Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive

Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 11(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Review 1 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMikee2go
onDecember 16, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Very nice SSD, faster than my old SSD from another manufacturer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My 1st SSD!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySpanky46
onDecember 4, 2012
from Coral Springs, FL
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, fast, value for the money, great quality
Cons: none so far
This was my first SSD. My initial installation didn't go as smooth as I wanted but once it was done everything been running fine so far. One thing to make sure is that the SATA Controller set to AHCI Mode. I love the fact that I no longer hear the HDD, totally silent. The system is a lot faster and it takes no time to boot up.
I also have a Spinpoint HDD which has been working great.
I would definitely Samsung Products again.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My 2nd SSD Purchase - Another 830 !!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byneomdb
onNovember 27, 2012
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Loved the 1st one, just had to buy another to turbocharge my GW NV53 Notebook ... I like my NV53 again!!!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byatreyu187
onNovember 17, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, blazing fast, looks awesome
Fast, Reliable, and great value! Totally changed my mind about which component is most important for upgrades.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blazing fast, Great Value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTech1Geek
onNovember 13, 2012
from Bainbridge, OH
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, fast even running on sata2
Upgraded laptop and desktop with these.
Desktop stats:
Athlon II x4 645 processor, 6 GB DDR2 memory, ECS A780GM-A motherboard, AMD Radeon HD 6670 graphics. Keep in mind this is a SATA2 system, NOT SATA3, which means the SSD is not running to its full potential.
Old drive: WD 320 SATA 2 Black. Did fresh install of OS on Samsung 830, (Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit) Optimized drive and OS, and reloaded all software and updates, per SAMSUNG recommendation.
Old boot time to login: 61 sec. New: 29 sec.
Old shutdown: 15 sec. New 8 sec.
Old windows experience score Disk: 5.6. New 7.9
Old drive had over 100 memory hard faults/ sec (indicating hard drive was not keeping up with requests from memory). New drive has none.
No other changes to system.
Similar results with laptop upgrade.
In short: 1) blazing fast, even running SATA2, and 2) Best money I ever spent on computer hardware.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByGothamghost
onOctober 30, 2012
from North Carolina
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast, good looking, value
Cons: price (all ssds have this problem)
I purchased this to add speed to my system and I am glad I did. The boost in performance during start up, loading files/games and saving files/games is incredible. I definitely recommend purchasing an SSD and more specifically this SSD to give your system a boost.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDemonspank
onAugust 11, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, reliable, great performance
Amazing performance - significantly superior to my 80G Intel SSD.
Samsung continues to make fantastic products, and I will often look to them when it comes to storage and televisions.
Keep it up and I'll keep coming back.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really nice upgrade!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByHober
onAugust 3, 2012
from Orlando, Fl
Best upgrade for my PC. Simple installation gave me an amazing speed boost.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast and Reliable. The best out there.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChispy
onAugust 2, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, reliable, fast
Very very Fast SSD , The Most Reliable SSD out there , based on its propietary Samsung 3-Core MCX Controller design , own propietary Toggle 20nm NAND and massive 256MB DDR2 cache DRAM made by Samsung , everything on this SSD its made by Samsung * Non SanDForce Controller its a Big Plus *. Price per Gigabyte , Performance , Compatibility , Reliability , it runs silent and cool. Awsome price !
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

High Performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybubblehd78
onJuly 23, 2012
from Orange County, California
Couldn't be more satisfied! Price was right on and installation was quick. No problems at all.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great with one hiccup

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChocoTaco
onNovember 25, 2012
from Oregon
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, as fast as advertised, sleek design
Cons: magician software doesn't work with raid 0 setup
This SSD is an outstanding peformer. The only issue I have with it is the Magician software. I run two of these in Raid 0 and the Magician software refuses to see my drives while in Raid. Being unable to update firmware and use the other Magician Software features is what caused my 3 star rating for features. If you plan to run a single drive this drive will probably rate a 5 across the board for you.
System Specifications
ASrock z75 Pro3
Intel 2500K @ 4.5
8GB GSkill DDr3 1600 8-8-8
XfX 7970
2x Samsun 830 128GB SSD Raid 0
Corsair hx750
Samsung DvD Burner
ABS Canyon 695
Windows 7 Ult x64
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
5.1 Channel Smart Home Theater System (HT-E5500W)
4.7 out of 5(54)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very fast drive

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySeoulman
onOctober 16, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: cloning software
Very fast drive, but cloning software doesn't work.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 128 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Exitement is gone.

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Byprtjar
onDecember 25, 2012
Pros: Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations, frozen stage
After a while performance will go down. Drive is in the "FROZEN" stage, SSD Magician CANNOT do anything!. Very poor design.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.