Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Blu-ray Systems
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)

Rating:
3.368 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
12 out of 18(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Review 1 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 12, 2013
from Phoenix az
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
For the price the quality is really good can not complain about it at all
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great sound

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2013
from Wv
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Very good crisp clean sound with good bass adjustments
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My new Home Theatre

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 13, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Loving it. Haven't had it long, a couple of weeks.
Still discovering all of its features.
So many things that it does, all in one.
Awesome!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for me

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 25, 2012
from Bayamon, Puerto Rico
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I love samsung equipment, everything they do, they do it perfect, i recommend and would buy again A+++++++++
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great DVD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 18, 2012
from Fort Thomas, Ky
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
I bought this to go with my Samsung Plasma tv to minimize problems of connecting equipment by different vendors. I was NOT disappointed. Setup was very easy. We had it hooked to the tv and running in less than 20 minutes. Have not begun to tap it's potential yet, but there are features that look useful and would give a very satisfying viewing experience.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

product has the best sound quality ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 7, 2012
from ithaca, ny
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable
You can't go wrong with this purchase.. The sound quality is the excellent.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Design flaw

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 16, 2012
from Beckley, WV
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
I haven't figured out how to adjust the equalizer while playing music yet. If I am playing music on Pandora and want to back up and adjust it, the music stops. Do I need to play from USB or Disc in order to do it?
Also, the lead connectors for all speakers in the back do not have a lock on them to keep them inserted. If you pick up the unit, to dust, they are easily pulled out... otherwise the system sounds great and worked well with TV after adding an S-Video cable which I already had hooked up to a Sony amp.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love my system

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 6, 2012
from Katy, Texas
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, quality product
Cons: easy of use, no extra equipment needed
My only complaint is that I couldn't find how to add apps right away and need to buy extra equipment to hear the surround system while only watching television.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
RV511-A01 Notebook
4.4 out of 5(108)
 
 
 
 
5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
3.4 out of 5(19)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very nice system.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 2, 2012
from Whitney, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
We were looking for a good sound system that was fairly inexpensive. But what we bought was a very good dvd player and sound system with features we were not expecting. Very happy with the whole package.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 13, 2012
from u.c. tx.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, easy setup
Cons: "0" accessories available, cannot upgrade to wireless rear speakers
i got this bluray system because i wanted the 3D feature. it has an excellent picture when in 3D, way better than just converting with my samsung tv alone. the sound is pretty good too, i havent been able to turn the volume up to much though, my neighbors are home!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

WONDERFUL!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 27, 2012
from Clinton, Mississippi
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: i'm dissappointed that i'm so happy.
The sound and Hi-def is wonderful! Absolutely remarkable! You can't beat 'em. You get your money's worth! Thanks Samsung!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
55" Class (54.6" Diag.) LED 6050 Series Smart TV
4.6 out of 5(238)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Product -- Just a Little Frustrated

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 19, 2012
from Irvine
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: needs more information in manual
I love the look of this, the sound is great -- I'm no audiophile -- I can hear tv, movies, everything and in 3D if I want. Hooking up the system was a snap, getting my updates went smoothly. Now, I'm just a little frustrated with the manual -- very limited information -- it really doesn't explore SmartHub in enough detail. But, luckily, I have had great response from calling Samsung's support line.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Difficult Instruction

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 20, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Was VERY dissapointed to find out when assembling that I had to obtain an OPTIOINAL card to use Wireless- box does not say that. Instructions not clear- cannot use my I-Phone nor my PC.. When registering, reading SN was almost impossible with such small print.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

No Amazon Instant Video!!!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 26, 2012
from Mass
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The Samsung Smart Hub does not allow you to use Amazon Instant Video. I would not have bought this product had I known. The app store is lacking. Minus the Smart Hub, this is a very good product.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

1

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJuly 28, 2012
from Houston, Tx.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, easy setup
Cons: functions do not work/not available
First off, I can’t get my wireless keyboard to work with the system; it recognizes the dongle, I can select the ‘Keyboard Language’ it just does not work. (Ps. Keyboard does work on my computer.)
Second, there are ‘0’ accessories for this device!?!? (I was hoping for a wireless speaker extension for the rear speakers; or at least extension wires)
Lastly, I really enjoy the sound and picture quality of my new Home Theater System; setup was a breeze; and the controls are, relatively, easy to understand and use.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor Blue Ray

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 13, 2013
from Georgia
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, skips to dvd function automatically
This player has factory built issue. The player automatically switchs to DVD from another function like AUX. It happens everytime even without a disc in the player. DVD tray keeps on opening and closing without you pressing any button. I noticed the same issue with others who own this model. Hence, it is a factory built issue and Samsung needs to return the product and provide a new variant. I would not recommend anyone to buy the product.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Defective Blue-ray

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2012
from Georgia, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: sam's club purchase
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, have to pay shipping to get it replaced/fixed
The Blue-ray is skipping and not synchronized with the audio. This was found immediately when the first set of non-Blue-ray DVDs were played. We played 5 separate DVD's of which 4 were new. The fifth was one we had and was played for many years on our previous DVD player from Samsung as well as others without any issues. When called, Samsung requested that we send it in. We would have had to pay for shipping. The representative did acknowledge it as defective in need of repair. It is a brand new system purchased as a family present. That did not bode well so we are returning it to where we purchased it.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very poor unit

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2012
from Northeastern, PA.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Worked 1 day then it would fade to no sound then come back on then fade out again then just no sound at all. Returning the unit for refund.
We have several Samsung Products that are very good, but this one does not work very well at all
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater with Built-in WiFi (HT-EM53C)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This products can be improved

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 12, 2012
from Charlotte, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Did not meet expectations
We upgraded from a DVD Home Entertainment System to a Blue-ray 3D Home Entertainment System and this Blue-ray system is not cutting it. This system appears to be a lower brand than our previous system. The DVD system has a five disk changer; however this system has only one. It is difficult to open the tray from the console. When using the remote, you must press the keys several times before it execute the command. I do not like the SmartHub. The Apps are difficult to navigate. Lastly, the speakers are smaller than my previous model. I plan to return this model and buy a more upscale system.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.