Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Blu-ray Systems
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)

New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)

Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
22 out of 28(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Review 1 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Sounding system

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 29, 2014
from Daytona Beach, FL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
This Blu Ray Player theatre system is very easy to learn. my only negative is the soft touch buttons on the front. Wish they were just regular push buttons.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Love This

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 25, 2014
from San Diego, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Like all products I buy, I love Samsung. I have phones, tvs, home theater system is my most recent. Love it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second theater system

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
from Theresa, New York
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
I bought an older model a few years ago and I liked the sound quality so much I bought this system which has the wireless surround speakers
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best of the home theaters

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from California
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: excellent software
Samsung might take a look at this home theater to inspire any future products. It has excellent sound, software that works very well, and integrates nicely with online services like Netflix, Viki, etc. Overall, this is the best of the home theaters, IMHO.
Oh yes, and if you have a Samsung TV, the remote automatically controls that too!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome home theatre system

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 18, 2014
from Selangor, Malaysia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, excellent sound system
Simply superb, making home entertainment like a cinema theatre experience without having to leave home.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bang for buck

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 20, 2014
from United States
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
After having larger HTs I was not sure about how good this would sound, but it sounds very good. I would like to see more control over surround sound options. Put in a good DVD and all is well. It works very good for music as too.
Samsung did a great job on this.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my new system!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 19, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: awesome sound
Fairly simple to set up, took me a bit of time to realize all of the features due to the user manual going all over the place, at least in my opinion. I like a straight forward, step-by-step manual. Other than that, it works perfectly, and my husband and I about blew our ears out listening to some awesome music DVDs on our first night! It looks sleek and shiny, and I could not be more pleased, And the price was definitely right for me.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Theater System at a good price.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 24, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
I came here looking at the reviews and saw that a few people had some connectivity issues and was my main concern but after i setup my system on WI-FI it worked flawlessly. Had good connection Netflix, Hulu , Pandora and YouTube worked really good.
The sound is amazing have no problem with it . Sounds beautiful with a sound bar, all around a really great product. Would recommend it to all my friends.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

worth every dollar

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Does not disappoint. Couldn't be more pleased.righteyed
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

loud and crisp, full of features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 19, 2013
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, good sound
the wireless rear speakers are awesome, no more cables from the front of the room.
It has many apps and built-in wi-fi, and if connected to a samsung tv they see each other and makes the remote control work as one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Home theater system,5.1 channel (HT-F5500W)

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 15, 2013
from Michigan
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
very good system sound's great ,only thing I see that could do is give you a lil longer wires for back speakers.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 11, 2013
from Milwaukee, WI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, a plethora of sound settings
Cons: manual needs some work
Great surround sound. I shopped for a month for a sound system for my new Samsung 60" LED. This system more than meets our needs, and is an outstanding value for the money. There are so many options, it took me a while to figure it out. The only criticism regards the manual. There is no index or table of contents. It is heavy on video and light on audio. The FM radio instructions are buried deep within the manual, on page 39. A minor vexation, but an irritation none the less.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Returned sound bar and went for the surround sound!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 17, 2013
from Plainfield, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
I thought I could save a few bucks and went with a highly rated sound bar. Returned the sounds bar and purchased the HT-F5500w for basically the same price and what a huge difference. Great 5.1 surround sound, easy to setup, features worked as expected. I read the comment about the HDMI-Arc feature and agree, my TV has it so it syncs up. I bought a new Samsung UN 65" 6300 series LED Smart TV and no issues with compatibility. The wireless rear speakers connect to a small receiver so there are a few wires between the speakers and wireless rear receiver but none to get to the back of the room. I love the bluetooth interface with my smart phone, very cool to play my whole library of music. Took less than 10 minutes to set up and I love the surround sound.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Pleased!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 30, 2013
from NY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Upgraded to this unit when I purchased a Samsung 60" LED TV. A great match!! Outstanding quality audio and video. Strong audio, wireless surround speakers, easy setup. MAKE SURE you have a TV with HDMI-ARC to take advantage of this units HDMI -ARC connection. If you have an HDMI-ARC TV, then it won't be aggravating when this unit boots up because it goes to directly to D.IN mode by default. Very compatible with my Samsung TV. Love AnyConnect!! Only negative... one HDMI port.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great sound and interface!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 19, 2013
from Seattle, WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, amazing sound, great for the price
Cons: some lag at times
I just bought this surround sound system about a month ago and I love it! It has great sound and I love the wireless back speakers. Being able to play movies of my computer via wireless is amazing. The bass of the sub woofer sounds great! Its like a movie theater in my house now! Highly recommend!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great sound

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 10, 2013
from Manchester, NH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, realistic sound
I use this sound system with the 3D and the sound is like it's in 3D also. The sound is so realistic that with the 3D TV we really seem like we are in the middle of the action. I can't find a thing wrong that I could relate about the product. It was the easiest sound system that I've ever set up!! You've got to love it!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome product however

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2013
from Alaska
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
perform a firmware upgrade straight away. I bought this product and spent 2 hours troubleshooting the connection between the player and my router. My router could see the blu-ray player just fine but the player would drop connection after a minute. After performing a firmware upgrade via USB, the internet popped up on the blu-ray player and has been holding steady ever since. Everything else about this product is fantastic. 10/10 would do.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 4, 2013
from north carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight
This is a really good unit. Loaded with lots of features and love the wireless internet access and all of the apps. Very easy to setup and works well with all of my other devices.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great sound

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 29, 2013
I am really happy with this choice of sound systems. It's great for sports and movies.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2013
from Orlando, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight
This home theater system is amazing, incredible sound and many options. I just bought a 3D TV, it's perfect.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung Home Theater System HT-F5500 Review

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 24, 2013
from Gold Canyon, Az
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
I need to start off saying I am not a fan of HTIB or Home Theater In a Box. This system has a lot of quality and features that make it worth it. The first huge feature is simply the Bluetooth feature so you can stream you favorite music to this sound system with ease. The second best feature is the rear wireless kit that's included in the box. Which makes it easy for the setup process taking minutes not hours to set up your home theater. Time saving is always worth the money. Hope this Helps
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Value for the money

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2014
from Klamath Falls, OR, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, Lightweight
Great for small home theater systems. Does not replace your home stereo as this unit is solely for Blue Ray use. Great sound in small package.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great system but rear speakers aren't satisfactory.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Realistic color, front speakers have good sound output.
Cons: the wireless/rear speakers have poor sound output.
I will take away one star because the rear/wireless speakers barely produce any audible sound unless blasting at full volume (which in my opinion is unreasonable). Otherwise, overall I am very happy with my product and will always purchase only samsung products.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 19, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, good audio quality
Bought this for the thanks giving.
I bought a 46'' 6800 LED TV and I knew that LED TVs need to have home theater to match their stunning picture. The inbuilt speakers with the TVs are just adequate.
I, being an ardent Samsung fan, went with this model. 4400 was too less in features and 6600 was too costly for me. So 5500 was the best bet and I am not disappointed. I can clearly see the difference when I listen from the TV and when I listen from this.
It is loaded with features... HDMI, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, 3D... what not!! I cannot ask for more.
But I am seeing some issues with the Wi-Fi connectivity. I system gets disconnected from the Wi-Fi very frequently... not sure if this is an issue with the product or with my Wi-Fi router. I need to confirm this and will udpate!
But overall... superb product with excellent features and solid quality. GO GET IT!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great but.....

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 30, 2013
from VA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Great system but it appears Samsung forgot to give a way to interface an I Pod with the system which was a huge disappointment for me as my music library is on mine and an excellent way to access. Other than that it's a great system and love how it connects to my Samsung 3D Smart TV. Maybe in the future Samsung may have the initiative to add an accessory to allow I Pod use.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not very good

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 19, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Took 2 of this same product back twice in 2 weeks. First on had a blown speaker right out the box and second the bd player would not play regular DVD after a week. Found out that this product is no longer sold through best buy. Ended up getting money back and going with a different bd player.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Good, the Bad, the Ugly

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 1, 2013
from Lake Norman, North carolina
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I am a Samsung product fan. I have and love the Galaxy S4 and I have a Samsung refrigerator and TV. I purchased this based on my good experiences with the product line.
The Good: Easy initial setup. Wireless combined with Smart Hub makes Netflix and Hulu easier and with a better interface than Roku, Many other free and paid apps are available, including VOD. in fact I'm selling my Roku, this unit has made it obsolete. Speaker quality is OK, adequate for a receiver in this price range. Speakers and receiver are glossy black and attract dust, but cleaning is easy with the supplied cloth. FM radio pulls in nicely and the Bluetooth connectivity is easy and a nice feature. Rear speakers attach to a wireless pickup so there are no wires to run from the receiver to the rear of your listening area.
The Bad: Sound setup is hard to get right. There are settings for speaker distance, levels, and an inadequate equalizer. Additionally there are 3D and Digitally processed effects available through the remote that I found make voices muddy while kicking up the surround effects.
All in all I spent hours trying to get a good balance of voice clarity and surround to an acceptable level.
The Ugly: Unit has a USB port in front covered by a flimsy attached tab that doesn't stay on very well or close flush to the unit. I had raise the level on the center speaker high to get voices to emerge with clarity, but they still sound "tinny" compared to my other (albeit much more expensive) Home Theater.
Overall: Very good value for the price, go higher end if you are an audiophile, you wont get your sound fix here. Great as a second unit or small room setup.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bad speaker connection

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMarch 26, 2014
from Buford GA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, wireless rear speakers, slow response time
Wireless rear speakers lose connection quite frequently. If I only wanted front speakers I would have bought a sound bar.
Remote is picky about angle to main unit. Way too slow to respond to commands.
If you already know everything about DSP, DOLBY PRO LOCIC II, audio return channel, and msmpeg4 v3 maybe you can understand the manual. Otherwise it is useless.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

wifi connection issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I bought the HT-F5500w home theater a few days ago and it has wifi connectivity issues. It looses signal frequently and is very hard to stream hulu plus and netflix with it. I bought this specifically for streaming, but the wifi connection problem makes it impossible to use. The unit suggest contacting my internet provider, yet the smart phones, tablets and laptops already using the wireless connection never have a problem.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Returning unit

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onOctober 15, 2013
from Boston, MA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations, inablilatiy to detect connections
I just installed this on my TV. As most do it this day and age, I connected the unit with an HDMI from my source (DirectTV but any of the others- such as cable are the same) and an HDMI from the unit to the TV. Samsung Anytime lets is all be controlled from 1 remote, which is how is should work. When you power off the system, no problem, but when you power on, the HT-F automatically looks for a digital- in connection. You have to hit the "Source" button (upper right button on player remote) twice to get to the HDMI connection. EVERY TIME you start up. There is no way around this, seriously, how foolish? I went with a Samsung unit to match the TV to allow 1 remote, and simple usage. Having to scroll source every start in not simple or acceptable with today's "SMART" equipment.
Too bad, the rest of the system looks good, sounds more then adequate for a "in- the -box" system.
I DO NOT recommend a Samsung HTS.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

HT-F5500W - Wall Mounts are not an option

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 29, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, compact, good quality
Cons: lack of wall mounting ability, proprietary speaker wire/connectors
The overall sound quality and performance of this product a strong. There is a disappointment with only having one HDMI in port but I can live with that. Easily resolved with a splitter if you are willing to pay for one. The wireless rear speaker is a nice to have option. Keep in mind that you can only use the rear speakers wirelessly. You can not home run the cabling back to the unit itself.
My personal disappointing piece to this purchase is the lack of mounting brackets out there for the speakers. One would think that this is not a Samsung issue but turns out it is. On the back of the speakers there is a square keyhole. Not the standard round. Due to the keyhole being square most wall mounting kits WILL NOT work. Buyer beware if you are looking to mount the speakers on the wall. If you find a solution please post back and if I figure out a solution I will be sure to inform you all.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
9of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for New 5.1 Channel Home Theater System (HT-F5500W)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

WIFI connection issues

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 7, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I bought the HT-F5500w home theater few days ago and its has wifi connectivity issues. It looses signal frequently and is very hard to stream youtube or netflix with it. I bought this because of the allshare play features so that i can use with my galaxy s3 and tab 2 , but the wifi connection problem makes it impossible to use
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-8points
5of 18voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.