Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for 512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at SAMSUNG.

512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)

Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 7(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Review 1 for 512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazingly great drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjaysauce
onDecember 29, 2012
from Fort Worth, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, quite, keeps the computer cooler, super fast
I've used a few SSDs of other brands and Samsung's has by far been the best drive. I've put it in the laptop I'm using right now for writing this review and it is soooo quite. I am definitely considering buying another one soon.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"Solid"

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bynubianwizard
onDecember 23, 2012
from DC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, faster than lightning
Easy to install.
Fast as blazes.
Well worth the price.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SSD Drive!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byliman
onNovember 29, 2012
from Long Island
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: fast and reliable!
The drive's read and write speeds as rated by Samsung holds true.
Excellent SSD Drive with a nice utility program:
System information, Performance Benchmark, Performance optimization, operating system optimization, Firmware update, Secure Erase, Over Provisioning (which is important to keep you drive running at optimum performance for many years, Disk cloning, and a site link to Samsung.
You will find other drives out there, but this is the best bang for your buck.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SSD Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMikeNB
onFebruary 25, 2012
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: fast
Cons: none
This drive is extreamly fast.
It comes with more Software and mounting hardware than any other drive on the market, making it a true value
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byssdutopia
onFebruary 1, 2012
from us
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I installed the Samsung 830 512gb ssd with full installation of windows 7 (including all updates from website) within 45 minutes from opening the box.
Hardware installation was a breeze using the mounting bracket and six screws that were provided.
I had no issue with the computer recognizing the ssd on boot.
Magician software is easy to use and ssd optimization along with firmware upgrade went without a hitch.
Windows 7 performance index for ssd was pegged at 7.9.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByZuth
onJanuary 11, 2012
Pros: super fast
Cons: expensive
Awesome drive & superfast. It had a few minor bugs that have been solved in the latest firmware release.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByR3v01u7i0n4ry
onDecember 26, 2011
from JC, TN
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
I am in general EXTREMELY pleased with my purchase of this drive. It works amazingly fast, boots up and runs programs faster than imaginable. My only complaint is not even about that drive itself, but the software. For some reason the samsumg device software will not recognize that I have a samsung SSD, but thats not a big deal
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Can't wait!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySirSquid
onOctober 25, 2011
from Florida
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I know it's too early to tell but based on the 470 series, the 830 should be great. I love the increased size to 512GB!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 512GB 2.5-inch SSD 830 Series (Desktop)
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Samsung 830 Series & Samsung SSD Magician on XP64

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ByArchangel35757
onOctober 6, 2012
from Madison, AL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Did not meet expectations, lack of software support, poor s/w quality
After researching parts for a new workstation that would use an SSD as the OS drive (using Windows XP Pro x64 Edition- good reasons); only two makers have latest tech SSDs still supporting Windows XP (32/64-bit). I'm EXTREMELY disappointed with the Samsung Magician software! If I manually run a Performance Benchmark, a WARNING pops up that states not to run benchmarks too frequently or it degrades SSD... YET THE SOFTWARE HAS A BUG THAT RUNS A PERFORMANCE BENCHMARK AUTOMATICALLY EVERYTIME AFTER RUNNING A PERFORMANCE OPTIMIZATION (i.e., TRIM). Another reviewer posted about this 10 MONTHS AGO! FIX YOUR SOFTWARE SAMSUNG!
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.