Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Home Theater Systems
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver

Rating:
3.45 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
1
13 out of 18(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Review 1 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Greatest

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByOGtek
onDecember 10, 2012
from Alabama
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, sleek design, cinematic sound, various compatability, latest features, brand trusted for quality
Absolutely one of the greatest surround sound systems I've ever heard perform outside of an actual movie theater with stadium seating! Samsung is always my number one choice, because Samsung is the highest quality electronics manufacturer in today's market. I know electronics pretty well seeing as its my job and my hobby to know everything about any electronic device or manufacturer or type of device including TVs, Blu-Ray players, Sound systems, Cell phones, Video game consoles, Computers, Tablets, Digital Cameras, and just about anything that uses electricity. If you don;t go with Samsung..your wasting your money, and that is the cold hard truth.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

perfect

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysoylu
onAugust 8, 2012
from islip
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, Lightweight
easy setup and best costumer service
best price ever
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT HTS for the price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySoutherGUY
onApril 21, 2011
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I found it easy to set up and quick to enjoy!
I did add a powered sub-woofer which really made a huge difference in sound quality, especially from Blu Ray... you get that earth moving experience!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

first one bad..2nd one works great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bynamyzzo
onDecember 29, 2010
from fort wayne, IN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
..First one had no video..20 mins after doinkn' with it = the unit power off and never came back on..
2nd unit = wokring great..All the hdmi connections I need for sat/blue ray/xbox..etc..
Basically use this remote to control my Samsung plasma/Blue ray and this Home theater unit..
Sometimes turning on the tv and when Anynet engages = it turns on the home theatre system and goes to a different Input = but one button click and I am back in business..
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysjcfr
onNovember 28, 2010
from OK
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
good sound and very good connections to the play station for my baby are all happy with the sound that provides the home theater samsung
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

C560S Home Theatre System

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byskyredline
onApril 8, 2010
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
4 HDMI inputs handle both video & audio - no need for any extra cables for audio! System connected via HMDI inputs to Blu-ray (Sharp) player, Cable / PVR box & a DVD (Panasonic) recorder - single HDMI output to LCD 52" TV (Sharp Aquos). Seamless switching between all components! iPod cradle included with system - works great & charges iPod. Smart sound - nice feature when it works which is most of the time. Was concerned about small speaker size but excellent sound (located in room 12'x16'). Automated Sound Calibration (ACS) seems to be better than trying to manually. Overall excellent system.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good, but could be better

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCoping
onFebruary 20, 2012
from Bloomington, MN
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: great sound thru upgraded speakers
Cons: included speakers are disappointing
I've owned this unit for about one year. I found the c560s with speakers to be cheaper than the c500 without speakers! The center and surround speakers are OK. The sub is passive and probably contains a paper cone that became very muddy sounding after 6 months of moderate use. I upgraded all 5.1 speakers and WOW - what a difference! Better speakers really let the receiver shine.
The receiver itself is 4 out of 5 stars. It's menu does not appear on my 50 inch Samsung Plasma TV. You have to sit in front of the receiver to change settings. The menu is not intuitive to me and the owner's manual doesn't go far enough in describing settings.
I recently added a Roku and I can only get the video to pass thru if I use the AUX hdmi port when my Samsung Blu-Ray player is turned on. After 20 minutes of inactivity my blu-ray player shuts down and I lose my Roku signal. Still working to solve this problem.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Bang fo the Buck!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byblitz928
onMarch 11, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: no mounting threaded insert for sattelite speakers
Honestly, I had read reviews that this was a good unit, if you chose a speaker upgrade. I really am impressed with the sound overall, and can honestly say, that I will not be needing the Klipsch HD 300 speaker package that I intended to upgrade to. It's great out of the box!, My living room is small at around 18'x20' and this set up is just about perfect!! I recommend this for anyone needing a low entry price, home theater set up.
The one con I can mention is that the satellite speakers do not have threaded grommet to mount to my ceiling brackets, I had to modify the back of the (4) satellite speakers to mount to the ceiling brackets.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for the price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byfastmarc
onFebruary 10, 2011
from Oak Creek, WI
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: bit confusing
Sound is very good, options are very good, setup was a bit complicated due to the multi-level menus and abbreviations (reading the owners manual helped, but it too is long and complicated) the auto surround set-up feature worked great and was easy to do. Have troubles with powering on and off sometimes, maybe it's due to the HDMI cables and loss of signal but, when I turn my cable box on the receiver powers up and then shuts off after a few seconds. When I power it back on, it switches to a different input. Sometimes when I power off my cable it powers off the receiver, other times it won't...weird.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome sound and picture, but...

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySauceten
onJanuary 17, 2011
from FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: lack of ipod ontrol
Purchased this unit as part of a redesign of our HT system. I have an older rear-projection HDTV that has only one HDMI input, so a big factor in my choosing units such as this one was the 4 HDMI inputs. The fact that there is no pass-through when the unit is on is neither here no there, because we watch everything with the HT system on anyways.
Sound is excellent, although when I saw the speaker size with this unit I chose to use the speakers that came with our older HT system rather than the newer smaller ones. I added a Bluray player to this unit, and wow. What a difference both in sound clarity and separation, and picture, even with the older TV, which runs 1080i.
Th only drawback I have with this unit is the lack of control over any iPod attached. It seems as though your only choice is to listen to every song on your iPod in alphabetical order? Expected more than functionality than that, especially from Samsung.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C5500)
4.2 out of 5(586)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Good System for the price.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySamsungFan30
onDecember 7, 2010
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, clean crisp sound, great integration with other samsung systems.
Cons: passive subwoofer, a/v receiver could be smaller.
Works best when hooked up with other Samsung electronics (BluRay, LCD, etc) as the Anynet function takes intelligent control of all your systems. The sound is crisp and clear and fills a good sized room. The only drawback is the bass response from the sub which is to be expected since its not a powered sub. If you spend up and add a powered sub, this system would go from "4 Stars" to "5 Stars".
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not user friendly

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByGeo2far
onJuly 24, 2012
from Miami, FL
I have used this product for:2-5 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Nice features and sound production. Accessing the menu is another thing all together. They could have done a better job.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

home theather

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByKath2o
onJune 5, 2012
it is a god equipment. good sound and picture. i wish it was wireless.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This product is outdated.

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCanoe64
onApril 17, 2011
from Rochester,NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Will not work with my HDMI Satellite.
Controls sluggish.
Have 51" 2011 Plasma TV from same builder.
Not happy at all. Returning to store.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great product but needs some fixing/ updates

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFred1Two
onMarch 7, 2011
from WA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Too big, in urgent need of some firmware fixes
Features: Very good, except you can´t use them all. For example "Power saving" will switch the Receiver OFF while watching. Well, it saves power - thats good.
The sound fades out sometimes and comes back. I have everything on HD cables to a brand new HD Comcast box connected to a Samsung TV, Samsung BlueRay Player. I did not figure what the problem is.
The Anynet+ feature is very good. It will switch everything off when you switch your TV off. The other way around -switching everything on with one remote, won´t work. Not sure it can.
The installation manual states to connect your HD TV Box to the "SAT" input (back of the receiver). Switching the receiver and TV on will activate the "TV Source" input from the receiver by default each time, not the SAT (or last used) input source. Annoying to switch multiple buttons (Power on, Source) before you get your TV working. Not sure this can be fixed with a proper firmware update.
Using the Iphone/ Ipod in the dock plays your song over and over again. There is no random play of the songs or any way to let you listen to all your songs saved on your Apple device. You always have to flip through your song list. Not sure this is an Apple or Samsung firmware problem.
I like the radio feature on the receiver, even I do not listen to radio broadcasters at my home. An integrated WLAN Radio would let me reconsider.
Performance: Very good and fit my needs.
Design: I like the black design but the dimension of the device is way to big. Will not fit into all furniture if you want to place it inside a TV tower. The surface (front panel) is slightly electro-static (sp?) what catches alot of dust.
Value: You get what you pay for. The price was fair.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
BD-P3600
4.2 out of 5(100)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Several problems

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByReh3
onDecember 14, 2010
from Mesa Arizona
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Frequently refuses to respond to remote. Will turn on from remote if I turn it on first but not if I turn on cable receiver/TV first.
No working code in Cox HD-DVR remote so I cannot turn receiver on or off with this remote.
Sound volume occasionally surges accompanied by sudden sound from surround speakers. Does same thing with Smart volume on or off.
Everything seems to work better if I turn off anynet and BD-live in receiver, Blu-ray player and TV - all are Samsung.
If you could fix these I would be very satisfied with this receiver.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Less than Happy

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bychazz7
onOctober 27, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
Receiver is quite good...sub is useless...surround speakers are pretty bad as well. Take my advise and by a receiver on your own and a powered sub.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Wish I would have done my homework

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By1crazyfatboy
onJune 23, 2010
from Jacksonville, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I bought this unit to match my TV and Blue-Ray. After installation, I found it lacks performance and many features. When you connect the iPod you have zero functionality. You can’t view your menus or songs via the TV or anywhere; all you have is skip to the next song function. Quality and power output was less than expected. The neighbors Sony All-in One surround sound, sounds better and has more features at half the price. Big disappointment. Wish now I would have done my homework.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Major Disappointment

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byleucadian
onApril 7, 2010
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I purchased this system to go with my Samsung 55" 3D TV and Blu-Ray Player. Unfortunately, it simply does not make the cut.
1. The included speakers have less sound quality than the one's inbuilt into the TV.
2. The subwoofer is a "passive" (non-amplified) speaker. It has NO punch at all and you can barely detect that it is even producing any sound at all.
3. The volume is extremely limited. At maximum volume, it does not reach the maximum sound levels of even an intermediate setting on the TV's inbuilt speakers.
On the good news front, the receiver has a ton of inputs, if you need them, and the included iPod dock works very well. Additionally, the remote works well with the TV and Blu-Ray player from Samsung.
Summary: Listened to it for five minutes and returned it to Best Buy.
Buyer Beware.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 5.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

loudness

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bykcirtap51370
onOctober 19, 2012
from Springville, Iowa
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Cons: Did not meet expectations
This system is not very loud at maxim loudness. I use it in the basement with no carpet to absorb the sound. It is a compiled with all Samsung components .
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.