Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Adapters
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter

“**Compatible with the Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1, Galaxy Tab 8.9, Galaxy Tab 7.0 Plus, Galaxy Tab 7.7, Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 and Galaxy Note 10.1” The HDTV adapter supports HD signals up to 1080p. Connects directly to a standard HDMI cable for easy connectivity to home theater or monitor. Can connect directly to the Galaxy Tab to create an HDMI docking station. (HDMI cable sold separately) Not Compatible with Galaxy Tab 7.0.
Rating:
2.823 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
8 out of 12(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Review 1 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 5, 2013
from Bethlehem, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: hs to use 30 pin charge cable
Bought it for a Galaxy Tab 2 10.1". Connection was not an issue at all. Output is HD, the 40" LCD TV is an exact mirror of the screen output on the device. Sound is OK. The only drawback is that the sound on the Tab has to be turned to maximum in order to get sound out of the TV.
My only criticism is that one has to connect the 30-pin charge cable to the HDTV adapter for it to work. I wish that for power it had a standard USB connection so that I could use a USB extension cord. Otherwise it is fine.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works great in my Note 10.1

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 18, 2013
from Illinois
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
This is perfect for hooking up to the TV in the living room to watch Google Movie/TV shows. It shows that it is not charging when hooked up with a 2.1A Sansung charger, but it is charging. Great device!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HDMI Adapter

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 14, 2012
from Cary, North Carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This Galaxy Tab HDMI adapter is a must have for watching videos. Youtube App entertains and entire room now, no more crouding the tablet to show videos.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Does what it needs to do

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 29, 2013
from Longmont, CO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: required power to be used.
I hooked it into my Galaxy Note 10.1 (Yes I know its suppose to be used with the Tab) and then plugged it into my TV. At first it didn't work but then I realized it needed additional power so plugged in the Power Cord as well. Still couldnt get it to work with my main TV but tried on another TV and it worked pretty good. Video playing on the Note was a second or two ahead of that being displayed on the TV. Audio only runs through the TV (which is what I expected).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Device - Operator Needs to be aware

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 16, 2013
Cons: a bit expensive
This device works as advertised, however be advised that certain setup sequences must be followed. I was setting up my Tab 10.2 with this cable to a projector. The first cable seemed to crackle and pop when connected to the projector. I believed that the cable was faulty and returned it for another cable. After the second cable returned the same results I further investigated the initial set up. First of all, you must make sure that you have a solid power connection to the HDMI adapter. When using multiple power adapters (the box that plugs into the wall and then the USB from the samsung power cable plugs into the power box) caused compatibility issues with my projector. Make sure you have a good USB power adapter. Second plug the power in first before powering up the Tablet or the projector. Finally, power the projector before powering the Tab. This will allow for the proper syncing sequence. If need be restart the Tab to resync the system. All worked fine after that. This is a sensitive start up sequence and may just be your issues if you are having one. Good luck and happy movie watching.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Handy Device

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 11, 2013
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
Overall this device works just fine. There are a few things I'd like to make note of.
1. If you are using the Samung Dock Keyboard with your Galaxy Tab 7 Plus and using the HDTV adapter, it will lock out usage of the dock keyboard. Bluetooth mouse, bluetooth keyboard and bluetooth speakers will continue to work as will the onboard Android keyboard. I was told by Samsung tech support they are aware of this issue and it will be fixed in the Jelly Bean update. When ever that is...
2. This device should NOT have a pig tail to the device. It should plug directly in and have the power plug connect to the side that the tablet buttons are on so that you can stand the tablet uprite and/or use in the keyboard dock with the power cable and HDMI cable pointing backward away from the user.
3. The device should have a few other connections such as a USB connection and card slot.
4. There is one small bug. When plugging in the HDTV adapter it automaticly launches Slacker on both of my Galaxy Tab 7 Plus's
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 3, 2013
from Fife, UK
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, hd quality, good sound
Cons: expensive for what it is, needs external power source, mirrored screen can be a bit shaky, lots of wires
I bought this for my Galaxy Note 10.1 for teaching purposes. This product is not compatible with Galaxy Tab 2 apparently.
The big advantage is that the quality is very impressive, resolution is impressive on our 45 inch Samsung LED tv. Sound is good. Change to a different HDMI port on your tv if you are having problems e.g. blue screen.
Note that it doesn't always mirror exactly what is on the screen, for instance, the YouTube app videos are automatically made full screen when on your tablet you can view comments at the same time. It Is a bonus, but this can be avoided if you use the browser. S pen cursor does not show up, which is a bonus really as it can be distracting when using s note for teaching.
Downside is that you need to have it connected to a power source to work. I connected it via the USB port to my computer, so it actually charges at the same time.
Instead of connecting the power cable to where it asks me, I will plug in my Samsung USB adapter I bought separately (to connect memory sticks to etc.) then I'm going to use a 4 port USB hub to see if I can branch off my wireless mouse, keyboard and PS3 controller. Would be awesome for playing games like GTA from the Android Market.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

adamtor

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2012
from New York, NY
this does what it does and says it does so if you need it buy it
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-18points
5of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

its so good

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 28, 2012
from San Antonio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
cant stop watching my 3d movies, and the sports are even better
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-4points
8of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Stopped working

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 28, 2013
from canada
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Got this adapter about 3 months ago, plugged it in my tablet, hdmi cable into TV and plugged the tablet into AC adapter. Worked like a charm. For next 2 - 3 weeks we watched videos each night while in bed. Had I written a review at that time I would have given it 5 stars however, I needed my tablet elsewhere and disconnected it from the adapter.
Recently, I hooked it up again but now all the videos, regardless of the player, stutter making them impossible to watch. I tried new hdmi cable and/or connecting the adapter/tablet to another TV in the house with the same dismal results. Then I noticed something strange.
When I touched the screen while a video was playing the player control bar (i.e pause/play buttons) would pop up AND the video went perfectly smooth (audio that was out of synch went back in synch) until the control disappeared off the screen.
As well, simply unplugging the HDMI cable and restarting the video will also eliminate the stuttering.
I have to assume this problem is HW related because yesterday I did a Factory reset on my tablet. With only the default/original SW installed I tried the cable again. No luck. As bad as it was before the reset. Considering I only owned this cable less than 2 months and it appears to no longer work I am very disappointed
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Borderline Useless

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 20, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Cons: Did not meet expectations, poor design
Would be a good product if it could charge the Tab while connected. Instead of being enjoyable to use it becomes a hassle. I want to plug it in, listen to some music and then forget about it until the morning and then have the tab charged up and ready for the day. Impossible with this design.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+19points
42of 65voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product dont work on GT-P5110

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 13, 2013
It is NOT COMPATIBLE with the Tablet Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 wifi (GT-P5110). It simply doesn't work with this tablet. The TV (It's a Samsung with HDMI ports and anynet) doesn't feel the signal. It's a shame that Samsung doesn't warn the customers for this uncompatibility.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This product dont work on GT-P5110

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 13, 2013
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, fault information
Not working, and no advices or compatibility information on the product Box.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No Audio from HDMI Adapter

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 11, 2013
from California, USA
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations, no audio
Samsung advertises audio streaming from the Galaxy Tab to a compatible HDTV as a "Feature" of the powered HDMI cable (see http://www.samsung.com/us/mobile/galaxy-tab-accessories/EPL-3PHPBEGSTA-features).
There has been no satisfactory response to similar questions posted to-date by other people about no sound when using the powered HDMI adapter. Connecting a separate audio cord from the Note 10.1's headphone jack into the amp or TV in addition to the HDMI should be unnecessary with a HDMI connector capable of both video and audio.
We would like the advertised audio to go with the video when using Samsung's HDMI adapter.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too many cords

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMarch 27, 2013
Cons: Did not meet expectations, requires use of charger
This product was very disappointing and I will be returning it tomorrow. At first I thought it was excellent that I could still plug into my charger if my batteries were low. Then when I got home I soon found out that the adapter will not work unless it is plugged into the charger. The end result is a lot of cables everywhere and not a user friendly experience.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't waste your money!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 2, 2012
from Florida
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Too big, Did not meet expectations
Not only is this adapter not practical, it transfers the video with poor quality. In order to use it, you need to also have the power cord plugged in. You cannot use a stand or keyboard as the adapter would get angled and ruin the port. Waste of money and time, frustrating with all the wires needed. Only transmits video does not mirror what you are doing on your tablet!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+27points
35of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Galaxy Tab™ HDTV Adapter
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This adapter doesn't work with my Galaxy Tab

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 12, 2011
from Omaha
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I've tried it on two Samsung TV's and it does not work.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+14points
24of 34voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.