Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Blu-ray Systems
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)

Rating:
4.741 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
46 out of 47(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Review 1 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT PRODUCT!!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 16, 2013
from Lawton,Oklahoma
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: the wire hanging down my wall from rear speakers
Im quite impressed with ithis theater system, it has GREAT SOUND QUALITY!!!! & has Way MORE FEATURES THEN I EXSPECTED!!! I juz got mine a few days age, & if your a NASCAR FAN you will love watchn the races on it , & the Blu-Ray player just the extra as i call it, juz wish that the rear speakers didnt have a wire i dont mind the router part just dont like the wire hanging down my wall, put other then that i have NO COMPLAINTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 7, 2013
from Fort Wayne, IN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Easy to set up. Sounds great with movies. Love the wireless module with the rear speakers and the wireless connectivity to the internet. Only wish it had a couple more HDMI ports. Great product and features for the money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

As advertised

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 19, 2013
from florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, sound is great
Sounds great. Rear speakers have wire to wireless receiver, but I knew this. If I had to find fault, it is that it only has two HDMI in (my cable box and Xbox 360), I need two remotes (TV is not Samsung) or that I have to turn on the system to watch TV. I knew that due to my TV not being Samsung I would have to deal with those. Can't say it is the system's fault. If I wanted to, I could have bought a fully wireless Samsung system for more $. What I get for what I paid though, is great!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great bundle

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive
A great product for the price with some nice unadvertised features. I didn't know that it came with an iPod dock and built it FM receiver! Set up was very easy - nearly automatic. Wireless surround speakers are just there. No set up required. Firmware updates very easy.
Netflix and YouTube apps are great. I would like to see a few more internet subscription video apps in future updates ie: Amazon Prime Instant Video, Vimeo, Fandor , etc.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 3, 2013
It's amazing, i never owned a product so amazing and great
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

super!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 3, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Great product! I love the player and all the features that it provides.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

made me feel as if I was in the movie

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2013
from columbia, tn
movies feel and sound so realistic that when the movie is over i am depressed that i am not in the jungle but sitting in my living room
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 30, 2012
from FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great product, love all the features. This product is great for that one person who does not know anything about the internet, and is afraid of turning on a computer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very happy with this product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 29, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love the player and all the features that it provides. Was hesitant to buy but I'm completely satisfied. Does more than I realized when I purchased it. Hope a Redbox app is available when they come out with their streaming service.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2012
from Highland in
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I especially like how easy it was to add a wireless mouse to this unit and the sound is very good
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung HT-E5500W is GREAT

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2012
from Cape May, NJ.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have purchased Two Samsung Blu-ray Home Theater System's, One for myself and one for my son in-law they have been setup and we love them very easy to understand and setup was easy!
Thanks.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Relax at home

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2012
from oklahoma city,oklahoma
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, exceed expectations
I have seen this theaters in gyms, public places, library,stores,shopping center. to sit at home and enjoy the project is wonderful and relaxing.
I cannot imagine being without blue ray and the home theater at home i love imax
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy Indulge™ (Metro PCS) QWERTY Cell Phone
3.7 out of 5(226)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wow!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 1, 2012
from Oklahoma City, OK
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
this system sounds great , easy setup , user friendly ,
matches up well with my samsung tv!
i have seen a lot of reviews talking about the apps being slow to open, this has not been my experience 10-15 sec load time, maybe more of a network issue.
for the money this system will not disappoint!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

surround sound

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 25, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This is the best surround system I have purchased, worth every penny spent
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great system

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 9, 2012
from Johnson city
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Easy to hook up, Like the Idea that you do not have to run wires to the back speakers it is wireless
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 8, 2012
from nc
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
it's the best thing for my family,i couldn't ask for more so easy to use
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WATCH OUT NOW!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 5, 2012
from EL RENO OKLAHOMA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
THIS SOUND THAT COMES OUT OF THIS MACHINE AND I KNOW IT IS SPEAKERS AND ALL BUT IS A 3-D ENHANCING MACHINE TO ME THE SOUND IN JUST WAY OFF THE SCALE OF CAN YA FEEL IT CAUSE I CAN AND I ENJOY EVERY MINUTE OF EVERY MOVIES AND ALL MY FAVORITE SHOWS
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 3, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
First home theater system, and didn't disappoint. so many features its fun to play with. didn't even realize the display was touch screen. sound is awesome and the wireless speakers makes the setup easy. Only complaint is in the beginning, when going through my Direct TV it would crackle at bigger "electric" sounds and explosions. Might have just been new and needing to stretch its legs, because haven't heard any more of that issue after a month or so. All in all great product!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smart Home Theater System

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 30, 2012
from Illinois
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I really like this set. Sounds great. Easy to set up. Great for the money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a great system!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 30, 2012
from Milo, IA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
For a relatively inexpensive blu-ray home theater system, this one tops them all. Connected via HDMI from satellite system to home theater to tv. The surround sound for my livingroom (11'x15') is phenomenal. Highest quality sound from easy-to-place speakers. Picture quality is unmeasured.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product as always

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 25, 2012
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, touch screen
guys you have to try to know how good system it is
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love it!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 19, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
easy hook up and a very crisp sound for the price! only down side is samsung needs to update the samsung remote app for the iphone ios6 so controling the unit can go a little faster
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic sound

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 16, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, amazing sound
Cons: wireless
Bought for my tech savy husband who says he loves it and I made a good choice. We are getting used to the smart apps so their is a learning curve for us but the sound is truely amazing. We use it for DVD's, Xbox games and regular tv. Couldn't be more pleased. The only drawback was when we read the rear speakers were wireless we thought no wires. There is a wireless box that requires power and the speakers are wired to that. So just be aware that there is a power souce needed and wires. Just no wires to the main system.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

coooooooooooool

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 14, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
great sound, i love the wireless surround speakers, apps, pandora, netflix
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great sound

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2012
from maryland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, wireless rear speakers
great sound in a small package, when i unpackaged the system and saw the size of the speakers i was worried that the sound would be horrible but i got a big surprise they sound great!!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Blu Ray Player

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 2, 2012
This home theater system intergrated easily into my Smart TV system. Another example of the excellence of Samsung products
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

For Hitman317

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 1, 2012
from TN.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: awesome unit.
Cons: none
In his review Hitman317 states there are no controls on the unit except the power and volume. This is not true as the front icons are touch screen, touch the icon and that function performs. All functions are on the base unit as well as the remote. Just no buttons.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for the money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 30, 2012
from Lakeland, FL
Pros: Inexpensive
Can't get a better bang for the buck than this system with 3d blu ray, built in wi-fi, apps, and most importantly great sound. I have the HT-E6500W for the great room and put this unit in the master bedroom. A great HTIB for the cost of a decent receiver. Web browsing could be a little easier.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Home Theater System with Vacuum Tube & Digital Amp (HT-E6500W)
4.2 out of 5(25)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome Audio Technology

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 15, 2012
from Mt Vernon, NY, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, audio processing excellent, 1000 watts audio wow
Samsung continues to present Awesome Technology in all Entertainment fields. This product does not disappoint. It offers technology only found in High End Audio at an affordable price. Awesome work Samsung, keep up the good work. Power, Performance, Audio Processing, all wonderful, no cons at all.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Galaxy S® II, available at Sprint (Black)
4.7 out of 5(1,143)
 
 
 
60" (60.0" Diag.) Class LED 8000 Series Smart TV
4.6 out of 5(110)
 
 
 
59" Class (59.06" Diag.) Plasma 8000 Series Smart TV
4.5 out of 5(111)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 12, 2012
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: needs controls on main unit
I recently bought this problem to replace a broken system. So far very impressed with the features and it's performance. My only criticism is the actual unit needs more controls other than just Power and Volume. If you need to change the disc make sure you bring the remote with you (there is no Open button).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much More Than we expected, especially for the packaged price!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2012
from Bayview, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, wireless rear speakers
Awesome! Way more than we expected. We thought we were being inpatient by purchasing a smaller modeled system since the next system model up was out of stock.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesomeness

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 20, 2012
from ashland,oh
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
i love our new blu ray surround sound it is awesome we had one for 2 yrs finally used it n we fell n love immeadiately.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

User Friendly

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 19, 2012
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Still learning what all this system can do but thus far, I am very impressed with the ease of use. I have a 55" Samsung TV and wanted a corresponding blue-ray/dvd system. Very happy I chose this model. The wireless rear speakers are very nice and a huge time saver due to not having to run speaker wire.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great function for this price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 13, 2012
from CT
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Overall I am very pleased with this product. My only complaint is that I haven't figured out how to use the use the web brower other than using the arrows on the control to scroll over a letter which takes 4EVER! I downloaded an app to make my IPAD the remote but it doesn't connect, which is representative of the app reviews. That is the only negative - other than that this thing has been awesome. Highly recommend it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My new Home Theater

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2012
from Saint Petersburg, Fl, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
My first attemt was a marginal success. My (All Samsung) Blueray, an older home theater, and a new 240 hrts 46 in LED. The theater would turn off when the blueray came on and I had to use 3 remotes. My new home theater has everything run through it and it is great. Hdmi 1 TV, Hdmi 2 games, only 1 dvd player and it is all compatable. They are all Samsung and all compatable and I can use the remote to control everthing. Thanks, The Bucks
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 21, 2012
from Boston, MA
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Can't ask for any thing more except that all the speakers be wireless
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super Easy Setup and Great Sound

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 18, 2012
from Ohio, USA
Pros: Inexpensive
Replaced an eight year old system with this one and was impressed with how easy it was to setup. And the sound is fantastic when watching BluRay disc - much improved over the previous system
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 2, 2012
from Caracas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Is Just Excellent. As a BR player works great, as a Home theater Sound System works just fantastic.
As a Wireless Home Sound Device is just Amazing!. That is the feature I like the most, that I can use any computer to start playing the music around my home.
Cons:
1. The SMART application world is too slow, and the memory for those applications is really small. I won't buy this equipment thinking on using those apps , but I will buy it instead if I am thinking on an excellent video sound system.
2. It is expensive in Latin America!. Samsung should do something to reduce its prices.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great System

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 16, 2012
from Richardson, Texas
I have always loved Samsung products. This system is amazing< i love all the wifi features
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Over all Excellent Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 15, 2012
from NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Only problem are the speakers.Try finding wall mounts for them
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 12, 2012
from new jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight
Easy to setup and great sound and picture quality. Like the wireless feature for both rear speakers and internet
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is amazing...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 10, 2012
from louisiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
This product dose everything Internet,IPhones,IPods.Super Great Sound...Photos
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Buy this Home Theater in a box!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 12, 2012
from Kalispell, Mt
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Realistic color, Lightweight
We have been shopping around for quite a while for a new home theater system. This system had everything we wanted and more. Built in wi-fi, and love the apps that are pre-loaded. Easy to set up, and easy to use. The blue-ray is spot on, crisp and clear. Wireless rear speakers are great! The sound is very good as well. You can customize the system to your room size, etc. Upscaling on regular DVD's is great. Samsung puts out smart, reliable, and quality products. For the price this is a great deal!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interface

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 19, 2013
from Annapolis, MD
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
All you have to do is use an HDMI cable and the TV and DVD Player start talking to each other... don't get much better than that!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice product, especially if you own an iphone or ipod!!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not compatible with my samsung s3 smartphone!
I love every single aspect of this "Samsung" device & I was very excited that I was going to be able to use my smartphone with this product, except for the fact that I own a "Samsung" Galaxy S3 phone, yet I can't enjoy listening to my music or viewing my videos and/or pics! The packaging clearly states that you can enjoy content from your mp3 player (or my "Samsung" S3), but you can not!! So, unless you own an iphone or ipod, forget about listening to your music or viewing your videos/pic...wirelessly or wired! I've Always been a Huge Samsung fan, but I can't understand why a "Samsung" galaxy S3 isn't compatible with with this "Samsung" device! And the "Allshare" function is too confusing & doesn't work well At All. Hope to see some new apps soon. Goodbye, Disappointed Samsung Fan.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 18, 2012
from Planet Earth
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
Very nice system easy to setup really like the wireless great sound.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great System for the Money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 1, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
I would give it 5 stars, except one of the speakers doesn't work and Samsung Support wants me to send in the receiver along with the speaker.
The sound is good for movies and television, but not for audiophiles. But, for the price, it can't be beat. Even though the sub woofer is passive, it packs a nice punch. Very sleek and stylish and the 3D looks great. All I all, a must buy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Robert

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 14, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Sounds good. Has internet browsing capabilities. Great clear video.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but wires are short.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 25, 2012
from Mississippi
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: wires are short and they have a plug on one end
This is a good unit but the wires are short and does't give you the the chance to put the speakers were you would like or need.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

OK Home Theater

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 19, 2012
from jacksonville, Fl
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
it should have 2 optical inputs not one and it has some power on flaws. but overall is a good system for the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sound and features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2012
from San Fancisco, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: good smart features, good surround sound
Cons: not enough memory for apps, some apps cannot be deleted to free memory, web browser app does not work well, samsung web site needs improvement
This is one of Samsung's innovative products at the cutting edge.
I am pleased with my Home Theater System especially with the sound. The speakers can be easily tested and adusted for level and position, and the sound has other enhancements. The Smart Hub allows me to access the internet and has some good Apps.
However the System freezes from time to time. Navigating in the Home Theater/TV is generally good but could be better. It also need more memory for Apps. The Web Browser App is an excellent feature, but it works poorly.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sound is great, Blu-ray player not so much...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2013
from Maine
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations
We have had this system for just under a year and the sound is great on it but a couple of months ago the Blu-ray player started acting up and not reading the movies we were trying to play in it whether they were dvds or blu-rays it did not matter. We are sending it away for service and we will see what happens then.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Less than a year in...not working properly

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onSeptember 7, 2013
from SC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I loved our HTIB until about two weeks ago. Purchased in January 2013 it ran perfectly for seven months. Over the couple of weeks the receiver started odd behavior, and in the past week it has gotten to the point where we cannot even watch TV because the receiver will "trump" our satellite and activate the DVD player for no reason. Then it begins to cycle through ALL the input source settings non-stop, while also opening and closing the DVD tray repeatedly.
After doing some research online, apparently this is a well known bug for which Samsung has provided no solution. I have 3+ months left on my initial warranty, and I'm hoping they fix the problem. If they do, my ratings will go up. If they don't, I'll be an even more unhappy customer.
As it is, for a receiver less than a year old to end up with this major flaw is unacceptable.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for 5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good but ...

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 3, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
for some reason, the system ignores the hdmi input most of the time when you first turn everything on. Doesn't matter if you turn on htib first, then tv & cable box or whatever. It even passes along a little of the sound before switching to D-In. Change it back to HDMI1 and maybe it will stay there ... occasionally it flips back to D-In again. Upgraded the firmware; nothing. Also, when I turn on the Samsung TV, at first, the htib would power up too; that has stopped, so now I have to turn it on separately. It just seems buggy and I'm a simple, watch TV/BluRay kinda guy.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.