Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop DVD Systems
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)

Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)
Review 1 for 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging setup

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 16, 2012
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable
Amazing quality .. setup was somewhat frustrating.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

all our samsung products are good products

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 3, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
we have a samsung fridge, 2 flat screen tv's, washer & dryer, home theater system and 2 galaxy note 2 cellphones. we enjoy all of our products. good value for the money. we went from iphone to samsung and have a little getting use to but on the whole we really like the phones.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My 35 year job gift

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 27, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: there are no lights to show buttons on unit at nig
I choose this system for my 35 year service award from my work. My brother recieved one of these systems and after I heard it I thought wow I like it so I picked it
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 29, 2012
from NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Great product with useful features. Easy to hook up. Sound is excellent.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Choice

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color
Decided to finally upgrade my Home Theater and was very glad I did. Was looking for a low cost upgrade from my previous system and was totally shocked at the difference in what I had compared to this unit. Will be looking to upgrade to an even better unit soon...No doubt that that unit will be Samsung as well.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

awesome

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 22, 2012
from norwich connecticut
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, love it for the apps
Cons: remote should have a back keyboard for webb search
I buy this product and i love it great sound and features the only douwnside for is the fact the remote is not realy fast by searching the webb for you have to go letter by letter and that take some time.but good for the price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great but has flaws.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 11, 2012
from Phoenix, AZ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, good sound, easy to install
Cons: unable to extend wire.
The sound is great but you are limited to what wire they give you because it has special tips which does make it very easy to install. Also the test noise startled me. Badly. Also it is a bit complicated to get it just right on setup (this is more due to my gaming system and less of it). Also for some odd reason I have my Galaxy S 3 to play 5.1 Audio and it is only coming out as 2.1 on the system.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice little system

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 15, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I bought this mainly for the home theater functionality. I have my PS3/Xbox 360 hooked up to it in my gaming room. The dvd playback is pretty much standard stuff and par for the course...no problems what-so-ever. Great upscaled picture through the HDMI connection.
Having a Toslink input is really nice. A lot of these DVD HT dont have that. The sound quality overall is pretty good. Just dont expect to be blown away or anything though, as thats not really the units strong point. The subwoofer could pack a bit more punch, but it gets the job done. If you plan to use it in a small sized room, you will be quite happy with the audio. If however you plan to use it in a large room, you may find the sound to be lacking. As is, its a nice quality unit with good surround sound in a small area. Also, I have had no issues playing DVD +/- R/RW discs, so you are good to go if that is important to you.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 5.1 Channel DVD Home Theater System (HT-E550)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Product is UNRELIABLE

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 1, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
DVD player stopped reading DVDs 2 months after purchase and 2 speakers produce loud humming noise and 1 doesnt even work at all after 5 months.
I've never been disappointed in SAMSUNG products before but this is a terrible product!
Now I cannot even request maintenance because this product is not listed.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.