Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)

Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Review 1 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mac compatable

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2013
from USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: $$$
Works flawlessly in my 13" 2010 vintage MacBook Pro.
Was able to enable trim using one of the established online hacks.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Greatly

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2013
from New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, fast, meets daily need expectations
Replaced my WD hard drive with the 830 series in portable hard drive and run as smooth as a new road never been happier with any other hard drive as this one. recommended for anyone on the go.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Speed and Fantastic doesn't describe what the SSD 830 does for your PC

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 9, 2012
from Redwood City, CA, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
The Samsung 830 SSD is not just a simple hard drive there are so many positives to say the word fantastic doesn't do it justice. Let's talk about the most appealing aspects about this drive. The first thing that comes to mind after using it is BLAZINGLY FAST, if you think you got the latest and greatest PC think again. I noticed my boot up times and program load times after login had to have sped up from just under 5 minutes to under 2 minutes. Around a 70 percent performance improvement. That's nothing to sniff at. It was painful living with my PC before the Samsung 830 as I have a lot of applications and I'm not willing to skimp by having to block start up programs to increase my load times of the computer. The Samsung SSD 830 solves this problem. I can now I enjoy my blazing fast computer without having to compromise uninstsalling software or blocking start up programs just to get a speed improvement.
Second, the Samsung 830 has no moving parts. This is a good thing knowing this since we all know moveable parts has a tendency to fail and sometimes it can fail before the manufactures warranty is up or just a few years after purchase. We've all experienced this in the custom build computer world. Which brings up reliability. Samsung is greatly known in the computer world to have the fastest most reliable memory on the market. Going with a Samsung SSD 830 you'll be left at peace and comfort knowing what you bought is built to last.
Last, this is a sexy looking piece of equipment. They didn't just slap a cover it. It has a brushed painted appearance in black with silky smooth lines on the side with the Samsung logo printed on top. They didn't just stop at reliability and performance. Samsung went all the way on this and made the drive look sexy. Now this may not be important to everyone but it is for those who have cases that like to sport and show off their pc components with open window cases from the side view. Never did a hard drive look so good!
The Samsung is competively priced while I found it to be a little more expensive than competition but you get what you pay for I could go on and on but I think you get the point. And that is buy it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If you think your pc is fast not until you install a Samsung 830 SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 1, 2012
from Redwood City, CA
I have used this product for:1-2 years
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight, reliable
The Samsung 830 SSD is not just a simple hard drive there are so many positives to say the word fantastic doesn't do it justice. Let's talk about the most appealing aspects about this drive. The first thing that comes to mind after using it is BLAZINGLY FAST, if you think you got the latest and greatest PC think again. I noticed my boot up times and program load times after login had to have sped up from just under 5 minutes to under 2 minutes. Around a 70 percent performance improvement. That's nothing to sniff at. It was painful living with my PC before the Samsung 830 as I have a lot of applications and I'm not willing to skimp by having to block start up programs to increase my load times of the computer. The Samsung SSD 830 solves this problem. I can now I enjoy my blazing fast computer without having to compromise uninstsalling software or blocking start up programs just to get a speed improvement.
Second, the Samsung 830 has no moving parts. This is a good thing knowing this since we all know moveable parts has a tendency to fail and sometimes it can fail before the manufactures warranty is up or just a few years after purchase. We've all experienced this in the custom build computer world. Which brings up reliability. Samsung is greatly known in the computer world to have the fastest most reliable memory on the market. Going with a Samsung SSD 830 you'll be left at peace and comfort knowing what you bought is built to last.
Last, this is a sexy looking piece of equipment. They didn't just slap a cover it. It has a brushed painted appearance in black with silky smooth lines on the side with the Samsung logo printed on top. They didn't just stop at reliability and performance. Samsung went all the way on this and made the drive look sexy. Now this may not be important to everyone but it is for those who have cases that like to sport and show off their pc components with open window cases from the side view. Never did a hard drive look so good!
The Samsung is competively priced while I found it to be a little more expensive than competition but you get what you pay for I could go on and on but I think you get the point. And that is buy it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 28, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: great design, excellent implementation
I've been monitoring the SSD market for some time, and when prices finally started dropping on this model, I was very happy. This drive consistently gets high ratings in expert reviews. My experience so far has shown that it deserves those accolades.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

blazing fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 28, 2012
from oklahoma
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
biggest speed improvement yet, took a very fast computer and turned it into a monster fast computer. i like fast computers LOL
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

PC Saved

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 7, 2012
from Plymouth, MA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, fast
I was getting the blue screen of death. I decided to replace the hard drive. Best thing I could have done. Now my old laptop runs faster then my new one. Thanks Samsung. Great product. Easy to migrate files and install.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 2, 2012
from Dallas, TX
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: performance
Great upgrade for my PC for an acceptable price. Performance is surprising
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

happy with my 830

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onOctober 11, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
had this ssd for 2 weeks and i can say i very happy with it i recommend the 830 if you in the market for a ssd drive this is the one for you
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 30, 2012
from San Diego, CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight, good deal price
Cons: none
Wow it's so so amazing and REALLY FAST!! When I turn up my computer everything went to my Windows 7 within very second! About time to good bye old HDD. I recommend you to buy this for your PC if you are Gamer, or computer design to make things goes smoothly run!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everything Exceptional !!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 20, 2012
from Prospect Heights, IL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
Cons: runs hot
I just love this SSD.
Drive is 7.5 mm and even though I bought with laptop kit, I didn't require the adapter to put in my 5 yr old Laptop.
I used Macrium Reflect home Free addition to clone my HDD instead of Nortong Ghost which was supplied with package. Entire Cloning process completed in 1 hr 15 mins. Replaced my HDD with SSD and Laptop was up and running with New SSD. Windows 7 boot time jumped from more than a min to less than 30 seconds. Price is little on high side but You get what you pay for and I think this SSD is worth as much.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great drive very vast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 14, 2012
from Milwaukee
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight
This drive has been great during the four months I've owned it. Haven't had a firmware update since I've gotten it. Seems things change fast enough where updates for performance etc. could be more of a priority. That's the same with all samsung products, maybe they are all just too good to begin with but it's my opinion they could put more resources into firmware update/development.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 9, 2012
from Chicopee,Ma
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Bright display, Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic color, Lightweight
SIMPLY AMAZED BY THE PERFORMANCE. THIS SSD IS THE BEST THAT MONEY CAN BUY.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
 
Product(s) I Recommend
55" Class (54.6" Diag.) LED 8000 Series Smart TV
4.8 out of 5(590)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Speedy drive for a value price!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onSeptember 4, 2012
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
The drive was absolutely what I was looking for to compliment my other laptop drive. I like the performance of the drive and think its a great buy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

exceellent SSD drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 30, 2012
from pennsylvania
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
ive put this unit into my new acer V3-771 laptop , it rocks , my system boots in seconds , programs load in seconds , no delays with anything, optimized and it benckmarked as advertized in speeds. this is a very nice drive and samsung has great reliability so im looking forward too many years of service frrom this drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Does the job and then some

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 15, 2012
from tampa, FL
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: mac compatibility
Cons: none
Setup and installation was a breeze and worked perfectly with my Macbook Pro.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best of the bunch

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 12, 2012
from Cent. Calif.
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Samsung has outrun the competition (yes, Intel included) in overall quality, price, and reliability. They will soon own the SSD market and are clearly the most together electronics manufacturer selling consumer products today.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD 256 GB is fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onAugust 7, 2012
from Los Angeles
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast
It used to take my laptop a while to boot up and shut down. Not it takes seconds. I haven't really timed it, but I don't need to.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Insanely fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 19, 2012
from Tulsa, OK
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Works great. Replaced my notebooks hard drive with it. I had major issues attempting to transfer my old drive to it though. The included software didn't work, had to use a third party. But once running, its been doing great. Updated to the windows 8 customer preview when it came out and its -even faster-. Insanely good hardware.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

830 Series SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJuly 5, 2012
from San Francisco Bay Area, CA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
The product is excellent. I followed the instruction in YouTube during the installation. It is clear and strait forward. The installation was completed in about 30 minutes. I Already backed up my drive. I copied the image to the new drive. Replaced it. Turned on, and performed as advertised. Now I can see a huge different on the performance of my Late 2008 MacBook Pro 15".
It is very clear the performance. I tested it, boot up and turned off several times. It is very fast. Previously the computer hang for a long time. I don't see this problem anymore. In fact it is soo fast that I'm totally impressed.
Great product and I would recommend it! Just follow the instructions and easy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best ssd

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJune 26, 2012
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
this is the best ssd on market now work 100% on my mac
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

but no trouble at all. Very fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 22, 2012
from San Jose CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
I use 8 of these in 2 raid 10 configurations. Only in use 2 weeks, but absolutly no problems, setup or use. Very fast! Obviously expensive, but in line with comparable drives.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this new SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onFebruary 22, 2012
Pros: speedy and love it
Cons: no support software for mac, no free game for me...even thought i bought this.
This would be my second samsung ssd I have gotten, the first samsung 470 still runs like a champ, I took it out from my old macbook pro and put it in my early 2011 macbook pro. It runs great, and i have decided to get the 830 to see the differences.......I am absolutely impress the speed of this drive, love it, love it. but again one down side is samsung still doesn't have any software to suppord for MAC, I would love to have that magician alike software for MAC so i could play around with/update the firmware to get my SSD in top performance. So samsung please think about it, that will help you to have more Mac user come to your doork if you have some kind of support for it. One less thing is I just bought this 830 SSD, I guess I didn't read through it clearly. I thought i could download that batman arkam city for my MAC...........sad thing that i was all excited but the game is only for PC....... :/
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 22, 2012
from Massachusetts
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
This drive smokes in my Samusng Series 3 laptop (NP300U1A-A01US). The fact that the drive is thin made the installation into this machine a snap. I used EasyGig IV to clone the drive; it took about an hour. With this drive, Windows Experience Index for the primary hard drive went to 7.9! The machine boots is 20 seconds and MS Office applications snap open immediately.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
Series 3 11.6" Notebook
4.4 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 21, 2011
from New York, NY
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight, beastly
Awesome product ,fast and great .software for it is simple as can be my only problem and is not really a big deal but i wish they had some sort of magician software for mac .just to make sure its completely tuned for best operations but still awesome ssd .please dont get me wrong this is awesome on my mac and just as fast as on my windows pc .
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onDecember 17, 2011
from Sunnyvale CA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Very fast !!!!!! Easy install ! I havent had it long enough to give more info.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Impressive Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 11, 2011
from Austin, TX
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I'd been contemplating a SSD for a few months since talking to others that have upgraded to them and hearing stories about performance increases that were hard to believe. I have an HP Elitebook 8530 with 4GB Ram and 3+GHz Dual Core processor and a 7200 RPM hard drive that seemed to be pretty sluggish after 2 years. Decided to try an SSD, and a salesperson suggested the Samsung 830 256GB. I looked at some online reviews and decided to give it a try . I cloned my old drive in about an hour, swapped drives, and my Windows 7-64 boot time dropped from several minutes to 30 seconds (literally 30 seconds). MS Office programs are on the screen and ready to use in 5-10 seconds. Well worth the investment.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Series 830 SSD is the best value on the market!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 6, 2011
from Greenwich, CT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: missing game download code
Purchased the Samsung series 830 SSD drive (256 Gb, SATA 3) for my Samsung laptop. The performance has dramatically improved with start up times of 10 - 15 secs for my Windows 7 system and wake up times of 10 secs. The read /write performance of the SSD is 500 GB/s and 400 GB/s - which is more than 2-3X faster than the earlier SATA 2 drives. It's the best upgrade possible for any laptop. The Samsung Magician software that comes with the product helps optimize performance.
Did a fresh install of Windows 7 so the Norton Ghost was not needed to clone the old hard drive.
Pros: Great value for money, easy to install in most laptops, accompanying Magician software is very user friendly
Cons: The product was supposed to come with a download code for a Batman: Arkham City game. The code was missing, but a call to Samsung support quickly resolved the problem.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Impressive!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onNovember 28, 2011
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I've installed 4 of these drives on three laptops and a desktop. I am so impressed! Installation was a breeze and performance is well beyond what i ever expected. AMAZING is the only way to describe this drive. Well worth the extra $$.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Notebook)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hidden features

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJuly 20, 2012
from auckland, new zealand
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
SSD advertised with Norton Ghost but no instructions on how to find it in the packaging. Eventually I discovered it when using the Magician software.
Manual in package said NG was provide on CD and also a notebook bracket was supplied. Neither of these statements are true.
NG does not come with a license. It seems that it can be used in the evaluation period (60 days) but after that you have to buy a license.
Registration procedure assumes I am in USA. Surely there are other places in the world!
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.