Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Digital Media Receiver
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for HomeSync

HomeSync

Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HomeSync
Review 1 for HomeSync
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NEED MORE APPS

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 4, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: nee more apps
very good product but needs more apps on it, good design nice overall experience can be used with remote control any-net
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HomeSync
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 26, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
Cons: no negative
Love this and buying another for my brothers birthday gift.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HomeSync
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 14, 2013
from Jacksonville, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
This is an industry game changer, something that we have been waiting for awhile.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HomeSync
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great quality and performance.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 7, 2014
Pros: Durable
I love the quality, features and performance of this device. Having said that, it falls short in a couple areas. One problem is that many apps from the Google Play store show as not compatible with this device even though most can be added by side loading them and still work just fine. I can live with that but it would be nice if I didn't have to side load them. For anyone wondering, XBMC Gotham works great on this device, and that is one of the primary apps I wanted to use this for.
The other issue is that administrator access of this device is tied to the Samsung account used on initial setup. If you forget that password or get one second hand, you can forget resetting that account without the password. You can reload firmware through Kies, but currently there is no way to reinitialize the device with Kies or the HomeSync app without the original password. Can't Samsung add an option in Kies to wipe and initialize the device? Seems like a reasonable request to me.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HomeSync
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of potential!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 19, 2014
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color, easy to use, perfect for personal cloud
Cons: apps not compatible
I got my HomeSync a couple weeks ago and I have really enjoyed the personal cloud. It works beautifully with my Note 3. Also found it works for my wife's iPad(Yuck) and my kids' Tab tablets.
The only downside is the apps... Netflix, Hulu, Slacker, and others are "not compatible" with the unit yet. Thankfully my TV, Blu-Ray and gadgets make up for the loss. I home to see have good things happen with this device. Also I'm having a hard time connecting my laptop to the device, but I probably haven't figured it out yet.
Samsung.... Keep doing what you're doing!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HomeSync
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting device

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 29, 2013
from NYC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, versitile
Cons: complex
I got this little gizmo kinda organically. I started out with a blueray player to stream video. Well that did not quite work out the way I thought. So I started to go to a Samsung media hub. Well they were out of stock at Bestbuy. So a good salsman got me someone that understood what I was looking for. I got pointed to this homesync and it is interesting. It set up really easy using NFC with my Note II. The phone actually assisted the device in connecting with the wifi. I did not have to set up the wifi on the homesync. I am trying to get the screen mirror to work, but that is a work in progress. I can use the phone as a remote control. I tried to get amazon to stream to the TV with the app on homesync, but that wont work. Ill have to get the screen mirror to work for that. Ill update this more as I learn about the box.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HomeSync
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Dont be Closed Samsung !! Open a bit more.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 27, 2014
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: latest update to only 4.2.2, low level of folder customization
I just bought a new HomeSyn as i want to reduce my storage from Dropbox, OneDrive, and GDrive. Interestingly, the current version of that above 3 cloud services do not support my Android 4.2.2 version of my HomeSync, as i browse through Play Store in my HomeSync. This is a pain in the butt, as i have to go through other methods such as 3rd Party Could App to access my cloud storages from HomeSync, or direct file transfer from above cloud folders in my Macbook then transfer to HomeSync by cable. And you cant event create different Folders in your Private Folder except default Video and Image Folders created by HomeSync app !!! This really make you mess up with all the different content of your video from work, home, entertainment ..etc
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HomeSync
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Attractive little unit

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 31, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Homesync is an easy to set up, attractive and useful device.
Was able to set this up in a couple of minutes and start loading on content. the menu is easy to use and simlar to smart hub.
The remote feature varies from device and from note 10.1 was unable to use the screen mirror feature. It also clicks sometimes when you are just trying to move the mouse around.
the Play store is very limited and unable to download most of the apps I wanted to.
One great thing is if you take a photo on your phone it will automatically load onto homesync, BUT another big downer is that my samsung cameras NX300 and WB800F are unable to connect to the device or sync. I was hoping to be able to at least download the samsung smart camera app and sync that way but even that is not in the app store. Rather frustrating. I hope samsung add more versatility in future updates.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HomeSync
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Extremely disappointed

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 6, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I bought this on the sizzle and aroma of hope. I'm disappointed beyond words, but I'll try to be rational about this. The box looks fantastic. Small, simple, attractive and understated. It feels good to the touch. Connectivity options are extensive and the only thing missing is HDMI pass-through to allow better integration with a cable box, but that's exactly when the sizzle goes silent. There's really nothing that this box offers for integration. None of the apps I want to use are compatible with this HomeSync. I'm not exaggerating...literally none of the apps I want are compatible. Netflix, Hulu, Chrome and the list goes on. Yes I figured out how to side load Netflix and Chrome but they are not optimized for the very high potential box. I'm still holding out hope until just before my return window closes.
Come on Samsung, give us an update that releases the playstore and let this device shine.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HomeSync
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Doesn't work with Galaxy Note 3 after Kitkat update

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 17, 2014
from Portland OR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not compatible with samsungs flagship devices
I bought this device to backup my photos, browse the web through my TV and stream video.
It worked great with my Verizon GN3 until the Kitkat update and now the app sits at the connecting forever. Same thing happens with my Galaxy Note Pro 12.2.
Why would Samsung not have a patch for this? I'm about ready to return the Homesync as it has become useless! Any updates on when this will be fixed will be greatly appreciated Samsung!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HomeSync
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Does not work with Galasy S5

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onApril 12, 2014
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
What's up with this??????????????? I Bought a homesync a few months ago, upgraded to two new S5s and now nothing. Playstore says the software is not compatible with the new OS
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.