Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Smart Media Player
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Smart Media Player

Smart Media Player

Rating:
3.364 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Smart Media Player
Review 1 for Smart Media Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Product for Use With Cable Card

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 10, 2014
from Kansas City, MO, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: no more paying to rent cable box., nice and sleek, blue ray works very well
Cons: no hulu app
I love the box it was easy to set up with my cable company Time Warner Cable. I don't like that it is not compatible with Hulu Plus. I cancelled my subscription due to I could not access it through the Samsung smart media hub not was it possible to add the app through the Samsung app store. Sad Sad Sad. Not many other apps available for this product either. Every thing else I love.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Smart Media Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features! Wish it came with multidirectional remote when aiming at the tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2013
from Macungie, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: cheap remote!
I love it . Only issue is the remote.too small and feel cheap! and no DVR.
They should add software update for portable drive backup as a DVR
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Smart Media Player
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My next purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 7, 2013
from maryland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, frugal device
Have seen this, this is ideal. Cannot wait till taxes come in to purchase this to upgrade my TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-19points
2of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Smart Media Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

CableCard

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 23, 2014
from Detroit, MI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: replaces cable box, crackle app is great
Cons: Poor quality, the future evolutions should be better
The CableCard dialog screen, used for Pairing with your cable provider, is too small. Increase the FONT SIZE on the light blue screen with the next software upgrade. Changing resolution of the actual TV has no impact. Changing from 480p, 720p, to 1080p has no helpful benefit. It's not the TV, it's the menus, they are too small. FYI.
I would like the freedom to put ANY app on my favorites. Mostly HBO.GO, and the Huffington Post app does not work, it never did. I love Crackle, what a fun discovery.
Typing in a code to any website with that little remote is a pain, don't put an app on that directs me to website to put in a code. Just make the app work, that's why they are called APPLICATIONS. Pandora, Youtube, etc. all have this redirect which I find unacceptable. I want to put email and password once and never have to do it again.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Smart Media Player
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good device, but could be great

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 15, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: don't have to pay for cable box
Cons: have to rent a cable card, requires tuning adapter, no hbo go
The Smart Media Player is a great alternative to renting a cable box from your cable provider, but it does have some flaws. Initial setup of the device was painless. Setup of the cable card was a little more involved. To use this device as a cable box you must pick up a cable card from your cable company. For the cable company in my area this also required getting a tuning adapter box if I wanted to receive any of the higher numbered HD channels, which I do. The slim design of the smart media player ends up being a mute point since the required tuning adapter is essentially the size of a standard cable box. Once I had the cable card and tuning adapter configured by the cable company I have been able to receive and watch cable without much issue. The channel guide works fine and looks decent. One issue I have with the guide is if you have the guide open you can't manually enter a channel number to jump to that channel in the guide. You have to exit the guide enter the channel then reopen the guide.
As far as using the device to play apps I have only used it to play netflix. For the most part Netflix works fine but I have had it lock up the device a handful of times. When this happens none of the buttons on the remote work and the device has to be reset. The one app that really needs to be made available for this device is HBO GO. The majority of the apps available in the app store aren't that great.
Overall I am happy to not be paying my cable company as much per month to be able to watch the channels I already am paying for. Aside from being required to have a tuning adapter, which I see no way around, I think any of the bugs with the software should hopefully be addressed with future software updates.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Smart Media Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good features unstable network connectivity

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 13, 2014
from MN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: network connectivity inconsistent
The Samsung Smart Media Player has some great features, pretty much turns you standard TV into a Smart TV. Easy to set up, Cable card setup can be frustrating unless you get someone from the Cable Company that knows how to do it. The only issue I have repeatedly experienced is the device frequently has partial or full network connectivity issues when both wired and on wireless. Impacting the ability to get programming information through the guide but connection to Amazon/Netflix services. To correct you need to either go through setup again or reset the device back to factory settings which clears it up for a while. With a few tweaks to the network connectivity issue this would be a 5 star offering.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Smart Media Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice streaming media and cable box

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 12, 2014
from MD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight, youtube, channel guide
Cons: no dvr function or cloud storage, no smartphone app, not listed on watchon app, few smart hub apps, no s recommendation
Picture quality is good but none of my Fios HD channels had 1080p resolution, the highest output was 1080i.
It will take 2 years of ownership before any savings is achieved.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Smart Media Player
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice and Slim but doesn't support Xfinity On Demand

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 17, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Looks nice, really slim, awesome that it has 2 usb ports(1 rear, 1 front) The biggest problem is that XOD(Xfinity On Demand) doesn't not work with the box. Samsung needs to do what TiVo did and integrate with Comcast. Also it was difficult to download Samsung apps. I had a hard time 3 hours and 4 phone calls to Comcast to activate my Cable Card but that has nothing to do with the rating of this product. The remote is kind of basic. I also had the same problem with changing guide channels to easily surf through it. The info button on the remote should display what's on tv not the channel name as well.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Smart Media Player
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

decent but would not recommend

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 23, 2014
from Eastvale, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight, features
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Has some great features but does channel lineup has hiccups...Only reads some premium channels and have tried working with cable company to find out the cause of missing channels. To no avail!! Pretty frustrating when you are limited to some of your channels, especially your premium networks.. Need to turn in to Samsung to see what is happening...Very inconvenient!!
No clock, power light is very dim and hard to see if unit is on.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Smart Media Player
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Cable Box Yes - Smart Media Player No

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 12, 2014
from St. Louis
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I just purchased this unit, my local cable co. is going all digital and seen this product to use with a cable card. If that's all this unit did, I would give it 5 stars. It works great for a cable box and getting all my cable channels. It falls short on being a Smart Media Player. The apps for this unit are limited, the interface for the app is the same has they advertise on the Samsung TV's but this units selection is not the same. Will it change? I hope so, but they way it is now I will be using another media player.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Smart Media Player
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor APP performance and VERY slow interfaces.

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 21, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, slow interfaces, slow apps, needs constant reboots
This device is a great idea, but all of my apps run at a 486x snails pace. The box in general is slow and often unresponsive, requiring many power cycles or smart hub resets. Buy cheap, get cheap I guess....
Also, the APP selection is horrible. No HULU Plus , no Amazon Music, ...etc.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.