Choose a Category
SAMSUNG Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At SAMSUNG
Shop Solid State Drives
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)

SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)

Rating:
4.854 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
37
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
35 out of 36(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Review 1 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Top-notch performance and stability

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDarenK
onJanuary 1, 2013
from Utah
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
The 256GB version performs with remarkable speed and stability. After almost 2 weeks of very heavy use on a fresh install of Windows 8, I've experienced no issues. Samsung's 4th-generation 3-Core MDX Controller has been and still is at the top of the heap. Initially, the performance was lower than rated because I did not have AHCI mode enabled in my registry and BIOS, but after a couple of tweaks my benchmarks were impressive:
Samsung SSD Magician v3.2 benchmarks:
Seq Read 532
Seq Write 379
Ran Read 64378
Ran Write 43474
AS SSD Benchmarks:
Seq Read 502.25 MB/s, Write 370.08 MB/s
4K Read 29.13 MB/s, Write 53.99 MB/s
4K-64Thrd Read 327.99 MB/s, Write 270.136 MB/s
4K-64Thrd Read 83966 iops, Write 69153 iops
Acc.Time Read 0.083 ms, Write 0.060 ms
Score 981
This drive is a bit expensive (at the time of this review), but that is to be expected at this point and I did not hesitate buying it on the first day it was released.
11/21/2012 UPDATE:
After updating the driver from the Microsoft's AHCI to the latest Intel 7 AHCI 11.6.0.1030 controller, my iops increased substantially.
Samsung SSD Magician v3.2 benchmarks:
Ran Read 96500
Ran Write 77319
AS SSD Benchmarks:
4K-64Thrd Read 96049 iops, Write 75320 iops
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mac OS X Support?

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByLarrrryArrrms
onDecember 25, 2012
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
It would be nice if Samsung provided firmware updates for the 840 Pro on OS X. Other than that, I'm a happy camper.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

expensive, but worth it for the performance

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Byhaversham
onJanuary 1, 2013
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
the 840 pro is the fastest and most efficient SSD in existence as of this writing. every review out there will back up this statement. even coming from another SSD (Crucial M4), i noticed faster performance in real-world usage. and i can only assume it will get better with future firmware upgrades. if you can afford it, this is the SSD you want to get.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByDemos
onJune 8, 2013
from San Francisco Bay Area
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I did a lot of research before buying my Samsung 840 Pro and I'm glad I did.
This SSD transformed my 3 year old Macbook Pro from being very sluggish to being very zippy. Well worth the time and money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bym0nstah
onJanuary 30, 2013
from Denver,CO
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast, great performance
Just bought the Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256gb recently. The money was well spent. It is amazingly fast!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByFrunobulax
onDecember 11, 2012
from Pine Barrens
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast
Cons: no mounting hardware, no sata cable
Noticeably quicker than my not so old OCZ Agility. Utility software for tuning works ok. Did not use the cloning software as I've been using TerabyteUnlimited imaging software for years. One thing did amaze me: The Terabyte software doesn't run in windows. I imaged to a quick black label WD drive. Imaging and verification took 55 minutes. Restoring the image to the new Samsung drive took 8 minutes. For the image size, I would have expected at least 20 minutes to restore.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Performance and Value SSD period!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByBusyEngineer
onMay 8, 2013
from Mid-Atlantic USA
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, fast, stable
Samsung has the sand stability figured-out. This SSD is fast and stable. Just get one and make your laptop go supersonic. Also does a nice job in your desktop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEconogeeks
onFebruary 20, 2013
from Miami, FL, USA
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:11+
Way better performance than a 7200 rpm sata 3 drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NICE TECHNOLOGY

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byokeefe58
onDecember 5, 2012
from chicago usa
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, makes your puter seem like you bought a new one
This is my first Samsung product, really happy with it overall. Of course reviews have already praised it, benchmarked/demonstrated it's speed, It's lived up to what I've seen thus far. Hard to think of ever going back to platter drives. Years ago, (back in the day when video games came on cartridge, which you could say was solid state technology), it gave me a glimpse into the future, and I used to say to friends - "watch, one day everything will be solid state, like music devices (back in the cassettes daze and now we have s.s. mp3 devices), components, video (back in the vcr daze), etc." - People looked at me like I was off my rocker, and some actually said, "quit talking out your *ss like you always do"
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SSD, now this is Nice

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByUneasy
onDecember 9, 2013
from Wichita,Ks
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Inexpensive, Lightweight, very quick, easy to install
Just updated from a Hdd to a Samsung SSD 840 Pro 2.5 SATA 256 GB and, this Drive is super, runs great and was so easy to install. I would highly recommend this SSD if you can get one.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMike2F
onNovember 5, 2013
from New Jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, performance
Cons: expensive but worth it, did not come with a mount bracket
Works as expected, fast speed installing and opening games, booting Windows 7, snappier response to other programs. 5 times faster than my 7200 rpm WD black hdd, and it can be seen. Considering buying another to make my laptop faster.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent SSD drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByChristianPhotog
onSeptember 28, 2013
from Chicago, IL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
This is an excellent SSD drive. It provides excellent performance for the price. It is definitely faster than other SSD models within the same price range. I am working with photos on my laptop and wanted a SSD drive to help with the performance. Now the biggest performance bottleneck is the processor (i5) and the editing software.
I am so happy with this drive. It really speeds up my process of transferring the photos from my laptop to my primary computer which is backed up regularly. Incredible speed boost.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lighting fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BySpdsk8r225
onFebruary 25, 2013
from Louisiana
Pros: Durable
Awesome random read/write speeds. I got this with a Alienware computer recently and see an improvement in the speed of everything
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByRninja
onFebruary 24, 2013
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Installed this in my mom's computer I built and it works with hardly any load time.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byaliona123
onNovember 30, 2012
from Madison, WI
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, fast
The best SSD drive on the market. Fast, stable, works well with Windows 8.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 840 Pro is the way to GO

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByAnonymous
onMarch 6, 2014
from North Canton, OH, USA
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I installed the Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD drive in my PC a few weeks ago, and it is working
just great. The installation went off without a hitch. The Samsung Magician software is top-notch with all of the features that you would expect for a first-class SSD. The speed increase is very impressive. This was a great buy and I would highly recommend this SSD to anyone.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Light Weight, Fantastic Speed.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByFinnlee
onFebruary 20, 2014
from Madison
This is the first Samsung product I have ever bought. Surely this is not the last one. The price of this SSD is a little bit higher than other's. But I think it worth the money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a Powerhouse SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByGomes11
onFebruary 2, 2014
from Stansbury Park, UT
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, super fast
Cons: a bit pricey
I spent about a month researching SSDs and most reviews pointed to the Samsung 840 Pro being the best. I'll tell you that I agree. This was the simplest hard drive install I've experienced. Then add the improved speed over my Western Digital 7200 rpm drive, there is no comparison. Most reviews said that you would only notice a slight difference in boot up speed and application speed going from a standard HD to a SSD. I personally notice a huge reduction in the time it takes.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Hardware and Software

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BySamSings4life
onDecember 14, 2013
Couldnt ask for better Software. Samsung Magician has raised the bar again.
Magician sets all those pesky parims every one has been pulling hair over
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome little Drive

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByRonHGeneral
onOctober 16, 2013
from New York
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight
This was my first ever ssd and it's so much faster than Hard Drives. My Computer boots and is ready ten seconds after I press the power button. And its so small and thin that I can fit it in the cable management room behind my motherboard tray.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just the best Hard Drive that is SSD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByWacky7
onSeptember 29, 2013
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: fast!, small
Cons: price is very expensive, not 512gb and 512mb cache, doesn't come with ssd mounting bracket for desktop
I have two of this SSD installed on to my old SATA II Foxconn Destroyer. It fast quiet and doesn't get hot it is nice and cool. It is great for with any operating system or storage. The fastest drive that you can have from a SSD.. It have 256 MB cache does have it own drive controller and the best MLC memory based and xpected lifespan is 60 yrs. Updated firmware is a must from Samsung Magician from this website. Improve speed & data protection. Going from RAID 0 with two 256GB 2.5-inch SSD 840 Pro Series. This drive got great power consumption. Great for laptop and desktop.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

samsung 840 Pro 256 fast and reliable

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysamantha2
onSeptember 24, 2013
from Springfield, VA
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: fast, reliable
Installed 840 Pro 256 in Lenovo X230 laptop running Windows 7 pro and increased boot and application speed significantly. It's been like going to a faster processor or more memory. Has lived up to all expectations thus far.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Faster than the Flash??? Maybe!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEricb71
onApril 5, 2013
from Greensboro, NC
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, super fast, reliable, low power consumption, made 100% by samsung
I love this drive! It is so quick it's crazy. I put this drive in my laptop and it sped it up plus it extended the battery life. I have nothing bad to offer on this product. If you're thinking about getting it, do it!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HDD

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByPIPER314
onJanuary 3, 2013
from DAVIE, FL
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:novice
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight
AWESOME SUPER FAST IN RAID...WRITING AT 1 GB/S..AND READING THE SAME
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fastest ssd on the market

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byblahdamon
onJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: fast, reliable
Cons: a little pricey but worth it
just amazing, even on my sata 3Gb/s it still gets a 7.8 and loads faster than my last SSD.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 256GB 840 Pro

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByCompTech
onDecember 15, 2012
This is my first ssd and I must say I should have purchased one a year ago. No complaints at all, it's working great!
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Still a tad pricey...

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byfbcballer
onOctober 7, 2013
from indiana
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:6-10
Pros: Lightweight, fast, samsung quality
Cons: slightly expensive
While Samsung makes some of the best SSD's on the market, some of their products still remain a tad pricey for the performance and per GB cost.
I just picked this drive up yesterday and already its made a marked improvement over my 64gb Samsung 830 SSD. I will continue to support Samsung SSD's so long as they continue to be reliable and speedy, but I really wish they would make some things a little more affordable.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 840 Pro

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByDooRules
onNovember 30, 2012
Been using a couple of these for a few days now. Been flawless to date
Magician software works well also. Lets you optimize ( trim ) or Secure Erase the drive.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A very good SSD for my new computer

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bybiglooping
onJanuary 6, 2013
from French country. Strasbourg.
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
I have installed it with an asus p8z77-v pro.
And a new windows 8 pro 64bits.
I choose it to have a fast hard drive for my PC game.
And it's really fast when I launch FSX or another more recent game. Like F1 2012, Max Payne 3,...
Hope it will work long time (5 years without trouble)
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not too good

Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
ByPhantomTech
onJuly 8, 2013
from USA
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Lightweight, 7.5mm thickness
Cons: Did not meet expectations, slowed rapidly
Upon initial Win 7 install my 4K read/write speeds were 32/81MBs respectively. After just 4 days this dropped to 21/42MBs. The machine lags, program open slower, freezes and generally lackluster performance.
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Design 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Image(s)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bysnfan
onFebruary 15, 2013
from jersey
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:beginner
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Durable, Lightweight
I backup everything here. Very portable. I would strongly recommend getting one to back up your files so that when needed you can access what you need anywhere.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

840 Pro 256GB - Great

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByTrevor98
onJanuary 5, 2014
from Boston
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Everything great that I heard about this SSD turned out to be true and rooted in fact. It's just a superb product, more than fulfills my expectations.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Perfomance

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ByPiroooz
onFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Too big
Probably the best in its category, and I am sure Samsung would develop in this section.
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very fast, great purchase

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByEinn
onFebruary 14, 2014
from NC
I have used this product for:3-6 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: great speed, quiet
I did a lot of researching before I purchased this SSD and found it was rated highly on (not giving name of site, but I heard from my friend TOM, who is very good with 'hardware'...) and other review sites. I upgraded from a traditional HDD so obviously it is much faster. That goes without saying.
Other good points:
- Quiet, can't hear it (but then I usually have music or TV going, so may make some noise, I honestly don't know)
- Reliable so far (purchased it 6 months ago), has not died. Hopefully it'll last me 3-5 years, /crosses fingers. Giving the product 4 stars because I have heard on various sites and forums about people who's 840 PRO has died on them (but it's the internet, so who knows if they were even real)
It may be more expensive than some other SSDs, but seriously the speed is phenomenal. I'm glad I spent the money.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast and reliable

Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byruca
onApril 7, 2014
from Portugal
I have used this product for:less than a month
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
It shows a great performance. Fast and obviously quiet.
A good buy for my laptop.
I only have sata2 but even in this I have a good write/read.
You need a sata/usb cable to perform the data migration
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works great for games.

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bysoopermonkey
onFebruary 16, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Pros: Built-in speakers, Bright display, Realistic color
Cons: expensive
First one in the game for battlefield 90% of the time. Would highly recommend. Could not transfer windows 7 for some odd reason.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Byluvgear
onFebruary 15, 2014
from Chakwal Pakistan
It really has blasting performance . It is as fast
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely Fast

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByMattlv
onFebruary 10, 2014
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Fantastic piece of hardware. !!
My laptop boot time went from 1 min 45 seconds to under 20 seconds !! NICE!!
Programs and files are super fast, no lag at all.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great drive!!

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bysrprsr
onFebruary 3, 2014
from new jersey
I have used this product for:1-3 months
Expertise:intermediate
# of SAMSUNG products I own:3-5
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, super fast
Its a massive improvement on my 2011 mac book, less than 12secs boot up. Amazing to use my revamped macbook. Great speed from the drive.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Samsung 840 pro 256gb

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Byssdfanman
onJanuary 6, 2014
I have used this product for:6-12 months
Expertise:expert
# of SAMSUNG products I own:1-2
Excellent performance for the price. Feel like I have a whole new laptop. Super fast boot time and shutdown time. Its a pleasure using my older laptop again! 4 stars
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for SSD 840 PRO 2.5-inch SATA 256GB (Basic)
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best performance improvement possible for my Macbook

Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ByChrisCAO
onSeptember 20, 2013
Pros: speed
There isn't anything else that could be done to my Macbook to improve it's performance as much as upgrading to this HD did from the disk drive that was in it before.
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this to a friend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Copyright © 1995-2014 SAMSUNG All rights reserved.