Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Multimedia/Adapters
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter

MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter

Share your videos, photos and more on your HDTV! The MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter supports HD signals up to 1080p. Connect directly to your MHL-enabled mobile phone with a Micro USB input to create an HDMI docking station. Then, connect a standard HDMI cable for easy connectivity to home theater or monitor. In order to function, the Adapter also needs to be connected to a power source via the Micro USB port on the adapter itself. (HDMI Cable and Micro USB Travel Charger sold separately). MHL 2.0-enabled phones allow a higher charge to be passed through the adapter, allowing you to play video without needing to attach a charger.
Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 out of 6(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter
Review 1 for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works just as expected! Great quality!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEdward246
onJanuary 13, 2014
from Schenectady, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Not much else to say other than this is a great product and is a wonderful resource to use to view HD content directly on my Samsung TV!! I purchased this item right before Thanksgiving and have been sharing all of my travel and family pictures with all my friends at home. I love how it charges my phone as well! Definitely recommend this to anyone who has any HD content on their smart phones and doesn't want to be stuck starring at a small screen.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
11of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to use

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byzeusfaberkev
onSeptember 22, 2013
from Las Vegas, NV
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I'm not a very technically minded person but I wanted a way to display pictures and videos from my Samsung Galaxy S4 phone onto my HD television screen. This adapter did the trick! Simply plug in your phone, connect to the HDMI port on your TV, make sure the TV is set to view that port and you're in business. No problem!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykjo01980
onJuly 29, 2013
I love this product I cant live with out it I have no idea how I did for so long
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works with GS4 and GS3. Must be Powered

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByRichardTheGreat1
onNovember 16, 2013
from Aurora, CO
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Cons: expensive
GS4 is supposed to work without additional power from USB, but mine does not.
What works for me:
1. Battery on phone must be well charged. (75% minimum for my phones.)
2. Must use a 1.0A or larger charger to power the micro USB port (GS3 0.7A charger does NOT work). The instructions specify 1.0A minimum.
3. Turn off phone and make all the connections.
4. Power up the phone.
Videos, Slideshows, Music, Camera (including while recording Video), streaming media, or whatever is on the phone's screen displays / plays perfectly on my HD TV, using a 25 foot (very long) HDMI cable.
The rubber surrounding the micro USB male plug is very big. Because of this, some protective cases may not allow the plug to fully insert into the device micro USB port.
Typical of most accessories, it is overpriced.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The product works very well but the cable on the unit is to small.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySpeed1805
onApril 14, 2014
from Jersey City, NJ, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: cable to short, high price
I used this product in my car for my pioneer radio. But the cable is to short.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Does Not Fit Otterbox Defender Case

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BySteve1667
onMarch 4, 2014
from Detroit Area
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Too big, Did not meet expectations
Just a warning...The micro plug is too wide to fit the slot the Defender case provides. You have to totally disassemble the case to use. I haven't done so as yet but I don't know why the plug has to be so wide. Every other micro USB plug I have fits.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great little device with one major flaw

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BySlash8915
onDecember 10, 2013
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Durable
Cons: Too big
The only reason I bought this was because I have an Appradio 2 in my car, and I needed it in order to use the radio. The device itself works great. It's really the only one I've used with snowy screens, random cutouts, ect. However, it does have one major flaw in it's design physically...
The tip (the end that goes into the phone) Is far too large. It will not work with any of the 4 cases I have for my GS4, one of which is a Samsung branded case. I don't understand why they couldn't just make it the same size as the stock wall charger. I don't like having to take my phone out of the case every time I use it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

HDTV adapter - great promise but poor performance

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByDarS3
onJune 27, 2013
from Ft Worth, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: great idea
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, hard to determine compatibility, expensive
I bought this adapter to be able to show pictures and videos on my large screen HDTV. The system works marginally ok on a 20" LCD TV; the only issue is constant loud "clicks" while video is playing even with the electrical interference coil installed. On my 42" LCD TV the product does not work at all. The TV has 2 hdmi ports. One is connected to a set top box and I use the other for the S3 adapter. When the phone is plugged in the set top box port does not work either so something in the Samsung adapter messes up the HDMI function in the TV. The TV is a few years old and is limited to 480p so there may be a compatibility problem. Overall I am quite disappointed in what I consider an expensive adapter that does not work very well.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-18points
7of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DOESN'T WORK WITH VERIZON GS4! DO NOT BUY!!

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByPaoloD
onNovember 10, 2013
from Elmwood park, IL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This doesn't work for the Verizon galaxy s4 phone. When everything is plugged in the scree on phone says it's connected but nothing shows on the tv. I made sure it was on the correct hdmi and still didn't work. Don't understand why it doesn't work. I've tried everything and looked online for info and can't find why it wouldn't work. I honestly don't think this is compatible with my phone. So if u have a gs4 do not buy this item. It doesn't work!!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
-12points
6of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for MHL 2.0 HDTV Smart Adapter
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No longer works with AV Receivers

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByCraigNote3
onOctober 13, 2013
Cons: Did not meet expectations, crippled
Unlike the previous version you cannot plug this directly into a receiver, even a dedicated MHL port doesn't work. You can only use this directly plugged into a TV. If you're like me and run your speakers from your receiver then you're hosed.
The previous (black) version of the adapter worked fine directly connected to the AV receiver. The message on my Note 3, 'Plug HDMI cable directly into TV' implies that Samsung are doing this deliberately.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+6points
16of 26voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.