Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Pocket Cams
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)

W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)

Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Review 1 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTechaddicted
onJune 23, 2014
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:over 5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Bought for my husband to take with him to film his flight in a Stearman Biplane. Needed to be easy to handle and control. Got great videos and stills of a once-in-a-lifetime memorable experience highlighted when the pilot let him take the controls for a while.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smooth Design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByToomuchinfowanted
onOctober 16, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, waterproof
Cons: only waterproof to 16'
I chose this camera because of the smooth design. I read a complaint about another camera being "waterproof", however, the customer was not happy about how sand got in every part of the exterior... and the price was good.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great camera dangerous design.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySunset1
onOctober 3, 2012
from Saint Louis, MO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, simply fantastic photos.., shock resistant!, great night photos and movies with some light..
Cons: poor usb and memory lock design.
This is simply the best sports camera i have ever owned.
However it does have one basic and dangerous design flaw. Why didnt they simply put better locks on the usb port and memory port? I have had them pop open even after carefully testing them before getting in the water. Fix that issue and you have one awesome camera. Fantastic shots and for once the video at night is better with the movie than the camera? prob needs a firmware update.
While i can shoot underwater with this design you are just looking for trouble. Sooner or later ... it will pop open. a simple screw type lock or latch but a spring loaded simple latch on the side? someone didnt do their research effectively.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PERFECT!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byiseeu4u
onSeptember 30, 2012
from Ellenwood, Ga
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: mega pixels not great for larger enlargements.
I went on cruise and wanted something to take pictures and video not having my hands full of equipment. I fell in love with this baby the instant I used it. Great photos with a nice 5x7 enlargement from the 5mp shot. Great for sending via email. It was great to have one camera and the ability to shoot and image and capture the moment on video. I love it!
The below is an image taken with my new waterproof camera ... Great!
Thanks Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Camcorder!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByVacationAlways
onSeptember 23, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, waterproof!
Great Camera/Camcorder. It worked great on my family cruise. Took the most amazing underwater videos. The editing software was easy to use.
I was initially concerned with the door that covers the memory card, but it did not open while iunder water. Maybe they should make it so the doors lock? Other than that a great decvice. Like I said I used it under water for 5 days on my cruise!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great pocket HD cam

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHappyChappy1
onSeptember 2, 2012
from Bloomington, IN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This pocketcam was exactly what I wanted. It's highly portable, and can record in HD and Full HD. The interface is easy to use, i can easily playback my videos straight after recording. The video quality is awesome - i'm having a blast making movies on it :)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great design

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byslnhn
onJuly 23, 2012
from Utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This item takes great pictures and great videos. You have the option of using 720 or 1080 HD video. Using 1080 will take up more of your memory card.
You will want to install an SDHC memory card if you want to record for a couple of hours. For a comparison, I installed a 16GB card and I get about 4.5 hours using 720 or about 2.5 hours using 1080.
The item recharges its battery by plugging the USB port into a computer. I wish it had a little bit more battery power, but what it has will do. I seem to get about one hour of recording time for each battery charge.
Lightweight, great design, but no accessories available at this time. The one accessory I'd really like to have would be a chest harness so I can wear it while recording hiking, fishing, rafting, or other activity.
For such an inexpensive product, you get a lot of value with this camcorder!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Working great so far

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByShootsalot
onJuly 2, 2012
from Cincinnati, Ohio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
We purchased the camcorder for use at the beach and pool. So far, we're very pleased with the simplicity of operation and quality of the videos and still shots. We've only used it at the pool so far. Won't have it in the ocean until vacation time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJune 17, 2012
from Dallas, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
This camcorder is lightweight and the display is superb.
The menu is easy to navigate. I am very happy with it so far.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

What a fun little "toy" video camera!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCreedeMike
onMay 19, 2014
from Creede, CO 81130, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, very small.
Considering the size etc. this is a very good little product. I do professional videography and this little camera just goes with me up into the mountains on occasion. It is good for close video.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

my opinion of the w300 rugged full hd 1080p pocket camcoder

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMay 30, 2013
from merced california
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to use
Cons: no flash for pics
I love it the only thing it needs is a flash other wise it is easy to use and take grate pic and vidios I take it with me everywere you must get one
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
RV510-A05 Notebook
4.4 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great, even with a couple flaws

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byichizen
onNovember 24, 2012
from Boston, MA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Cons: compartment access
I got this unit particularly for its video capabilities, although it's just as good for still shots. I found the size and shape, with at least its small LCD screen most appealing. The rugged design means I can toss it into any bag or pocket without worrying too much about damage (no moving lens mechanism or protruding buttons, and it's even water resistant). Nice that it has an integrated male USB connector (potentially no cable necessary to connect to a laptop, for instance).
My only dislikes are:
1) While Samsung managed to make the HDMI and memory card slot compartment accessible via a hatch on one side, the USB connector compartment hatch is on the bottom, rather than the other side. This means I must unscrew my small tripod mount bracket every time I want to to connect it to the computer for downloading.
2) Although it is a wide aspect ratio, Samsung accomplished this by cutting off the top and bottom of the image, rather than making it wide angle (compared to my old point-and-shoot still camera with video that this unit replaced).
Also, this unit has a built-in, non-replacable battery (naturally, rechargeable by connecting to a computer or your own USB charger) . The jury is still out on whether this will be a problem later on.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value in a little package!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLoPwr
onNovember 4, 2012
Fantastic HD camcorder in a little package. I would have liked to see a better way to CHARGE the unit other than through a computer input. Maybe a AC cable for home or car charger! This item is packaged as a sports model and charging is important! I don't see see these options as accessories, WHY NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!? HAPPY CHARGING WHEN YOUR IN THE WATER OR ON THE SKI SLOPES
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Features!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNCSUSoldier71
onMay 10, 2012
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, pause record
Cons: video stability is less than ideal
This camera has excellent features, specifically the pause record feature. The only down fall is that it does not come with a wall charger; USB charging on a computer takes a long time. The stabilizing feature is also a little lacking, but all in all this camera is very good.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pocket Camcorder - Good things come in small packages

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByWags04
onMay 7, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, 720 or 1080 full hd video, hdmi connection, 3x digital zoom while recording
Cons: screen is a little small, no ac battery charger (usb only), quickstart guide type too small, hdmi cable not included
After researching pocket camcorders, Samsung was at or near the top of the list. I wanted a rugged, waterproof pocket camcorder/camera to capture all those events you wish you had brought your camera for (but it was too bulky for everyday use and too expensive to get wet). I also wanted Full HD video, high resolution photos, decent battery life, and plenty of available memory. Most devices offer 4MB, 8MB, and rarely more than 16MB internal Flash memory. The HMX-W300 offers a micro SD memory slot essentially providing unlimited storage capacity. It's internal USB connector allows charging the devise and uploading images via internal software (may also load onto your laptop or PC). The Share feature works great for uploading to email and a number of social media sites. It does not have wireless capability (Wi-Fi), but do you really want the data charge for Full HD files? Sharing on the Cloud via email costs nothing.
I'm impressed. I don't miss a touch screen. The intuitive keypad layout is easy to navigate and can be operated with one hand. If you are looking for a rugged all purpose pocket sized camcorder/camera, this deservse a good look. It's no digital SLR, but it can do a surprizingly good job at a wedding, beach, school play, or in your pocket or car for whatever.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for W300 Rugged Full HD 1080p Pocket Camcorder (Red)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

waterproof???

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onDecember 27, 2012
from Tucson, AZ. USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not waterproof
Nice little camera. The included software did not load. much less work. I took it in the water tree times. The third time one of the little doors that are suppose to keep the water out of the camera opened. The camera completely filled with salt water. The latch on the doors is a joke. The slightest touch and it opens. A ridiculously poor design for such an important aspect of what is the whole reason for purchasing it in the first place. An now.... The circus begins in an effort to get a refund or return it for an exchange.
I definitely would not recommend it for anyone who wishes to take a camera in the water.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.