Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)

SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.758 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
31 out of 32(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

samsung

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By
onAugust 24, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
this thing is fast replace my WD and my System Rating went from 5.9 to 7.8 looking to get a 500gb when the price comes down
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJuly 23, 2014
from Tampa, Fl.
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable
Cons: none
I've been using my 840 Pro for 6 months and it has performed flawlessly. My boot time is fast and download speeds are just what I anticipated. This product has met all my expectations, just as all my other Samsung devices. If your in the market for a SSD don't pass up this one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This think resurrected my Computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJune 19, 2014
from Israel
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, fast
Hi, This SSD made resurected my computer from the dead.
Everything Is now running really really fast.
I am happy.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AWESOME!!!!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 25, 2014
from Grovetown, Ga
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, fast!!!
I replaced a WD drive in my Asus X501A laptop with this one and all I can say is WOW!!!! This thing is fast. My laptop (running 8.1 pro) boots completely in under 10 seconds. Programs open super quick. The best upgrade ever. My laptop( i3-2350M, 4 GB Ram).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very fast and stable drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast!
I have been using this SSD for about 9 months now, and it has worked flawlessly for the entire time. It is extremely fast and I find the Samsung Magician software to be easy to use and effective. Really, I have nothing bad to say, I plan to buy more in the future.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blazing speeds

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Columbia, SC
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast, reliable
Cons: none
This is my second SSD and my first from Samsung. This thing walks all over my OCZ Vertex 2. The Magician software really helps monitor the health and status of my drive. I will be using Samsung drives for the foreseeable future. My only complaint is that I didn't get a larger capacity...oh well, guess I'll be buying another soon.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best update to computer ever

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from Tennessee, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: speed
Adding the 840 pro SSD was the most noticable upgrad I have ever made to a computer, and i have been building my on computers for 20 yearI I would suggest a clean install, I have tryed both data transfer and clean install the clean install just works much better.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great features

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 16, 2014
from Sofia, Bulgaria
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
The drive has excellent speed, run faster and stable... For now! There is no cable or mounting bracket in the kit.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 20, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive, Realistic color
Cons: Did not meet expectations
Excellent but just burned out after one year. What now?
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onApril 14, 2014
from Kos, Greece
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I use this product less than a month. It is very good, reliable and durable .The software is very useful and add extra value to the ssd. I recomend this product .
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This drive offers great speed for an amazing value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 18, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, excellent performance
I recently purchased the Samsung Pro series drive. Install of the drive is simple and quick. The performance of the drive far exceeds the performance of another brand SSD that i have.I have made the Samsung SSD my primary drive now. The performance from this drive is excellent, i feel i am really getting my money worth out of this drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onFebruary 17, 2014
from Georgia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, 5-year warranty, solid metal outer construction, one of the best ssds you can buy, samsung quality, very fast read & write speeds, it looks nice
Cons: none!
WOW! My programs are installing and loading so much faster than they did with my old mechanical drive. Even web pages are loading faster than ever. Games are loading much faster, too. I certainly expected an increase in performance over my older mechanical drive, but this drive has really impressed me. I now understand why this SSD has gotten so many great reviews. This thing is awesome! I love it!
Look, you probably can't go wrong with any brand of SSD, today. Any SSD is going to perform better than your typical mechanical drive. That being said, I am very impressed with the performance of the Samsung 840 Pro SSD and I highly recommend it. Plus, having the 5-year warranty (5-Years for Pro Version, 3-Years for standard 840 version) makes me feel even better about my purchase. Oh, and the Magician software is a very nice addition to this SSD as well.
Don't be stressing out on what SSD you should get. Just get this bad boy and be done with it. You'll be glad you did. Promise!
I just built myself a new computer this year (2014) and would like to share my system specs with you. If you're considering a new build, hopefully my system specs can be helpful to you. Good luck with your new build!
Here Are My System Specs:
CPU - Intel i7-4771 & Stock Heatsink
Motherboard - ASUS Z87-Pro (V Edition)
SSD - Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
RAM - Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (1600) Low Profile/Voltage (1.3V)
GPU - NVIDIA GTX 780
OS - Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit)
Power Supply - Seasonic 660W Platinum Series
Case - Corsair Carbide Series Air 540
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 9, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: speed
Cons: cost, size
Runs great in Raid 0, But there is no Software support under Raid. Which I don't understand.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD 840 Pro

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 5, 2014
from America
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Works GREAT! Easy to install. Brought my computer back to life!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice drive!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 2, 2013
from McKinney, Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Very fast reads and writes in a real world application. Very cheap for the quality you receive. The Samsung software is awesome and free! The only con to this drive is the size, 128 GB fills up quick. Very light weight compared to other SSD I have owned which is nice if you are installing it in a laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to setup and lighting fast!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onNovember 18, 2013
from Portland, OR
The SSD was super easy to setup and super fast. I've had no issues and will definitely be picking up a second one.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SSD drive out there!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 24, 2013
from Utica, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I have Win 8 installed on this SSD and my PC is blazing fast. It boots in 10 secs!. Worth buying.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE BEST SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 7, 2013
from Presidente Prudente, SP, Brasil
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Simply too fast, the best investment I have made on the computer. Easy installation and backup, excellent performance, my operating system boots up in less than 5 seconds. Amazing, fantastic.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like a boss? No, like a pro.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onApril 6, 2013
from Stanwood, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, affordable
After the many suggestions of friends who have SSDs I gave in and bought this one. And it has not disappointed. It packs all the jaw dropping speeds it promises. My only regret is not getting the 256GB. If you want an SSD go pro, Samsung 840 Pro.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The way a computer's supposed to work.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMarch 15, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Instant response.
When I have to use a computer with a disk hard drive, It's painfully slow.
By far, the best upgrade.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely deserves its fame

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onFebruary 10, 2013
Ultra thin(7mm), super light, exceptional aesthetics. Performance is as advertised. I had zero trouble installing two of these drives in RAID 0.Windows 8 64-bit boots in under 3 seconds(Without the BIOS POST).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice fast SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onJanuary 9, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, performance
Cons: price
This SSD has great reviews and has performed very well.
The Magician software isn't performing correctly, a couple things are functional.
Installed easy, first benchmark shows it's running at published specs.
This is a fast SSD and I'm very happy with it.
Initial price is high, hope it will come down.
Gigabyte Z77X UD3H
Intel i5 3570k
8GB Corsair RAM
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJanuary 8, 2013
Very fast SSD.....................................
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Windows 7 Boot Speed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onJanuary 1, 2013
from Alpine, TX
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, cool running, fast, good warranty, silent
Cons: price
I bought this for my gaming machine. I am on the desktop in less then 30 seconds (including bios init.)
Samsung Magician Software is just an bonus.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 16, 2012
from utah
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
The hard drive really performs. I can see a huge improvement in performance over the SSD it replaced.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onDecember 4, 2012
from Virginia
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast !
Very Fast - I purchased one of these, installed it, loaded Windows 7/64bit and my programs. Liked it so well I ordered another to clone for backup.
I used to start my computer in the morning then take my dog out to potty come back in and check my email. Now I wait till I come back in to start my computer.
I'm running these drives on a SATAII machine I built 5 years ago off of a raid card. I was going to get a new MB for SATAIII but decided not to. I do no believe the speed increase would be worth it.
Cons - NONE
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onNovember 18, 2012
Love this drive! I have the 830 as well and for the price difference I would say stay with the 830 until the price on these drives drops a bit more.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good ssd

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onJune 16, 2014
from Europe
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Cons: a little pricey.
I have it for a year with no problems.
Good combination with win 8.1 pro 64bit.
Reliable for work and gaming.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Samsung is great!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 23, 2014
from United States
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: no cons
I bought my Samsung 840 Pro to bring my oldest desktop system back to life and that's just what it did! It's no longer the slowest of my systems but just as fast and reliable as the two newest systems.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall Happy with this SSD

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By
onMay 20, 2014
from Corpus Christi, TX, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
this SSD seems to work very fast for business applications, has more than enough space for our business machines, and a price that comes in right under our budget limit, which is great.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great features at an excellent price

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
I've had no problems at all using this fast solid-state drive.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great as a fast disk for OS and a couple games

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onMay 19, 2014
from League City, TX, USA
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast, magician software
Cons: high price at time of purchase
I use this as a primary OS disk running Windows 8.1, as well as a few games that really gain from having a faster disk to load from. So far, I have not had any problems with it, aside from the price going down a lot shortly after I bought it :p I have the recommended overprovisioning of 11 gb with max capacity enabled in magician, and I haven't had too much of a space problem despite the smaller drive. I plan on getting a larger EVO when the time is right.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 128GB (Basic)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Excellent performance, but might have a fatal flaw

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By
onOctober 18, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The drive works great, and makes my computer very fast, but when it is connected to my system it causes a system stutter every few minutes. Maybe I got a bad one...
It doesn't happen with the drive disconnected. I have a z77x-UD3H motherboard, so if you have that too maybe you want to steer clear.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.