Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Home Theater Systems
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)

With the slim, compact Samsung HT-WS1R home theater, space is not a problem. The WS1 can be mounted on tahe wall with the wireless subwoofer placed anywhere in the room. Connect your HDTV - our Samsung LED TVs are the perfect aesthetic match - then sit back and enjoy the show, enhanced by 260 watts of 2.1 channel virtual surround sound. Connect your HDTV - our red Touch of Color™ SAMSUNG LED TVs are the perfect aesthetic match - then sit back and enjoy the show, enhanced by 260 watts of 2.1 channel virtual surround sound.
Rating:
3.1 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
4 out of 10(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)
Review 1 for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what we had hoped for.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 28, 2009
from Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
We just wanted something to boost the audio for our existing Samsung flat panel and it exceeded our expectations. Simple install with just one optical connector needed and the wireless subwoofer went behind our couch. The sound is really very good. With an RCA cable, we also plugged our iPhone into it for tunes.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 10, 2009
from Meridian, Idaho
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
For what we paid this product does everything I want it to do. We use one in the family room and one in the office. Easy to hook up and the the sound is great compared to waht we paid for the 2 we have.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

what a setup!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 12, 2009
from crescent city ca
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
On July 19, 2009 I purchased a Samsung UN55B6000 LED HDTV. After setting up the
TV and playing with the preferences and options for a couple of weeks I decided to try
Netflix. I connected to my computer via HDMI and DVI. Netflix turned out to be pretty
cool so I began to look at DVD players and discovered that Samsung's BD-P4600 Blu-ray disc player was Netflix ready. On August 13, 2009 I purchased a BD-P4600 and after playing with the preferences and options for a couple of weeks I decided to check out Pandora since the BD-P4600 is also Pandora ready. I love Pandora. For those music lovers unfamiliar with Pandora, you need to try it out. After listening to Pandora for about a week I thought it would be great if I could enhance the audio presentation. I looked at Samsung's home theater options and on September 9, 2009 purchased a HT-WS1R soundbar and wireless subwoofer. I didn't want a lot of speakers in the room but at the same time wanted a full sound. The speakers in the TV are very good but when teamed up and balanced with the HT-SW1R the sound presented is full and rich with the added midrange and bass. What a setup! Thank you Samsung! Not only does the system look cool with the touch of color and futuristic design but the video presentation is excellent, the audio presentation is excellent, and Samsung's support
both on their web site and telephone is excellent. The TV can be challenging to setup
if you are not very familiar with the newer electronics as I was, but Samsung is there to
assist with patience in a very professional manner. Hello Samsung, goodbye Sony!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Nice Purchase

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 17, 2009
from Arlington, Virginia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The sound bar matches my Samsung TV very well. The sub woofer is also very nice looking. When hooked up properly the unit sounds great. I am very satisfied with this product.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

How disappointing

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onApril 27, 2010
from San Antonio, TX
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Your LED TV's are great. Your soundbars are far from great as are your blu-ray players. I had to have the main boards replaced in both the blu-ray player and sound bar 10 months after purchasing each item. Sound on the blue ray kept going on and off, blu-ray player kept searching for a disc. I understand that there are problems with most manufactuers blu-ray players. I just expected more from Samsung. I wish Bose had their soundbar out a year ago, that would been an easy purchase.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not thrilled with the sound

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 11, 2009
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Overall, the sound is fine except for the fact that you can always hear the fan or buzz sound from the wireless subwoofer. And every 20 mins or so, the sound completely cuts out for a second.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+65points
67of 69voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great expectations, but failure to achieve

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 29, 2009
from Huntsville, AL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I accepted the bar as part of a package promotion from my dealer. I love the LED television and the blue ray player, but this bar is sub-par. The sound is muddier than the set's own speakers. Like other reviewers, I wanted this bar because the speakers would be rear-facing and I though they would not cover the room Indeed, the set needs a little help, but this bar does not improve the sound a bit. It makes it muddier and while my sub-woofer does not cut in and out, I have to use the power plug to turn it off. The remote is cute but ineffective since you really cannot control the features of the bar. The light comes on when the bar is off -- and you cannot over ride that option. I am sorry, Samsung gets many things right, but this bar is NOT their best effort. I am going to return mine and go with another (not sure which) solution.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Would have had more enjoyment burning the money

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2010
from Indianapolis
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The sound system on my 50" Samsung Plasma is so bad, we struggle to understand what is being said. The store said it was the rear facing speakers. We bought the sound bar because it faced forward. Unfortunately, it is no improvement; the voices are all muddled. We finally took the sound bars down and stored them. Looks like we now have to spend more money to get additional speakers or a surround sound system which just adds clutter. Based on my experience with the 2 Samsung products I own, I wouldn't take a chance on another Samsung product.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't waste your time or money on this!!!

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onNovember 27, 2009
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I had high hopes for this system. It is super easy to install and looks good. However, the rear speaker would not provide constant sound. Rear speaker was intermittent and sporadic. I tried everything possible, moving components, and on-line tech forums. After reading some forums, this is a common complaint. Had I have done more research, I would not have wasted my time or money on this system.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HT-WS1R (2.1 Ch Soundbar, Red)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0 out of 1 recommend this product
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.