Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop LCD TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LN40A650

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

LN40A650

Introducing a truly unique HDTV - the SAMSUNG LN40A650 incorporates a stylish new look with exclusive Touch of Color™. Searching for technology that will make your life easier? The new InfoLink RSS feature gives you instant access to news, weather, and sports information at the push of a button. And Auto Motion Plus 120Hz™ delivers smooth motion action scenes that will blow you away. Satisfy your craving for the latest in HD technology with the SAMSUNG LN40A650 flat screen LCD TV.
Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LN40A650
Review 1 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHappyViking
onFebruary 25, 2010
from Rockaway, NJ
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have this unit for almost 18 months and I love it. Being an engineer I am very picky on electronic equipment. I did my homework before purchasing this unit. It has surpassed all my expectations. Everyone who has viewed it were very impressed. I am glad I purchased this unit.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Color and Sharpness

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybeesknees
onDecember 19, 2009
from Chicago
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I chose this LCD out of all the options at my local big box store. We were able to put this one side-by-side with its contenders, and I could really see the superior color and image sharpness this Samsung possesses. I wasn't sure about the red along the outside casing, but it's been pleasing and doesn't intrude on the viewing experience at all.
This is my second LCD from this brand, the first purchase was the Samsung LN-T4061F - 40" High Definition 1080p LCD TV, a little over a year before.
You should not be disappointed!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect LCD!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMlee49
onJune 13, 2009
from Kansas City KS
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is the best LCD on the market currently. I say it's the best because it carries the latest 650 line traits at a reasonable 40" size and very reasonable price tag.
The 120Hz refresh rate is amazing, it really brings the action to you. Such a high refresh rate at high resolutions allows for an unparalleled viewing experience. This is by far the best feature!
The touch of color is a nice ambient look. It provides a brief amount of color in just the right places. This accents any entertainment center from hard wood oak to cherry finished pine. I have a dark wood stain that provides a beautiful red/black combo.
I would love to buy another one, especially as the price has gone down considerably in just the last six months. I love mine and I wouldn't trade it for a larger screened competitor.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the money

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByTommunism
onMay 24, 2009
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I'm very happy with the purchase. This model is truly beautiful in design and picture quality. I was hoping the ethernet port would be more handy as it's only there for the infoLink function. It would be nice if it could be used to automatically update firmware. Samsungs are also more expensive than other brands, but the picture quality is better than others. I will definitely be sticking to Samsung HDTVs unless I see something better. So far I haven't seen anything better.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best Picture - Hands Down !!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPhantasm
onMay 19, 2009
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
We've had this LN40A650 TV since December 2008. Both the picture and audio are terrific. The picture is bright and very clean and the blacks are fantastic. That's just watching HD TV. Don't even get me started on BluRay Movies and XBox 360/PS3 Gaming... they are unbelieveable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE BEST HDTV EVER!!!!!!!!!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRUIZ101
onApril 28, 2009
from HIGHLAND PARK, CALIFRONIA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
i love everything about this HDTV that i gave the 40" inch 650 series HDTV to my kids and i just had to buy the 52" inch version of the 650 series for my self to put in my living room!!!! if your a samsung fan like i am, you gotta go buy this TV you wont regret buying it!!!!
by the way the only reason i gave the product 4 stars for the features is because the buttons in the front panel don't light up like the 850 series does but that is just a minor flaw.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Color, Resolution, and Contrast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPigeon
onMarch 14, 2009
from Florida
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I bougtht my Samsung LN40A650 about five months ago after extensive research and I would definitely make the same choice again. The picture resolution, color brilliance, and image contrast are hard to beat when compared with other manufacturers and brands. The 1080p rating provides exceptional image quality when used with a Blue Ray HD player (not many HD cable companies are delivering 1080p image quality at this time). So, if you are heavy into HD movies with a Blue Ray player this TV is for you. The other nice feature of this model is the 120Hz rating which provides a faster image refresh rate that eliminates the slight blur on fast moving images like sports. So if you are a sports fan, definitely invest in a 120 Hz model like this one as it is worth the small increase in cost. Lastly, this model has superb contrast ratio which is the ability to differentiate between different colors and shades at low light intensities. This is extremely helpful when watching shows or movies that may take place at night or in dark settings. Many LCD TVs are unable to handle this low light situations very well and you end up frustrated because you cannot tell what is going on in the scene. This LCD TV has a contrast ratio of 50,000 to 1 (the higher the ratio the better). Compare this spec with other brands and models if you want to have good viewing in dark conditions. In summary, and exceptional LCD TV. You won't be sorry you purchased this one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only Samsungs

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDale
onJanuary 18, 2009
from Richland, WA
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I Have a Samsung 32" tv. I need a new tv in the other room. I looked around for a while. I was going to buy a Sony because my neighbor just bought one. The wife said why not another Samsung and I'm thankful that she did. I will not buy another tv unless its a Samsung. After looking at my neighbors tv and mine. I'm glad I bought the one I did. And his is the 46" top of the line for Sony. The best buy for your money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Tried 9 HDTVs and settled for this one

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChester
onJanuary 18, 2009
from Minneapolis, MN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I took home and tried out 9 HDTVs. I am a fussy consumer. After I tried this one, I realized why I even decided to buy an HDTV. I was caught between a Sony or Samsung. The Samsung is built much better and has features Sony didn't offer. One feature I really like is the ability to adjust the 120 mhz to low, medium, or high. That is a very nice feature. The sound is amazing too. I'm really happy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super Sharp Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byflukeyou
onDecember 5, 2008
from Lindenhurst,NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I had this TV for about four months now and its is simply amazing!!! Execellent picture. Auto motion plus120Hz is great for all sports and video game play. It makes the sport and video games so smooth flowing. It has Sports, Cinema, and Games mode which it adjust the picture (color,sharpness,tint, etc.)for you. Great LCD T.V.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My LN40A650 LCD TV

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjake
onDecember 4, 2008
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
In a word WOW! We got this LCD TV in July and it came from Amazon they unpacked it and set it up and ran a test and all was good.
There are so many good things that I don't know where to start so I will just hit the big ones.
The picture is amazing and there are a bunch of options to custom fit your viewing pleasere.
When viewing in HD the pix is perfect.
The sound is better than average but I installed a moderate price sound system and it works great.
You might have heard about the Touch of Color.
Do NOT worry about this for it is very suttle and unless you are in a very bright room you will not hardly notice this option.
We put this one in the bedroonm and in a while will get another Samsung for the family room.
All I can say about this TV is it's by far the best viewing I have ever seen on any TV.
Try one you will love it. Cheers Jake in Saint Louis Mo.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Couldn't resist !

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRentrick
onDecember 4, 2008
from Bowling Green, Ohio
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Five years ago I purchase a Samsung wide screen crt TV to replace one damaged by lighting and I have always been pleased with it's performance. Plasma's were new and beyond my price range but now I was ready for a flat screen. I approached this with a pre-disposed concept that I finally deserved the other brand! As I read reviews of both owners and other popular reivew sites, the 650 series kept popping up. I'm a pretty plain person and the TOC made me hesitant. As I walked into my first electronics store with a wall full of televisions, my attention was drawn to a TV with a picture that stood out among all the others. Not being an impulse buyer, I went back several times and each time Samsung 650 commanded my attention and I was sold.
Now, six months later I am still delighted with my choice. Not in a passive way either! I don't think a night of tv watching passes without conciously admiring the quality of the picture and validating my choice. It hangs proudly on my wall and the variety of color provided by TOC is delightful accent.
I am not an electronics geek. I rarely watch a DVD, just plain old HD cable tv with lots of local programing but it is amazing. I received the info link through promotion and my first attempt at set up failed and I have yet to find time for attempt number two. Did I mention the remote? The features and controls of the remote are the only thing that I have been disappointed with. It would be great without the thumbwheel and if it controlled other items, but as it is, the cable remote does all of the routine tasks.
I am WOWED by this tv and am glad I bought based on observation and not on perceived name brand desire.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best LCDs in its class

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byqualiformance
onDecember 4, 2008
Samsung LN40A650 is a very solid LCD with the top of the line specs. I did research on many of the LCDs in its class- Sony, LG...- but Samsung's 650 series tops all in terms of design, quality, specifications, and PRICE! The video quality of this TV's phenomenal...it takes watching TV to a whole new level, gaming as well. For anyone out there who's looking to purchase an LCD ~40in, this is one the best LCDs w/120hz technology in the market today.
one thing I wish Samsung would look into regarding its TV products is a universal remote...the remote for this TV's nicely designed but only functions as a remote for the TV. I also own a Toshiba, and it came with an universal remote that's very functional and easy to use. Other than this, THIS TV's AWESOME!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Big SAMSUNG fan

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBrader
onDecember 4, 2008
from Utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I purchased this LCd TV for a earley Christmas Gift for my wife I mounted it on a SANUS VM400 swing bracket between two closets in our bedroom. It is wired for local antenna and HDMI cable to my DirectTv HD DVR I did a lot fo research on what Samsung LCD TV I would buy. I am a big Samsung LCD TV fan. I have a Samsung 26" lcd in the kitchen. We love our bedroom big screen LN40A650A1F TV. We paid 1,299.00 @ RC Willey in Utah.600.00 discount after Thanksgiving. The color is the best I'v found. Way to go Samsung.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

All 1080P televisions are NOT the same!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByHemisphereDancer
onNovember 27, 2008
from Miami, Florida
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Two years ago I purchased a Samsung LN3251 because Consumer Reports spoke so highly of it. The beginning of this year I bought the LN40A650 w/Touch of Color on ConsumerReport's recommendation again. People who came to our home and saw the picture were amazed. Breathtaking was a common exclamation. "Just Breathtaking" people said.
To save almost five-hundred dollars when we split-up, I bought the LN40A550 because the salesperson said, and I quote... "All 1080P sets are the same.", but this picture just didn't Pop & Sizzle with excitement like the LN40A650. I called Samsung to find out if I didn't have a setting properly hooked up and found out why the picture just wasn't as WOW!! as the A650...All 1080P sets aren't the same!
I learned the LN40A650 has SAMSUNG’s Ultra Clear Panel. Colors are more vibrant compared to regular 1080P sets.. The brighter, clearer picture will amaze you. Tired of annoying glare getting in the way of your sports watching? The Ultra Clear Panel technology enhances contrast and reduces reflection so you can enjoy an overall outstanding viewing experience. I still don't really understand what it is but It's Incredible! So why didn't I notice it in the store?
I hung up the phone and drove straight to the store, returned the 40A550 and bought the 40A650 again and discovered the reason. The signal they were feeding to their video department was a BlueRay signal. They all looked good, and they all looked the same. (Hard to compare like that) But, when I tell you spending the extra money is worth it, you won't have a single moment of buyers remorse. If you don't believe me, and really-anyone can write a review here and you won't know if they really are who they say they are. Buy a Samsung with the Ultra Clear Panal, hook it up in your home and see. It's worth the trouble and the extra money, you won't believe your eyes!
I may never be able to commit to getting married, but I'm going to commit to getting a Samsung LN55A950 by the time the SuperBowl airs. Ultra Clear Panel is simply Breathtaking, simply breathtaking.
Well, that's this mans opinion anyway.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for LN40A650
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The cable guy knows

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRibbels22
onNovember 15, 2008
from Milford De
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I made the mistake of purchasing my first lcd thinking that they were all the same.BIG MISTAKE!!! Then i went to work for the cable company.I go to alot of houses and see people make the same mistake i did.This samsung has been by far the best tv i have ever seen for picture quality and price.With its outstanding 500001 contrast ratio it delivers super crisp images on my high def channels and blue ray player.And with the infolink feature i can get breaking news and weather with the touch of a button without having to search channels for the morning weather or waiting for a commercial to end.More than ample hdmi connections as well as composite .Easy to navigate menu freatures and setting options.I would highly recommend this lcd to anyone wanting the total high def experience
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for LN40A650
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

TV DIed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bymonth15
onJanuary 31, 2010
I have used this product for:1-2 years
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
After having this tv for only 15 months it died -- 3 months after the warranty period ended and the day before new years day. Fortunately I had purchased a rather expensive extended warranty. Three weeks after the problem was diagnosed and the parts ordered the TV was again functional . The repair person said if I didnt have the warrantly I would be looking for a new TV - hard to believe after 15 months of use. TV was not abused --- no kids - no games- few movies and surge protected
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for LN40A650
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Kaput after 14 months

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByWacky
onJuly 20, 2009
from Virginia
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I've been ecstatic with this TV. Love the picture quality which has been incredible. There is a little more glare on the screen than I would like. However, today I received a message on my screen that reads "Check Fan 1", and learned that I have to take down the TV and pay to ship it to a service center. This occurred only 2 months after my 1 year warranty expired. We'll see how long and expensive the repair is. This has been a major disappointment on such a new TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.