Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Sound Bars
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar

HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar

Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
9 out of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Review 1 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this system is a great value and i'm glad i got this system tried others but will stay with this one!!!!!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 21, 2014
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: not at all
this samsung audio soundbar does it in sound and i will enjoy this system for years to recommend this to my firends value wise it is worth the money you put into it .
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent starter soundbar

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onSeptember 20, 2014
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight, slick design, excellent subwoofer
Cons: a few bugs
The design is slick black and matches perfectly with the subwoofer -- this is probably the first time I've seen a subwoofer that actually looks nice in a living room. It also SOUNDS great, as I discovered later, which is more important. Installation is a breeze esp if your TV supports SmartConnect. I have a Samsung Smart TV (6300) which does not support SmartConnect/SmartShare but still it was easy to install. All I had to do was connect an optical cable from the soundbar to the TV. Then I turned it on, the sub recognized it immediately (a little blue light shows you that it did), I chose D.IN (digital in), changed the TV's audio from 'TV speakers' to the soundbar's, and I was good to go! Sound is above average for such a small arrangement with only 2 speakers, and if you're a true sound aficionado you may want to cough up more to get one of the higher-end models that exhibit 'warmer' sound. But for basic television/movies, games and music the sound is more than adequate. It does look great on any living room, especially if you have a special place for it above the television. But even if you don't, you can easily mount it on any wall as the soundbar itself is pretty light (mounting stand and screws are provided).
The only negative thing is that the surround sound is pretty much useless. But then, I don't see how surround sound could possibly work on a 2.1 arrangement. Also, there's little difference in choosing 'Music' when listening to music as opposed to 'Standard' (for basic sound effects). But as I said, there is little point to these IMO in general, and one hardly ever uses them.
There seem to be some issues with Anynet+ as far as I could see. For example, 'Auto Power' is supposed to allow the soundbar to turn on and off when the TV does, but this feature is not allowed with Anynet+ on... and even when you turn it off from your TV it STILL won't do it, for some reason.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, good sound
Needed a wireless soundbar for our newly finished basement and did not want to spend a fortune as this is our second home and only used part time. Provides good sound, especially for the price. Easy to use. Able to attach it to the bottom of our TV above the fireplace so wires between bar and TV do not show.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 1, 2014
from Fort Wayne in
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Built-in speakers, Durable, Lightweight
It's a great sounding sound bar. A breeze to setup
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great sound at a reasonable price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 29, 2014
from Buffalo, NY, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
The sound is amazing... I could never watch tv without it.. the quality is great.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Sound

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 3, 2014
from Miami, FL, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Worth every penny, excellent sound loud and clear deep bass. Would never expected something this compact could give this kind of great sounds effect. Love it !
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

INCREDIBLE SOUND AND FEATURES SELECTIONS

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 20, 2014
from Arlington, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, plug and play installation
Cons: line of sight for wireless subwoofer, bluetooth range is very limited
We originally planned on just getting my wife a good sewing machine and ended up with getting both the sewing machine and the Samsung HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar too.
This audio system is absolutely AMAZING!!!!!
I was in total and utter shock when my wife even said that she was impressed with it and she wanted one for the house. The Bluetooth feature is absolutely AMAZING and the wireless subwoofer makes it easy for me to optimize the theater experience no matter where we have our furniture at in the living room. I fully recommend this system for anyone who has ever wanted to have a perfect home theater sound system for a good price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy Set-up

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 17, 2014
Bought this to go with my 60" Samsung Plasma TV. Easy to set-up and major improvement in sound quality over TV speakers.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

H550 Sound Bar

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 26, 2014
from Granite Bay, CA, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: sleek easy to stream music to
Great sound, significantly enhances Samsung LED TV (6400) performance. Easy to set up and easy and convenient to send music directly from iPhone to sound bar using bluetooth. Range is quite remarkable. Very sleek design and subwoofer can be concealed anywhere.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Big Disappointment

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onSeptember 14, 2014
from Manchester, MO, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight, size
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, doesn't work well with samsung product, lacks support options
I purchased this sound bar to attach to a Samsung smart TV. I tried several ways to connect the sound bar and via HDMI cable worked best. Main issue is that the sound breaks in and out and the sound bar must be restarted. Very disappointed.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good sound but connectivity is poor

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onJune 14, 2014
Pros: Durable
Cons: Did not meet expectations
connected to a new Samsung 4k (855) via a HDMI cable over ARC. Works part of the time, but sometimes when you adjust the volume, TV speakers turn back on. You have to reset speakers in the TV menu back to 'receiver' to turn off the bad TV speakers, and then it returns to output on the sound bar.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Quite working on day 4 of being plugged in

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onOctober 4, 2014
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, worked for 4 days only
Extremely dissatisfied with this purchase taking it back to best buy tomorrow not interested anymore.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HW-H550 Wireless Audio Sound Bar
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I didn't like it!

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By
onJune 15, 2014
from Long Island, NY
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: nothing
Cons: Poor quality, Not high def, Did not meet expectations, muffled
Sorry Samsung. I own a lot of your products that I love but not this one.
Hooked this up to a brand new 55 inch Samsung 7150.
The sound was NOT better than the TVs built-in speakers.
In fact, it was worse. It was muffled and hissed.
The TVs speakers were MUCH clearer.
I had it hooked up properly by way of ARC HDMI.
The hook up was simple and worked as stated.
Honestly, I would not use this sound bar even if it was free.
The 7150 TV I love; it's great.
Brought the sound bar back to Best Buy immediately.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.