Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop LCD TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)

Bold blacks, bright whites, stunning Touch of Color™ design. This Samsung LCD TV doesn’t disappoint─ on technology or style. It features 1080p high definition and a 60,000:1 contrast ratio. ToC design adds a hint of red to the bezel, for a beautiful touch that will impress everyone. Plus three HDMI connections add total convenience for hooking up gaming consoles, DVD players and more. Best yet, it’s ENERGY STAR compliant, so you'll save on your electric bill.
Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Review 1 for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Purchase

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPattiZ50
onDecember 17, 2009
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
We decided to get a Samsung, because our daughter purchased one this summer.. We love this TV it is easy to work, great picture, and sound.. we would recomend the same model to anyone.. GREAT features. I love the swiffle stand. We like how easy the controls, and the set up was.. Great TV
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome LCD Deal

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByVick
onDecember 5, 2009
from Seattle
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
We bought this LCD during the thanksgiving deal at a Costco and fell in love with the display in store. We spent hours online reviewing its features against Sony's in the 40-42in range. The blacks are just phenomenal and create a beautiful color palette. Overall the entire setup process was too easy and delivered beatiful images right away!!!
Must buy for a starting out LCD tv!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Deal

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySammyguy
onDecember 2, 2009
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I bought this TV during the Black Friday discount. Got it at a great price. I've been looking at the 530 and 550 models but then the 500 and 540 came out for Black Friday. I decided to go with the 540 because of the added features over the 500.
What a great picture and I haven't ordered high def yet ! This is my first LCD and I wanted a reliable brand. I am not disappointed.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRafe
onDecember 1, 2009
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This tv is otstanding. I did a lot of research before buying the television. I was very happy with my purchase of this tv. The picture is beautiful and looks great even without the use of an HDMI cable. It is a great price for this tv.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Quality and Value for your money!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrodney
onNovember 2, 2009
from San Francisco
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I just bought this TV 2 months ago and I was so impressed by the quality of picture, sound, design , functionality and convenience of this LCD. It exceeded my expectations of an LCD TV and the price is really worth it. This is my first LCD TV ( had also another Samsung TV in my bedroom and a Samsung VCR ) and I would recommend to my friends that Samsung really has excellent TV's.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I just bought another

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTEROMA
onSeptember 13, 2009
from Ft. Laud. area Fl.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have had my 40" (1080 p) set for 3 months now. I'm so very pleased with it's features and performance,that today I purchased a 32" (720 p) for our bedroom, There are many other sets in this category,at lower prices, But the QUALITY and user friendly characteristics of the Samsung brand has me convinced, they KNOW televisions ! Beautiful color, very good sound, pleasing appearance,AND I love the swivel stand. This set has truly exceeded my expectations and I look forward to many years of viewing pleasure from both of my Samsung TV's. I do not hesitate to recommend the Samsung brand to those who ask for my opinion.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderfull TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEagleeye
onAugust 12, 2009
from Springfield, MA
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Excellent image quality, awesome sound and features.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exceeded My Expectations

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJune 22, 2009
from Bellville, Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
From the moment I took this tv from the box I knew it was a good one. The lightness in weight was great. I am a female and I hung it on my wall by myself. The clear edge with the red accent was a nice addition. I hooked it up turned it on programed it and did not even read the manuel. The picture was excellent and the color was also. For the price of this tv the quality is excellent. I am very pleased.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great bang for your buck lcd

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byrich27
onNovember 12, 2009
from Brooklyn, New york
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Best design for the price. Great connectivity - 4 hdmi connections. Accurate color and matte screen for no glare in bright rooms. Superb remote. Simply put, for the price and if lcd is your preferrence, WOW, just WOW.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Horrible Sound

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByCola
onSeptember 3, 2009
from Northern Virginia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
Although it seems like a good bargain, it really isn't. It has a great picture, easy to set up and use and very attractive however, the sound is horrible. Who wants a big screen HDTV with nice picture and NO SOUND. You can go from 35 to 75 on the volume and it does not make the sound any better or louder. Overall, I wished I had spent a few more dollars to get a better sound quality. I do not recommend this TV.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-25points
3of 31voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for LN40B540 40" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.