Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)

Rating:
4.741 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Review 1 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my Samsung SSD

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByDrBedlam
onJanuary 9, 2013
from Arkham
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
If you have been trying to decide on making the switch to Solid State Drives... this is the perfect drive to buy.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extreme speed, small and no heat....

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByG0dSp33d
onDecember 20, 2012
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I'm using this drive as my boot drive runing Windows 7 and Photoshop 6, the speed is unbelievable. I'm a comercial artist who works on high end retouching jobs and I just build a new 6 core Photoshop work station. I needed fast drives to work on 2+gig files, this drive filled my needs and then some. Small, quiet and no heat, this is the drive to get if you need raw speed. Photoshop runs without any problems, very smooth and copying 600 meg files from my HD to my SSD in under 1 sec. I'm also using the 128 SSD 830 as my scratch disc for Photoshop. Love it.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRick600
onOctober 31, 2012
from Easton, PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, easy to install, fast
Cons: none
Great SSD. Boots fast. Comes with everything needed to install in a desktop. Can also be used in a laptop, it is 7mm thick.
The TRIM/garbage collection in Win 7 works great. I initially had a different brand SSD which would lose up to 1GB of storeage space a day for no apparent reason. When I imaged the contents of that drive to the Samsung I regained over 10GB of lost storage space.
The included Samsung SSD Magician software is very usefull for erasing, performance optimization, and over provisioning the drive. I didn't use the included Norton Ghost software to image Win 7 from the OEM hard drive, I used Acronis to copy from the computers factory HD. It copies all the partions, including the factory recovery partion, automatically. Norton Ghost can only transfer one partition at a time and cannot do recovery partions according to the Norton/Samsung user guide.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Five second boot

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysppeddemon
onSeptember 26, 2012
from NEW JERSEY
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
No need for sleep or keeping the pc on.From the time I hit the power button till I see desk top icon is 5 sec's.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beauty and Function

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByShoeless
onSeptember 25, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
A beautiful drive that perform equally as well. It is a snap to install and performance does not disappoint.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blazingly Fast System Disk

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onSeptember 21, 2012
from Cary, NC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast
Cons: pricey
I added this into a Icy Dock 4 2.5" drive bay off an ASUS Sabertooth Z77 motherboard to be the system disk. It connects as a SATA III drive on a SATA III port on the motherboard. Normally, it runs out of data before it can really ramp up the read speed. It allows me to boot Windows 7 Ultimate within a matter of 4 to 6 seconds!! Why bother with hibernate or sleep, when a full boot occurs that quickly??!! I highly recommend an SSD for a system disk. What a pleasure!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super FAST

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onSeptember 7, 2012
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
After tons of research I finally purchased the Samsung 830 SSD and i am so happy i did cause this beast is very fast for gaming and I also purchased one for my Macbook Pro. Great work Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Get this drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byelf47
onAugust 5, 2012
from Kentwood, LA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Nice and fast. 7.9 on the Win Experience Index and probably would score higher if the scale went higher.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Product.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAchmon
onJuly 19, 2012
from PA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Easy install. One of the fastest and most reliable SSDs on the market.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredibly fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bye733
onJuly 14, 2012
from Bloomington, MN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, fast
As my other Samsung 830 Series SSD review (64GB) states, these SSD's are out of this world incredible.
I use this SSD for my Steam Games/Other Games. My load times for games are... nonexistent. I have never experienced such a fast data transfer.
Impressed is an understatement.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hang on this puppy is Fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTVTimeInAlaska
onJune 27, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I started to look at the 830 series when Maximum PC and Hardware Reviews had it as their top rated SSD. I've only had it for a month but this is fast with great write and read times.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SSD Yet!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChris0201987
onJune 14, 2012
from Bridgeport,CT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight, extremely fast!
Cons: none
This is by far the best SSD I have personally used. Im running windows 8 preview release and my 120GB Intel ssd took about 10 seconds to load to the desktop and the this thing takes 1-2 seconds to load to the desktop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1st SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByOlderBuilder
onMay 20, 2012
from Bay Area, CA
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
It took awhile to get on the SDD bandwagon, but this little gem didn't disappoint! It's not only fast, but reviewers state it's reliable as well...which is needed for an OS drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Drive!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybmac11
onMay 5, 2012
from Newark DE
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: everything!
This drive is crazy fast! It was worth the extra money to have the latest and greatest drive. The software that came with it is great and very useful too. I upgraded from a Sata II drive and could feel the difference.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid performance and Reliability

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBobmitmen
onApril 16, 2012
from Dallas area, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast drive solid performance, attractive casing, samsung reliability, prices have become more reasonable
Cons: slightly slower on laptop w/power saving settings
I waited a few weeks, since purchasing this drive to give a fair review. I have it installed in my HP Envy 17 and it performs extremely well. I have other Samsung products, and have never been disappointed in one. This SSD is truly one of the best SATA III drives you can purchase at this time. I have chatted with Samsung technical support about some questions I had prior to and even after installation of the drive. Each time, the techs were knowledgable and more than willing to share the time to resolve any question I had. Excellent product and excellent support. Again...thank you Samsung!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bygreenlight777
onMarch 9, 2012
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Got this from a thorough search and comparisons between other manufacturers. Key points in choosing Samsung was reliability and high performance stated in objective test results. Also many had installed this SSD to a mac computer with great success so that was enough information for me to make the purchase. Highly recommended. It's fast and smooth. Still more stable when TRIM is enabled. Not sure if the FIRMWARE update is a good thing though... some have said it'll brick the drive and have to make RMA.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bygregzcav
onMarch 7, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
This is an excellent SSD, I am pleased with its performance.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

CLICK.....BLINK....FLASH

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTom721
onFebruary 27, 2012
from Alabama
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
WOW...as a nearly retired/first time computer builder, I thought I would have difficulty installing the SSD.
I was pleasantly surpised at the ease of installation.
What an improvement over the old style hard drives...and that goes back to the days of the 1.2g units that maxed out the motherboard.
Some improvements over the years have been disappointing and some have been just ok..........but in the words of our grandson " AWESOME" best describes the CLICK....BLINK...FLASH RESPONSE OF THE SAMSUNG SSD.....GET ONE YOU WON'T LOOK BACK!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ttruly fantastic!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byaxion
onFebruary 21, 2012
from valencia (Spain)
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable
Cons: not support for macintosh
I bought this CD for installation on a Pro Macboock Its features are as expected. It works great. The design and aluminum metal frame gives an image quality and appearance that sets it apart from its competition.
The only downside, I'm guessing is that Samsung still does not support Macintosh and the applications that come with the disk only work with Windows.
Otherwise a 10.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blazingly fast drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByVectrexer
onFebruary 11, 2012
from 94044
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Durable, extremely fast
Cons: runs warms
MY system feels like a completely difference machine! I knew Samsung SSDs were fast. But this driver is just outstanding. The only issue I have is with the way firmware updates are handled. I like a more hands-on approach than the SSD Magician. Good support software but it's just not my style. Overall I love the product and it make going back to my netgear arrary seem very slow even if the netgear as 12TB.
Like all high performance SSDs of this class it does run a little warm.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product for desktop users

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByFirstSSD
onFebruary 9, 2012
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, fast, very stable
Cons: installation documentation
I installed this in my desktop computer as the boot drive/Win7 system drive. The drive is so fast that my BIOS takes longer to load during system boot than Windows does. My only issue was with the Norton Ghost, which is included with the SSD, data migration instructions. The documentation on how to copy the partions is thorough but it apparently assumes that only one drive is installed in a computer. I have three SATA hard drives in mine and had to do the initial SSD boot with all three disconnected to get the SSD to roll over to the C:\ partition which is the only way to get it to do that with another active System partition connected to the board. Yes, it says you can assign 'any' drive letter (C:\ is not available though for obvious reasons) when the System and C:\ partitions are copied successfully to the SSD but it stops there. A description on how to get the SSD to function as a replacement C:\ drive with multiple hard drives installed (as most desktop users probably have) would be of great benefit to others who have not had previous experience with that when replacing the boot (C:\) drive. The SSD (or any replacement drive) cannot be initiated as a C:\ drive unless it is the only drive in the computer on initial boot. I checked the Norton Ghost KB and that info is not available there either. It should be a part of the basic installation info that comes with the drive.
Other than that, no issues with the setup and the Samsung Magician software is pretty good also. Windows users tip: READ the descriptor in Magician carefully on how to update the firmware for the SSD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byiburnt
onJanuary 13, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Great performance so far. Much faster than the conventional hard drive that it replaced. Boot time on my Macbook Pro went from 45 seconds to 15 seconds. Opening programs are extremely fast as well. I would recommend if cash permits, this upgrade to your computer.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for an SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bybeaker70
onJanuary 4, 2012
from Alabama
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: speed, software
Cons: price
The SSD830 is fast. I like the speed, the $ per GB not to great, but I still think its a good buy. It comes with everything I needed to install it in my desktop pc. Samsung made a laptop SSD kit too.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast, But......... poor support on Mac!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bylflamarion
onMay 5, 2012
from Boston, MA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Cons: poor mac support
It's really FAST, but if you use MAC, you can not use the samsung tools, and It's really critical specially when it's refer to firmware update.
In the manual they tell about two functions that I really consider important, OS Optimization and Firmware Update!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

256GB SSD 830 series

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byjjpd19
onFebruary 2, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
A very good SSD. It has improved my PC a lot and the performance is amazing. Good buying!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awsome SSD

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byjwlee52
onDecember 15, 2011
This drive has really boosted the performance of my computer. The only problem I had is the ability for the Samsung Magician software to see through my Marvel SATA controller. I understand that there is a firmware fix to correct this problem that is due to be released. I replaced the controller PCIE card with one that has Asmedia chipset, and it worked fine.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Windows 7 install fail

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BySadAndUpset
onMay 19, 2012
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Will not install a boot drive in Windows 7. Poor install instructions. Had to rip drive back out to get serial number off drive.Nothing in instructions tells you that you should record the serial number before installation. You find that out when you try to register it and have to remove it to get the number off it because it is not on the box. Of course that is no problem because it won't boot the computer anyway. The Windows install promptes me for the SSD 830 driver but of course there are none on the Samsung web site or anywhere else.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-13points
1of 15voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.