Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Sound Bars
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System

Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
27 out of 34(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Review 1 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great sound

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 19, 2012
from Orangevale, CA, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I love my soundbar. I had read some complaints about it not being "bassy" enough. Wrong, this thing rocks. I love to crank up Pandora.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 15, 2012
from McAllen, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Searched around and this is a great speaker for its value.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 24, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Great value & design. Works perfectly for what we wanted.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great sound

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 26, 2012
from garrett,IN
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Cons: no bluetooh
to many pros to list, my favorite is the sports sound feels and sounds like you are right there. another great product from samsung.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Compact with great sound

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 26, 2012
from Millersville, MD
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
With great sound coming through my audio bar combined with my television, what else can I ask for?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Sound

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 16, 2012
from Spring, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight
I have an older surround sound theater system but it does not sound quite as good as the newer systems. Instead of investing in another complete system, I bought the sound bar to complete my new 3D Plasma TV and Blue Ray DVD system. The sound is great and I can't watch TV without it being turned on.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This 2.1 Setup fits my space PERFECTLY!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 12, 2012
from Maple Glen, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, extra hdmi ports, optical audio!
I was in the store after Christmas looking for a speaker system for my room, and wanted surround sound for the TV when I'm watching movies. The HW-D550 is just what I needed.
The soundbar sits perfectly on top of my TV cabinet, and the remote sees it immediately from everywhere in my room, and the wireless subwoofer is responsive! Samsung once again for the win!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 10, 2012
from Lakeland, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Exceptionally easy to set up. Several input options. Fills a small to medium sized room with plenty of "surround" sound. Subwoofer is more than adequate. If you don't want (or need) a complete surround sound solution...this sound bar is more than adequate.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great sound!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 8, 2012
from Asheville, NC
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Lightweight
Love the size and look of this sound bar. There is no need to purchase a surround sound system
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You need this product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 7, 2012
from PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Enhances the whole experience!!! You need to add this to your Samsung System.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome audio product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2011
from Dallas, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: great design
The Samsung surround AirTrack is really a great product that produces audio in a very good quality. The woofer is linked via wireless to the main unit so you can place it where you want in your room and do not have to worry about cables.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, good sound
Great product! Very easy out of box set. Very good sound and goes great with my Samsung 55'' TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blastin' Sound Bar

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2011
from Central California at the moment.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: easy peasy hook-up
As I mentioned in a tv review, I got this sound bar because my wife is deaf in one ear and has a hard time hearing the tv and I do not want to blow the speakers. This thing makes it sound like you are in a movie theatre without having to turn up the tv too high.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

STRONG RECOMMENDED! I LOVE IT!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 24, 2011
from USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, amazing sound
Cons: glass desigh
I really love this product.
- PRO
Amazing Sound & Performance.
- CON
The remote control only works with Samsung TVs
Glass Desigh, quickly scratches
By the way, I found the a "professional" Review by Sound And Vision Magazine. Here is the BOTTOM LINE:
"""This is a very solid system that delivers great performance at a not-too-lofty price. Although I wished its subwoofer were a little less restrained, the system's overall fidelity was unmistakable. I was bummed that the otherwise well-connected soundbar lacked a USB port for connecting an iPod, but you can buy Samsung's optional wireless dock to overcome this limitation. If you've got a good TV with a sharp-looking picture, this system will match it with smooth sound and smooth style."""
I hope this review could be useful for you! Regards!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HEARD IT, LOVED IT

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 5, 2011
from AUGUSTA, GA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
MUST HAVE SAMSUNG PRODUCT TO COMPLETE THE FENG-SHUI OF HD/3D QUALITY WE ALL DESERVE.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Great Sound Bar

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 7, 2011
from Round Rock, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: rich - realistic sound
Now I can hear what's going on with my TV... like never before. The sounds are wonderful dynamic and alive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Big Sound Little space required

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 18, 2011
from MASS.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Inexpensive, space saving, wireless subwoofer, saving a few hundred $$
Cons: none
I was thinking of buying a BOSE 2.1 souround sound system then I saw a display in the store and checked ot out. It was this Samsung sound home thearter bar. The sound was amazing. I played with it for awhile then went to the BOSE display and played with that. I could not justify spending 3 times as much money to buy the BOSE when the SAMSUNG sounded just as good and it has a wierless subwoofer!. I got it home and hooked it upr to my Samsung 6050 LED HD TV and it was like we were at the movies. Excelent souround sound out of this 2.1 soundbar will blow you away and saving a few hundred dollars is not bad either.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent soundbar.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 8, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Excellent soundbar. I like the wireless ability...
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VERY IMPRESSIVE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 25, 2011
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: mounting bracket is a poor design
I live in a small apartment and have always had big home theater systems but needed a change when I moved here. I can honestly say that I was skeptical when I bought this sound bar but after hooking it up (which was soo simple a child could do it) and playing a sample blu-ray (Avatar) I was extremely impressed. The sound is crisp and clear and it honestly sounds like I have a 7.1 surround sound system. The wireless sub is an excellent idea also. It seemed small at first but it gives off the perfect amount of bass during a movie and doesnt drown out the rest of the sound. If you own a flat screen and dont have the room for a crazy surround sound system I would highly recommend giving this soundbar a chance. The only neg I have about this is the mount that came with it if you are going to wall mount this soundbar. I had to get creative because the mount itself doesnt exactly hold the soundbar that tightly but overall it does work.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Needs tweaking

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 13, 2012
from Birmingham, AL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: great sound
Cons: must use separate remote
Love the sound. Wish it would work with my Samsung TV remote.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good product in comparison to other sound bars

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onSeptember 14, 2012
from Buffalo NY
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, easy to set-up, easy to use
Cons: wanted better sound
Good sound, quality features, easy to use. Sleek design. Excellent sound when 1st purchased, 60 days later - had to turn volume up considerably to get the same quality sound.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
46" Class 630 Series 1080p LCD HDTV
 
 
 
3D Wi-Fi Blu-ray Disc™ Player
 
 
 
WF331ANW/XAA
4.3 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Buy yourself a Digital Optical Cable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 24, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Realistic color, sleek looking
Cons: bad user manual
You need both a Digital Optical Cable (not provided) and HDMI ARC connected together. Buy the cable first and save yourself some headache.
For some reason, my Directv remote can control volume, power on/off with the sound bar. So I'm not going to mess with it, but I also have a Samsung TV with Anynet turned ON.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great sound bar with one fatal flaw

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onApril 9, 2012
from California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: great sound, subwoofer adds just the right amount of bass, beautiful to look at, television remote controls volume through arc
Cons: television remote does not turn on the sound bar
I'm using this sound bar with my Samsung UN55D7000 television. It works perfectly using the HDMI ARC (Audio Return Channel) on HDMI 2. Sound is much better than the "stock" TV sound. Subwoofer adds just enough bass without the boom-boom-boom. For a room where a full surround setup is either impractical or undesirable, this sound bar is excellent. It's really a perfect match for the Samsung line of televisions.
HOWEVER -- there is one fatal flaw with this sound bar. The Samsung television remote can control the volume, and it turns off automatically when the TV turns off, but the television remote CAN NOT TURN THE SOUND BAR ON. This means that you either still need to maintain multiple remotes, or get up and go press the Power On button. A grievous oversight, and I've requested Samsung support to push out a firmware update to fix this.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 12, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Lightweight, fantastic sound
Cons: expensive
We purchased the soundbar at the time we bought the television. It is comparable with bose when it comes to sound! A bit pricey but worth it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works great other than anynet and power options

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onFebruary 20, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Cons: cost!!!!
The system sounds great, but it doesn't power on with the tv while anynet is on. It says so in the manual and causes an issue. The system turns off with the tv, but will not power on while anynet is on, which defeats the purpose.
Other then that one annoyance that I haven't figured out a work around for the system sounds great, looks great, hooked up extremely easy using an ABT10 sound bar bracket mount I modded to work with an older model Samsung tv, but the new ones plug right into it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Big sound in a small package

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 26, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight, sleek
We tried this out last night just watching T.V. & also playing a DVD. It's very small & slim but has great sound. Once you turn on the 3D sound it really does sound like it's surround sound. Also tested the speaker volume up to 25 but did not turn it up any higher because that was way already way louder than I needed it & this thing goes up to volume 50. The wireless subwoofer is very nice because you don't have to run the cable between the speaker & the subwoofer.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good sound and hides out of the way

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onDecember 23, 2011
from Bethesda, MD
Pros: size, ease of use
Sounds very good and easy to set up. I did not want or need an entire sound system. Just wanted a subwooder to add base and this did just that. The only drawback is using two remotes, but that also makes it less confusing. Just need to find the remote
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Sound Product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 3, 2011
It’s a total new experience, you can see my house dancing from up the street. It’s not Bose but it is very good and provides a great experience.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

SOUNDBAR HW-D550

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 1, 2011
from HOMER GLEN, ILLINOIS
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I ONLY HAD THE UNIT FOR 3 WEEKS I LIKE EVERYTHING IT DOES I DO BELIVE IT IS WORKING OK EXCEPT I DON'T KNOW IF MY SUBWOOFER IS WORKING THE WAY IT SHOULD BE? I DID GET A GOOD PRICE ON THE UNIT
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not as good as I hoped, but better than I expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 19, 2011
from Wi
Pros: beautifully finished
Cons: middling bass response
My "TV" is controlled by a new mac mini running Windows 7 media center. I've been using home theater PC's since 1998 when I got my first HDTV, so for the last 10 years I've just been using the best PC speakers I could find. I've gone through 2.1, 5.1, and 7.1 systems, but always got fed up with the cables for the rear channels. So I finally gave up, and resigned myself to 2.1 for the last 6 or 8 years. My most recent speakers actually impressed me, the Logitech Z-2300's. Phenominal bass, good mids and highs, and no distortion. But the problem with that was that I've been using my TV as the input selector for my PS3, my Xbox 360, and the Wii. And the volume levels were drastically different between the game systems and the PC, so when I wanted to play a game, I'd have to remember to get up by the TV and turn down the analog volume control on the Logitechs otherwise the sound of any of the game systems starting up was enough to wake the dead.
So I've been looking at sound bars for while now, but never took the plunge because I knew I'd be giving up something... The subs aren't nearly as large as my Logitech Z-2300's, and the few times I'd seen sound bars, I was unimpressed. But I finally got tired of always having me or my 7 year old have to "point the volume to the left" to turn on a game and "point it to the TV" to go back to the Media Center input. So I started looking again, and since I'm so very impressed with my Samsung TV, I thought I'd give their sound bars a shot. I looked at this and the one that was a step down from this, but the little extra "oomph" on this model's subwoofer and the features decided me, and I spent a little more.
Package arrived the next morning ( overnighted it). Box was well packed with formed styrofoam to protect the pieces, although it was about 40% empty because the disparity in size between the sound bar and the subs - sound bar takes a little bit on the top long edge of the box, sub takes up a little on the short end, and the rest was just a spacer.
The sub had the peel away wrap on one side to protect the finish, and the sound bar had it on every surface except the speaker openings and the vents. So there's no chance of any damage or scratches unless something crushes or penetrates the box in shipping.
Setup is easy - two power plugs, and your input from the audio source to the bar. I started out with the normal L/R and 1/8" stereo plug, but found in the directions that if you use a digital Toslink connector, the unit will auto power on and off with the TV (or other source). So I ran out and got the Toslink.
Took me longer to pull the Z-2300's out than it did to get this hooked up and in place, but i started out my testing with this just sitting there in front of the other speakers, and the subwoofer in front of the TV stand.
First thing - the looks... MUCH nicer now than it was with the Logitechs, although they looked good for computer speakers. Another benefit was that since I had the Kinect for the Xbox 360 sitting on the surface in front of the TV, this forced me to mount it on top of the TV, which I was actually able to do for free with a small pill container and some double sided sticky tape - I just taped the cylinder to the top of the TV behind the bezel, and now the kinect rests on the top edge of the TV and that container, perfectly level and stable... With that gone, the speakers gone, and the little controller pod for the speakers gone, I now have a MUCH cleaner looking TV stand. I'm still kind of split between the open speaker look vs. grills, but these are starting to grow on me because they're very well finished, so it doesn't look like normal speakers would when visible.
I fired up a Star Wars movie and started playing with the settings. Immediately I noticed the good mids and highs, but it was far too upper frequency heavy. The default 0 setting for the subs is nearly nonexistent, and the range only goes from -6 through +6. I put it at +6, but it's still very underpowered compared to what I was used to. The movie still only sounded OK at the low end, and playing with the settings helped some, but not much. Then I hit myself in the head because I realized the sub was just sitting in front of the TV unit, so I wasn't getting the same reflection and such from the walls in the corner that I did with the Logitech. So I located it in the corner behind the TV (I have a rectangular stand for the TV in a corner, so I have that empty triangular space behind it for the subs and wires and such) right on top of the old Logitech one for testing, and that helped. SOME, not a lot, but it was enough to at least make it acceptable. It's still underpowered, though, and is the weak spot in this setup.
Working through the various sound settings such as cinema, news, sports, music, etc, garnered some changes, but the problem is the one that gives the best bass response also introduces a slight echo to the mids and highs, which is annoying when watching a movie and listening to dialog - like they're in a tunnel.
The 3D effects are also pretty negligible, but that may be due to the placement of my TV and the openness of my room - as I said, it's at an angle in a corner, so there's no side walls for it to hit and reflect anything off of, and the rear wall is only a partial wall that's open on top to the kitchen behind it, so I have no real back wall either. It may perform much better in a normal environment, but I have no way to test.
I use a Logitech Harmony One remote, and they had this in the database, so there was no learning needed to program my remote to do all the functions. I just chose TV and put in this sound bar model number, and it loaded it up. Works perfectly.
At lower volumes, things sound superb, far better than the logitech ones I loved for the last two or three years. Music especially was clearer and brighter. Once I tweaked my codec settings to not be the normal analog 2.0 stereo out, it helped some in the bass as well.
Movies sound good, but that bass lacking really is noticeable in some movies. But it's not as bad as it was when the sub was sitting in front of the TV. And I almost never crank movies loud anymore anyway due to my 7 year old, so at the volume levels I'm playing, it's satisfactory.
The ability to control the volume when switching to games more than makes up for the lack of bass to me, since that was such an annoyance. And the fact that it powers off with the TV (after a 20 minute lack of input, which I wish they'd allow the end user to adjust) is a bonus, since up till now, I simply left speakers on 24/7.
They're about 2 or 2.5 inches less on each side than my 46" Samsung TV, so it's a good look with these underneath it.
One thing to keep in mind though, if you're using the toslink connector, is there's no way to keep it "turned off" if you use the TV. I have a nice set of wireless headphones I use when my son is sleeping, and with the previous speakers, there was a headphone jack I could plug the base unit into which shut off the sound to the speakers and only sent it to the headphones. These have no such out, so I have to use another one of the audio outs on the TV to plug into the wireless base. But then it tries to send the signal to both. Powering off the sound bar works for a few seconds, till it powers back on again. So you need to remember to use the remote to turn off the "auto on" feature, or just unplug the toslink cable while using another source. Wish they had an out on these to help bypass the need to do either but at least it's a workaround.
If you're used to a "real" stereo system, this won't be a replacement, unless you're doing it for other reasons than just sound like I did. But for replacing PC speakers it's worthwhile. And if you're in a smaller area like an apartment or something and can't / don't crank it and get the bass to rattle pictures off the walls, this is a good choice.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfect match for my Samsung LED TV!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 5, 2011
from San Carlos, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Lightweight, sound quality, wireless subwoofer
Cons: price, incompatible anynet+ and auto-power functions
This is the first sound bar I have owned, and overall it is a great unit and I love the fact the sub is wireless. The sound from the bar is very crisp and clear, both at low and high volumes. Setup was easy, especially as I have mine plugged into the ARC HDMI port on my Samsung TV (UN40D6420). The wireless sub itself is not that loud, but provides adequate base for my needs; those who want to feel the floor vibrate will be disappointed. I'm not an audiophile, but the virtual "3D surround" works well and provides crisper sound when watching movies; however, I have found it to cause unpredictable volume changes if left on when watching regular TV shows.
One small annoyance with the sound bar is that the "auto power link" function, which turns the sound bar on and off with the TV, doesn't work when the Anynet+ function is on, which allows your TV remote volume control to work the sound bar!! I'm not sure what Samsung were thinking when they created a sound bar that you can't power on/off with their TV AND use the TV remote to control the sound bar volume. No matter how you set it up, you need both remote controls. Hopefully this will be addressed in a future firmware update.
However, overall, I am very happy with the sound bar.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
UN40D6420UF
 
 
 
3D Battery Operated Active Glasses for 2011 Samsung 3D TVs
4.4 out of 5(52)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good sound bar

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 8, 2011
from MS
Pros: clear clean sound
Cons: no many config options
First, this is a good soundbar. The sound from the bar is very clear, even when way up (nearly to max). It is super easy to set up. Plug it in and it works, especially with a Samsung TV.
I got tired of running wires for rear surround speakers. So this is very nice. The "Virtual" or "3D" surround works well. I'm not an audiophile, so having pure 5.1 or 7.1 sound, isn't a huge deal for me. (I did get rid of my 5.1 receiver and speakers for this setup)
However, coming from a receiver to a simpler setup, I miss some of the features of a full system. You can't configure the crossover for the sub or set where in the room it is sitting compared to the bar. The crossover, which sets how much of the low or high frequency gets sent to the sub is an awesome feature to have allowing you to control the depth of the sound from the sub. The sub itself is not that loud. I don't really like super loud thundering bass, but I had to turn up the sub (an option that is available) to "+6" (as high as it goes) and would still like a little more. Without the crossover setting I am getting quite a bit of male voices coming through the sub, and a few female voices as well.
Also, tied into the above, because the sub isn't as loud as it could be I had to move it to the back of the room next to the couch (which was easy because it's wireless). Some prefer it this way, but I had my sub up next to the TV before. With hearing parts of the voices coming through the sub and it being next to the couch it throws some of the sounds off.
Overall a good soundbar. A few more setup option would be very good and make it a great soundbar.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onAugust 3, 2011
from ATL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I purchased the CW451 to go with my UN55C8000 and the unit would intermittently skip to another channel like several people had complained about. After a few months, it was driving me nuts so I had to take it back when I saw this model was introduced. Good thing I purchased an extended warranty!
Overall, I am much happier with this unit. Pros - I can see the text on unit while the other one was on the top (which made no sense) of it. It's sitting on the fireplace under my TV. It doesn't skip inputs like the other one. It looks much nicer in general - not plastic along the top. Cons - a little pricey and I wish it came with the optical cable like the other one did. Having to use Anynet kinda stinks.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onFebruary 9, 2012
from Baltimore
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: look's nice
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I picked this up the same time as my TV and set it up but was not happy with the way the sound did not match up with the sound of the TV Other than that it is OK
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Does not live up to expectations

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 2, 2012
from WV
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
I am a die hard Samsung fan and currently have 3 Samsung HD TVs. I thought this soundbar would be a great addition to my living room TV when our Vizio soundbar died this year.
The hook-up when ok, I have my DirecTV box and Sony PS3 routed through the soundbar using the mini HD cables so that I can change the device using the soundbar, but when I power up the satellite receiver the soundbar switches from HDMI 1 to Digi 1 and will not change back for quite a while.
I went with a soundbar because they are usually much simpler and provide decent sound, but this unit is MUCH more complicated than the Vizio bar I had and sounds about half as good.
I do like the looks of the bar and the fact that it is controlled by my TV remote, but that is about it.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 9, 2011
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Sound could be better need better instuctions on set up had to talk to live chat to sort it
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

No Remote Code

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 28, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: no 3rd party remote code
sound bar can not be used with other remotes. therefore you must use the sound bar remote regardless of the anynet or TV remote programming. Always need 2 remotes to turn on TV and Sound. Ridiculous design!
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Requires 2 remotes to use product

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJanuary 2, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
Pros: good sound
Cons: Did not meet expectations, requires 2 separate remotes
When connected to a new Samsung TV and using any cable/sat box, this product requires 2 remotes. It's own to control the volume and the cable/sat box remote to control all other functions.
It is a very poor decision to design the product this way. I returned both the Samsung TV and sound bar.
I SIMPLY REQUIRE 3 FUNCTIONS: POWER ON/OFF, VOLUME AND CHANNEL.......... WHY SHOULD THIS TAKE 2 SEPARATE REMOTES?
Samsung tech support confirmed.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onDecember 10, 2011
from USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Performans is good, but to make it perform correctly is unbelievable. It is back in the box waiting for a software upgrade.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for New! 2.1 Home Theater Audio Bar System
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Constantly shuts down

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 21, 2011
Cons: Did not meet expectations, doesn't work peoperly
This system turns itself off and on every few minutes which is very annoying. I have already replaced it once. It seems to have gotten worse over time. I doubt I will ever buy another Samsung device. Unless you want to be disappointed, I would advise against buying it.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.