Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Multimedia/Adapters
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)

**Compatible with Galaxy S III, Galaxy Note II, Galaxy S 4 The HDTV Universal Adapter (11pin) supports HD signals up to 1080p. Connect directly to your MHL-Enabled Mobile Phones and Galaxy S4 with an 11-pin Micro USB input to create an HDMI docking station. Then, connect a standard HDMI cable for easy connectivity to home theater or monitor. In order to function, the Adapter also needs to be connected to a power source via the Micro USB port on the adapter itself. (HDMI Cable and Micro USB Travel Charger sold separately,)
Rating:
2.556 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
2
2 out of 7(29%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)
Review 1 for MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love mine

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byauburnfan38401
onJanuary 1, 2013
from columbia, tn
I love mine, thank you samsung for always providing superior quality
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Greatest and Simplest Accessory

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byblake2shay
onApril 4, 2013
This is the best and simplest accessory I have ever used for a phone. I use it almost everyday with my Samsung Galaxy SIII and it has never failed me. It has never slacked in performance or functionality. It takes no time for me to hook it up and starts working immediately. The only draw back is that when I have Netflix open, and a movie playing, it won't be in full screen. I'm not sure if that's something with the accessory or something in the app or some setting in between.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It does what it's supposed to do

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByMikeCnyc
onJanuary 31, 2013
from New York
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: expensive
This device is great for what it is described to do. Some streaming apps restrict it's use once it senses it is connected to the TV, but that's no fault of the adapter. It functions well. I found it to be a bit expensive, but I suppose if I used it more, I would feel differently.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I don't get it....

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bygreenii3
onSeptember 11, 2013
from Belton, MO
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations, won't work
I purchased this item, thinking that I could transfer "whatever" was on my SG3 on to my 1 yr old 50" flat screen. Once I followed the instructions and hooked it up correctly - nothing happened. Nothing at all. I will need to find time to call Samsung Tech Support for assistance (or for a refund). I'm not happy with many of the reviews that I've read - but I will not settle for using this as a paperweight - If it doesn't work, as described - I would like a refund.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor execution from Samsung.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByENCXBG1
onDecember 5, 2012
from San Diego, CA, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations
This product is really disappointing! First I am posting a review because I am unable to find support for this product. It is supposed to mirror the screen in 1080p. It does not! I use Allshare to send pictures to my TV and the quality difference is astounding! I wish the MHL adapter could provide the same quality image. Video is 24fps and is very choppy. Netflix is mot 16:9 for some reason and the quality is subpar. I really think this thing is defective but everything operates like it should, just poor image quality.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByJonPo
onOctober 4, 2012
from Connecticut
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, too many cables needed
I received the product today(10/4/12)and I must say I do regret purchasing this item simply because there are just WAY to many cables to be used. I have to use a HDMI cable, the adapter along with an extra 11 pin dongle which is separate and I have to use a power charging cord to power this tiny device.
It is really inconvenient to have SO many cables to have to deal with, mind you I got this with the 50% off coupon and I didn't pay full price but still. I should have used the coupon to get the Allshare dongle. Well, lesson learned I guess. I advise to save up the money and go wireless. I'm sorry Samsung but I could not recommend this product.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not very good

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByThunda789
onJuly 25, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Picture does not fit the screen, tried on multiple screens by various manufactures. There is a noticeable lag that starts on the device when it's plugged into the adapter. can't recommend with no manual to refer to for help
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product did not work 4 me

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByKnightwerk
onSeptember 3, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Did not meet expectations
didn't work for me at all,,I still love my Note 2..
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for MHL™ HDTV Smart Adapter (11 Pin)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do not buy this

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByRolandwanders
onJuly 17, 2012
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Too big, Did not meet expectations
I just purchased a Samsung S3 and I was very excited to finally have a phone with the hardware power to push real HD video and audio through my receiver and on to my television. My last phone, (redacted), was able to do this just fine utilizing it's mini-HDMI output capability but the picture quality on Netflix was just "OK" given its relatively low RAM and CPU performance.
I ordered the MHL adapter, required to link from the mini-USB output on the S3 (where's the mini-HDMI you ask?) to an HDMI output, thinking I could do the same with the more than technically capable Galaxy S3; I was wrong. Not only did the adapter fail to connect properly to my tv (looks like a resolution or refresh rate issue), I was informed by a Samsung representative that HBO Go and Netflix "block" streaming from mobile telephones to televisions!? I have never heard of such a thing but the representative tells me it was the truth; you can watch the applications on your phone but when you try and project the image and audio onto a larger screen, it will fail on purpose. Why would I want an expensive adapter to hook up to a tv when all my media streaming services "block" this functionality? Ludicrous. And definitely something Samsung should mention in their product description to avoid the look of taking advantage of their customer base.
Sidenote: The representative said I could still display my photos using the adapter (Big deal right? who needs HDMI for photos? We want streaming video and audio), however that feature would not synch with my television either. My tv is an LED LCD 55-inch, two years old, and I have three other devices currently playing through a brand new receiver that handles all the media connections; no problems with any of those, including my old phone.
So now I'm left with a really expensive paperweight that can't stream my movies or audio to my main entertainment system, as planned.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.