Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Home Theater Systems
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver

Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
15 out of 17(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Review 1 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unbelievable flexibility and sound control

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 1, 2014
from VA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Durable, flexibility
Cons: speakers
To fully understand this system it takes much more than 30 minutes with the manual or setup and go. I tried several of the settings based on equipment changes and add-ons and this system sounds remarkable. Watching movies was almost like being at the theater, high def television(it changes as the channel offers) was great as well, kids played video games and we all listened to music on this system. Everyone was impressed...it could really rock out, make you feel like you were there in the movie or race or game. I upgraded the speakers that came 2with it for my own preferences. Other than that it is perfect!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HW-C770BS 7.1 Home Theater

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 25, 2012
from Honolulu, HI
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Definitely satisfied. Really wish the subwoofer was a bit more powerful, but this surround sound system is a great off the shelf system!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great sound for the price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 7, 2011
from Warner Robins, GA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Great sound! Be sure to take the time and setup the audio preferences... 3D Passthrough works great! Wish it had more HDMI inputs!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy set up and Great sound

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 21, 2011
from Chicago, Illinois
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I have a Med Living room and this was a replacemnt for a Samsung system that I already owned. My old system could not handle 3D so I replaced the whole system with this one. It did a great job on sound. It was not made for a large living room but a small to Med living room. So far so good. Also a little hint for people who put Sound systems in a cabinet. Cut the area out in the back of your cabnet that is enclosed. It keeps the all sound systems from over heating and gives the system a good air flow. And then makes it easy to install speaker wires and cords. Also use a twisty to clean up speaker wire so it does not get tangled up behind the cabnet.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value, Great Sound and Great Design...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 23, 2011
from Crestview, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, great sound, great design
Cons: no 2.5mm or 3.5mm input
Nothing better for this price! The sound is great, the design is great and the value is unbeatable! I have my system setup with two of the four surround speakers mounted as Front Height Speakers, basically five speakers mounted on the front wall and two speakers mounted in the rear. This is accomplished by using the Dolby Digital IIz setting instead of the Dolby Digital IIx. It sounds like you are at the Movie Theater! The four HDMI Inputs allow you to connect all of your electronic equipment so you can enjoy the rich surround sound on your Blu-Ray players, Gaming Systems and your Satellite or Cable Boxes. I only wish Samsung offered an external input so you could plug in 2.5mm and 3.5mm jacks instead of just an external input for I-POD and Apple Products.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent sound

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 22, 2010
from Sunrise, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
love this product, after i installed all the speakers around the living room, I used the microphone to adjust the sound, I'm watching my old movies again and is like a new experience, also for the regular TV shows, me and my wife sometimes we hear noise coming from other rooms and i just the great surround sound music sounds great (even just the regular radio)
CONS
the only con that i had (even though the sound and quality is great) is the sub-woofer is huge (good thing i was able to hide it inside the entrainment center but the size is around 12x15x16.
Don't know who fault is but the comcast remote control can't find the signal for the AV Receiver so i can turn the tv, cable box and the receiver with the comcast remote
PROS
good value for your hard earn money $$$$, if you already have a blue-ray DVD or a 3d DVD player is a excellent add on.
Installation was very easy and fast (taking away the time that took me to figure it that i purchased cheap HDMI cables and i need it good quality).
hope this info help you to make your decision and sorry if i made any spelling or gamma mistakes.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HW-C770BS

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 3, 2010
from cocoa, florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight, excellent sound!, ipod/iphone capability
I got this unit as an equivalent replacement for an older model I sent to Samsung for repair. Samsung service reps were very helpful (from Philippine and US Call Centers) and very knowledgeable of their products.
The replacement unit was very easy to set up and the quality of the sound/audio is very comparable, if not better, to some more expensive home theater systems. In addition, it has features, like the iPod/iPhone connection and the 4 HDMI input capability and user friendly remote control.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
BD-P1500
3.8 out of 5(28)
 
 
 
3.9 cu. ft. Steam Washer
4.4 out of 5(99)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good system

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 3, 2010
from Jacksonville, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I like it. It works great. Set up for a Medium sized Living area.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Owesome Sound System

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 21, 2010
System sounds way better than other systems. Easy to hook up. For the price and quality of sound it is a great buy. I would strongly recommend it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Setup

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 5, 2010
from NRH, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This home theater looks great, and sounds even better. This is one of the best home theater's I have bought. I highly recommend this system to anyone looking to upgrade. It has the new (4 total) HDMI 1.4 which supports 3D, and ethernet. Install was easy, and the Auto Sound Calibration on the receiver adjusted all 7 speakers perfectly to the speaker locations.The iPhone/iPod cradle works great as well too. Movies have never sounded better when you use the Dolby True HD setting. This is actually a 7.2 system if you wanted to add 2 subs. There are a lot of great things to say about this, but I'll keep it short. Just buy it, and you wont be disappointed.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

nice system, excellent sound, very good value

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 6, 2011
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: Too big
Nice system for the money, although i enjoy it, i have a samsung television connected to it, and dvd player. when insert a DVD, the dvd, receiver and television all turn on. Unfortunately it doesn't auto detect signals from non-samsung devices and it unit has to be manually told whether it is receiving a signal through component, HDMI, analog, etc. Sometime when i turn on my cable box i have to push another button to let it know to use the HDMI signal although there isn't another signal being sent. I love the sound my son likes it better than the theatre. the sub is big as is the actually receiver but Allshare enabled me to hide all the equipment in the closet and the television and its remote enables me for the most part to control all of the functions. They told me this units replacement is considerable better and auto detects signals.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-D7500)
4 out of 5(61)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was worth it

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 17, 2011
Pros: Inexpensive
It was def worth the money good sound at affording price !
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Must Have with your 3D Home Theater

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 20, 2011
from Portland, Maine
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight, a 3d must have
Cons: weak key mounting system
I found the ease of operating this system is fairly straight forward with some time, so user friendly is learned and not assumed. Sound quality is good, and enjoy the Auto Setup Mode. Based on it's specs it is perfect for the room I have the system in. Any bigger room I would look into more efficent speakers and more power. Only complaint I have is the Key Mount system on the speakers. It is plastic so too soft and not durable. Make sure the brackets are farily loose when adjusting the angles of the speakers or you will stress and stretch the Key Hole. Wished Samsung had a Steel Nut molded into the speaker cabinet instead.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great for the money

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 27, 2010
from San Antonio, Tx
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, auto speaker set up
Cons: speaker wire too small, no mounting holes on speakers for mounts
what i like the best is the auto set up of the speakers; once i had it installed and used the mic for the auto set up was great. the 2 things i didnt like is that the speakers do not have mounting holes for my ceiling mounts and wire that comes with it is way too small; bought 14gag wire for it and makes a difference. besides that i bought another one for my son and wire for it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Buyer

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 18, 2010
from Seattle WA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color
Cons: Too big
It is a nice product for the price & it sounds great. Be nice to have wireless speakers.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent value!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 13, 2010
from Central Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
I purchased this all in one system to go with new home theater set-up with a 3D LED TV and Blu-ray. The sound production is very good with easy set-up (keep the manual handy) and fine tuning capabilities either manually or via the Auto Sound Calibration ... a nice feature for an entry level system. This system provided an integrated solution right out of the box with matched components for my set-up.
This system has latest HDMI 1.4 with 3D support which was a definite decision factor in this purchase. One disappointment was the lack of support for ARC (Audio Return Channel) even though the 2010 Samsung TV's have ARC support via the HDMI-CEC input.
Also included is an iPod/iPhone cradle (a cost add-on for some higher end systems) to provide access to all your digital content including video, tunes and internet radio stations. A network connection to access internet content for the non-Apple users in the crowd would be a plus. Perhaps since HDMI 1.4 spec includes a channel for network connectivity this can be worked out in a future firmware update.
Anynet+ provides the integration I was seeking with my other Samsung components. Anynet+ is pretty much plug and play although a bit cumbersome with non-Samsung devices connected to the AVR, like a cable DVR box or game console.
Remote is typical Samsung remote, gets the job done but still no support for universal devices. Hopefully the RMC30C2 remote will be released soon and will combine all the Samsungs remotes scattered through out my theater and will hopefully have the universal remote support as advertised. Perhaps the Samsung Remote app for iPhone will continue to be developed and will add control for the AVR and other Anynet+ devices and work on the iPad.
Satellite speakers are sleek and attractive, a bit boxy but not obtrusive. Overall they seem to carry the sound across all spectrum's pretty evenly. The speakers will not be the final solution for my system but this added to the overall cost to value. The powered sub is a nice touch and fits well into my set-up. The supplied speaker wires could stand to be upgraded to something more substantial.
Overall this is a great system that performs as advertised so far. My final decision to purchase was primarily influenced by the cost to value ratio which is excellent.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
55" Class (54.6" Diag.) 8000 Series 3D 1080p LED HDTV
4.8 out of 5(334)
 
 
 
3D Blu-ray Disc™ Player (BD-C6900)
4.2 out of 5(249)
 
 
 
 
 
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good HtiB

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 28, 2010
from Williamsburg, Virginia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I put the system together in about 45-mins. As you know most cables that are sent with these type of systems are cheap. I went with 14g what a difference. Had a left over sub cable reused that. very loud system and clear. Basic settings are good, have not had a chance to set up with mic settings. will post an update when done.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good features

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onDecember 22, 2010
from Michigan
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display
Cons: Not high def, Did not meet expectations, underpowered subwoofer
Overall the product is not bad. However, the first unit I purchased was returned because subwoofer pre-out did not work. The second unit, after 30 minutes of powerup, the subwoofer stopped working again. The problem only occurs when using (the most important part of the system) Dolby 7.1 surround sound. If it's set to 2-channel stereo, the subwoofer works, albiet very low output. Bass is cranked up to max as well as the subwoofer out. Very little bass.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2012
from toledo, ohio
Pros: Durable
Cons: Poor quality
Loose connection on hdmi signal ranging from a second to a longer than a min. then i had to use the remote to change to different input and go back to the hdmi.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 7.1 Channel Home Theater Receiver
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wheres the sound?

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJuly 24, 2011
from Hinesville GA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: none
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, bad quality for the price.
I was thinking i was paying alot of money for something thats gonna work great and sound awesome. WRONG, i couldnt have been further from the truth. I have to have the volume turned up to 30 to be able to hear the tv through it. I was also hoping to use it as a sterio with my ipod but it dosnt have a random setting to use with the ipod witch is garbage because i have to start over at the first song on the ipod everytime i remove it from the dock and put it back in. i would like to have been able to still control what i play when my ipod is connected. i do not like the product and wish i could take it back and get my money back. i have a surround system in my bedroom that i paid $60 for that is louder and sounds better from logitech.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.