Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop LCD TV
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)

Stay connected to up-to-the-minute online information with our Infolink™ feature. Check sports scores, stock quotes, weather and other updatable RSS content at just the touch of a button on your remote. Watch action scenes that look realistic with Auto Motion Plus™120Hz technology and turn your movie-watching up a notch with 80,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio. Get the picture quality you’ve always dreamed of, with a Samsung HDTV.
Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Review 1 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than expected

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySalty
onFebruary 17, 2010
from Parma, Ohio
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
After owning this tv for over a month, I can't believe I didn't purchase it sooner. I added a Samsung BlueRay.and now with my Onkyo Home theater I don't want to leave my living room. I have 3 lcd tv's in my home....Sony, Vizio and this one.
The Samsung is my favorite ! You can't go wrong with this one !!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! Samsung has once again Set the Standard!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydjmac23
onFebruary 8, 2010
from Hartsdale, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The screen looks amazing - clear, crisp, & amazing color definition. I don't even need to use the Auto Motion Plus 120Hz™. I would like it if the set didn't make a "popping" noise when changing between 720p & 1080p channels; but, this is a minor complaint.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The picture will blow you away

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRangers44
onFebruary 3, 2010
from Seaford, New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is the best possible lcd television for the money. Hook it up with a samsung blu-ray player and you won't regret it.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybart4u
onJanuary 25, 2010
This is the same TV as the 610 model sold at Costco. I looked at all the Samsung TV's and this was my favorite. The reason I love this TV is that the screen is matte not shiny so you do not see everything reflected in the room. I like that there is no red in the Touch of Color in the bezel and the HD picture is just wonderful. I think its even better then the 8500 thin model and the price is very very good.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT PURCHASE

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGrier
onJanuary 21, 2010
from Northern California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Absolutely awesome picture clarity and depth of field. Best tv I've ever owned. Speakers are a little weak, but I imagine almost everyone will hook it up to a surround sound so the internal speakers are not an issue.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybigbear
onJanuary 11, 2010
from central part of Michigan
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This tv was better than I could have ever expected for the price. It was easy to set-up right out of the box and very easy to customize with the menus. I can't even begin to say how great the picture is when watching live sporting events or an HD movie. I would recommend this tv to anyone. There is no better tv on the market at this price in my opinion.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bywaykar
onJanuary 9, 2010
from Jamestown, ND
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This television is fantastic! Consumer Reports rated all LCD TVs 40+ inches as the best and I can see why! The set up was so easy and it has all the features that practically anyone would ever need. Thanks for a great product. I most highly recommend it to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Awsume!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJimboXL
onJanuary 7, 2010
from Florence, SC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Purchased in May 09 after 3 months research on the web and talking with friends who own flat screens. Purchased at Best Buy. Got the Home Theater system also. After reviews by folks who did own installation, I had Geek Squad install. I got the calibration of TV in the deal and was glad I did. I let it run for over 300 hours before calibration and what a difference. This is a great TV! The color is absolutely stunning. LCD is best by far. No heat and no burn in to worry about and, like I said, you can't tell the difference in picture quality because this model is something else!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most for the money. Awesome picture,

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRinger
onJanuary 5, 2010
from Waverly, TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Compared to other brands of tvs that I have looked at, the Samsung has out shined then all. The picture is unbelievably clear especially when I'm viewing videos from my blueray dvd player. It has all the bells an whistles to accomodate the components and accessaries that I have connected to it. I recommend the Samsung 46" LED 1080p-120 HDTV flat screen to anyone that wants an amazing picture for a reasonable price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FABULOUS LCD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCITYCOWBOY
onJanuary 4, 2010
from TEXAS
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
THIS IS MY SECOND FLAT SCREEN TV AND THIS MODEL IS MUCH SUPERIOR IN QUALITY TO MY OLD 40" LCD. YOU HAVE TO GET THE HDMI CABLE TO GET THE FULL ADVANTAGE OF SHARP CRISP IMAGES YOU GET. THE COAXIAL CABLE CONNECT IS GOOD QUALITY BUT NOT THE BEST. ALSO, I HAVE THE SAMSUNG SOUNDBAR AND ITS FREAKIN AWESOME. THE CRISP QUALITIY OF THE IMAGES (BOTH FROM CABLE SERVICE AND DVD) MAKES YOU FEEL LIKE YOU ARE BEHIND THE SCENES. THE INFO LINK FEATURE IS IDEAL FOR A BUSINESS, SIMPLY BECAUSE IT JUST PROVIDES THE WEATHER, USA TODAY NEWS AND STOCKS. I WISH THIS MODEL HAD THE INTERNET TV INSTEAD OF THIS INFO LINK. SAMSUNG COULD OF HAD ADDED ANOTHER FEATURE FOR THE HOMEOWNER. IF YOU HAVE INTERNET AT HOME, YOU DO NOT NEED THIS.I FEEL THE INFO LINK IS FOR A BUSINESS LOBBY TV. HOWEVER, THIS IS A GREAT TV.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bywallyboy
onJanuary 4, 2010
from Illinois
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I did research for several week before deciding on a Samsung. I also viewed many different units at several stores.
Got delivery New Years Eve and setup was easy. The picture is great I could not be happier and the menus are easy to follow.
Would highly recommend to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

its a whole new world

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysuzie
onJanuary 3, 2010
from Asheville, NC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
its a whole new world watching this television. National Geographic is so much more real and enjoyable.Football is awsome! I feel like I have been around the world from my couch. Now I want to redo my whole family room around the TV.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Gift

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPATCAT
onJanuary 1, 2010
from San Diego
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Our children purchased this tv as a Christmas gift. We were resistant to getting a new tv because we had a 32" tv that was only 9 years old. WOW what a difference. We just watched the Rose Parade and it looked like we could reach out and touch someone/something. The color is perfect and we can't believe the difference.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Amazing Picture

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byfehren
onDecember 30, 2009
from Greenville, SC
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
The picture is far superior to my Daughter's 46" LG The picture is simply amazing ! It is still a Remote control jungle and this remote is a bit longer than most but it does have a nice keypad layout. I was hoping to get rid of the Charter cable box but digital programming would not pick up with this TV correctly. Still happy with the TV
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Hd bang for the buck

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByJimSamsung
onDecember 29, 2009
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I have been using since just after a Thanksgiving day purchase. I feel I made agreat choice and would recommend to anyone. If a great picture and value are what you are looking for then buy this TV.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value for the Money

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySpiderich
onDecember 17, 2009
from East Haven, CT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I was able to purchase this TV on Black Friday as a special deal and it turns I got more than I bargained for. I purchased this LCD based on our previous ownership of a 40" Samsung. That TV s headed into the family room now. The picture quality is even brighter and sharper than the previous set. I love the added features and fast response time. Sports programs never looked better. Video games look amazing and DVD's so real and intense. I would most definitely recommend this TV to anyone looking for a great TV at a great Value. This is the second Samsung I have purchased and I can honestly say I will never purchase any other brand after being more than satisfied with both my Samsungs.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is a must

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byflosncvc
onDecember 5, 2009
from Richmond Va
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I bought this tv the other day and its great it is my second 46 " Samsung lcd and they keep just out doing themselves. the picture quality is great its like your on the movie set. if you are going to by an lcd make sure you buy a samsung and spend the extra money to get a 120 hz model or a 6 series it is well worth it the five series is good but the six series is excellent. I would recommend this to everyone
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SAMSUNG BEST TV TO BUY

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybryanw0087
onDecember 2, 2009
from Knox, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
I Bought this tv a few days ago and let me tell you the picture quality is amazing! i work at a sears store and look at tv's everyday and this TV has brilliant colors and bluerays look simply perfect! its like watching the movie through a window in your living room. i am extremely satisfied with this tv and highly reccommend it to everyone looking for 46" range tv with 1080p and 120hz. The features and the Price just cant be beat!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply an amazing television! Get it!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBH14
onNovember 30, 2009
from Lindenhurst, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I've been shopping around for a couple years to buy a new 120hz and 1080p television at the right price. I was going to choose between a sony lcd, samsung lcd or panasonic plasma. I went with the samsung lcd and I made the right choice. The picture will make your jaw drop. The specs are awesome on this television with its 80k contrast ratio. I love the picture preset features on the television so you always have the right picture for the right situation. The sound features are just as good. The 120hz makes the picture look so smooth and realistic. Great for fast moving scenes. With its tru surround feature, it sounds great for lcd speakers. Infolink is pretty much useless to me though. Everything else about the television is GREAT and especially for the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spectacular

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onNovember 27, 2009
I got this and the Blue Ray player and I could not believe how everything looked. Cable, DVD and Blue Ray discs looked amazing!! Monsters Inc movie looks 3D.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great HDTV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bygoldman
onNovember 24, 2009
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I researched hdtv's for about 3 weeks
and decided samsung was my best bet
I think the picture is outstanding.
The sound is great.
Though It has only been a week.
I am very happy with Samsung product.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Made Perfect Choice

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymicroman
onNovember 22, 2009
from Byram, Ms.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
My wife and I did alot of research and decided on this Grand selection. Connected our Samsung Entertainment System up and we have our own Home Theater. The picture quality is more than I could have imagined and the remote is so easy to navigate. I would recommend this product to everyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Affordable worthy product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByOlive
onSeptember 3, 2009
from Gilbert, Arizona
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Being the first time owner of Samsung, I am delighted and happy with the outcome of this Samsung TV. Due to classy and neat appearance of this TV, and its reputation, it encouraged and motivated me to buy this product without hesitation.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
12of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice TV just a few issues

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bycarverrn
onAugust 12, 2010
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
We like the TV overall but it does have a few things that could be improved. First, after 6 months the TV failed and we had to have the whole main panel and power supply replaced. Probably not common. It was replaced under warranty through BestBuy/GeekSquad. It seem picky about where you point the remote. You can't just point in the TV's general direction like some TVs. We have to point right at the sensor area. I don't like that the TV will come back on when the power comes back on after a power failure. I'd rather have the TV stay off. Probably not a common occurrence but it happened and I didn't like the TV coming back on by itself. Front light on when the TV is off has been confusing for some of us. When the cable box is off the TV screen is blank so my wife thought the TV was also off because the front light was off. Now she understands "light off = TV on" and "light on = TV off". A bit counter intuitive. Overall we enjoy the TV and would recommend it to others, I'm just picky.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent LCD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byezurg
onJanuary 17, 2010
Did lots of research before making my purchase and finally decided that a Samsung would give me the best overall for my money. I was not disappointed. The PQ is fantastic. Ease of use is also a big plus. Sound leveling feature works as advertised. My only wish was that the remote would handle my cable box and dvd player.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great TV

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bystuffy
onJanuary 1, 2010
from Seminole, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This is my first flat screen and my first HDTV. As someone who has worked in the television and video production industry for over 25 years, I think the picture quality and features are terrific, especially for the price. Being that I am into high end audio and have also worked as a professional musician I do find that the built in speaker performance could be better for music but is adequate for watching regular programs. I have connected the audio of the set to my audio system and find the sound quality to be very good. I would buy this set again.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More than capable TV, especially for the price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymmichael453
onDecember 4, 2009
from Atlanta, GA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Went to store with my wife to pick out a new TV after the logic board in my DLP failed.
I was prepared to buy a 60Hz model, but my wife decided that the 120Hz looked much better, and was undeterred by my explanation that the cheaper TV looked like it was just badly calibrated. At any rate, we bought this one, and are very happy.
The design itself is very nice, and we like it better than the red ToC models. The glossy finish does pick up fingerprints and dust, so we use the included dust cloth frequently.
Screen is bright enough that we don't notice much or any glare on the glossy screen.
I've set automotion to low, which seems to work pretty well. Any higher setting and films have a surreal quality as if they were shot on videotape (this is hard to describe). Low still has a marked improvement in fast motion.
Cons:
It was difficult to calibrate the picture acceptably. The settings are plentiful, and the blue only mode is very useful for color calibration, but getting brightness and contrast right required much manipulation. Out of the box the TV is set entirely too bright, and has a slightly red hue (at least mine did).
Why can't Samsung have a single button toggle to mute the speakers without leaving a mute on screen message up permanently? The mute internal speakers option through the menu works acceptably, but I can't program that on my multi-function remote control easily, without programming the remote to dive into the menu options, but that's a pain.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for LN46B640 46" 1080p LCD HDTV (2009 MODEL)
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Rating: 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product
Features 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Performance 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Design 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.