Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Home Theater Systems
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver

Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
18 out of 25(72%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Review 1 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Receiver!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAtotheJ
onAugust 4, 2012
from Chico, Ca
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Great combo of price and performance! Love the Anynet+ connection with my 46" Series 7 LED TV.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Sound I ever got from a AV Receiver

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPeteFL
onMarch 8, 2011
from Bonita Springs,FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, super sound
Cons: no setup display on tv
This receiver has an amazing sound. I used to have an Onkyo TX-SR806 but the Onkyo comes not close to the sound from the Samsung. Each movie is an adventure. I connected a 7.1 speaker system (active subwoofer 250W) and it sounds like a movie theater. The only thing I couldn't get to work is the 7.1 sound. I only get the 5.1 with the movies. I just put in 4 starts for the features, because it has not setup displayed on the TV (OSD) only on the little display from the receiver. But once you are done with the setup it doesn't matter.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent sound

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybradthebrat
onFebruary 9, 2011
from KS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
has excellent sound reproduction, doesn't miss the highs or the lows or the in betweens. anynet from the tv doesn't turn it on only off. 3d pass through is a must since i have 3d bluray and works flawlessly
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am satisfied with this product.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByBenny76
onJanuary 12, 2011
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I like the quality of sound and performance. I love the 4 HDMI ports. It met all of my needs. Good choice!!!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Audiophiles Rejoice

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByScuiter
onNovember 29, 2010
from Maricopa, AZ
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, crystal clear
Cons: none
At first I was apprehensive when it comes to audio because I've always been a diehard Sony advocate and I've had several of their 5.1's and even a couple of 200+ DVD/CD units. Since this was one of the first 7.2 systems I saw on the market, I thought I would go ahead and give it a try. This is the best money I have spent on a receiver in a long time. The sound replication is awesome and the clarity can't be beat. Even on the BluRay's where you need to crank the system up even louder, I never have to go above 50 and that really rattles the walls. I have several other Samsung products and I find I'm buying more and more.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
18 cu. ft. Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
4.4 out of 5(16)
 
 
 
3.4 cu. ft. Washer
4.3 out of 5(76)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybrant
onNovember 6, 2010
from yuba city CA 95991
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
this reciver has great sound and power little hard to get it set the way you whant but other then then that it is great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It !!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjeffy54
onNovember 5, 2010
from harley54
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Realistic color, sound quality
Easy to hook up right out of the box ! . Beautiful Picture Quality and the sound was great . Loud and so crisp , Just like being in the theaters !!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Receiver!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydook12
onSeptember 20, 2010
from pennsylvania
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, clear sound, great picture
I am thrilled with the sound and the clear picture it gives my component input-only projector. This receiver allows me to play DTS HD Master Audio and Dolby True HD audio from the Blu-ray player through the AV speakers while watching the video through the component inputs of my projector - through trial and error I have discovered that not all receiver brands allow you to do this (i.e. Sony).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loud and Powerful!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byspacelight
onSeptember 16, 2010
from Macomb, Michigan
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, cool brushed look hidden buttons on front
Cons: doesn't have arc feature, optical replaces the arc feature
First I need to say YOU MUST DOWNLOAD AND UPDATE THE LATEST FIRMWARE. This is a must if you want an audio return using your optical, otherwise your sound will cut out because this does not have a ARC return but using the optical will be the exact type of return. This receiver is easy to setup and has seperate volume controls per speaker! I have installed all IN WALL 200 watt speakers and using a KLIPSCH 400 front firing sub and the house SHAKES!!!! perfectly clear and smooth sounding. Please, if you buy this you must make sure your running the new firmware. It's easy to update with a USB drive, takes less than 10-min.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySRTexas
onMay 29, 2010
from Fort Worth, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros:
Cosmetics - clean panel, nice display, all adjustments behind lower front panel door. Nearly all adjustments are also available from the remote.
Technical - Low weight, high power, runs cool, plenty of headroom. Great slew rate/rise time, power is instantly there, transient performance can be heard. Bass is very clean, without the power supply or transient smear of many other "quality" amplifiers. Treble is very clear. wire brushes are very clean and well defined. The company's claim to "clear" is well-founded. The sound is clear, lacking or adding nothing. Samsung got this all-digital power amplifier "right". Automatic sound control (setup) is easy and gives a very clean, clear result. This unit replaced several other recent models in my system (Yamaha, Sony, Pioneer, Denon, Onkyo). All of them had sophisticated setup options as far as microphone positioning and time window/delay for measurement. This unit uses a music signal rather than pink noise for automatic setup. It apparently uses the music signal as a template to adjust the system. I tried setup microphone placement in several positions, and the best was as directed in the instruction manual ... at ear level in the listening position. The "smart volume" option works great. It not only keeps loud commercials down. It brings periods of soft conversation up. It has a long enough delay to not affect musical dynamics. Logitech has updated its equipment library, so there was no problem setting up the Harmony remote. This has been the easiest setup I've ever done, and in a difficult room at that. Video is outstanding - crystal clear and sharp. I use JVC blu-ray, a Phillips blu-ray, and an Oppo HD DVD player. The sound is excellent. The video is remarkably good ... as sharp and clear as anyone could want ... equal or better than the other receivers, I've owned. When changing video sources, the HDMI "handshaking" may take a few seconds, during which there may be no picture or a one-time flicker in the picture as it sets itself up. After that, the picture is very stable. Had some questions for Samsung that were solved in a few minutes. Customer support was cordial and very good. I bought this unit because of the digital power amplifier and the power supply design. Based on its performance, I'm glad I did.
Cons: None
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+22points
26of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE IT!!!!! One of my best purchases!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySkylineview
onMay 18, 2010
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I bought this to replace my Harman/Kardon. Everything works like it should and I think it sounds better than m HK. Only complaint is lack of iPod Randomization and direct track/playlist selection.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good bang for buck

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRon4tech
onNovember 14, 2012
from Jamaica. NY
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: powerful, sleek design, good value
Cons: has no 3d pass through
This product is a good value for the price, the sound quality is good and the video looks crisp. I should have spent more and got the 3D version.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mind of its own

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMIDIBear
onDecember 30, 2011
from LA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
If it weren't for the fact that every time I turn this unit on it tries to be helpful and select an input of its own choosing I could love this receiver. If it would stop trying to be smart and just stay as I left it when I turned it off I would be content. Aside from that it's a very nice product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

i love this machine

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjeffreyeric
onDecember 15, 2011
from toronto ontario
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive
Cons: Did not meet expectations
but every 30 minutes or so the sound drops out while every thing ealse remains constant. it is sad that it is so easy to use and set up the reciever , and then the sound drops out and then returns. i have had dennon , pioneer , jvc , kenwood , and this is the best. i did the firmware upgrade but it did not resolve the trouble.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Audio

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByHallowed14u
onFebruary 16, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Was a little complicated at first understanding and trying to navigate through the menu options, but several hours changed that. I am now familiar with all the inputs and its functions. As far as sound goes, I would say my expectations are just about met.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome, very satisfied

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bydoodlebug99
onFebruary 6, 2011
from Madison, IN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, great sound, hdmi inputs are great!
Cons: Too big
Unit is a little on the big side but it makes for a statement. I love it and have no real complaints. Sounds a lot better than my previous Onkyo (believe it or not).
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good sound for price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bythor66770044ww
onDecember 30, 2010
from parma, oh
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
good sound for price, easy to install, came well recommended
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

For the price, this receiver has everything you would want in a Home Theater system.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTrainnguy1
onDecember 26, 2010
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
For the price, this receiver has everything you would want in a Home Theater system.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

OK

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySep16000
onNovember 30, 2011
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: what it can do it does well
Cons: lack of features
Good receiver for the money. Ipod functionality is useless..
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

great sound, bad features

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bydrxlu311
onJune 29, 2011
from Phila, PA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, not enough features for the price
I really like this unit's design and performance. the sound is crisp and clear.
that's where the good stuff ends. It lacks the features that a great receiver has, such as
- ability to turn surround off and just have stereo
- the sound cuts out when going from a commercial to the show and visa verse, also when changing channels.
- it does not keep your assigned audio channels for inputs. I constantly have to push the audio assign button to get audio for my devices.
If your looking for an entry level receiver with few features but good quality this is your device. The main reason I bought this product is because I had other samsung products and have been impressed, but not so much with this one.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

REMOTE

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByWBGC
onAugust 5, 2010
WHEN UNPACKAGED REMOTE ENTER BUTTON WOULD NOT WORK. CANNOT SET UP REAR BACK SPEAKERS NO MATTER WHAT. WHEN USING TONE FUNCTION IT IS AUDABLE IN REAR SURROND SPEAKERS, HOWEVER WHEN ATTEMPTING TO SET THE SPEAKER SIZE FOR THEM IT KEEPS SHOWING NONE.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

This is a horrible product remote wont work

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByMrTou52
onOctober 15, 2011
from 5322 Ridgeturn Houston Texas 77053
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
I sent it back and brought another Receiver. Get something else.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Great Sound... When It Works....

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BySoundGuySteve
onJuly 10, 2011
from New Jersy
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, glitchy
I really want to love this device. It has everything I need and nothing I don't, and at a good price point. It's very sleek and powerful, love the HDMI and Optical ports. It has a good bit of power and sounds GREAT. But, none of that matters when the sound drops out more than it's on. When watching movies this thing just randomly drops audio from any digital source, repeatedly, HDMI and Optical, making it really frustrating to enjoy a movie. Audio also loses sync between commercials on TV, always missing the first second or two, but stays on for the program. Fine on video games, which is weird because I watch movies and play video games on the same device, PS3. Would love it if Samsung would release a software update fix, or just admit fault and offer a discount on other Samsung gear to owners of this receiver. Everything else Samsung makes is awesome, don't know what went wrong.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Beware this unit has technical issues

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bybloodp
onNovember 20, 2010
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: no arc support and technical bugs
If you have a new TV like I do and your TV has interent access and you want to listen to the audio output from those internet apps thru your receiver you are going to have a problem. There is a technical bug when you output audio from the tv to the receiver thru the optical port which is the only way to do it becasue this receiver doesn't support ARC which would send the audio thru the hdmi cable. The audio will just cut in and out. There WAS a firmware update that solved this issue back in May 2010 but it dissappeared off the support website page in June. I have been waiting a week to hear back from Samsung 2nd level support, still no reply. Allot of people are complaining about this issue. I have to disconnect the hdmi cable from the tv to the receiver everytime I want to watch netflix from my TV. It bites.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

very disappointing - wish i could return it

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bysteveo
onMay 21, 2010
from San Jose
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I'm using it with a new samsung 52 LCD and Samsung Blueray player...anynet won't turn on receiver but turns it off. Dropouts on video...
I'm impressed with the LCB and Blueray player.... but the C700 is a big disappointment... I hope their will be a SW update soon.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Needs work

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByLookedgoodonpaper
onApril 29, 2010
from Connecticut
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Audio drop outs and problems with Anynet+ after ensuring confugured properly are unnaceptable.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
14of 26voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.