Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)

SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 out of 20(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bydenisp5964
onApril 20, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Excellent but just burned out after one year. What now?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDZGR
onApril 14, 2014
from Kos, Greece
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I use this product less than a month. It is very good, reliable and durable .The software is very useful and add extra value to the ssd. I recomend this product .
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This drive offers great speed for an amazing value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCustomBuilder
onMarch 18, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, excellent performance
I recently purchased the Samsung Pro series drive. Install of the drive is simple and quick. The performance of the drive far exceeds the performance of another brand SSD that i have.I have made the Samsung SSD my primary drive now. The performance from this drive is excellent, i feel i am really getting my money worth out of this drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByGeorgiaDawg
onFebruary 17, 2014
from Georgia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, 5-year warranty, solid metal outer construction, one of the best ssds you can buy, samsung quality, very fast read & write speeds, it looks nice
Cons: none!
WOW! My programs are installing and loading so much faster than they did with my old mechanical drive. Even web pages are loading faster than ever. Games are loading much faster, too. I certainly expected an increase in performance over my older mechanical drive, but this drive has really impressed me. I now understand why this SSD has gotten so many great reviews. This thing is awesome! I love it!
Look, you probably can't go wrong with any brand of SSD, today. Any SSD is going to perform better than your typical mechanical drive. That being said, I am very impressed with the performance of the Samsung 840 Pro SSD and I highly recommend it. Plus, having the 5-year warranty (5-Years for Pro Version, 3-Years for standard 840 version) makes me feel even better about my purchase. Oh, and the Magician software is a very nice addition to this SSD as well.
Don't be stressing out on what SSD you should get. Just get this bad boy and be done with it. You'll be glad you did. Promise!
I just built myself a new computer this year (2014) and would like to share my system specs with you. If you're considering a new build, hopefully my system specs can be helpful to you. Good luck with your new build!
Here Are My System Specs:
CPU - Intel i7-4771 & Stock Heatsink
Motherboard - ASUS Z87-Pro (V Edition)
SSD - Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
RAM - Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (1600) Low Profile/Voltage (1.3V)
GPU - NVIDIA GTX 780
OS - Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit)
Power Supply - Seasonic 660W Platinum Series
Case - Corsair Carbide Series Air 540
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCmpepperdine
onJanuary 9, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: speed
Cons: cost, size
Runs great in Raid 0, But there is no Software support under Raid. Which I don't understand.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD 840 Pro

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTechmeup
onJanuary 5, 2014
from America
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Works GREAT! Easy to install. Brought my computer back to life!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice drive!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBash5995
onDecember 2, 2013
from McKinney, Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Very fast reads and writes in a real world application. Very cheap for the quality you receive. The Samsung software is awesome and free! The only con to this drive is the size, 128 GB fills up quick. Very light weight compared to other SSD I have owned which is nice if you are installing it in a laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to setup and lighting fast!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bywhamp
onNovember 18, 2013
from Portland, OR
The SSD was super easy to setup and super fast. I've had no issues and will definitely be picking up a second one.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SSD drive out there!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByEncarne
onOctober 24, 2013
from Utica, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I have Win 8 installed on this SSD and my PC is blazing fast. It boots in 10 secs!. Worth buying.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE BEST SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onOctober 7, 2013
from Presidente Prudente, SP, Brasil
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Simply too fast, the best investment I have made on the computer. Easy installation and backup, excellent performance, my operating system boots up in less than 5 seconds. Amazing, fantastic.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like a boss? No, like a pro.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGo840Pro
onApril 6, 2013
from Stanwood, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, affordable
After the many suggestions of friends who have SSDs I gave in and bought this one. And it has not disappointed. It packs all the jaw dropping speeds it promises. My only regret is not getting the 256GB. If you want an SSD go pro, Samsung 840 Pro.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The way a computer's supposed to work.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysheeter
onMarch 15, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Instant response.
When I have to use a computer with a disk hard drive, It's painfully slow.
By far, the best upgrade.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely deserves its fame

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByStabler
onFebruary 10, 2013
Ultra thin(7mm), super light, exceptional aesthetics. Performance is as advertised. I had zero trouble installing two of these drives in RAID 0.Windows 8 64-bit boots in under 3 seconds(Without the BIOS POST).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice fast SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByD76EF
onJanuary 9, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, performance
Cons: price
This SSD has great reviews and has performed very well.
The Magician software isn't performing correctly, a couple things are functional.
Installed easy, first benchmark shows it's running at published specs.
This is a fast SSD and I'm very happy with it.
Initial price is high, hope it will come down.
Gigabyte Z77X UD3H
Intel i5 3570k
8GB Corsair RAM
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByFleeorg
onJanuary 8, 2013
Very fast SSD.....................................
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Windows 7 Boot Speed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRedEye9
onJanuary 1, 2013
from Alpine, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, cool running, fast, good warranty, silent
Cons: price
I bought this for my gaming machine. I am on the desktop in less then 30 seconds (including bios init.)
Samsung Magician Software is just an bonus.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byimpaireddeer
onDecember 16, 2012
from utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
The hard drive really performs. I can see a huge improvement in performance over the SSD it replaced.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMyeePlacee
onDecember 4, 2012
from Virginia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast !
Very Fast - I purchased one of these, installed it, loaded Windows 7/64bit and my programs. Liked it so well I ordered another to clone for backup.
I used to start my computer in the morning then take my dog out to potty come back in and check my email. Now I wait till I come back in to start my computer.
I'm running these drives on a SATAII machine I built 5 years ago off of a raid card. I was going to get a new MB for SATAIII but decided not to. I do no believe the speed increase would be worth it.
Cons - NONE
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byfed250
onNovember 18, 2012
Love this drive! I have the 830 as well and for the price difference I would say stay with the 830 until the price on these drives drops a bit more.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Excellent performance, but might have a fatal flaw

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySSDExpert
onOctober 18, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The drive works great, and makes my computer very fast, but when it is connected to my system it causes a system stutter every few minutes. Maybe I got a bad one...
It doesn't happen with the drive disconnected. I have a z77x-UD3H motherboard, so if you have that too maybe you want to steer clear.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.