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 17, 2014
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Too big, Did not meet expectations
this is awful product! yeah it looks the same but it makes the s5 a whole lot heavier and thicker so your aftermarket and genuine samsung cases are rendered useless, i bought one and sent it straight back for a refund. there are other ways of making the s5 suitable for wireless charging and this case simply is not it!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
2of 13voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.