Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop LCD TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LN40A550

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

LN40A550

The SAMSUNG LN40A550 has an incredible 30,000:1 contrast ratio that delivers the sharpest, most realistic picture quality you’ve ever seen. Want to get more entertainment out of your TV than movies and shows? With our Wiselink® USB connection, you can easily and quickly hook up your MP3 player or digital camera and entertain family and friends with a photo slideshow set to music. SAMSUNG LCD flat screen TVs make your high-definition dreams a reality.
Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LN40A550
Review 1 for LN40A550
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

To put it simply: AMAZING

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 21, 2009
from Georgetown, KY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is my first HDTV purchase and I couldn't be happier. My friend recommended that I buy a Samsung because of the great picture quality and I have not been let down. I have had my set for a week now, and still get excited when I turn it on. Although it's only a 40", it suits me just fine. If you are torn between two or three sets, Samsung may be a little more in cost, but the rewards are great!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LN40A550
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMarch 21, 2010
Bought this tv march 09 and so far so good. The color is so vibrant and the feel is lifelike. When watching HD content, the images just come alive. Regular analog cable doesn't look to hot. It may be due to a weak signal or out of date coaxial cables running to the house. Overall this television is here to stay. If you can find one, I say buy it. It's worth the money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LN40A550
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic HDTV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 14, 2009
from Burlington, Vermont
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have had this system for a year now and I am completely happy! It was my first HDTV and I took a considerable amount of time shopping and reading reviews online trying to decide which TV to buy. The most important factor for me was the picture quality. In side by side comparison's to other TV's in the same price range the Samsung was hands down the best! This set has preformed flawlessly for me and was easy to set-up right out of the box. I have recomended this brand to my friends and two of them have purchased a Samsung and they both love their TV's too. If you are looking for a great quality picture, fair price and easy set-up this is the set for you. I plan on purchasing more Samsung products in the future.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LN40A550
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My First HD TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 15, 2009
from Arkansas
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I'm a college student and wanted a compromise between price and quality. My girlfriend's family purchased a samsung, so after lots of research I decided to buy this model. I love the tv and couldn't be happier I bought it. My parents own a 60 inch HDtv and constantly tell me my HD picture looks better and has greater detail. And of course sports! Wow! Wrigley looks almost as beautiful on this tv as it does in real life! I would recommend it to anyone!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LN40A550
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 29, 2009
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This LCD Performs wonderfully! I've had for about a year now and it has yet to disappoint. I use it with all three current gen gaming systems and an HD Cable box. Everything looks great! I was easily able to calibrate it using the internal settings. There was no real need to pay for the expensive pro calibration.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LN40A550
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW! Love My Samsung

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 5, 2009
from Columbus, OH
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I researched this particular produce via Consumer Report and all on all reviews both customer and manufacturer.
I've only owned for a short period of time and have not been disappointed in the least.
Best value for this model!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LN40A550
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent television

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 25, 2009
from Maple Grove, MN
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
You can't go wrong with Samsung. After using a Samsung LCD computer monitor, I decided to take the plunge and finally buy a flat panel television. I'm very satisfied with this model. I don't have a single thing to complain about.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LN40A550
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LN40A550 a Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 22, 2009
from Wilkes-Barre PA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The LN40A550 is all the LCD TV that Consumer Reports says it is. The best TVin its class!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LN40A550
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best LCDTV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 5, 2009
from Maryland
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
IAfter extensive research I choose this LCD TV and recently purchased and installed it. This LCDTV meet all my expections. The picture is crystal clear in standard as well as HD. The sound is supurb. The many features such as USB. Wireless and mutipule inputs has allowed me to develop many options for inputting movies and photographs to the screen. I highly recommmend this product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for LN40A550
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

TV takes on a new view

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 20, 2009
from Virginia Beach
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I'm not sure that I can describe my feelings about this model. I went with this size due to some furniture constrictions. The color and clarity were better than anything I have looked at so far. This model has a much faster refresh rate than other models, making those fast action shots something you can actually see for a change rather than just a blur. People will say that 1080i on a set this size just isn't worth it, I say BUNK! It depends on the viewers eyes, doesn't it? I can certainly tell the difference in between this model and a slightly older 720p model that I have.
If you're in the market for a really good 40" 1080i TV, look no further, this is the one!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for LN40A550
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Friends will covet this TV!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 24, 2008
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
After four months of owning this TV I still could not be more pleased. I continue to be amazed at the color and clarity of the picture. My father watched part of the Thanksgiving day parade on it and loved this TV so much he went out and got one of his own. The settings are easy to navigate to and changed. The remote is easily navigated. My favorite thing is the lack of glare I now get from room and sun light.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for LN40A550
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

LN40A550 LCD Tv

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 28, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The picture was great until 13 months then developed a ghost bar on right side of screen, my warranty was 12 mo, but when talking with Samsung, I requested that they repair it and they did...replaced the LCD screen and the board, now the picture is even better than when new. No charge and the repair people were very professional and courteous, making calls to let us know when they be there and when the parts came in, they were there as expected...made the repairs.
Most of the products we have are Samsung, from Cell phone to Blu Ray DVD, even the Direct TV receiver is Samsung, quality is hard to beat.
Thanks, RIc in Tn
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for LN40A550
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My 550 a Year Later

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 5, 2009
from Howell, Michigan
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Well looks like the 550 is now a lemon.
Yes I still think it was the best LCD when I bought it and
when it works it is still as good as the day we got.
This week we started having proiblems with the set turning on . Touble shooting gudie stated it could be the TV is in power save mode. But what do you do when you first turn it on and you do not get picture or sond ?. Checked on line for a local service location., none listed . I will call to see whats next.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for LN40A550
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quality TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2008
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is the first HD TV i have purchased. I read several reviews online before purchasing the SAMSUNG LN40A550. Its picture is outstanding, very crisp with deep, deep blacks. I would give this tv 5 stars across the board, however the sound is average. I have had this tv for a month now and would recommend this tv to anyone.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for LN40A550
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

New HD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 5, 2008
from Peoria, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Packaged nicely just remember to release the clips on the bottom of the box to remove the top. The automated set up was a breeze! Great picture with a simple remote the intructions are also clear and easy to follow. The sound seems a little hollow but I may just need to play with the sound settings a little more.
Happy! Happy! Joy! Joy!
We'll see how long she lasts.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for LN40A550
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Rating: 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Performance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Design 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.