Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)

Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Review 1 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SSD Ultra Reliable.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChrisC93
onOctober 24, 2012
from North NJ
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, super fast, ultra reliable
Better then my Hyperx SSD!!! The price point is great and its Ultra Reliable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

64 GB SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydatsde
onOctober 17, 2012
from oklahoma
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
This drive works great!! Fast boot time! Great Price!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than others I've used...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By4thKor
onOctober 1, 2012
from Missouri, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
This SSD is faster and a lot easier to maintain than others I've used. The Magician Software allows me to interact with my drive in ways others can't. Price is competitive too. I will definitely buy another one!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onSeptember 25, 2012
from Philadelphia, PA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Great drive, definitely worth the investment. However, get the 840's which were just released :)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByWingNutty
onJuly 17, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
I'm 2 hours into using this awesome little drive. Works great!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bymdm56
onJune 2, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
I have owned this drive for a week. I use it as a primary drive with windows 7 32 bit. I have all of the programs I use plus 2 games installed and have 17gb left after using samsung magician to over provision the drive. The software is great. Some people do not like it. That is because they do not know how to use it. It is quite simple to use to set up the drive. Read speeds are @ 500mb; write speeds are @ 170mb. Highly recommend the SSD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Chose this ssd based upon reviews

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByHan2
onMay 11, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: good performance
Cons: had to upgrade firmware
Also, when there was a complaint or bad review, someone from Samsung answered it and offered to help. That was impressive customer service.
If they can make the firmware upgrade process easier and the UI for disk magician less flashy and more functional, I would give perfect scores all over.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Fast and easy to install

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBuba61
onMay 5, 2012
from Olathe, KS, USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: fast, great support software
Great Value SSD! Fast and easy to install with great support software!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMay 3, 2012
from ma
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: dependable
Easy to install, great software came with it and it has been dependable. I have had no issues
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byakm33
onMarch 14, 2012
Pros: Durable
Fast reliable no blue screens yet which i have seen a lot of reviews of other ssds with those problems.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the price!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByNach0
onFebruary 28, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have worried about upgrading to a SSD for a while, but decided to take the plunge. I chose the Samsung 830 for the reliability, as others have stated in reviews. I updated to the latest firmware as soon as I got it, and haven't had any problems. I can now boot up Windows 7 in about 10 seconds and shut down only takes 5 seconds. I truly love this drive!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent For External Storage

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByLindenGuy
onFebruary 17, 2012
from Linden, NJ
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, stylishly sleek looking
I use this device for external storage purposes. It is very sleek in design and enhances the appearance of most technical hardware it is in the vicinity of. Because I use it for external storage firmware updating is a snap using the Samsung SSD Magician software. I have not found a better product. I gave a Samsung SSD to a friend, I have 2 more somewhere and my policy is when it works, stick with it! Thanks Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

first time SSD owner

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByJoebighair
onFebruary 17, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This SSD was easy to install, fast and works great. I have had no problems
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTheNave
onJanuary 27, 2012
from Bel Air, MD
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast
I installed 2 of these one for my OS and the other for my most used programs. The system runs fast and smooth.Will be getting a larger one down the road for more most used programs.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

using in a laptop first

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCastleRock
onDecember 16, 2011
from Denver
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, fast
This SSD is thinner than most and in my 3 year old Lenovo I had to take a small piece of cardboard to fill the gap that this thin SSD left. Works perfectly! For my 3 year old laptop it has made a huge difference in speed!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySamurai707
onDecember 16, 2011
from Northern California
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I set it as my OS boot drive and I cannot believe the load times compared to my sata II SSDs! Truly a wonderful SSD!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bybrandon621
onDecember 15, 2011
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
This drive is not the fastest out there but it is much faster than a hard disk drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great price, great product - Happy

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySolidStateHappy
onDecember 6, 2011
from Aurora
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, terrific packaging
I bought this drive from another site, it came packaged with a game and at a competitive price. I've set it up for SRT (Smart Response Technology) as a SSD cache drive. So far so go. SRT can be a tiny bit tricky and you may need to re-install windows. Overall, I'm getting above specified performance out of this drive and it's a perfect size to max out your SRT or even squeeze it for a windows dedicated drive.
What originally interested me in this drive was the scary stories around SandForce chipsets. Samsung did they're own for this one and I'd read nothing but good reviews.
This was also the nicest packaging I've seen in a pc component maybe ever. That much attention to detail tells me something. I can't wait for years of live and beating on my new SSD.
Fast!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very good ssd

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bykostasa1
onDecember 6, 2012
from greece athens
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
very good ssd and good price.i recommend this ssd.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Easy Setup

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bytabeck5
onJune 25, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Swapped out easily with my old hard drive. Transferred files without any trouble. The Samsung Magician software seems temperamental, worked for awhile but then stopped recognizing hard drive.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Perfomance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onJune 2, 2012
from Chicago
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: performance
Cons: drive life & price
Installed in my PC as a boot drive and functions better than thought.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 64GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGodSpd
onDecember 2, 2011
Pros: Lightweight
Really good SSD look really good too, but the magic software does not work when u have the SSD on raid 0 I am running two 64 GB on raid 0
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.