Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Home Theater Systems
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver

Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Review 1 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Looks awesome! Works perfectly!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 10, 2012
from Lehi, Utah
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color, modern look, good wattage output, samsung stability
We built our new entertainment setup and were looking for a receiver that looked Modern, not something that has looked the same for 30 years. This was the first one that we found that had a very modern look and had the specs we needed: Several HDMI inputs, decent watt per channel, and component / composite inputs. System puts out some sound!
The only thing I can say I don't like about this receiver is that it doesn't upscale Composite / Component. I have to run a single Component, Composite, and HDMI cable up to the TV from the receiver for each type used. I didn't realize this when I bought it. It isn't a huge deal since I run all the cables through the wall, but it would have been nice to just run a single HDMI cable up the wall. Lesson learned. Next time, I will make sure it upscales the older connections for my Wii / older consoles.
Overall, I LOVE this receiver. It looks amazing and performs perfectly! No complaints with look or performance!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Receiver

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 10, 2011
from West Cost
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have had this receiver for over 6 months now. This was easy to setup and operate. The hardest thing about setting this up was plugging the speaker wire into the back with the knobs. Since there is not a lot of room to work with. Other than that small issue I have had nothing but great audio from this machine. Overall this was a very nice and welcome addition to my home theater.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 8, 2011
from PR
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, multiple connections
I have all my media connected to this product as is excellent. Easy to install & understand. The sound is perfect and the iphone application is outstanding (the audio and video is excellent). This is an easy product to work. Note: I recommend to read the instructions so you can take advantage of all the features. Just to give you an idea, I have the following equipment connected (beleived or not): Wii, 3 DVD's, 1 VCR, 1 iphone, 1 Blue ray, 1 Karaoke and a satelite (DTV).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Have only one complaint

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Overall I am extremely happy with this receiver. Sound quality is quite good, setup was easy (once I got past a duh moment on how the menu tree worked) & I really like the sleek design. I do have one minor issue in regard to the I-pod dock. It will only play songs in order - shuffle/random is unavailable. Per one of the experts on the website there are currently no updates to address this issue. Hopefully, there will be an update in the near future to resolve this litttle annoyance. Until then, I will probably just hook up an independent dock to one of the inputs.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Samsung Mythic™ Touchscreen Cell Phone
3.6 out of 5(179)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Install

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 24, 2011
from Va.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: user manual was hard to understand
The AV receiver works very well. I did have a hard time with the setup and manually adjusting the speakers
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty good for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 7, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Not high def
This is excellent receiver to start off with, not your high end but gets the job done and sound and picture are great. The only down side would be that the response between switching components is slower than usual and sometimes it will default to TV optical when you first turn it on.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

HW-C500

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 25, 2011
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I got this as a gift and I have no other experience to compare it to. That being said I really like the having all the inputs and only have to have 1 output to the TV. That feature is great.
Sound output is sufficient for a small room but if the room is large I would look for a unit with greater power.
IPOD/Iphone compatability is somewhat misleading. Audio features work but video out is limited to certain models. IPOD touch 3rd gen is NOT Supported. Big let down.
Get familiar with Samsung's 800 support line, you will need it for set up. Owners manual was not written for the average person, more likely for a person already familiar with this units functions.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Could Have Been Great...

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 28, 2011
from San Franciso, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, sleek design
Cons: Did not meet expectations, ipod integration
I recently purchased this receiver for my home theater setup. I decided to just get a more entry level receiver, not needing a lot of extras (ie, 7 channel sound, more than 4 HDMI ports, etc). One of the big selling points for me was this integrated iPod dock feature. Unfortunately, it's probably one of the worst attempts at integrating an iPod that I have ever seen.
There is only one option to play from start. It doesn't access any of the playlists I have, or even allow for it to shuffle songs. Every time I turn the unit off, it restarts the songs from track 1. Unless you want to press "next" continually to get to where you left off, you're stuck listening to the same few songs all the time. I will go back to manually hooking it up through the analog stereo connection. This isn't some crazy new technology, and Apple isn't some random brand. It would have been better to just not even including this feature than halfassing it like they did.
This is my first Samsung purchase, and how misleading they made this feature will make it hard for me to want to purchase any future products from them. I really hope Samsung gets their act together and release a firmware update of some sort very soon.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Really freakin difficult to set up

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2011
Pros: looks nice
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Just try and plug something into the back of this thing and watch nothing happen - i still don,t know if i connected everything right - every-time i change devices i have to push the auto assign button until i hear or see something - and the buttons have no tactile feedback so you could just brush up against the face and accidently hit a button - if i didn't have a samsung tv i would have bought something more friendly.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.