Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)

SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.838 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
5 stars
67
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
66 out of 68(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast and reliable

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byruca
onApril 7, 2014
from Portugal
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
It shows a great performance. Fast and obviously quiet.
A good buy for my laptop.
I only have sata2 but even in this I have a good write/read.
You need a sata/usb cable to perform the data migration
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 840 Pro is the way to GO

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMarch 6, 2014
from North Canton, OH, USA
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I installed the Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD drive in my PC a few weeks ago, and it is working
just great. The installation went off without a hitch. The Samsung Magician software is top-notch with all of the features that you would expect for a first-class SSD. The speed increase is very impressive. This was a great buy and I would highly recommend this SSD to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDZGR
onApril 14, 2014
from Kos, Greece
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I use this product less than a month. It is very good, reliable and durable .The software is very useful and add extra value to the ssd. I recomend this product .
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Light Weight, Fantastic Speed.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByFinnlee
onFebruary 20, 2014
from Madison
This is the first Samsung product I have ever bought. Surely this is not the last one. The price of this SSD is a little bit higher than other's. But I think it worth the money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works great for games.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bysoopermonkey
onFebruary 16, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: expensive
First one in the game for battlefield 90% of the time. Would highly recommend. Could not transfer windows 7 for some odd reason.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byluvgear
onFebruary 15, 2014
from Chakwal Pakistan
It really has blasting performance . It is as fast
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very fast, great purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEinn
onFebruary 14, 2014
from NC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: great speed, quiet
I did a lot of researching before I purchased this SSD and found it was rated highly on (not giving name of site, but I heard from my friend TOM, who is very good with 'hardware'...) and other review sites. I upgraded from a traditional HDD so obviously it is much faster. That goes without saying.
Other good points:
- Quiet, can't hear it (but then I usually have music or TV going, so may make some noise, I honestly don't know)
- Reliable so far (purchased it 6 months ago), has not died. Hopefully it'll last me 3-5 years, /crosses fingers. Giving the product 4 stars because I have heard on various sites and forums about people who's 840 PRO has died on them (but it's the internet, so who knows if they were even real)
It may be more expensive than some other SSDs, but seriously the speed is phenomenal. I'm glad I spent the money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely Fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMattlv
onFebruary 10, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Fantastic piece of hardware. !!
My laptop boot time went from 1 min 45 seconds to under 20 seconds !! NICE!!
Programs and files are super fast, no lag at all.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great drive!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysrprsr
onFebruary 3, 2014
from new jersey
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, super fast
Its a massive improvement on my 2011 mac book, less than 12secs boot up. Amazing to use my revamped macbook. Great speed from the drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a Powerhouse SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGomes11
onFebruary 2, 2014
from Stansbury Park, UT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, super fast
Cons: a bit pricey
I spent about a month researching SSDs and most reviews pointed to the Samsung 840 Pro being the best. I'll tell you that I agree. This was the simplest hard drive install I've experienced. Then add the improved speed over my Western Digital 7200 rpm drive, there is no comparison. Most reviews said that you would only notice a slight difference in boot up speed and application speed going from a standard HD to a SSD. I personally notice a huge reduction in the time it takes.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This drive offers great speed for an amazing value

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCustomBuilder
onMarch 18, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, excellent performance
I recently purchased the Samsung Pro series drive. Install of the drive is simple and quick. The performance of the drive far exceeds the performance of another brand SSD that i have.I have made the Samsung SSD my primary drive now. The performance from this drive is excellent, i feel i am really getting my money worth out of this drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 840 pro 256gb

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byssdfanman
onJanuary 6, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Excellent performance for the price. Feel like I have a whole new laptop. Super fast boot time and shutdown time. Its a pleasure using my older laptop again! 4 stars
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

840 Pro 256GB - Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTrevor98
onJanuary 5, 2014
from Boston
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Everything great that I heard about this SSD turned out to be true and rooted in fact. It's just a superb product, more than fulfills my expectations.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Simply Awesome!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByGeorgiaDawg
onFebruary 17, 2014
from Georgia
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, 5-year warranty, solid metal outer construction, one of the best ssds you can buy, samsung quality, very fast read & write speeds, it looks nice
Cons: none!
WOW! My programs are installing and loading so much faster than they did with my old mechanical drive. Even web pages are loading faster than ever. Games are loading much faster, too. I certainly expected an increase in performance over my older mechanical drive, but this drive has really impressed me. I now understand why this SSD has gotten so many great reviews. This thing is awesome! I love it!
Look, you probably can't go wrong with any brand of SSD, today. Any SSD is going to perform better than your typical mechanical drive. That being said, I am very impressed with the performance of the Samsung 840 Pro SSD and I highly recommend it. Plus, having the 5-year warranty (5-Years for Pro Version, 3-Years for standard 840 version) makes me feel even better about my purchase. Oh, and the Magician software is a very nice addition to this SSD as well.
Don't be stressing out on what SSD you should get. Just get this bad boy and be done with it. You'll be glad you did. Promise!
I just built myself a new computer this year (2014) and would like to share my system specs with you. If you're considering a new build, hopefully my system specs can be helpful to you. Good luck with your new build!
Here Are My System Specs:
CPU - Intel i7-4771 & Stock Heatsink
Motherboard - ASUS Z87-Pro (V Edition)
SSD - Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
RAM - Crucial Ballistix Sport 16GB (1600) Low Profile/Voltage (1.3V)
GPU - NVIDIA GTX 780
OS - Windows 8.1 Pro (64-Bit)
Power Supply - Seasonic 660W Platinum Series
Case - Corsair Carbide Series Air 540
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent quality.

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bybddusa
onFebruary 8, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast ssd
Easy to install. Fast and reliable. You won't be disappointed!
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Hardware and Software

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySamSings4life
onDecember 14, 2013
Couldnt ask for better Software. Samsung Magician has raised the bar again.
Magician sets all those pesky parims every one has been pulling hair over
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD, now this is Nice

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByUneasy
onDecember 9, 2013
from Wichita,Ks
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, very quick, easy to install
Just updated from a Hdd to a Samsung SSD 840 Pro 2.5 SATA 256 GB and, this Drive is super, runs great and was so easy to install. I would highly recommend this SSD if you can get one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Boy is it fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBigHandsBro
onJanuary 9, 2014
from Dyer, IN
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, super fast, quiet
Cons: i wish it came in 1tb, i wish i had done it earlier
My Macbook pro started to slow down, especially when I used Windows in Vmware. Evening the boot process just got too slow that I have to wait up to a minute before I could start using the computer woken up from sleep mode.
I got a great deal on the SSD and install it with ease. There has been a world of a difference in the computer booting up from sleep/shutdown and I could not be happier. I can now work in Vmware with windows with great ease. Even the Windows 7 boots up so much more faster in the virtual environment and I can work in both environments comfortable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByCmpepperdine
onJanuary 9, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: speed
Cons: cost, size
Runs great in Raid 0, But there is no Software support under Raid. Which I don't understand.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD 840 Pro

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByTechmeup
onJanuary 5, 2014
from America
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
Works GREAT! Easy to install. Brought my computer back to life!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best of the Best

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysvtdraker
onDecember 31, 2013
from Grand Rapids, MI
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight, fast
This is my second SSD I ever got and it is everything and more. I got this unit because of reviews and it was top of the line it had the write and read speeds with the best IOPS also the 5 year warranty.
Use the Samsung software so it can receive firmware updates and OS optimization.
I have written over 1.7 TB worth of data on it and the drive works great.
One thing I like with this unit it can tell you when the drive runs out of useable read and writes.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMike2F
onNovember 5, 2013
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, performance
Cons: expensive but worth it, did not come with a mount bracket
Works as expected, fast speed installing and opening games, booting Windows 7, snappier response to other programs. 5 times faster than my 7200 rpm WD black hdd, and it can be seen. Considering buying another to make my laptop faster.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice drive!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBash5995
onDecember 2, 2013
from McKinney, Texas
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
Very fast reads and writes in a real world application. Very cheap for the quality you receive. The Samsung software is awesome and free! The only con to this drive is the size, 128 GB fills up quick. Very light weight compared to other SSD I have owned which is nice if you are installing it in a laptop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome little Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRonHGeneral
onOctober 16, 2013
from New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
This was my first ever ssd and it's so much faster than Hard Drives. My Computer boots and is ready ten seconds after I press the power button. And its so small and thin that I can fit it in the cable management room behind my motherboard tray.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still a tad pricey...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byfbcballer
onOctober 7, 2013
from indiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight, fast, samsung quality
Cons: slightly expensive
While Samsung makes some of the best SSD's on the market, some of their products still remain a tad pricey for the performance and per GB cost.
I just picked this drive up yesterday and already its made a marked improvement over my 64gb Samsung 830 SSD. I will continue to support Samsung SSD's so long as they continue to be reliable and speedy, but I really wish they would make some things a little more affordable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Easy to setup and lighting fast!

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bywhamp
onNovember 18, 2013
from Portland, OR
The SSD was super easy to setup and super fast. I've had no issues and will definitely be picking up a second one.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just the best Hard Drive that is SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWacky7
onSeptember 29, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast!, small
Cons: price is very expensive, not 512gb and 512mb cache, doesn't come with ssd mounting bracket for desktop
I have two of this SSD installed on to my old SATA II Foxconn Destroyer. It fast quiet and doesn't get hot it is nice and cool. It is great for with any operating system or storage. The fastest drive that you can have from a SSD.. It have 256 MB cache does have it own drive controller and the best MLC memory based and xpected lifespan is 60 yrs. Updated firmware is a must from Samsung Magician from this website. Improve speed & data protection. Going from RAID 0 with two 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 840 Pro Series. This drive got great power consumption. Great for laptop and desktop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SSD drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByChristianPhotog
onSeptember 28, 2013
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is an excellent SSD drive. It provides excellent performance for the price. It is definitely faster than other SSD models within the same price range. I am working with photos on my laptop and wanted a SSD drive to help with the performance. Now the biggest performance bottleneck is the processor (i5) and the editing software.
I am so happy with this drive. It really speeds up my process of transferring the photos from my laptop to my primary computer which is backed up regularly. Incredible speed boost.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

samsung 840 Pro 256 fast and reliable

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysamantha2
onSeptember 24, 2013
from Springfield, VA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast, reliable
Installed 840 Pro 256 in Lenovo X230 laptop running Windows 7 pro and increased boot and application speed significantly. It's been like going to a faster processor or more memory. Has lived up to all expectations thus far.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Holy Speed

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByLoopy
onNovember 8, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, extremely fast
This is my very first SSD that I've ever installed into any computer. I put this in my Samsung NP700Z7C-S01-US running Windows 7 Home Premium, Intel quad-core i7 3615QM processor with hyperthreading, 8GB of RAM, and a 1TB 5200RPM HDD. I have nothing but good things to say about it. When I first opened the box, I couldn't believe how unbelievably light it was. It weighed 1/3 of my HDD! I was totally shocked!
The speed difference was night and day. My computer went from starting up in 1 minute to about 10 seconds! Having a nice processor and some decent RAM really helps the drive! This drive is just blazing fast and I'm VERY satisfied with this upgrade! Glad I did it! I would highly recommend this drive to anyone who is looking into an SSD upgrade. I know it's a bit pricey, but you won't regret it. I promise.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast drive, issues with installation

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByGFisher
onNovember 7, 2013
from Bismarck ND
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, fast
Cons: support time limited
Like the performance of the drive. Getting it installed came with challenges. System was running RAID1, broke the raid set, made the system drive non-RAID before cloning, but the clone still was not good and resulted in a large number of Windows stop errors. After many attempts at fixes, finally did a fresh Windows install and all seems to be better. Would recommend doing a fresh Windows install in the first place with a RAID system. May not be an issue on a non-RAID system.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best performance improvement possible for my Macbook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChrisCAO
onSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: speed
There isn't anything else that could be done to my Macbook to improve it's performance as much as upgrading to this HD did from the disk drive that was in it before.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByKaspars
onOctober 31, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
As it is my first SSD drive, I can not say anything bad about it. Get it for my laptop. Perhaps should be a bit cheaper, but that's about everything :)
Cloning software worked like charm.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best SSD drive out there!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByEncarne
onOctober 24, 2013
from Utica, NY
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I have Win 8 installed on this SSD and my PC is blazing fast. It boots in 10 secs!. Worth buying.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Excellent performance, but might have a fatal flaw

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySSDExpert
onOctober 18, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast
Cons: Did not meet expectations
The drive works great, and makes my computer very fast, but when it is connected to my system it causes a system stutter every few minutes. Maybe I got a bad one...
It doesn't happen with the drive disconnected. I have a z77x-UD3H motherboard, so if you have that too maybe you want to steer clear.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE BEST SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onOctober 7, 2013
from Presidente Prudente, SP, Brasil
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Lightweight
Simply too fast, the best investment I have made on the computer. Easy installation and backup, excellent performance, my operating system boots up in less than 5 seconds. Amazing, fantastic.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not too good

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByPhantomTech
onJuly 8, 2013
from USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, 7.5mm thickness
Cons: Did not meet expectations, slowed rapidly
Upon initial Win 7 install my 4K read/write speeds were 32/81MBs respectively. After just 4 days this dropped to 21/42MBs. The machine lags, program open slower, freezes and generally lackluster performance.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDemos
onJune 8, 2013
from San Francisco Bay Area
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I did a lot of research before buying my Samsung 840 Pro and I'm glad I did.
This SSD transformed my 3 year old Macbook Pro from being very sluggish to being very zippy. Well worth the time and money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Accessory I've Ever Bought for My PC

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByProudSouthernSupporter
onJune 23, 2013
from Thomasville, NC, USA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: lightning fast, great supporting software
Cons: way expensive vs. hdd
FORGET upgrading to the newest OS or processor. THIS baby made my PC sprout wings and fly! No joke.....my PC boot time went from 45 seconds to a minute (to load all startup programs) to about 15 seconds! Transfers of any kind gained speed that is truly hard to believe. The invent of the SSD is the best thing to happen to computers since the invention of the internet, and Samsung is at the forefront. Even though you nearly have to take out a second mortgage to buy one, I still say it's worth it. The gains are unbelievable. You'll be happy you bought this item!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Performance and Value SSD period!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBusyEngineer
onMay 8, 2013
from Mid-Atlantic USA
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, fast, stable
Samsung has the sand stability figured-out. This SSD is fast and stable. Just get one and make your laptop go supersonic. Also does a nice job in your desktop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faster than the Flash??? Maybe!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEricb71
onApril 5, 2013
from Greensboro, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, super fast, reliable, low power consumption, made 100% by samsung
I love this drive! It is so quick it's crazy. I put this drive in my laptop and it sped it up plus it extended the battery life. I have nothing bad to offer on this product. If you're thinking about getting it, do it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great Product... when it works

Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByXUZX
onMay 15, 2013
from Houston
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Did not meet expectations
bought this drive a little over 3 months ago, since then I've had to reinstall windows 7 twice. at first I thought it was just a windows problem until my computer when into an infinite loop of restarting and unsuccessful booting. I put in the windows disk again to reinstall and I got a message from the system saying the device is unable to format due to corrupt data. I bought this drive as it was highly recommended by tomshardware. aside from these technical difficulties the product itself works really well. I just wished it had the reliability of my Intel x25m which I replaced with this product.
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ssd drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byjbergy
onApril 12, 2013
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable
man my fist solid state drive and im loving it super fast
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
 
Product(s) I Recommend
 
 
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lighting fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySpdsk8r225
onFebruary 25, 2013
from Louisiana
Pros: Durable
Awesome random read/write speeds. I got this with a Alienware computer recently and see an improvement in the speed of everything
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRninja
onFebruary 24, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Installed this in my mom's computer I built and it works with hardly any load time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like a boss? No, like a pro.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGo840Pro
onApril 6, 2013
from Stanwood, MI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, affordable
After the many suggestions of friends who have SSDs I gave in and bought this one. And it has not disappointed. It packs all the jaw dropping speeds it promises. My only regret is not getting the 256GB. If you want an SSD go pro, Samsung 840 Pro.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEconogeeks
onFebruary 20, 2013
from Miami, FL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Way better performance than a 7200 rpm sata 3 drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfomance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByPiroooz
onFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Too big
Probably the best in its category, and I am sure Samsung would develop in this section.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysnfan
onFebruary 15, 2013
from jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I backup everything here. Very portable. I would strongly recommend getting one to back up your files so that when needed you can access what you need anywhere.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OMG Its full of stars

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRokDrummer
onMarch 30, 2013
from Florida
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Pros: uber fast
Ive waited a long time for prices to come down on SSDs so I could get a large 512GB SSD for use as my primary drive. Im not a PC game I work with computers doing web development, graphics, animations, 3d Modeling and sound production. On my latest upgrade (a year ago) of my machine I upgraded my ram 2 DDR3 1600Mhz and put a whopping 32GB I also grabbed an FX8150 8 core AMD processor and a very nice Gigabyte board however at the time I couldnt afford the SSD I wanted, the Cadilac of all SSDs the Samsung 840 Series Pro 512 GB. fast? Oh my yes... easy to install? very easy. Its small, very small looks almost toy like in its simplicity of design. Ive also paired it up with 3 1TB Velociraptor drives so my computer has no bottlenecks to any of my production workflows all thanks to this lovely monster of a drive well done Samsung Well done!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good SSD For Raid

Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByVBOVBO
onMarch 21, 2013
from Switzerland
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: compatibility, performance
Cons: price
I use 3x SSD 840 Pro 512Go in Raid5.
Very good performance and smart info compatible with HP Smart Array.
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bym0nstah
onJanuary 30, 2013
from Denver,CO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast, great performance
Just bought the Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256gb recently. The money was well spent. It is amazingly fast!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The way a computer's supposed to work.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysheeter
onMarch 15, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
Instant response.
When I have to use a computer with a disk hard drive, It's painfully slow.
By far, the best upgrade.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fastest ssd on the market

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byblahdamon
onJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: fast, reliable
Cons: a little pricey but worth it
just amazing, even on my sata 3Gb/s it still gets a 7.8 and loads faster than my last SSD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good SSD for my new computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybiglooping
onJanuary 6, 2013
from French country. Strasbourg.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have installed it with an asus p8z77-v pro.
And a new windows 8 pro 64bits.
I choose it to have a fast hard drive for my PC game.
And it's really fast when I launch FSX or another more recent game. Like F1 2012, Max Payne 3,...
Hope it will work long time (5 years without trouble)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HDD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPIPER314
onJanuary 3, 2013
from DAVIE, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
AWESOME SUPER FAST IN RAID...WRITING AT 1 GB/S..AND READING THE SAME
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

expensive, but worth it for the performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byhaversham
onJanuary 1, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
the 840 pro is the fastest and most efficient SSD in existence as of this writing. every review out there will back up this statement. even coming from another SSD (Crucial M4), i noticed faster performance in real-world usage. and i can only assume it will get better with future firmware upgrades. if you can afford it, this is the SSD you want to get.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Top-notch performance and stability

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDarenK
onJanuary 1, 2013
from Utah
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
The 256GB version performs with remarkable speed and stability. After almost 2 weeks of very heavy use on a fresh install of Windows 8, I've experienced no issues. Samsung's 4th-generation 3-Core MDX Controller has been and still is at the top of the heap. Initially, the performance was lower than rated because I did not have AHCI mode enabled in my registry and BIOS, but after a couple of tweaks my benchmarks were impressive:
Samsung SSD Magician v3.2 benchmarks:
Seq Read 532
Seq Write 379
Ran Read 64378
Ran Write 43474
AS SSD Benchmarks:
Seq Read 502.25 MB/s, Write 370.08 MB/s
4K Read 29.13 MB/s, Write 53.99 MB/s
4K-64Thrd Read 327.99 MB/s, Write 270.136 MB/s
4K-64Thrd Read 83966 iops, Write 69153 iops
Acc.Time Read 0.083 ms, Write 0.060 ms
Score 981
This drive is a bit expensive (at the time of this review), but that is to be expected at this point and I did not hesitate buying it on the first day it was released.
11/21/2012 UPDATE:
After updating the driver from the Microsoft's AHCI to the latest Intel 7 AHCI 11.6.0.1030 controller, my iops increased substantially.
Samsung SSD Magician v3.2 benchmarks:
Ran Read 96500
Ran Write 77319
AS SSD Benchmarks:
4K-64Thrd Read 96049 iops, Write 75320 iops
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely deserves its fame

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByStabler
onFebruary 10, 2013
Ultra thin(7mm), super light, exceptional aesthetics. Performance is as advertised. I had zero trouble installing two of these drives in RAID 0.Windows 8 64-bit boots in under 3 seconds(Without the BIOS POST).
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 60 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mac OS X Support?

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByLarrrryArrrms
onDecember 25, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
It would be nice if Samsung provided firmware updates for the 840 Pro on OS X. Other than that, I'm a happy camper.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 61 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRinji07
onFebruary 7, 2013
from Columbus, Ohio.
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, fast, easy installation
Cons: costly
You get what you pay for and this SSD does not disappoint in the slightest. I see constant read and write speeds well over 500/mbs. I upgraded from a OCZ 256GB Vertex 4. I have included 2 screenshots both of this SSD benchmark.(Samsung 840 Pro 512GB)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 256GB 840 Pro

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCompTech
onDecember 15, 2012
This is my first ssd and I must say I should have purchased one a year ago. No complaints at all, it's working great!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByFrunobulax
onDecember 11, 2012
from Pine Barrens
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast
Cons: no mounting hardware, no sata cable
Noticeably quicker than my not so old OCZ Agility. Utility software for tuning works ok. Did not use the cloning software as I've been using TerabyteUnlimited imaging software for years. One thing did amaze me: The Terabyte software doesn't run in windows. I imaged to a quick black label WD drive. Imaging and verification took 55 minutes. Restoring the image to the new Samsung drive took 8 minutes. For the image size, I would have expected at least 20 minutes to restore.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NICE TECHNOLOGY

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byokeefe58
onDecember 5, 2012
from chicago usa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, makes your puter seem like you bought a new one
This is my first Samsung product, really happy with it overall. Of course reviews have already praised it, benchmarked/demonstrated it's speed, It's lived up to what I've seen thus far. Hard to think of ever going back to platter drives. Years ago, (back in the day when video games came on cartridge, which you could say was solid state technology), it gave me a glimpse into the future, and I used to say to friends - "watch, one day everything will be solid state, like music devices (back in the cassettes daze and now we have s.s. mp3 devices), components, video (back in the vcr daze), etc." - People looked at me like I was off my rocker, and some actually said, "quit talking out your *ss like you always do"
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byaliona123
onNovember 30, 2012
from Madison, WI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, fast
The best SSD drive on the market. Fast, stable, works well with Windows 8.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.