Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive

Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Review 1 for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByVerrazano
onJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, quick
This SSD is just great. It's fast, light. I use it as an external and it's just perfect.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Hard drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChiripio
onDecember 22, 2012
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Lightweight
Really fast easy to install comes with the neccesary software
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just amazing

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By6wheels
onNovember 29, 2012
from Ca
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
I bought the 256GB version. Installed it on my macbook pro 5,1 and it just transformed everything. booting time is reduced to less than half. apps open instantly. and this is on a sata 2 only. I'm going to buy another for my desktop which has sata 3 and see the full potential of this SSD.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Strong Performance, Great Price

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRevpJbbq
onOctober 30, 2012
from Fryeburg, ME
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Great product with strong performance characteristics due to quality NAND and firmware.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FAST

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCheshireCat289
onOctober 27, 2012
from Renton, WA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
I am running this SSD on a SATA II connection and replaced my 500GB partitioned HDD drive (I had the OS on a seperate partition). The boot time for Windows 7 went from 45 seconds from Windows screen to log on too a hair under 10 seconds. Upon logging the computer instantly loads Windows 7 and all applications I have set to auto load on start up. This use to take around 2 minutes, now it loads in under 10 seconds. I cannot imagine what would happen if my motherboard supported SATA III interface. This is an A+ SAMSUNG product. I would recommend this to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Windows 8 Screamer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byseattlesaw
onOctober 23, 2012
from Redmond, WA
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, silent operation, energy efficient, very fast operation
Installed 830 SSD in a Dell OptiPlex 755 for 64-bit Windows 8 testing. Installation of OS from DVD to blank SSD was flawless and completed quickly. PC boots to login screen in 10 seconds, and performance of this 2.3 Ghz machine is amazingly fast compared with the previous XP OS running from Western Digital hard drive. Cannot wait for final Windows 8 release to install permanently.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great deal

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPainus
onSeptember 28, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
Excellent SSD for the current price, which has lowered since the 840 series is releasing. Needed extra storage over my 128GB OCZ SSD and this worked perfect.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FAST...but some install issues

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByKenGeorge
onSeptember 25, 2012
from Houston, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: good value for the price, good packaging, sturdy durable, significantly improved startup times, good tech support
Cons: cloning software linked to magician did not work
The drive is a beautiful piece of compact hardware, nicely packaged and sturdy.
I had installation problems due to the cloning software provided through SSD Magician not being able to properly clone a larger HD to a smaller SSD. I called tech support and they confirmed it was an issue they have seen.
I used another program that tech support suggested and everything worked perfectly. I strongly suggest that if you have any problems...call tech support immediately to avoid unnecessary frustration.
If you have some automatic backup software installed, I suggest you close it before cloning since there may be conflicts with the cloning process and the backup process.
Startup time went from 90-120 seconds with the HD to 10-15 seconds with the SSD. I am still checking out improved responsiveness of the OS, but subjectively, it appears noticeably more responsive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blazing fast SSD from Samsung!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bychelseafan
onJune 1, 2012
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, fast & quiet, power efficient, longer lifespan than conventional hdd, easy to install
Cons: none
Its boots up windows 7 in less than 15 seconds. All application installed opens amazingly fast.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 256 GB 2.5” SATA III SSD Drive
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

MZ-7PC256 SSD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRiverRat1297
onOctober 28, 2012
from Mi.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Very good product and extremely fast. A very reasonable price.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.